0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart

Planet Waves PW-CT-12TP NS Micro Tuner - 2-Pack Reviews

4.0 stars based on 87 customer reviews
Questions about the Planet Waves PW-CT-12TP NS Micro Tuner - 2-Pack?

Questions about the Planet Waves PW-CT-12TP NS Micro Tuner - 2-Pack?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • Teejay
    from Chicagoland April 25, 2017Music Background:
    Vast and Varied

    Nice!

    Nice! Cheap! Work great! One for every headstock! Yeay!

  • Customer
    from April 4, 2017

    Sweet

    I use these on most all my guitars, you can leave them on even in the case. Easy to use. Easy to see.

  • Jonathan
    from TX February 2, 2017Music Background:
    Teacher/Musician

    In tune with my needs!

    I love that this tuner is not bulky. I can put this on my classical guitar and leave it on the headstock when I place it my case. What is also nice is that there is flip button which allows the user to change the screen orientation. So it does not matter which side the tuner is clamped to the headstock. It can also swivel.

    There are 2 modes..Tuner and Metronome. Simply press and hold the M button to change between Tuning mode and Metronome Mode.

    Another nice feature is that the tuner automatically powers off in 10 minutes to save battery life.

    Multi color display. Red-Out of tune, Yellow-Almost in tune, Green-in tune

    The cursor buttons also allow for calibration from 410-480Hz, but I don't really mess around with that feature.

    Compared to other tuners on the market, I think this one gives you the most bang for your buck. Especially if you buy the 2 pack! The tuner does rattle on the headstock while I play the instrument..so that can be a bit annoying. I simply take off while I am playing.

  • CJ
    from Virginia December 28, 2016

    Great little tuner

    Got these not fully understanding how much I would actually like em. These tuners are great. I have one on my acoustic and one on my uke. Accurate tuning, easy to read display, and hideaway clamping to the instrument. Would definitely buy again and would definitely recommend.

  • Michael Gallagher
    from Loxahatchee, FL November 30, 2016

    Great little tuners

    Easy to use and works as advertised. Great deal.

  • Alex
    from Berkeley, CA May 10, 2016Music Background:
    Hobbyist and occasional performer

    Great tuners

    These tuners are perfect and don't have the problems associated with other tuners on the market. They are great for if you aren't a "pedal person" or if you play acoustic instruments, and you don't have to worry about cables or signal chains or anything - just clip it on and you're good! These are also really nice as they won't ruin the aesthetics of your headstock like most clip-on tuners will, and everyone will still be able to see the guitar's brand name (let's face it, you didn't drop a few thousand bucks on a genuine Gibson JUST for the tonewoods). They're also perfect for Telecasters and similar guitars that don't have a ton of extra headstock space to clip stuff onto. And if you're slick enough you can even make it look like you're tuning by ear! The display is nice and bright so you can always see what you're doing (plus it's really nice and intuitive so it takes no time at all to tune up), and it's matte too so you won't get a bunch of glare from the stage lights. I use these for guitar and bass and they work great. A word of advice though: Once it's on your guitar, LEAVE IT. If you want to use one on multiple guitars, buy several. And most importantly, never lend these to your friends or bandmates! They aren't much bigger than guitar picks, and have you ever gotten back a guitar pick you lent to someone?

    Overall these are some excellent tuners that keep everything really clean and simple and I recommend them to anyone who prefers playing in tune.

  • Customer
    from February 25, 2016

    Neat little tuner

    This tuner is very unobtrusive on a guitar headstock. It is small but the display is very clear and intuitive. Does what it is supposed to do without a lot of fuss. The best thing is that it doesn't stick up off of some funky spring clamp.

  • R. Weaver
    from Northern Va. September 7, 2015Music Background:
    33 years...25 professionally

    I was Surprised

    For the last 15 years or so I've been using the tuner on my Line 6 pedal. I recently (based on reviews here at Sweetwater) bought these little headstock tuners to go along with my Rk5 (no tuner) built in. They're small...clip on great...very visible on a dark stage and most importantly they're spot on with much more expensive tuners. Don't hesitate like I did. Buy with confidence.

  • dugan
    from fort wayne July 30, 2015Music Background:
    varied, rock, worship, acoustic

    worship team member must have

    bought the two pack to go along with my new RK5. These things are phenomenal. I used to use the tuner on my effects board (Line 6 HD400) and i was a bit annoyed by the big clip on tuners my team members were using, but then when the RK5 didn't have a tuner, i thought i'd try these.

    blown away. love them. easy to read, quick to use, don't have to be plugged in to use, has a metronome. can't say enough good. i have one in each of my guitar cases now, they're just that inexpensive and that good.

  • Erik
    from North Carolina April 15, 2015

    Great Little Tuner

    Fantastic, tiny, and accurate. Can barely see it from the front of my guitar, but the well lit Led is easy to read. Highly recommended!

  • ripsix
    from Aurora, CO USA February 13, 2015Music Background:
    Musician, Recording Engineer

    Every guitar should have one....

    I love this tuner. It's size is perfect as it's not bulky and it doesn't get in the way of tuning, the audience can't see it. The two pack is perfect, better than perfect when on sale. The clamping system works excellently and the accuracy is very good and it also comes with a metronome! Go figure, all that in one nice package. I like them so much I've bought one for nearly every guitar I own. I like them so much that this review is acting like a reminder and I'm buying a couple more as I write it!

  • Thomas Messina
    from Raleigh, NC USA February 4, 2015Music Background:
    Pro musician, recording engineer

    Charming, convenient, and effective

    Just a great little tuner...very effective at helping to get the guitar quickly in tune. I put eight of these on eight of my guitars and I am so happy to not have to be scrambling around looking for my larger clamp on tuner (like where did I put the darn thing). I just keep these little units on the guitars while I am here in the studio and each guitar is ready to be used with no fumbling around. At first I thought the display might be a bit small but once I understood how to correctly orient the unit there was no problem reading the display while tuning.

  • Keith
    from Crystal Lake, IL January 26, 2015Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Fantastic Little Tuner

    This is a fantastic little tuner and a great deal in the 2-pack. I use them on two acoustic guitars I own that don't have built in tuning capability. I love these because they are low profile but are still very readable and seem very accurate. I leave them on my guitar head stocks even when stored in the case. Other clip on tuners have I owned I would remove, and put in them guitar case separately. When traveling they would bump into other guitar gear and turn on so when I needed them their battery would be drained. Not a problem with these Micro Tuners.

  • Daniel Kasnitz
    from Brattleboro, VT December 9, 2014Music Background:
    Purveyor of Fine Notes & Chords.

    Superb. The two-pack is the way to fly. I would like about a dozen.

    I am ultra-picky. Fave tuner is Petersen Strobe software. Korg DT-4 another fave, but now hard to find (discontinued?) and about $30 each.

    Now, for a combination of tuning ease and accuracy (most important) and ease of use, this little puppy is right at the top. Far and away my new fave if I am playing acoustically and not plugged into anything.

    Don't even consider the single pack. Just buy the two and you will be a very happy camper, trying to justify getting one for every one of your instruments.

  • Loyd F. Stigers
    from Cedarville, OH December 2, 2014Music Background:
    Music Performance/Education

    Really Good Tuner

    I bought this tuner as a back-up. Forget that! It's now my main tuner. It is quick, accurate, and extremely easy to see. It recognizes my bass open strings quickly - no need for harmonics. And I can tune as I play. I check while I'm playing the longer notes and make tuning adjustments during rests. The ambient room noise makes no difference because it tunes from the head-stock vibrations. The 2032 battery is common and inexpensive. The metronome is also accurate and easy to see. The buttons are easy to use and understand. I am more than satisfied with this purchase.

  • Gene
    from Cordova. TN. August 16, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyisyt

    I LOVE THIS TUNER!

    One reason I love this tuner is because it is accurate and you hardly notice it on your guitar. The second reason is I don't have to look for my tuner anymore. The only thing I would change on it is for the metronome to have sound.

  • Jay
    from Auburn, WA April 19, 2014Music Background:
    musician and home recording enthusiast 25 years

    My favorite tuner

    This is probably the best tuner that I have ever used. I have tried several others including a Peterson Strobe tuner and the NS Micro Headstock Tuner is the most accurate for quick tuning on stage. I wish I would have seen the two pack for $29.99 (what a deal!) .

  • Walter John
    from Schnecksville, PA March 23, 2014Music Background:
    Singer/Songwriter, Home Recording. Performer

    Excellent Tuner

    I have tried them all. For the past year I have been using an app on my phone - Guitar Tools - with a tuner strobe. This is now my new favorite! It's small, unobtrusive, easy to calibrate and hone in on that perfect tune. And you never have to take it off your guitar. You can set it up from any angle. I have multiple ones for each guitar and gave some to friends. It's cheap! I Love it! You will too!

  • Caleb
    from Ohio December 23, 2013Music Background:
    Ridiculously serious hobbyist

    NS Micro Tuner

    These tuners are great. I use them on my mandolin, violin, and Irish Bouzouki(octave mandolin). They tune quite accurately and are easy to read.

  • Wes Conkright
    from United States December 1, 2013Music Background:
    guitar player/collector

    awesome tuner

    this tuner is the greatest perfect tune every time easy to use

  • Don
    from Pittsburgh, Pa. USA October 24, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Great Tuner, Great Price

    Great Tuner and very accurate

  • Customer
    from October 21, 2013

    So far, so good!

    Seems more accurate than the tuners that you plug in to. I love the low profile, as the clip on tuners that stick out from the headstock were a turn-off for me. It's nice that you can change the display orientation depending on where the tuner fits best on your guitar.

    I haven't used them on stage yet, so we'll see if I manage to shake them off while playing (I hope not, but I play hard).

  • Bob B.
    from Maine October 6, 2013Music Background:
    hobbyist

    incredibly accurate!

    At first, I was skeptical as to how good these inexpensive little Planet Waves tuners could be-and just how to mount one most effectively. That was easy, actually. I've had other clip-ons which were pretty good, but this one is as close to perfect as I could imagine. I have one on my 12-string and the other on a 6-string (both acoustic). I keep them right on the headstock so they're all set to go. The size of the display itself is big and the display is bright, too. Buy yours from Sweetwater-great price and great service!

  • William Franklin
    from Sarver, PA September 30, 2013Music Background:
    Professional Musician, Recording wannabe...

    TWO at this price?!?! This is a CRAZY deal...

    At this price, I'll have one of these on every bass I own...

  • rick woodall
    from Durham, NC (USA) September 9, 2013Music Background:
    In a Road BAND-Lead,Acoustic,Bass player

    Unique in every way !

    This IS the tuner I've been waiting for-a Must for the musician who needs to stay in tune and plays a lot. Easy to use and remarkably handy on any instrument and is ready before you are. One of a kind for sure.

  • Dr. C
    from Newport Beach, CA September 6, 2013

    Love These Micro Headstock Tuners!

    Like them so much that I bought another pair for the remaining two guitars I own. I have other clip on tuners, but I particularly love these because I can put them on and leave them on the instrument even when they are in their cases. The two pack makes them a excellent value.

  • Jim Kovacs
    from Monterey County, Ca May 22, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist and student

    Best little tuner-ever

    These little guys are the best. I have one on each of my guitars, and given a couple away to friends. Put it on your headstock and forget about it till the next you play, turn it on, tune up and go! No cables, no fuss, no muss!
    And as always, Bob Furlong and Sweetwater were great!

  • Joe
    from San Diego, CA March 26, 2013Music Background:
    blugrass, folk, jazz instrumentalist, singer

    Mini Headstock Tuner

    This is a great little tuner. Unlike others, this one is virtually unnoticeable from the audience or even friends you might be playing for; yet it works just as well. The display is very easy to read and swivels for the best angle. I haven't had any problems finding a sweet spot that others suffer from.
    Was also very pleased with the service I got from Sweetwater...very swift delivery, items well-packed, unlike others I used to shop from. From now on, I'm checking Sweetwater first, and if they have what I need, I'm buying from them!

  • Kenneth P.Torregrossa
    from Brooklyn,NY March 5, 2013Music Background:
    Guitar,keyboard, explorer of sounds, Home recordist

    Planet Waves NS Mini Headstock Tuner (2-Pack)

    Just one of the best in this catorgory. Easy to use , easy to see and is well hidden so you can just leave it on all the time so it's alway's ready to use. Plus with the 2 pack , one makes a great gift for a buddy.

  • Dave
    from Ft. Wayne, IN January 14, 2013Music Background:
    Rank amature

    Best Thing Since Sliced Bread!

    So small and unabtrusive that I keep one permanently attached to the headstock of all my instruments, even my tenor uke. I never have to search for a tuner again!

  • Ron
    from Fresno, CA January 4, 2013Music Background:
    U-Bass Player, Semi-Pro Musician, Live Sound Engineer

    Not seen , but heard.

    Virtually invisible on the instrument but BIG on value. I bought four of these tuners when they first appeared on the market a year ago for myself and my bandmates. Playing acoustic instruments, tuning is done all the time with the changing temperatures and humidities. I play bluegrass music and it bothers me when you have beautiful instrument and a gaudy tuner clipped on the headstock. It's just unsightly and looks unprofessional. These tuners solve the problem. Plus, they've been improved. You won't be disappointed.

  • George Green
    from Corpus Christi, Tx December 30, 2012Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Planet Waves Mini Headstock

    Excellent device. It is small, accurate, simple and effective. I see no shortcomings at all.

  • John Powers
    from Hendersonville, NC September 13, 2012

    Love It!!!!

    Love this tuner. talk about tuning on the fly!!! It is accurate and quick...easy to read, too. I recommend this as part of your arsenal.

  • Deb Hart
    from Henderson, MI July 13, 2012Music Background:
    Pro musician and worship leader.

    Great!! I need 7 more at least!

    I bought 2 of these in an effort to do away with my Peterson StroboTuner on my pedalboard, and not to have the big Peterson Clip-On on my headstocks at church. ( Stuff like that is a distraction for the congregation at times.) I was very impressed with not only how these performed, but how you really couldn't see them once mounted. If I painted the front part beige, no one would know anything was there. Now I need to buy 7 more in order to put them on all my guitars and basses. Buy one and you'll be hooked like I am.

  • David
    from Moses Lake, WA April 12, 2012Music Background:
    musician-country and gospel

    Looks like a rookie, hits it out of the park like a major leager!!

    I purchased this because I didn't want the bulky akward look of some of the clip-ons that I have seen. I placed it on my Alvarez and had it tuned in less than 30 seconds. My A, G, and B were the worst out of tune and it quickly locked the frequency and I was done!!!
    Awesome little tuner!!!!!!

  • 50_Caliber
    from Chi Town December 20, 2011Music Background:
    Teacher (15 Years), Enthusist!

    That good!

    I picked this puppy up because I was tired of halling a floor pedal tuner. I wanted something that would always be attached to my guitar like a acoustic guitars built in tuners. What sold me was the pic of it attached to a tele style headstock. Especially seeing I have a tele.

    It works great! I don't take it off the guitar. I even a had someone swear I tuned my tele by ear to perfect pitch because they couldn't tell it was there. Sometimes it's the little things that make a big difference!

  • John Reno
    from Port Charlotte, FL April 26, 2017Music Background:
    Working musician for 26+ years.

    Great guitar stand

    I love that this tuner does not have to attach to the headstock such that it obstructs the name/logo of the guitar manufacture. It attaches nicely between the low E string tuner and the nut and is virtually invisible to the audience. One drawback... placing it there doesn't allow me to place the guitar on my GS432B Hanging Guitar Stand. There's always a tradeoff. Otherwise, a great tuner.

  • John
    from Florida November 29, 2016Music Background:
    Guitarists

    Perfect on my Tele!

    I've had mine for over a year, and still works great. It is my favorite tuner. Fits on my Tele and only I can view the screen from behind the headstock. Very low profile. I keep it on ALL the time. Love it!

  • Rooster
    from Crivitz,Wi July 16, 2015Music Background:
    Country/ light rock and Gospel player since the

    Planet wave 2 pack

    This is a nice little tuner,quite accurate and responds quickly if you mute the previous string. It's out of the way and unobtrusive. The clip is somewhat delicate, and you need to be careful when using a head stock type guitar stand. It's also a nice touch to be able to switch the readout.

  • Matt McGriff
    from Naples, FL December 29, 2014

    great little tuner

    These are great little tuners. I now own three and keep one on my travel acoustic at all times. I can even keep it on in the gigbag, which is nice because these are very small and would get lost down in the gigbag pocket for sure. They do their job well, are sturdy and are not overly obtrusive.

  • Jase Sng
    from December 7, 2014Music Background:
    Bass player

    A Serious Clip-On Tuner

    I use these tuners on two of my Dingwall basses & they work extremely well; much better than my previous purchases of different makes. Tracking on the low B is fast & true and the rubber grip on the base of the tuner is solid with the ratchet fastened. Easy to read & the buttons feel great. Having the metronome handy for a quick warm-up before sound check doesn't hurt either. Buy with confidence.

  • Paul
    from Bismarck, MO July 23, 2014Music Background:
    Playing for 10 yr now as a Hobbyist.

    Works for me

    I thought these tuners were very sensitive in trying to get the string right in tune. Made your tuning pegs seem very touchy. But after a couple days use I found that it is not the tuner as the problem. It was my old strings. After a new set of string they work great. I like them and you can leave them on and not have a tuner that looks like a camera or an eyeball hanging on the headstock which is very distracting in my opinion.
    You can hide these behind the headstock and no one can see them.
    Great item and you would like them too.
    These are at a bargain price. Don't let them slip by.

  • Al
    from New Jersey July 13, 2014Music Background:
    Gigging musician / band member

    Great little tuner

    I bought the two pack based on the good reviews and I'm impressed. I've been through countless tuners over the years and most if not all are a pain in one way or another. These stay right on the headstock when you put the guitar or bass back in the case, they're small enough so they don't touch the case and get broken . they're not the fastest tuners I've ever seen but they do a good job. Buy these

  • Dwayne Barker
    from Rockford, Illinois July 4, 2014Music Background:
    Professional session guitarist

    reat tuner, low profile

    I love the very low profile these tuners have. I do wish they responded a bit quicker, but I'll accept a bit slower response for the small profile. it's still a great tuner for the price

  • Dennis Wasnich
    from Montpelier, Ohio June 9, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    No kidding, a great little headstock tuner

    The most stable, easy to use tuner I've ever used; add to that it's almost invisible stealthy design, and you have a winner. I got the single-pack and wish I'd bought the two-pack. You won't be disappointed.

  • Customer
    from February 27, 2014

    PW-CT-12 NS Micro Headstock Tuner

    Great size. Easy to work with. A tad delicate but that's okay.

  • Matt
    from Celina,OH January 9, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Works as it should

    Works great, even smaller than original micro tuner

  • Customer
    from May 16, 2013

    Good Tuner

    Very good for the price!

  • Zac C.
    from United States March 15, 2013Music Background:
    Recording Engineer

    I love these little guys!

    It's become my favorite mini tuner. It hides away nicely in just the right spot. In most cases it doesn't interfere with guitar hangers, so it can always stay on the guitar (one less thing to pack and un-pack). I've used many other head stock tuners (Korg, Fishman, Snark...) - this one is my favorite. I like simple and this tiny tuner does the trick.

  • Paul Roach
    from Healdsburg Calif. May 15, 2012Music Background:
    Intermediate musician

    Super tuner

    The first one I recieved didnt work right .Sweetwater sent me another one overnite.The replacement works great.I use it on my tele.Thanks Sweetwater. I am buying another for my Strat today.

  • Stuart
    from March 29, 2017

    Tuner

    I love these little tuners and have one for each instrument- banjos & guitars. I've had one for a couple of years and it continues to work fine. They work well and pick up a wide range including my piccolo banjo, tuned in C. Only issue is that they are hard for me to see when performing outdoors, especially with sunglasses.

  • Bill
    from Washington October 4, 2015

    Amazing, invisible tuner

    I read all the reviews I could find, and decided to take a chance on 2 double packs. I'm more than impressed. They are virtually invisible installed, easy to use, and display the note quickly--at least on acoustic instruments. Getting the hang of their color progression as a note comes in tune was tricky at first but is soon became second nature. The reason I gave 4 instead of 5 is due to Planet Waves lack of descriptive clarity, and not due to the performance of the tuners in my application.

    1) They are for indoor use, and bleach out in sunny conditions. This is especially critical as the tuner uses color changes to indicate degrees of tuning. If you can't see the color, you're in trouble

    2) They demonstrate their tuners clipped to the peg head near the nut. None of my three acoustic guitars allowed a purchase in that area. I was disappointed, but they work fine at the far end of the peg head.

    3) The tuners have to be perfectly aligned with your eye. If they are off axis even a little, they are difficult to read.

    None of these are deal killers for me, but I wish Planet Waves/D/Addario was more honest in their marketing--especially in this online purchasing age. If they were on eBay, they'd rate an 80% satisfaction score in my book. The product is excellent, but the sales pitch is flawed.

  • brew777
    from Denver CO USA March 11, 2015Music Background:
    Playing 42 years, recording 36 years.

    A great stage tuner when you don't want to haul a bunch of gear.

    It won't replace my Peterson for doing intonation but they are great for open stages, jams, any time you don't want to haul a bunch of gear around. It take up as much room as 10 guitar picks. I have tried quite a few head stock tuners, and the clamping design, sensitivity, and extremely small foot print make this an excellent additional to your guitar case. One note - it is fine to leave it on an acoustic in a hard case, but I don't recommend leave on an electric or if you use a gig bag, you'll find you have a dead battery when you need it and the corner store never said anything about cheap, just convenient.

  • Steve R.
    from United States January 14, 2015Music Background:
    Musician / Producer

    Great little tuners!

    I bought the two-pack so my son and I could each have one. These are very good tuners - the LCD is bright and visible. I was surprised at how small these were, though (only about the size of a standard guitar pick) - so, if you need something with a larger readout in order to read all the way down the end of the head stock, then you would probably want a larger tuner. Otherwise, it's very accurate - very adjustable - and clamps securely and easily to the head stock.

  • Big Rig Tom
    from 0195 November 25, 2014Music Background:
    Bass player for a long time.

    Tuna review

    Easy to use, easy to loose. That's why they come in pairs.

  • DJ
    from East Coast November 3, 2014

    Nice but has trouble in noisy environments

    I like it. It's very compact and convenient to use. The display flip function is invaluable.

    The only issue I have with it is that it does not work well in noisy environments (ie: when others are playing too). It is difficult to get a lock on the tone. It's probably normal for this type of sensor/tuner. In quieter environments it works just fine.

    Will likely have to go with a pedal type of tuner.

  • Andrew Tucker
    from waterford, MI October 9, 2014Music Background:
    Worship leader, guitarist, drummer, bassist, recording/live sound engineer

    Good In a Pinch

    I bought these little buggers for exactly what they are good for - tuning when you don't have access to a pedal or rack tuner.

    They are accurate but, can be finicky about picking up the pitch of the string, especially E6. However, they are obviously far better than nothing and they are extremely small, light, and unobtrusive, so if you are worried about having an eye-catching tuner hanging off your headstock, these are the one's to get.

    Cheers!

  • Midwest Weekend Warrior
    from Midwest Region, USA July 4, 2014Music Background:
    Weekend Warrior, Studio Hobbyist

    Tune Up

    A few decades of performing live -- I have used the Boss Chromatic tuner, the TC Electronics Polytuner, and a number of other products. All have upsides and downsides. I fully admit to being a late arrival to the Headstock Tuner party. Last winter, at a Bluegrass picking party (I am not a bluegrass musician of any sort, but have respect for the genre) I became interested in the idea of headstock tuners for the acoustic guitar. It seems like this would not be the best solution for a loud/live gig, but I bought a handful of these suckers for the home studio. I believe these would work at coffee house jam settings and more intimate affairs. Not sold on the idea of using these on a loud stage in a nightclub with a loud DJ or outdoor gigs with massive PAs, which are the kinds of things I do this summer.

    Oh, buy the two pack of this and you might realize some savings.

  • Nelson Smith
    from Columbia, North Carolina April 22, 2014Music Background:
    ex part-time professional musician and hobbyist

    very functional

    Very unobtrusive and easy to find the perfect mounting location due to its swivel joint and the ability to rotate the note lettering for easy visibility. Also, because of how the "in-tune" is displayed, it is very easy to correctly flatten the low E so it will be in tune when the capo is fretted high.

  • Caleb
    from NJ USA January 30, 2014Music Background:
    hobbyist

    PW Micro Headstock Tuner

    With my guitar (Taylor), I need to put the tuner on the end of the headstock, as opposed to just near the nut which makes it a tad hard to see, that's my only complaint. The swivel is pretty cool, and the pitch calibration is pretty wide. The clip is easy on the finish, and the metronome is a nice to have. The tuner will also flip the display over in case you need to put it in an alternate position. It came with batteries, which was nice, and one that I have zillions of: CR2032. Overall, a great product, at least so far. Yet to see: battery life and darker rooms.

  • Patrick Kelley
    from Morrison, Colorado July 6, 2013Music Background:
    Intermediate

    Planet Waves NS Mini Headstock Tuner

    The perfect size (if you have good eyes). The back lit display could be brighter. It might be difficult to read in broad daylight. I really like how it fits my acoustic Martin guitar. I place it on top of the head stock, with the display on the back side between my vintage Waverley tuners. Then I rotate it so I can see it while playing my guitar. When I need to tune it, I just press the little on/off button and quickly achieve tune. Then turn it off. I can leave it on my guitar permanently. It fits into my guitar case without falling off the guitar. O would recommend this tuner. Enjoy!

  • Todd Musich
    from WINTER GARDEN, FL June 2, 2013

    Great little tuner

    These work great, the only downfall would be if your trying to use it on a les paul type headstock. On a fender style head stock it works great, not a lot of room to click it on a les paul and still get a good view of the display.

  • Dwayne Barker
    from Rockford, Illinois January 30, 2013Music Background:
    Professional guitarist

    Great tuner, size is the plus!

    It's a great tuner for the size (that's why I bought it) it's not at fast as my Snark tuner, but size was the bonus, so I'll take being a little more patient over the bigger sized tuners. It's also nice being able to leave the tuner on the headstock when storing in a gig bag without damage to the tuner or guitar, (a real plus) tune up the sensitivity a bit and it'll be perfect! I'm still real happy with it.

  • BJacobs
    from pittsburgh pa February 7, 2012Music Background:
    bass

    great tuner

    This tuner is great for the money, very accurate, small easy to read. no brainer!

  • Jerry Billheimer
    from Springfield,OH January 25, 2012

    Planet Waves NS Mini

    Best thing to come along since sliced bread. I like the idea of tuning while I'm playing

  • Leeroy
    from USA October 2, 2014Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Musician, Hobbyist

    Decent Tuner

    Fairly Accurate tuner. Needs more thought put into the design though. The metronome is pointless. They should have made it beep like a digital watch alarm. Also the rubber on the vice clamp needs to be thicker because it left an imprint in the finish on my headstocks. You can tell that the tuner was there when you take it off. It's barely noticeable but it may be something to think about if you want your guitars to stay perfectly mint. Battery life is short under extensive use. Life is longer with quick tunes. If they fixed the issues I have mentioned this tuner would be the cats pajamas!

  • GM
    from California October 6, 2014

    Decent, but there are better tuners of the kind

    Pretty good but can't measure up to Snark models. The screen is too small and it is nowhere nearly as flexible as Snarks.

  • Bear
    from Coudersport, Pa October 10, 2013Music Background:
    Worship leader, recording engineer, music addict

    Perfect... indoors

    The tuner works great. I never used the metronome. The reversible screen is a nice touch. It seems to be pretty accurate. I have only one complaint but it's a big one. Outr in the daylight I can't even tell if it's on let alone get any use out of it. I jam a lot with friends in our town square, but I still use my intellitouch for that. This one is great indoors. I love that I can just keep it on my guitar even in the case, but out in the sun forget it.

  • RJ Beyer
    from Michigan September 9, 2013Music Background:
    bluegrass musician

    NS Micro Headstock Tuner

    Pro's: Tuner is very small and easily able to leave attached to your instrument. Sensitivity is pretty good. Button to flip the lit display direction is nice.

    Con's: The small dimly lit display is difficult to see outdoors in bright light. Too many buttons. The visual metronome is nearly useless, and it's easy to inadvertently change the tuning out of 440.

    Summary: Make the backlit display brighter, with A-440 only, with a single on/off button, and it would be a 5 star winner!

  • BINK
    from Grapevine TX USA April 10, 2013Music Background:
    Semi-Pro Musician

    Planet Waves NS Mini Headstock Tuner (2-Pack)

    Works good...seems very accurate. Love the design - easy to use and see. I wish it were a little quicker to turn on, but not a big deal. It is, however, all plastic. I do not see this lasting very long and I am very good with my equipment! It may fool me with it's durability - we will see.

  • Stephen
    from Orlando, FL February 11, 2016Music Background:
    Studio musician, producer, live performer

    Small, but slow

    These are very discrete and convenient. Barely noticeable at all compared to normal clip-on tuners. Unfortunately, compared to Snark they're slow, and so in practice, less accurate. Snarks are big ugly things, but they're quick and accurate. Pick your poison!

  • Ron Light
    from San Francisco January 28, 2015Music Background:
    Novice

    Sharpens your

    Bought a pack of two based on overwhelming good reviews. They're small, hide away easily and are nice looking. They mounted neatly on the headstock of both my Fender Mustang and my Epiphone Wildkat archtop. The advantage has been being able to tune the solid body "acoustically," i.e. without amplification. But there is a deficiency: An inability at times to accurately tune the G string, which with both guitars and both devices sometimes tunes to G#. Since the tuner doesn't signify "sharps" the way other tuners do and only displays a "G," there's no way to know it's guided you to tune to the wrong note.

  • Steven McGinnis
    from kansas city, MO February 17, 2014Music Background:
    Pro musician 30 + years...guitar player 41 years...

    good idea...but...

    i was really excited to get something that could stay on my guitars i have one on my archtop... ill let you know when i find the other one... it apparently flew off when being placed in the stand at a gig so im down one... a thin gel pad in the clamps would solve this i think... so for me the design could have been a little better ... the other knock is .. they aren't very fast .. or sensitive.. i find myself having to really bang at the string to get it to respond.. tried new batteries etc different placements.. no change.... my snark works so much better... i just wish the snark didn't look like an alien eyeball sticking out of the guitar hehehehe... i would have rather seen them make this with an adhesive pad for permanent mounting on the back of the headstock in a place i can see it i have to put the one i have left on the end of the headstock to keep my stand from popping it off ... much harder to see in that location... good idea.. just needs some tweaking

  • Tim
    from Ohio February 7, 2014Music Background:
    Semi-Pro guitar player

    Just OK Tuner.

    I sometimes have difficulty tuning. Don't know if it's to precise or not precise enough. I like the Snarks better.

  • DaveF
    from Pittsburgh PA January 5, 2014

    too sensitive

    I have used the snark tuners with much happiness, and thought this would be even better, as it is smaller and inconspicuous. I found it was too sensitive as you got closer to the proper pitch. it will jump full scale up and down with hardly any super fine tuning once you are near pitch. on the b string, it never would settle in on the 'green'. I ended up tuning by ear or clipping on my snark. Maybe mine is a lemon, or maybe they will adjust the filter and sensitivity on later models, but mine in in the drawer for now.

  • Denny B.
    from southern NJ September 13, 2013Music Background:
    songwriter / worship band leader

    About par for the course

    I love the mini size. As far as an effective tuner, it's about average for headstock tuners, and in my opinion, the average headstock tuner sucks. Rarely do they effectively pick up my big E string.

  • Richard Mead
    from West Palm Beach, FL July 30, 2016Music Background:
    Professional hobbyist

    Planet waves NSMicro tuner

    I ordered the two pack of these so put one on each of my two most used accoustic guitars. The price was right and the convenience right on. On first use I wasn't sure it was working, but after adjusting the angle of the dangle, I saw the light. I definitely can't use these without glasses. I can only barely use them with glasses. I find them very hard to for my 65 year old eyes, which are in amazingly good shape for my age. Wish I could say the same for my hearing! Back to the tuners, the red to green display is visible, but those little nuanced areas in between usually have me resorting to tuning by ear. Basically they're better than nothing, and right there when I need them, but I think I'd be happier with a larger display. I can't imagine it would be in the way or add any noticable weight to the headstock. Sometimes I think we tend to make things smaller because we can. This is a case in point.

  • Brad
    from Detroit September 11, 2015

    Don't buy these. Get a Snark if this is what you want.

    It's a neat product with two design flaws:

    1) The display is NOT easy to read until it's at the EXACTLY RIGHT ANGLE.
    2) This thing sucks the life out of batteries faster than any tuner I've ever had before, which is seemingly impossible due to its very dimly lit screen; nevertheless, even after installing new batteries into it, the unit's "low battery" symbol begins to flash.

    I use Snarks and Strobostomps (and plugins) for tuning instead.

  • Matt R.
    from Cincinnati, OH December 1, 2014Music Background:
    Bassist with style

    Not bad, not great - does the job

    Pro: Small; unobtrusive; bright; easy-to-read; simple to use; quick to install/remove; portable; small (again!)

    Con: Has trouble "locking" on the note/frequency which sometimes takes several plucks of the string to get it to recognize "Oh, you were talking to me?"; sensitive to noise in the environment which can impede the functionality of the device

    Not bad for the money, works quite well in a relatively quiet environment. They do a fine job for the money, but I am thinking of getting a pedal tuner to ensure quicker response and to cross-check accuracy. Again, not bad devices, just not what I would rely on in a pinch.

  • Roland Galindo
    from Palm Bay, Florida USA February 18, 2013Music Background:
    Hawaiian Music Musician for Hula Halau

    Just OK

    It does the job, but just OK for the price. It was bought for my Ukuleles.
    It does hide itself pretty good on the headstock, and the brightness could be a little better in bright sunlight. No problem though in dim/dark conditions. I would opt for the Kala KC02 tuner next time.

  • Customer
    from Los Angeles, California December 21, 2015

    Can't tune in noisy environment

    I got these a while back instead of a Snark tuner for it's size (although I use it for my GS mini and found out that there is only one place this tuner will fit).

    Other than that you need to be looking directly at the screen to see anything (I thought the screen was broken at first), it was a pretty good tuner until I tried to tune on stage while the worship band was playing at my church and noticed that the tuner just goes berserk picking up all the other noise vibrations from the other instruments.

    I borrowed someone's Snark tuner before and was able to tune it during a gig while the other instruments were playing.

    I will be ordering a replacement tuner soon. Most likely a Snark one.

  • Vito
    from California May 21, 2014Music Background:
    Musician, composer, engineer, producer

    Disappointing

    These work OK as long as the batteries hold out...which is not for long. They're not very bright in the first place, and they soon get too dim to read at all. It's a decent design (physically) in that it's unobtrusive and couples well to the headstock. I haven't broken one yet. It's not very precise, and it works better on some guitars than on others. It doesn't work well on my Telecaster. Seemed like a good deal at first, but I won't be buying any more of these. I greatly prefer the Snark tuner.

  • Customer
    from December 23, 2016

    Waste of money

    For bass guitar this just isn't a capable tuner. The cheap plastic housing from sympathetic vibrations of bass guitar strings, makes noise. Does not respond to low B string and was not perfectly accurate when double-checked with a Peterson strobe tuner for all strings. For me it was a waste of money.

  • John
    from SC September 8, 2016Music Background:
    Bass and Guitar since 1975

    Avoid these like the plague

    I'm always willing to try something new. Gave this a product a try and I regret the waste of money. When I tried to use it the first time I first had to pull the plastic tab out that protects the battery. When I pulled the tab the whole battery compartment came flying out. Spent 10 minutes looking for the battery. Still haven't found it. Luckily, or so I thought, I bought the two pack. I was very careful pulling the tab out of the second one. I set it up according to the instructions on the back. I tuned the first three strings and then... all on its own accord it went into metronome mode. No matter how many times I push the button it won't go back into tuning mode. Turning it off and back on doesn't help. So all I really got was an unwanted and unnecessary metronome. Excuse me while I go shop for another tuner...

  • Gerald Lewis
    from Arlington, TX February 7, 2015

    Unreadable Useless Junk

    I thought perhaps I would get used to it, but the display on the two I bought are unreadable, especially under stage lights, so I can't tell how well they work. The display just always looks like a square 8. They got me.

  • Lisa
    from Menlo Park, CA USA December 15, 2014

    Difficult to see and calibrate

    Disappointed. I could hardly read the display, it was dim and difficult to distinguish a C from an G and an A from an E. Given there were 2 of them in the packet I thought I may have received a defective one. However they both had the same issues for me. I returned mine.

  • joe
    from toledo oh January 5, 2012Music Background:
    iam a rockabilly legend

    ns mini

    ITS KIND OF HAD TO PUT IT ON TILL YOU YOU LEARN HOW .

Questions about the Planet Waves PW-CT-12TP NS Micro Tuner - 2-Pack?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close