0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Spring Clearance

Rode NT1000 Reviews

4.5 stars based on 23 customer reviews
Questions about the Rode NT1000?

Questions about the Rode NT1000?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Orlando March 15, 2017Music Background:
    Fiance of a singer/guitarist/pianist

    The perfect gift

    Not only was this the perfect gift for my amazing fiance, but Sweetwater always provides me with the lowest deals. I emailed Jared Madigan, the gentleman that assisted me during my first visit to this website. I had purchased a Audient iD14 interface for my fiance for Christmas. So when I wanted to get him another gift, (the mic), I contacted Jared and asked if there was any kind of discount I could get because at Sam Ash music store, I could've bought it for cheaper. Not only did he match the price, but he lowered it for me, too! The microphone seems to be great. The fiance loves it =) thanks again!

  • from October 8, 2016Music Background:
    avid home-recordist

    Magical on vocals with the right preamp

    I'm writing this review because I was amazed to see how few glowing reviews this microphone has here, given how incredible it sounds on vocals, in my opinion.

    If you want a lush, smooth vocal sound that perfectly balances low-end warmth and high-end sparkle, I highly recommend this microphone plugged into a Vintech X73i. Using this mic/pre combination, I just got the (male) vocal sound I was hearing in my head for years, for the very first time. I've never used a Neumann U87, but this is the sort of sound I'm talking about, based on what the U87 sounds like in various online mic shootouts.

    I have a voice that's not especially full or smooth sounding, and it sounds positively terrible on many different microphones that I've tried. But with the NT1000 (and X73i), it sounds shockingly beautiful. For the record, here are the microphones that I've tried--and rejected--in my quest to achieve the sound that I finally got with the NT1000: Neumann TLM 49, Neumann TLM 102, Mojave MA-200, Mojave MA-201fet, Shure KSM44, AKG C214, sE Gemini II, sE 4400a, Beesneez Oliver, Avantone CV-12. All of these microphones, incidentally, are more expensive than the NT1000, some of them significantly so.

    I badly wish that I could go back in time a few years and try this microphone before most of the others on that list. But I know that if I had done so, I wouldn't appreciate just how excellent it is. Using a vintage-flavored, relatively expensive preamp like the X73i is, I'm sure, a major factor in the sound I'm getting, but the fact remains that I didn't get that sound with all the other microphones I tried. If you can't afford an X73i or anything in that ballpark, you could try pairing the NT1000 with a cheaper preamp that's going for the same kind of vintage Neve vibe as the X73i (such as the Golden Age Pre-73, which I haven't used).

    I highly, highly recommend this microphone, and that's even without considering the price. Once price is taken into account, it's almost comical how great this microphone sounds. You'd be a fool not to at least try it.

  • from Beaverton OR April 12, 2016

    Best Value

    You just won't find a better microphone at this price.

  • from November 6, 2013

    good stuuf

    i would buy it again

  • from Buffalo, N.Y. May 17, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Surprise!

    Considering it's price I expected an OK Mic. This is my go to Vocal Mic over the tubed AKG 820 & Mojave MA-300. I have a deep voice & the NT1000 eliminates lower mid muddiness & has a slight rise on top.
    Works for me!

  • from Oakland, Ca USA April 6, 2013Music Background:
    MC

    So glad this mic exists

    So we did a mic check with this mic and a 5000 mic and everything sounded better with this mic hands down.... Yeah everybody sounds better on a different mic and all that but I almost didnt believe my engineer when he told me what he got this one for. I recorded an amazing album on this.

  • from AZ June 12, 2012Music Background:
    Engineer,Producer

    wooooooow!! lol

    This mic should cost $3000, that's how beautifully it sounds. I'm satisfied.

  • from RSA July 25, 2009Music Background:
    Broadcasting

    Excellent Condensor Microphone

    We make use of the NT1000 for vocals in our studio with NO EQ. This Microphone stands out in any Mix, with clarity and perfect response every time. Not only does it sound great but it looks great, its a real showoff. RODE can be very proud of their excellent craftmanship!

  • from Palmyra, PA September 22, 2008Music Background:
    active musician/ recording guitarist/ home studio

    Excellent mic

    Nice, full sounding mic and well built. I've used it for acoustic guitars and in front of a guitar cab for some hard rocking guitar tracks so far. It allows me to record higher quality tracks than some other mics I've tried and at an affordable price. I expected it to be good, but it gives me more expensive sounding results than I expected. I will definitely buy more Rode mics in the future and I'll happily recommend this mic in particular. It's impressive.

  • from LA, CA June 24, 2007Music Background:
    Hip Hop, Rap beats producer.

    swizz beatz

    swizz beatz(a famous producer) has one of these in his studio. i got one and i love how clear it sounds.

  • from Texas March 8, 2007Music Background:
    engineer

    the best.

    i have two AKG c1000's and they do an admirable job as over-heads. I "was" happy with them. Boy am I glad I've made the switch these Rode microphones. "...the NT1000 has been hailed by many as the ultimate drum over-head and grand piano mic selection." That's from Rode's website. I'm floored!!! My drums sound like they have been recorded in Hollywood, really. The NT1000's captures my kit very accurately and the drums are breathing ;] If you are looking for great over-head mics look no further.

  • from philadelphia December 28, 2006Music Background:
    Artist

    Rode Nt 1000

    I use this mic wit a focusrite trackmaster pre original. It sounds nice smooth and warm

  • from chicago, Illinois November 28, 2006Music Background:
    writer/arranger/producer

    The NT1000 is a fantastic mic

    I primarily use the Rode NT1000 for lead and background vocal recording. It has such a rich and warm sound. This mic would sound great with any mic pre

  • from New York, NY USA October 24, 2006Music Background:
    Pro Musician & Producer

    Comparable to Neumann U87i - with LESS self-noise!

    This is the best non-tube microphone I've ever used on vocals - hands down. Germany is in trouble, now.

  • from Gibsonton, Florida October 7, 2013Music Background:
    drummer, discjockey, amateur radio operator

    Great! Great! Great!

    Great sound. Great construction. Low price for this Great mic

  • from MOUNT VERNON NY April 22, 2012Music Background:
    HOBBYIST

    RODE NT1000 SIMPLY THE BEST

    WAS ALWAYS SEARCHING FOR A MIC TO GIVE MY VOCAL THE ROUGH NECK EDGE. AFTER CALLING MY SALES ENGINEER AT SWEETWATER, TELL HIM MY PROBLEM STRIGHT AWAY HE INTORDUCE ME TO THE RODE NT1000. DID MY REVIEW THEN PURCHASE THE MIC IN FEW WORDS I LOVE THE NT1000 IM HAPPY THANKS SWEETWATER.

  • from Wisconsin September 24, 2008Music Background:
    One man band/studio

    Rode's Most Affordable Do-It-All Mic

    My interest was originally aimed towards the Rode NT1-A, but I was soon dissuaded against it - the consensus was that the NT1000 was Rode's most affordable entry that still represented the Rode sound present in the more affordable mics, while the NT1-A would disappoint. Prior to purchasing this microphone I'd read from credible sources that this was a very very versatile microphone; used properly you could achieve desirable results with just about any source. Since I don't (yet) own a money-growing tree I justified the extra cost by it's versatility, and I'm glad I did. It really does capture a wide variety of sources with very usable results, no radical treatments needed. It's also built like a tank. It doesn't have any attenuation and nor multiple patterns, and you'll have to purchase a shockmount seperately (although it does come with it's own little plastic mount that works fine if rumble isn't likely to be a problem.)

    In summary; this is a no-frills, do-it-all microphone that represents the sound of upper echelon Rode LDCs significantly better than the preceeding models will.

  • from Ga. September 22, 2006Music Background:
    guitar-vocals-etc..Rec. Engineer learning but know what sounds good..

    love this mic.

    This is a low noise very nice sounding mic..great for vocals--acoustic guitar--I even used it on a mesa boogie combo (Heartbreaker)--very respectable.
    Mic really deserves a 5 because it is such an excellent value..

  • from May 27, 2006Music Background:
    Recording Engineer and Musician

    Great Mic

    This is a killer mic. Very clear and very quiet. Really the best value for a mic if you're in the looking for a mic in the 300 range. I've been really impressed with every Rode mic I've heard. I also own the Rode NT5s which I use for overheads and acoustic guitar. A quality mic for quite cheap.

  • from New City, NY September 25, 2008Music Background:
    Songwriter / Engineer

    Love this mic for vocals (but not with all preamps).

    This was my personal vocal mic for years. I even brought it to other studios, and in A/B comparisons, we'd also choose the NT1000 as sounding best (on MY voice that is). I've since got a Grace 101 pre, and this does NOT sound nice with it. This NT1000 has lots of Hi-End, and the Grace being the honest preamp that it is, does no warming to keep it pleasent. It gets real harsh. I do however love the NT1000's performance with lower end pres like the Presonus TubePre and most utility mixer pres. I'm sure something like a Solo/610 or Brick would be a nice match for this microphone.

  • from New City, NY October 2, 2008Music Background:
    songwriter / engineer

    Decent LDC mic.

    I used to really love this microphone for vocals. In fact, it seems to work best with cheaper preamps. This is a very bright sounding mic. I think the dullness of some cheaper pres sort of tames the sometimes overly bright characteristics of this mic.
    It could also be the opposite effect of the brightness giving the cheap pres some life. I've since moved on from this mic since getting some better pres, but it served me well for many years, mostly paired up with a Presonus TubePre.

  • from Massachusetts July 31, 2007Music Background:
    25 years recording in project studio.

    Good mic. Too much hype.

    With all the hype about this mic and it's siblings, I came to this mic with high expectations. They were met, barely. It sounds good, with a smooth frequency response and low noise. It's quite flattering for vocals.
    But then I put it head-to-head against my trusty CAD M37 (which cost 1/3 the price of the Rode). I recorded the same source, panned the mics left and right, and I could not tell which was which!

  • from Tucson Arizona October 2, 2011Music Background:
    Recording Engineer/Pro musician

    A step up from some Microphones

    The Rode Nt1000 is a step up in clarity from some inexpensive models. However, if you continue to record this microphone will not be your all around mic. The high end is not smooth and does not sit well when stacked. An AKG 414 or 214 might serve you more in the long run, but the nt1000 is "good enough"

Questions about the Rode NT1000?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway