0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
June 2017 Giveaway

Kremona NG-1 Detachable Nylon String Guitar Pickup Reviews

4.5 stars based on 29 customer reviews
Questions about the Kremona NG-1 Detachable Nylon String Guitar Pickup?

Questions about the Kremona NG-1 Detachable Nylon String Guitar Pickup?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from May 8, 2017

    Kremona NG-1

    A great product that's so easy to install and use.

  • from March 23, 2017

    Crystal clear sound!

    I was concern about the zapateado techenique using the Kremona. During the first 5 seconds of performance I loved the strong, natural, true sound that provided. The zapateado, rasgueo, and alzap├║a never missed fidelity.

    I stongly recommend it!!

  • from Buffalo NY December 21, 2016Music Background:
    full time musician, live and sessions

    Kremona NG-1 pickup

    This pickup is very affordable and installs in a minute. It sounds very good straight into an amp or recording device. Add a good preamp and it's as good as just about anything out there. It is a bit delicate so take caution with the cable. I put a wad of Blu-Tak mounting gum under the jack end which suspends out past the tie bar a 1/4". That made the end feel a little more secure and tamed the body resonance down slightly, which on one of my classical's was a little to much. (I have two NG-1's)
    Long and short.... Great sounding, easy to install NO DRILLING!! and by the way...Fantastic customer service....(hence the 5* )

  • from May 9, 2015

    Perfect !!!

    I recommend this product, it's really easy to install and the outcome is awesome.

  • from Barnegat NJ October 3, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Kremona NG-1 detachable Nylon String guitar pickup

    You look at the pickup and say "no way". I was blown away. I use it every time I play. If you get one you won't be sorry. It was worth it.

  • from Columbia, North Carolina May 7, 2014Music Background:
    former part-time professional musician and presently a hobbyist

    great sound

    I was apprehensive about this pickup because of the cheap price. I put it on an old classical guitar that I recently did some major refurbishing and when I plugged it into my marshal 50 amp I couldn't believe the rich and clear sound I got. It made this vintage guitar sound really good. Very easy to install. I highly recommend. I gave it 5 stars because of the sound and price.

  • from Columbia, SC USA April 7, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist, Student

    Excellent Choice

    I bought this for my classical guitar essentially for a guitar/piano duo. I used it with a little small practice amplifier and it was great. I took it to my classical guitar teacher who is a professional and he was equally impressed. In fact, he decided to order one for himself. How much better recommendation can you get? It is fragile, but with a little caution not to jerk it around, it's fine. I did place a little foam pad under the end for support. It truly does not affect the tuning. I leave it attached. It works great, no feedback. Very pleasantly surprised!

  • from San Francisco August 9, 2013Music Background:
    Performer and teacher

    Kremona Pickup

    A Fair price considering the adaptability and it comes with the chord. This is a must for any classical, flamenco, or acoustic guitarist that gigs regularly. Huge plus for clarity of tone through a small amp, great for boosting in background music or playing with an orchestra. I use this at every gig possible and simply leave it on my guitar. Be careful putting it on the first time, as it is quite delicate.

  • from Warwick, Rhode Island March 18, 2013Music Background:
    Semi-pro and Hobbyist guitar player

    This product really works!

    The Kremona NG-1 is a very affordable and EASY way to amplify your nylon string instrument! it took just minutes to install and the sound is natural. The other feature I like is the portability--no need to re-install! Just leave the pick-up on the guitar. The 8 ft mini to 1/4" cable plugs right into the guitar pick-up and connects to your amplifier!! This item really does work as described in the Sweetwater catalog. Kudos to Sweetwater for supplying a great product!!

  • from New York, NY March 21, 2017

    Great pickup, natural sound

    This is a great pickup for classical guitar, installs non-invasively and gets a great natural sound. Keep in mind there is NO volume control or EQ on this, so you will need to pair this with a decent preamp (See the LR Baggs Venue DI) to control the sound and notch out the feedback. Sicne the placement is right on top of the bridge, the sound tends to be a bit mid-rangey and throaty until you balance it out. But captures alot of detail and is just as good if not better than other systems that require you to drill holes in your precious instrument.

  • from Florida September 14, 2016Music Background:
    Professional musician, audio and recording engineer

    Pleasantly Surprised

    I bought one of these pickups for my 1954 0018G Martin. It works fantastic! Over the years I've tried just about everything out there. I could never find anything that came even close to the sound of this guitar in the room. The Shure SM81 mic was the best thing I could find, up until this little Kremona NG-1. I run it through a TC-Helicon processor and together the sound is fantastic. The only reason I didn't give this a 5 is because it appears to be a little flimsy. I use it for recording now, but when I go to use it on stage I'll make sure I have another one handy just in case! I highly recommend this little pickup for your nylon string guitars. Even without the use of a processor, it sound very good!

  • from Wailuku, HI July 3, 2016Music Background:
    casual

    Kremona NG-1 Detachable Nylon String Guitar Pickup

    Super! It attaches to both my classical guitar and my guitaruke. The installation can be rather permanent since the cord is detachable. Can't have it all at that price and size but it would be even nicer if it came with tone and volume controls. But that's asking for too much.

  • from Florida June 30, 2016Music Background:
    Professional musician, audio and recording engineer

    Pleasantly Surprised

    I have a 1954 00-18G Martin Classical Guitar and it sounds amazing! Over the years I've tried every kind of pickup, transducer and microphone out there. I usually settle for a Shure SM81 which sounds very nice, Today I received the Kremona NG-1, it was very easy to install. I must admit that when I took it out of the box I had little hope that it would amount to much. I was pleasantly surprised! I ran it through a Preamp and Effects Processor, tweaked it a little here and there and I couldn't be happier. I'll still use the Shure SM81 as well, but the two together work fantastic! I highly recommend this product, in fact they make one for Ukuleles too so, I'll be getting a few more of these pickups. Long story short... if your looking for a nylon string pickup, you can't go wrong with this little baby.

  • from Florida June 30, 2016Music Background:
    Professional musician, audio and recording engineer

    Pleasantly surprised

    I have a 1954 00-18G Martin Classical Guitar and it sounds amazing! Over the years I've tried every kind of pickup, transducer and microphone out there. I usually settle for a Shure SM81 which sounds very nice, Today I received the Kremona NG-1, it was very easy to install. I must admit that when I took it out of the box I had little hope that it would amount to much. I was pleasantly surprised! I ran it through a Preamp and Effects Processor, tweaked it a little here and there and I couldn't be happier. I'll still use the Shure SM81 as well, but the two together work fantastic! I highly recommend this product, in fact they make one for Ukuleles too so, I'll be getting a few more of these pickups. Long story short... if your looking for a nylon string pickup, you can't go wrong with this little baby.

  • from March 29, 2016

    Sounds better than advertised.

    I put this on my classical guitar. Works and sounds great.

  • from Virginia July 30, 2015

    Simple, Effective

    Very easy to install: you just slip the pickup under the strings on the bridge. Once installed, you just leave it there; plug in whenever needed. Sound quality is very good.

    You may want to use this with an equalizer/preamp pedal.

  • from Michigan April 11, 2015Music Background:
    Gigging Pro

    Disaster, discovery...not just for guitar!

    I was prepared to be underwhelmed by this pickup, but it surprised me. We have a very fine classical guitar that, with a microphone, was unable to be loud enough in our mix. We needed to do something, but it is too perfect of a solo instrument to install a regular pickup. I ran into this pickup while looking for a solution that didn't involve modifying the guitar at all. There aren't many options, and most are inadequate, at best.

    This seemed like it would be worth a try, so I ordered one. We plugged it into our Bose L1 and set it up for a classical with Piezo. A little eq and reverb, and it sounded great - surprisingly great. While enjoying the sound, one of my children jumped over the cord and missed, and in so doing, they revealed this pickup's one flaw.

    It is fragile! Of course, the pickup needs to be light, so fragile should be expected. After checking the guitar for damage (it was fine), I ordered another one. It was that good. It doesn't replace a quality microphone for solo classical work, but at high stage volumes the microphone is harder to eq and can't be loud enough.

    The only thing left was to figure out what to do with the broken stub of the pickup, since it was still able to produce a signal. We had been thinking about getting a cajon that had a pickup in it, so I thought...why not see if it would work as a cajon pickup? A little double sided tape later, we had a functioning pickup in our cajon, and it sounded great. Our almost-disaster turned into a pleasant discovery.

    If the instrument were not a fine concert guitar, I would probably would have installed an LR Baggs Lyric. That would definitely sound better, but this was good enough to be better than a microphone where stage volume is high.

  • from wheaton, IL September 25, 2014Music Background:
    Playing clasical guitar for 50 years - amateur

    Great Product

    I use this on a 1969 Ramirez 1A classical along with the Samson Expedition Portable PA. I use it for street performing and I like no effect expect EQ. This setup reproduces the sound of the guitar beautifully. It sounds just like my guitar except louder. The response is excellent and I have had many people comment on how great the sound is. I just purchased another one for my 1965 Ramirez flamenco guitar.

  • from Seattle, WA USA September 10, 2014Music Background:
    Musician, hobbyist, consultant

    Great sounding pickup

    Excellent sounding pickup, simple/easy install. Suggest using with a preamp, seems to give a little better impedence matching and tone.

  • from Kenmore, WA August 1, 2014Music Background:
    Studies and played music for more than 50 years.

    Update to great sound, requires EQ

    Installed a second pickup on a second identical classical guitar that I own and the response and balance of the second is slightly different, requiring less EQ to filter out offending frequencies. The second pickup definitely has less output than the first one I installed, requiring more preamp to get the sound and volume that I need.

  • from Mason, Ohio 45040 September 16, 2013Music Background:
    composer, home studio recordings, musician

    Nice pick up for Spanish guitar - just a little fragile

    I purchased it for my Cordoba C10 Spanish guitar. It is relatively easy to install. The sound is "bassy" yet acceptable. I also added a Taylor V-cable with volume control know in order to manage the sound better and reduce feedback issues.
    You do need to wrap the instrument cable around one of your belt straps on your pants to prevent breaking this PU in the event you step on the cable or move too much that could put pressure on the PU. By securing the cable on your belt, you will isolate the PU from these accidental pulls.
    I do recommend it to anybody that would like to amplify their Spanish guitars and stay within less than $100.

  • from United States October 8, 2012Music Background:
    Producer, Engineer, Composer

    Amp up Your Nylon!

    Sounds Great, easy install... IMPRESSED and would definitely recommend it in a heartbeat. Only concern is that it seems a little fragile.

  • from Fallon NV April 19, 2016Music Background:
    Played for 46 years

    Delightful!

    This little thing has the potential to save me hundreds of dollars! Seriously. My classical guitar is a good one, but not great. The high end gets stuck in the box, if you follow me. I wanted some way to brighten the treble, and about all you can do is change strings to a brighter type - and get a pickup, or microphone. Now, a mic is a pain, especially if you just want to practice. Pickups can be expensive - and ugly. This one is neither of those - it solves ALL the problems! It's discreet. It's simple: plug in and play. And amplification lets you dial in what's needed. It won't make a lousy guitar great, but it has made my 3 star guitar sound 4 star, and I'll probably live with it for many years. Good stuff for the price!

  • from Portsmouth, Ohio March 25, 2016Music Background:
    Life time player

    Classic pickup

    Easy install, no altering guitar, great natural sound and no feedback

  • from Kenmore, WA August 1, 2014Music Background:
    Musician and hobbyist for more than 50 years.

    Great sound, requires EQ

    Installed on a very old mid-priced classical guitar. Installation couldn't be any simpler or easier. Pickup has strong response, doesn't necessarily require a preamp, but using a preamp is a good idea. Where you can tailor the response a little bit more by using a single contact transducer, this produces strong response from all the strings, so EQ is necessary to filter out some of the frequencies above A and D strings.

  • from Bend, OR, USA July 24, 2013Music Background:
    Semi Pro Musician, Recording Engineer

    A great sounding, affordable and easy to install pickup for Nylon string acoustics!

    The Kremona NG-1 nylon string guitar pickup is a true life saver for me. I was having to mic up my nylon string at small gigs, and it was always a real pain, especially outside with wind noise, boominess, etc. I installed this in like ten minutes under the strings on the bridge, on a vintage 1967 Brazillian rosewood fingerboard spanish guitar, and it really sounds great. No more noise issues, clear sound (and fairly true to the tone color of the guitar) and it was very affordable without the "cheap" sound.

  • from Lone Willow, Texas April 19, 2017Music Background:
    Professional Touring Musician

    It Worked

    This item was bought so that I could travel light and use any classical guitar around with a sound system. It works, but only manageable with the LR Baggs Venue DI Acoustic Guitar Preamp. One problem was that the the 3.5mm hole was too big for either of the cables that Sweetwater sent me, so I had to use clear strapping tape on the cable ( and thus the finish of the guitar) to hold it place to prevent popping.

  • from Princeton June 7, 2016Music Background:
    Pro Musican

    I don't think so

    I have tired this on a Lester DeVoe Negra with Madagascar Back and Sides w a Cedar top and all this pickup picked up was the very low frequency. I used a Bose Tone Match on the piezo pickup on nylon settings. I completely cut bass -5 mids and bost 7 treble and was not able to get a useful realistic tone. I'll stick to my DPA 4099 and Beyhrdynamic Mics.

  • from November 1, 2014Music Background:
    Hobby player

    vulnerablety of the KREMONA NG-1

    KREMONA NG-1 is extreemly vulnerable. If you forget to unplug it from your guitar there is a great chance that if the cord get tight and you pull out the plug the woodenpart wil break. It happend to me alreaddy twice.

    The sound on the lower strings is also a little holding a wha pedal in a surtain position. It's not nice

Questions about the Kremona NG-1 Detachable Nylon String Guitar Pickup?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway