0% Interest for 48 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Live Sound Month!

Boss NS-2 Noise Suppressor Pedal Reviews

4.5 stars based on 25 customer reviews
Questions about the Boss NS-2 Noise Suppressor Pedal?

Questions about the Boss NS-2 Noise Suppressor Pedal?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

Sweetwater Advice

  • Chris McCown

    Kill the noise! Whether you're playing a Strat and dealing with the fabled 60Hz hum, or playing a guitar with humbuckers through a high-gain amp, you can seriously reduce or even eliminate the annoying interference you hear when you're not playing with this simple-to-use pedal. Why would you want to be heard if you're not playing? Just plug this into your effects chain before any reverbs or delays, and let the gate do the rest!

  • from Florida June 2, 2016Music Background:
    guitarist

    Noise Suppressor quiet!

    This Boss NS-2 pedal has totally eliminated any feedback sound from my guitar. Before that, I had a slight, but noticeable hum going on but now - no more!

  • from Capitol heights, MD May 25, 2016

    Work great

    Great working, easy to use

  • from DFW metro area February 8, 2016Music Background:
    I've been playing guitar for about 40 years.

    magic

    This is pretty awesome! It cuts out all the little noises I get through my guitars and amp. It works better than what I expected; for sure!

  • from January 19, 2016

    Excellent

    Works great. Doesn't suck tone.

  • from Oakley, California October 25, 2015Music Background:
    World, worldbeat, rock, pop/metal

    Boss NS-2 Noise Suppressor (dynamics)

    Hi, my name is Flash Moeckel from Oakley, California. I work as a product specialist for Guitar Center and this is the BOSS NS-2 Noise Suppressor. Those crafty engineers at Boss has done it AGAIN! This is the classic stompbox, because I took a picture of it into my iPad and PC.
    From company: BOSS
    Model: NS-2 Noise Suppressor
    Category: Noise gate (dynamics)

  • from bend or April 29, 2015Music Background:
    semi-pro

    boss ns-2

    hooked it up to knock out effects and amp noise works great.

  • from Clearwater Beach Florida December 10, 2014Music Background:
    Pro Musician 25yrs

    Can't hear it now!!!

    Boss does it again....Does exactly what is meant to do, a MUST have for your pedal board. Hooked up correctly its flawless..I should have gone after this pedal way before..And it's a Boss, it can take it.

  • from United States May 24, 2014Music Background:
    I used to be a guitar player

    My wife loves it

    This pedal not only kills all the unwanted noise from my pedals, pick-ups etc., it even kills all the sound from my guitar when I'm playing. Can't hear anything. Now my wife can watch TV in peace.
    Thanks Boss. Now I can sell all my equipment and go back to Air Guitar.

  • from Union, KY October 24, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Boss NS-2

    The Boss NS-2 is the best noise suppressor I have tried. It's not overpriced, works great, solidly built, and great for long signal chains since it has a built in buffer. All around classic pedal, works for all styles of music, great with single coil guitars. Sweetwaters service is first class! Great company to do business with.

  • from Hammond, IN February 1, 2013Music Background:
    30+ years. I write and record original rock and blues, no covers any more.

    Should have bought this years ago

    I do a lot of recording in a home studio. I have a pedal Pedal Train Pro board with 4 different distorion/fuzz/overdrive pedals and a Flanger and Phaser, all of which produce unwanted noise in addition to noise generated by the guitar pickups, single coil or humbuckers. This pedal allows me to run the distortion peds and the phase/flange through the loop while keeping my time based pedals (reverb and delay) out of the loop so that the gate does not impede the reverb/delay. This pedal does a great job. My only regret is that I did not buy this years ago. As for the pedal coloring the sound? I hear no difference whatsoever. Loss of tone is not so much a pedal problem but having a long signal chain. If you hear the tone change try using the tone control on your ax, on your amp, or on your pedal board. Thats why we have them. It's not rockket science.

  • from Coral Springs, FL March 20, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist, Live Player

    Does the Job

    This pedal is great! I love it especially because I play a stratocaster which are genrally noisy. It gets rid of all of the noise that is produced by my other pedals. Over all I love this thing!

  • from Modesto, CA. USA October 2, 2011Music Background:
    Music Recording hobbyist

    Exactly what I was looking for.

    I found the Boss NS-2 to be exactly was I was looking for. I would get noise from my distortion pedal so I purchased a NS-2 & found it was simple to hook up & eliminated the noise from the pedal, instantly. I highly recommend the Boss NS-2 to anyone who has unwanted noise from any of their pedals.

  • from Tennessee March 3, 2017

    Great pedal for high gain feedback

    Best pedal I have used for suppressing but not killing the feedback from using high gain.

  • from Illinois June 17, 2013Music Background:
    WankerWanker

    Great suppressor

    Don't need to look any further for a suppressor pedal. This does the job you need it to do.

  • from United States July 28, 2012Music Background:
    superjerk

    what noise?

    that's what you'll be saying. i will recommend putting your distortions,fuzzes,etc. in the loop as per the manual.it DOES make a difference, then put your delay after this in your chain and your delays won't get gated out.great pedal,i gave her a 4.5 mainly because of cosmetics(i know) I DON'T LIKE THE WHITE FINISH! haha,minor but i had to find SOMETHING to complain about. makes all your other pedals sound classy,get one

  • from Hot Springs, AR March 22, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Pedal does exactly what it's meant to do

    The Boss NS-2 effectively cancelled the hum I was getting from my Strat single coils without affecting the sustain. Very easy to use.

  • from Indiana December 30, 2011Music Background:
    Musician

    Works great

    Works great

  • from SC January 25, 2014

    Good results

    I got this to reduce the noise my SansAmp based zero-stage-volume rig. See, I run a TS808 clone into the TriAc and as any amp, high gain means noise. Our sound guy at made it a point for me to know my rig was the culprit for the white noise in between songs :) Enter the NS2- dialed it in and I had to play to make sure my guitar was coming through the system! I did not detect loss of tone at all.

  • from ATX January 5, 2011Music Background:
    Production Manager

    Great fix for noisy pedals

    I had this for years in my home electronica studio in which I used a few distortion pedals on bass and lead synths. This thing worked amazingly well to kill %90 of the noise my pedals made when left on. Use it the way it was designed to be used, and it does work miracles. If you have a ground hum or a noisy amp though... Well, it's not an electrician. It isolates the ambient noise in the fx loop and phase cancels it like the Bose headphones do but fir your guitar. TV stations use this same tech to eliminate wind and crowd noise with a background mic instead if an FX loop in broadcast audio. Very effective. If noisy boxes is your problem, this is your solution.

  • from Fort Wayne, IN October 29, 2009Music Background:
    Performing Musician

    Cut the Noise

    I use this pedal all the time. No - it won't eliminate the noise from your signal. It will shut it down between songs when performing if your signal to noise ratio is at least somewhat sane. I use it as a downward expander so it doesn't just shut off like a gate. It has worked well for me for years - great for performing.

  • from Mars Pennsylvania August 11, 2015Music Background:
    40+ years playing Hard Rock and Metal

    Boss NS-2 noise suppressor

    I bought my Boss NS-2 used at a local music store. It didn't have the owners manual with it. I took it home and plugged it in and oh man, I didn't need an owners manual. It worked great just like it was set. Of course I did download a manual from the web sight so now I know how to correctly use it.
    For the money it works great. I have played a G&L Legend, a Strat, a Gibson SG and two Les Pauls. This pedal really helps with the noise from my high gain EVH amplifier.

  • from Croydon,pa October 22, 2016Music Background:
    Guitars since 1979

    Works but

    It works as it should but you get this strange sound when it fades out. I want to call it digital lingering.
    It has a loop so you can send your guitar in the out to all the effects in front of your amp then have that chain return into the NS-2 then out of the Ma/2 to the front of your amp.
    There is no pre amp noise you can remove with this so it's not that useful.
    It should have been able to use the loop for your amps loop

  • from United States March 21, 2015

    BIGGEST TONE KILLER EVER

    If you don't want noise this helps but it will make your tone sound like its covered by mountains of blankets and takes out of the heaviness when playing metal. save your money and get an ISP!

  • from Bristol Township August 15, 2007Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Noise suppressors

    I've got bad hum and buzz coming out of my amp and have it just about turned off and it's still bad. I've been trying to pin down the cause and thought NS-2 would help because I've had good luck and sound with Boss equipment but it's not powerful enough to silence the zoo I'm hearing. Does a nice job if I'm using humbuckers but if you're having a severe noise problem it's probably a ground problem. Let a tech check out your amp and pickups before you invest in a pedal that you may not need.

  • from January 1, 2005

    Not Bad... might be what you need, and might not be...

    This is an interesting box. It's not quite a noise-gate, and it's not quite a noise-suppressor... it's somewhere in the middle.

    This is not a tool for studio use! It's also not a tool to just remove minor hiss from a already almost noisless system. However, if you often play live shows and play with distortion (which is obviously going to create a lot of noise when you aren't playing), then I do recommend this box... it's just a hair better than a noise gate (which isn't saying much, but it still says a lot when you are already struggling with noise and noise gates are close to fixing it but don't sound quite right).

    For the BEST results... do NOT plug this pedal between your guitar and amp... plug it into the FX loop!!!

    When it comes to live noise and problems, sometimes a tool like this can go a looooong way (even if it only helps a little). Of course you can easily set this box to over-do-it, like anything.

Questions about the Boss NS-2 Noise Suppressor Pedal?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway