rrrabuyvsvsveytfazersurdwarubawvev
0% Interest for 36 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
July 4 Financing

D'Addario Planet Waves PW-CT-12 NS Micro Headstock Tuner Reviews

4.0 stars based on 61 customer reviews
Questions about the D'Addario Planet Waves PW-CT-12 NS Micro Headstock Tuner?

Questions about the D'Addario Planet Waves PW-CT-12 NS Micro Headstock Tuner?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • Nick McLay
    from Indiana October 17, 2016Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Outstanding Tuner

    I've played classical guitar for almost 40 years. Tuning has never been my favorite thing to do. My most recent tuner is a Snark and I like it a lot but it is relatively large. This Micro tuner is outstanding. I put one on each of my guitars on the headstock with the display being on the backside where only I can see it. You can ever FLIP the display once you have it where you want it! Now, no matter what classical I feel like playing there is a tuner already to go! Great product at an outstanding price too.

  • Sean R.
    from Scranton, PA July 23, 2016Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    I love it!

    I love this tuner! I've been using Snarks forever and this one is much better for me. It's smaller than I expected, which is excellent. It works perfectly. I love D'Addario, so that's a plus. Great build quality. It has a better screen than the Snarks. I don't know...I just all around love it and would prefer it over a Snark any day.

  • Porkie
    from March 28, 2016

    Great mini tuner

    This little gem is just what the doctor ordered! Small enough to be seen and out of sight. Easy to operate and once everything is tuned in, this automatically shuts off! Works great.

  • Mr. Doug
    from Maine April 21, 2015Music Background:
    Playing for many years.

    Just right!

    Never liked the look of those big ugly tuners attached to beautiful guitars. This is perfect! I will have one for each of my three guitars and never worry about forgetting to bring a tuner to a gig again. So small that most people will never notice them yet easy to read. All the features of my hand held chromatic tuner packed into a tiny package. I couldn't be more pleased with this product. Makes me smile every time I pick up a guitar.

  • James R. Jarrell
    from Wurtland , Ky. U.S.A. February 21, 2015Music Background:
    Gospel Music .

    Great ,Love the tiny size !!

    Have 2 Snarks they are great but are too big . I love the tiny size of this tuner !!!!
    Works great on my Telecaster !!!

  • Jack
    from New York, New York January 31, 2015Music Background:
    Semi-professional Artist

    Reliable Tuner

    After owning countless snarks, I decided to switch my tuner to something that didn't die every month. My experience with this tuner has been extraordinarily better due to its superior battery life, size and tuning capability. I absolutely recommend this.

  • Mike Rohrback
    from Leesburg VA September 17, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist...

    Great mini tuner

    Great small tuner to clip on your head stock. Convenient, quick and easy to use. Metronome option is nice too for practicing.

  • ACP
    from United States July 31, 2014Music Background:
    Musician

    Best Tuner I Have

    Could not believe how well it works! It's accurate, It's small. Threw my other, big, ugly, in-accurate tuners away.

  • TM
    from LA, CA July 20, 2014Music Background:
    Engineer, Producer, Arranger

    surprisingly good

    I own about 5 or 6 of the older versions of these. And while I liked them because they were convenient, they weren't accurate enough for studio work. One of the older ones broke so I bought this to replace it. Well I'm kind of amazed. HUGE improvement. The clip is a lot nicer. You can reverse the screen to fit your positioning. But most importantly, the tuner itself is REALLY REALLY ACCURATE! I usually use Peterson's clip on, or I'll use that new Polytune pedal. But since I got this, I don't even bother with those. I actually trust a 20 dollar clip on tuner for studio work now... never thought I'd say that.

  • Larry Lewis
    from Louisville, KY June 30, 2014

    Perfect for prs!!

    Awesome! Thanks Jeremy.

  • Jay
    from Auburn, WA April 19, 2014Music Background:
    musician and home recording enthusiast 25 years

    My favorite tuner

    This is probably the best tuner that I have ever used. I have tried several others including a Peterson Strobe tuner and the NS Micro Headstock Tuner is the most accurate for quick tuning on stage. I wish I would have seen the two pack for $29.99 (what a deal!) .

  • Walter John
    from Schnecksville, PA March 23, 2014Music Background:
    Singer/Songwriter, Home Recording. Performer

    Excellent Tuner

    I have tried them all. For the past year I have been using an app on my phone - Guitar Tools - with a tuner strobe. This is now my new favorite! It's small, unobtrusive, easy to calibrate and hone in on that perfect tune. And you never have to take it off your guitar. You can set it up from any angle. I have multiple ones for each guitar and gave some to friends. It's cheap! I Love it! You will too!

  • Caleb
    from Ohio December 23, 2013Music Background:
    Ridiculously serious hobbyist

    NS Micro Tuner

    These tuners are great. I use them on my mandolin, violin, and Irish Bouzouki(octave mandolin). They tune quite accurately and are easy to read.

  • Wes Conkright
    from United States December 1, 2013Music Background:
    guitar player/collector

    awesome tuner

    this tuner is the greatest perfect tune every time easy to use

  • Don
    from Pittsburgh, Pa. USA October 24, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Great Tuner, Great Price

    Great Tuner and very accurate

  • Customer
    from October 21, 2013

    So far, so good!

    Seems more accurate than the tuners that you plug in to. I love the low profile, as the clip on tuners that stick out from the headstock were a turn-off for me. It's nice that you can change the display orientation depending on where the tuner fits best on your guitar.

    I haven't used them on stage yet, so we'll see if I manage to shake them off while playing (I hope not, but I play hard).

  • Bob B.
    from Maine October 6, 2013Music Background:
    hobbyist

    incredibly accurate!

    At first, I was skeptical as to how good these inexpensive little Planet Waves tuners could be-and just how to mount one most effectively. That was easy, actually. I've had other clip-ons which were pretty good, but this one is as close to perfect as I could imagine. I have one on my 12-string and the other on a 6-string (both acoustic). I keep them right on the headstock so they're all set to go. The size of the display itself is big and the display is bright, too. Buy yours from Sweetwater-great price and great service!

  • William Franklin
    from Sarver, PA September 30, 2013Music Background:
    Professional Musician, Recording wannabe...

    TWO at this price?!?! This is a CRAZY deal...

    At this price, I'll have one of these on every bass I own...

  • rick woodall
    from Durham, NC (USA) September 9, 2013Music Background:
    In a Road BAND-Lead,Acoustic,Bass player

    Unique in every way !

    This IS the tuner I've been waiting for-a Must for the musician who needs to stay in tune and plays a lot. Easy to use and remarkably handy on any instrument and is ready before you are. One of a kind for sure.

  • Dr. C
    from Newport Beach, CA September 6, 2013

    Love These Micro Headstock Tuners!

    Like them so much that I bought another pair for the remaining two guitars I own. I have other clip on tuners, but I particularly love these because I can put them on and leave them on the instrument even when they are in their cases. The two pack makes them a excellent value.

  • Jim Kovacs
    from Monterey County, Ca May 22, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist and student

    Best little tuner-ever

    These little guys are the best. I have one on each of my guitars, and given a couple away to friends. Put it on your headstock and forget about it till the next you play, turn it on, tune up and go! No cables, no fuss, no muss!
    And as always, Bob Furlong and Sweetwater were great!

  • Joe
    from San Diego, CA March 26, 2013Music Background:
    blugrass, folk, jazz instrumentalist, singer

    Mini Headstock Tuner

    This is a great little tuner. Unlike others, this one is virtually unnoticeable from the audience or even friends you might be playing for; yet it works just as well. The display is very easy to read and swivels for the best angle. I haven't had any problems finding a sweet spot that others suffer from.
    Was also very pleased with the service I got from Sweetwater...very swift delivery, items well-packed, unlike others I used to shop from. From now on, I'm checking Sweetwater first, and if they have what I need, I'm buying from them!

  • Dave
    from Ft. Wayne, IN January 14, 2013Music Background:
    Rank amature

    Best Thing Since Sliced Bread!

    So small and unabtrusive that I keep one permanently attached to the headstock of all my instruments, even my tenor uke. I never have to search for a tuner again!

  • Ron
    from Fresno, CA January 4, 2013Music Background:
    U-Bass Player, Semi-Pro Musician, Live Sound Engineer

    Not seen , but heard.

    Virtually invisible on the instrument but BIG on value. I bought four of these tuners when they first appeared on the market a year ago for myself and my bandmates. Playing acoustic instruments, tuning is done all the time with the changing temperatures and humidities. I play bluegrass music and it bothers me when you have beautiful instrument and a gaudy tuner clipped on the headstock. It's just unsightly and looks unprofessional. These tuners solve the problem. Plus, they've been improved. You won't be disappointed.

  • George Green
    from Corpus Christi, Tx December 30, 2012Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Planet Waves Mini Headstock

    Excellent device. It is small, accurate, simple and effective. I see no shortcomings at all.

  • John Powers
    from Hendersonville, NC September 13, 2012

    Love It!!!!

    Love this tuner. talk about tuning on the fly!!! It is accurate and quick...easy to read, too. I recommend this as part of your arsenal.

  • Deb Hart
    from Henderson, MI July 13, 2012Music Background:
    Pro musician and worship leader.

    Great!! I need 7 more at least!

    I bought 2 of these in an effort to do away with my Peterson StroboTuner on my pedalboard, and not to have the big Peterson Clip-On on my headstocks at church. ( Stuff like that is a distraction for the congregation at times.) I was very impressed with not only how these performed, but how you really couldn't see them once mounted. If I painted the front part beige, no one would know anything was there. Now I need to buy 7 more in order to put them on all my guitars and basses. Buy one and you'll be hooked like I am.

  • David
    from Moses Lake, WA April 12, 2012Music Background:
    musician-country and gospel

    Looks like a rookie, hits it out of the park like a major leager!!

    I purchased this because I didn't want the bulky akward look of some of the clip-ons that I have seen. I placed it on my Alvarez and had it tuned in less than 30 seconds. My A, G, and B were the worst out of tune and it quickly locked the frequency and I was done!!!
    Awesome little tuner!!!!!!

  • 50_Caliber
    from Chi Town December 20, 2011Music Background:
    Teacher (15 Years), Enthusist!

    That good!

    I picked this puppy up because I was tired of halling a floor pedal tuner. I wanted something that would always be attached to my guitar like a acoustic guitars built in tuners. What sold me was the pic of it attached to a tele style headstock. Especially seeing I have a tele.

    It works great! I don't take it off the guitar. I even a had someone swear I tuned my tele by ear to perfect pitch because they couldn't tell it was there. Sometimes it's the little things that make a big difference!

  • Linn Spencer
    from Waynesboro, VA May 16, 2017Music Background:
    Semi-Professional

    I Like It!

    OK, I like it. I play bass and in the past other clip on tuners just haven't been accurate enough. Plus some of them look like a big ol' cyclops eye sitting on you headstock, and the clips are huge so limits placement.
    Not so with this nifty NS Micro! It sits very discreetly behind the headstock with only the thin black back of the clamp showing. The display tucks neatly underneath the E string machinehead of my Fender Jazz. It is accurate in comparison with a well known floor pedal tuner. Because it is small & discreet, the display is also small by necessity, but it is bright enough and plenty visible for quick tuning on the fly on stage. For the low price it just can't be beat.

  • Scott
    from Midwest November 1, 2016Music Background:
    Guitarist/Drummer

    Clip-on Headstock Tuner

    This is a very nice micro tuner. I place it on the front of my headstock near the nut of my guitar and leave it there. It's out of the way and relatively hidden from view the audience yet it's right there when I need it. Very cool product. I recommend it.

  • don sparks
    from portsmouth, ohio February 2, 2016Music Background:
    played guitar for 52 years.....blues and classical rock

    neat lil tuner

    works very well, surprised as small it is and works great...... I have 3 of these now

  • Robinson
    from Blowing Rock, NC January 7, 2015Music Background:
    Concert Broadcast Engineer and musician

    Throw away that clunky, dated pedal tuner

    Was suspicious that it would look bad on my guitar and would not work well. It is amazingly small and effective. I was amazed at how small it actually is, unnoticeable from the front of the guitar, so easy and effective to use and easy to read and tune. I now do not need a big 1980s style tuner pedal and extra 9 volt.

  • Dennis Wasnich
    from Montpelier, Ohio June 9, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    No kidding, a great little headstock tuner

    The most stable, easy to use tuner I've ever used; add to that it's almost invisible stealthy design, and you have a winner. I got the single-pack and wish I'd bought the two-pack. You won't be disappointed.

  • Customer
    from February 27, 2014

    PW-CT-12 NS Micro Headstock Tuner

    Great size. Easy to work with. A tad delicate but that's okay.

  • Matt
    from Celina,OH January 9, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Works as it should

    Works great, even smaller than original micro tuner

  • Customer
    from May 16, 2013

    Good Tuner

    Very good for the price!

  • Zac C.
    from United States March 15, 2013Music Background:
    Recording Engineer

    I love these little guys!

    It's become my favorite mini tuner. It hides away nicely in just the right spot. In most cases it doesn't interfere with guitar hangers, so it can always stay on the guitar (one less thing to pack and un-pack). I've used many other head stock tuners (Korg, Fishman, Snark...) - this one is my favorite. I like simple and this tiny tuner does the trick.

  • Paul Roach
    from Healdsburg Calif. May 15, 2012Music Background:
    Intermediate musician

    Super tuner

    The first one I recieved didnt work right .Sweetwater sent me another one overnite.The replacement works great.I use it on my tele.Thanks Sweetwater. I am buying another for my Strat today.

  • Dick
    from Sisters, OR December 16, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Slick Tuner

    Unobtrusive, small but easy to read, and with a metronome function....heck of a package at a very reasonable price.

  • Nelson Smith
    from Columbia, North Carolina April 22, 2014Music Background:
    ex part-time professional musician and hobbyist

    very functional

    Very unobtrusive and easy to find the perfect mounting location due to its swivel joint and the ability to rotate the note lettering for easy visibility. Also, because of how the "in-tune" is displayed, it is very easy to correctly flatten the low E so it will be in tune when the capo is fretted high.

  • Caleb
    from NJ USA January 30, 2014Music Background:
    hobbyist

    PW Micro Headstock Tuner

    With my guitar (Taylor), I need to put the tuner on the end of the headstock, as opposed to just near the nut which makes it a tad hard to see, that's my only complaint. The swivel is pretty cool, and the pitch calibration is pretty wide. The clip is easy on the finish, and the metronome is a nice to have. The tuner will also flip the display over in case you need to put it in an alternate position. It came with batteries, which was nice, and one that I have zillions of: CR2032. Overall, a great product, at least so far. Yet to see: battery life and darker rooms.

  • Patrick Kelley
    from Morrison, Colorado July 6, 2013Music Background:
    Intermediate

    Planet Waves NS Mini Headstock Tuner

    The perfect size (if you have good eyes). The back lit display could be brighter. It might be difficult to read in broad daylight. I really like how it fits my acoustic Martin guitar. I place it on top of the head stock, with the display on the back side between my vintage Waverley tuners. Then I rotate it so I can see it while playing my guitar. When I need to tune it, I just press the little on/off button and quickly achieve tune. Then turn it off. I can leave it on my guitar permanently. It fits into my guitar case without falling off the guitar. O would recommend this tuner. Enjoy!

  • Todd Musich
    from WINTER GARDEN, FL June 2, 2013

    Great little tuner

    These work great, the only downfall would be if your trying to use it on a les paul type headstock. On a fender style head stock it works great, not a lot of room to click it on a les paul and still get a good view of the display.

  • Dwayne Barker
    from Rockford, Illinois January 30, 2013Music Background:
    Professional guitarist

    Great tuner, size is the plus!

    It's a great tuner for the size (that's why I bought it) it's not at fast as my Snark tuner, but size was the bonus, so I'll take being a little more patient over the bigger sized tuners. It's also nice being able to leave the tuner on the headstock when storing in a gig bag without damage to the tuner or guitar, (a real plus) tune up the sensitivity a bit and it'll be perfect! I'm still real happy with it.

  • BJacobs
    from pittsburgh pa February 7, 2012Music Background:
    bass

    great tuner

    This tuner is great for the money, very accurate, small easy to read. no brainer!

  • Jerry Billheimer
    from Springfield,OH January 25, 2012

    Planet Waves NS Mini

    Best thing to come along since sliced bread. I like the idea of tuning while I'm playing

  • Clare
    from Vermont April 27, 2016Music Background:
    Ukulele nutwagon

    Munches batteries

    I love the format of this tuner. I use it on my ukes - it's lightweight and low profile, easy to read and looks like a friendly, efficient alien. But it eats batteries faster than any other tuner I've ever used. Very disappointing in that sense, but love it in all other ways. >sigh<

  • Joseph Lim
    from October 9, 2015

    Usable Tuner

    I only used the tuning function for this device because I didn't find the metronome function helpful in this device. The tuning is accurate, but for mine, it was a bit slow. The only other complaint I have is that the holding mechanism is not strong enough to stay on the guitar if you somehow hit it or if you accidentally hit the tab to loosen the tension. I would rather go for the blue snark tuner. They are fast, and have a clamp like mechanism to hold it in place. This tuner is still usable though.

  • Mike B
    from Stuart, FL May 11, 2016

    It's OK...

    .... but has a large "in tune area" which I don't like, plus the readout is not super clear. The letters all look the same.

  • Al
    from New Jersey February 1, 2015Music Background:
    Part time gigging musician

    Works well but...

    I've been using these for awhile now and they tune pretty well but they're slow. What I mean is pluck an open string and the tuner takes awhile (several seconds) to respond accurately. In any kind of stage setting with the rest of the band waiting for you to get your tuning right this can be a bit of a pain, For home practice use these are fine but a good pedal tuner is better for gigging.

  • Bear
    from Coudersport, Pa October 10, 2013Music Background:
    Worship leader, recording engineer, music addict

    Perfect... indoors

    The tuner works great. I never used the metronome. The reversible screen is a nice touch. It seems to be pretty accurate. I have only one complaint but it's a big one. Outr in the daylight I can't even tell if it's on let alone get any use out of it. I jam a lot with friends in our town square, but I still use my intellitouch for that. This one is great indoors. I love that I can just keep it on my guitar even in the case, but out in the sun forget it.

  • RJ Beyer
    from Michigan September 9, 2013Music Background:
    bluegrass musician

    NS Micro Headstock Tuner

    Pro's: Tuner is very small and easily able to leave attached to your instrument. Sensitivity is pretty good. Button to flip the lit display direction is nice.

    Con's: The small dimly lit display is difficult to see outdoors in bright light. Too many buttons. The visual metronome is nearly useless, and it's easy to inadvertently change the tuning out of 440.

    Summary: Make the backlit display brighter, with A-440 only, with a single on/off button, and it would be a 5 star winner!

  • Steven McGinnis
    from kansas city, MO February 17, 2014Music Background:
    Pro musician 30 + years...guitar player 41 years...

    good idea...but...

    i was really excited to get something that could stay on my guitars i have one on my archtop... ill let you know when i find the other one... it apparently flew off when being placed in the stand at a gig so im down one... a thin gel pad in the clamps would solve this i think... so for me the design could have been a little better ... the other knock is .. they aren't very fast .. or sensitive.. i find myself having to really bang at the string to get it to respond.. tried new batteries etc different placements.. no change.... my snark works so much better... i just wish the snark didn't look like an alien eyeball sticking out of the guitar hehehehe... i would have rather seen them make this with an adhesive pad for permanent mounting on the back of the headstock in a place i can see it i have to put the one i have left on the end of the headstock to keep my stand from popping it off ... much harder to see in that location... good idea.. just needs some tweaking

  • Tim
    from Ohio February 7, 2014Music Background:
    Semi-Pro guitar player

    Just OK Tuner.

    I sometimes have difficulty tuning. Don't know if it's to precise or not precise enough. I like the Snarks better.

  • DaveF
    from Pittsburgh PA January 5, 2014

    too sensitive

    I have used the snark tuners with much happiness, and thought this would be even better, as it is smaller and inconspicuous. I found it was too sensitive as you got closer to the proper pitch. it will jump full scale up and down with hardly any super fine tuning once you are near pitch. on the b string, it never would settle in on the 'green'. I ended up tuning by ear or clipping on my snark. Maybe mine is a lemon, or maybe they will adjust the filter and sensitivity on later models, but mine in in the drawer for now.

  • Denny B.
    from southern NJ September 13, 2013Music Background:
    songwriter / worship band leader

    About par for the course

    I love the mini size. As far as an effective tuner, it's about average for headstock tuners, and in my opinion, the average headstock tuner sucks. Rarely do they effectively pick up my big E string.

  • Roland Galindo
    from Palm Bay, Florida USA February 18, 2013Music Background:
    Hawaiian Music Musician for Hula Halau

    Just OK

    It does the job, but just OK for the price. It was bought for my Ukuleles.
    It does hide itself pretty good on the headstock, and the brightness could be a little better in bright sunlight. No problem though in dim/dark conditions. I would opt for the Kala KC02 tuner next time.

  • Vito
    from California May 21, 2014Music Background:
    Musician, composer, engineer, producer

    Disappointing

    These work OK as long as the batteries hold out...which is not for long. They're not very bright in the first place, and they soon get too dim to read at all. It's a decent design (physically) in that it's unobtrusive and couples well to the headstock. I haven't broken one yet. It's not very precise, and it works better on some guitars than on others. It doesn't work well on my Telecaster. Seemed like a good deal at first, but I won't be buying any more of these. I greatly prefer the Snark tuner.

  • Customer
    from March 3, 2016

    Deaf tuner

    I bought 2 of these. It does not "hear" the low E string. When tuning it indicated flat and without touching a peg it indicates sharp. Not reliable.

  • joe
    from toledo oh January 5, 2012Music Background:
    iam a rockabilly legend

    ns mini

    ITS KIND OF HAD TO PUT IT ON TILL YOU YOU LEARN HOW .

Questions about the D'Addario Planet Waves PW-CT-12 NS Micro Headstock Tuner?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway