0% Interest for 36 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Presidents' Day Sale! Ends Tomorrow

TC Electronic ND-1 Nova Delay Pedal Reviews

4.5 stars based on 37 customer reviews
Questions about the TC Electronic ND-1 Nova Delay Pedal?

Questions about the TC Electronic ND-1 Nova Delay Pedal?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

Sweetwater Advice

  • Kent Sallaz

    The TC Electronic ND-1 Nova Delay is a no nonsense delay. It's easy to navigate, program, and control. This is THE delay pedal for the musician who needs stereo, doesn't want a boat load of extra features, and wants a pedal that he can control on the fly.

  • from January 16, 2017Music Background:
    worship

    its LIT

    Oh, its lit, best $ you will spend

  • from MIami, FL November 7, 2016Music Background:
    MUSICIAN PRODUCER

    MR

    AWESOME !!!I LOVE TC 2290 DELAY !!!

  • from Ephrata, PA September 20, 2016Music Background:
    Worship Guitarist

    Great Value for a Flexible Pedal

    This pedal is probably the most powerful one you can buy at its price point. Now it's not going to go toe-to-toe with the big boys (think Strymon timeline or Boss DD 500), but for the price, it pretty much can't be beat. Let me highlight some good and some not so good things about it

    Good:
    -Very affordable compared to similar delays
    -Plenty of versatility (multiple delay types, note divisions and presets)
    -Stereo output
    -Small footprint
    -Has an LED readout showing the exact BPM you're playing.
    -Has dedicated tap tempo button

    Not so Good:
    -Requires 12v power supply (there's one included, but you can't daisy-chain this thing to other 9v pedals)
    -Controls are a little clunky, and accessing everything on the fly isn't always very intuitive
    -No expression input, nor any way to externally control it without modding your pedal (which will void your warranty)

    So what is this pedal good for? For starters, it's great for those looking for a delay with plenty of options that also doesn't cost too much or take up too much space on your board. I've used it for a few years now, so I'm quite familiar with its strengths and limitations. In terms of what it can do, the possibilities are pretty vast.

    There are six delay types in total, but I only ever use the "delay line" setting. The other delays either require stereo to function (I play in mono), or are just a bit too weird to be very practical. The six note divisions are also pretty useful, especially for those wanting the coveted "dotted eighth" sound. Some of the doubles are a bit weird, but can sound pretty cool in ambient, washy tones. This thing has a dedicated modulation knob, which is really handy if you want to add some extra flavor to your wet signal.
    Overall, I think it sounds fantastic. It can even mimic the sound of warmer delays like a tape echo. It's analog sounds aren't nearly as good as an actual analog delay, but for what it is, I think it does a nice job of emulating the sound.

    Now onto what I DON'T really like.

    First of all, I feel like the preset system is a bit of a wasted opportunity. You can save up to nine presets, which is really useful, but you can only cycle through them in one direction. For example, if I'm on preset one, switch to preset two, but want to return BACK to one, I have to cycle ALL the way up through my other eight presets until I get back to one again. This makes switching presets during a song highly impractical, meaning you basically have to have one preset per song, unless there's a long pause of some kind.

    My other big gripe is with the "delay" knob. Instinctually, I thought this knob would adjust the sound of the delay in some way, only to find my delay BPM either skyrocketing or plummeting. Finally, I figured out that the knob is specifically for adjusting your BPM, and it will continue to change the value of the BPM until you return it to the "twelve o' clock" position. This is really confusing, and I don't understand why they used a dial instead of some sort of button, or something that makes more sense for that they wanted it to control. It's kind of useful if you want to dial in an exact BPM, but confusing if you only use tap tempo. Also, if you accidentally bump the knob while adjusting something else on the board, your delay time will be completely screwed up, and you'll have to bend over again to fix it.

    If it weren't for these two annoying factors, I probably would have given this pedal 5 stars! It offers so much flexibility, but it's really hard to access a lot of it on the fly. If you need a lot of flexibility while playing (as many worship guitarists do), this pedal is a great place to start. But don't expect it to replace or complete with more expensive and more powerful units.

    If you're not an ambient guitarist or in need of better access to presets, this pedal just might be able to do everything you'll need. All in all, it's a great buy!

  • from Shreveport, LA September 20, 2016

    Great for worship music

    I needed a delay that had tap tempo, and a digital readout that showed tempo in bpm or ms. Alot of the songs we play at church have the BPM listed in the sheet music and this makes it super easy to dial in. Also presets were a must. We play 5-6 songs each Sunday (you can set up to 9 presets on the nova). We don't always have alot of time between songs to make pedal adjustments so having presets really helps. Add in the tap tempo feature and if the drummer changes the tempo you can stay right with him.

    This narrowed my choices down to the Nova, Timeline, and the Eventide series. I decided to take a chance on the Nova because the price was so good, and figured I could upgrade to a timeline in the future. The Nova does everything I need it to do. The tone sounds great. I like having subdivisions. Setting presets is a bit tricky, but after looking at the TC website i figured out how to set them up properly. Although I would love to have one, I don't see myself upgrading to the Timeline now. I just don't need all the bells and whistles it has to offer. If your needs are the same as mine, the Nova will be a good choice for your pedal board.

  • from August 25, 2016

    Logical delay pedal

    I have received this pedal 1.5 years back. I have used it abused it but it never disappoint me. For me is the quality of the delay and how quickly it can be adjust and tweak on the fly. And the quality of the delay is just upfront. I have used line 6/ Strymon/ and axefx2 delay quality as well. But still it's on my board. Thanks sweet watter for this amazing delay pedal.

  • from Winchester July 11, 2016

    Awesome Delay!!!

    I just received this today and couldn't wait to see what it had to offer. I am really impressed with the tone and how versital this pedal is. Works great with my Boss RV-5 and is pretty simple to figure it out. I just want to say thank you to Andy Rice for hooking me up with this and got it to my door so quickly. It's going to be a great tool on stepping up music at the church.

  • from San Angelo TX March 25, 2016Music Background:
    Pro, Recording, Bar-Bands, Worship

    Impressed

    I'll say up front, I haven't messed with many delay pedals. I have a Boss DD-7 that I run in my effects loop for my main gigging rig, and use it with a little chorus just to up the epic factor on some of my solos. I like effects that really let the amplifier shine, kinda like framing a picture just right. For my church rig, (contemporary Christian musicians write all of that ethereal "whale song" sounding stuff) I needed something a bit more capable than my DD-7. After seeing Sweetwater's demo on this pedal, I decided to try it. Out of the box, it's heavier than I expected based on its looks, and it's very solidly built. The controls are pretty self explanatory, I had to check the manual twice I think, mainly to learn to save a preset. Cycling through presets is easy, but I mainly have it set on a manual delay that I can tap the tempo as we play, and I switch it to a preset that I've created for the "whale songs" effect that our worship leader just loves but makes me die on the inside a little:) Switching from manual setting to preset mode is as simple as leaving your foot on the on/off switch for a couple extra seconds. The pedal is very versatile in the types/rates/fade/ everything kind of delay you could ask for and very easy to use.

  • from March 25, 2016

    Awesome

    Fantastic pedal, especially for the price, just plug and go. Very warm sound, and the dynamic setting is great for keeping solos uncluttered with unwanted delay artifacts. Works perfectly with my VooDoo labs 4x4power supply. Love the BPM display to make sure my tempos are staying where they should.

  • from New York, NY February 15, 2016Music Background:
    Hobby

    TC Electronic Nova Delay

    This pedal is great. Not only delivers a great sound but it also is very easy to use. The tap tempo, including the way you can do it using your hands, and the presets are awesome functionalities. It also features the reverse and slapback delay types which sound very cool.

  • from Wake Forest, NC February 8, 2016Music Background:
    27 years playing guitar, extreme amateur

    Solid Delay with Tons of Features

    I needed an affordable, not too huge delay with tap tempo. I did a bit of research and decided to give the ND-1 a try. It's really feature packed and sounds very good. I can pretty do anything I would ever want to do with the delay on this pedal.

    My favorite features include:
    - tap and strum tempo
    - 9 presets, scrollable by pedals, can limit how many to scroll through
    - interesting options for divisions
    - mostly intuitive controls
    - color settings have a nice range
    - modulation effects are cool when used with subtlety

    My only complaint is that the delay level is pretty high once you go about 10 or so on the dial. It's not a lot of headroom for more subtle delay volumes, but it still sounds/works great.

  • from Sarasota, Fl February 8, 2016

    Nova Delay

    Very good delay. Does what it should do. Have not used in a club on my pedalboard. Heavy and large footprint. 12 volt with adapter. My power supply does not have a 12 volt plug in. A little disappointed about that but can plug in a outlet nearby.

  • from Allen, TX February 4, 2016Music Background:
    30 Year Guitarist

    Good delay

    Good delay pedal. The 9 presets are a great feature and the amount of delay types and customization is super good in this price range.

    The only negative I will give it is that the instructions aren't thorough enough and don't give enough guidance on how to fully utilize the pedal. It's more trial and error - which might be the intent.

  • from January 29, 2016

    One of the many joys of the Nova Delay

    After hooking this up in my pedal board,and getting it in line,my acoustic guitar sounded so clear,no outside noises at all,and after dialing in the delay effects,I was blown away by the total clarity....I have other delay/echo effects in my studio,but they now occupy an outside space on a shelf,where they will rest in peace.Thank you,Sweetwater!

  • from Yorkville January 17, 2016Music Background:
    Hobby

    Sounds EXACTLY like the video shown

    I slowed down the video to see what settings he had Pink Floyd on, it sounded exactly like it. Did the same for U2, again, sounded exactly like it. Not to mention all the other tones that you can get out of this box. It didn't work well with a lot of distortion, but really did boost the sound with a Boss overdrive and an MXR EQ. It is quiet, and fun to play with. I have it in the effects loop with a phaser, eq, and works great. I would definitely recommend one on a pedal board or just to have with your gear.

  • from December 10, 2015

    MMM Delay

    Pretty good delay. Why? 1. I want a delay that had a tap tempo, especially for live application. 2. Wanted knobs to change on the fly, like tone of the repeats and modulation. 3. Did not want to spend a lot. 4. Can make crazy noise.
    I was looking at the TC 3X FLashback, which seemed cool with the looper as a added feature but you have to hook it up to a computer to fine tune things. The Flashback was $100.00 more than the Nova.
    I looked at the Boss DD 7, good pedal but no tap tempo. I have a DD5, I love it but its starting to make unwanted noise being over 10 years old.
    I looked at Supa-Puss. Seems awesome. If I wanted analog that would be my choice because it has tap tempo. Also, it cost $100.00 more than the Nova.
    I have used the Nova for a month now and got to use it live and the tap tempo worked great and the subdivision is handy too. For recording the light up display will come in handy as well. As for the crazy noises, you can get crazy feedback like with analog but adjusting the delay time did not add to the crazy noise. Unlike my Boss DD5, messing with the delay time gives you great nosie but the feedback is not as crazy as the Nova.
    At this point I have way more great things to say about the pedal than bad. At some point I would like a analog pedal side by side with the Nova to see how different or similar they sound. When the tone is set to tape or analog it sounds pretty good, but I have no analog pedal on my board to compare it to. That is why I give it a 4 out of 5.

  • from Syracuse, NY December 5, 2015Music Background:
    weekend gigging pro

    Tone sucker or bad unit?

    I thoroughly read the manual before ordering this, but when I plugged it in, I noticed the required straight plug power adapter makes it 2 inches longer at the top on my pedal board. Maybe mine was a manufacturer rebox, because the presets were all strange and useless. The "UTOO" setting was over 1 second long and weak sounding. Could not in practice figure out how to get a reliable useful effected signal out of it. It is overcomplicated, and like other TC products I have tried, needs to be "calibrated" which is another procedure-I just wanted to plug in and maybe use and tweak a couple of reliable delay settings, but even the presets did not work! This pedal sucked the tone and volume right out of my high end 100% high end british and USA tube amps, even when run by itself. I had to pay the shipping to send back a defective product, but at least I got most of my money back and I am done with TC stuff. I do NOT recommend this product.

  • from Grand Rapids, MI October 16, 2015

    A Great Pedal

    This pedal had some incredible sounding delays. And with so many features, you can't really beat the price. 9 different presets, that are easy to toggle through between songs. And if you don't use all 9, you can set it to only go between the ones you want to use. I don't see myself ever needing another delay, and it's built like a tank so hopefully it will be on my board for a very long time.

  • from September 30, 2015

    Outstanding for its price!

    This pedal is so versatile! It has so many different options that you have to find something you like. Whether you just need a quick slapback, dynamic quarter note repeats to play subtly under your leads or awesome dotted eighth rhythms to nail those Pink Floyd or U2 sounds, this thing can do it all. 9 available presets is the icing on the cake. The price is unbeatable for all that it offers. I run it in front of an Eventide Timefactor on my main board, using the Eventide for all my ambient stuff and I have no plans to remove them or add another delay pedal. Recommend to all!

  • from September 27, 2015

    Powerful, versatile delay box

    I use the Nova Delay primarily in a praise/worship setting, where a synchronized delay effect plays a prominent part in the music, and it does everything I ask of it and does it well. It's got plenty of horsepower to do tricks that I normally don't use (delay modulation and odd time subdivisions), but for simple eighth-note analog-sounding delay with tap-tempo it works flawlessly. The only thing I might change would be the ability to run on 9V instead of 12V so that it would be compatible with the 1 Spot that I power the rest of my small board with, but that's only a minor issue. Highly recommended!

  • from Michigan September 22, 2015Music Background:
    Contemporary, alternative rock

    Awesome delay, get it back in production

    I bought this as my secondary delay pedal next to my dd20. I needed it for a release party i was playing.
    Fantastic delay. I love how you can set the specific delay time with the delay knob (when u find the delay time u need bring it back to the 12 oclock position otherwise it will keep counting) as well as dial in pretty heavily how much effected signal you want and be able to add modulation if you need.
    Im still getting to know this pedal; how to use it, all of the functions, the different sounds it can produce. There's alot to this thing and you definitely need to put in the time to be able to use it to its full potential.
    Im still having trouble figuring out how to set presets. Thats a con i have on this pedal; the manual doesnt explain very well how to set presets. The other con is theres no subdvision for just a straight up eigth note delay. Why?
    Other than that, i highly recommend this pedal. Get this product back in production.

  • from Mill City, OR August 28, 2015Music Background:
    Professional Producer

    My Studio Goto

    In the studio, being able to set delay times precisely is key. It is so easy to use the digital display on this to dial in your exact time. everything else above that is just icing on the cake for me. it's clean with NO NOISE!!! the only delay I will use in my studio.

  • from San Antonio August 28, 2015Music Background:
    Experienced

    Just Buy It!

    It's rare that you can pick up a delay pedal with as much capability as this one for what Sweetwater sells them for! Every mode on the ND-1 sounds great and the tap tempo is a huge plus. I bought the Nova Delay because I needed a pedal that could do dotted eighths for some U2 type work, and the ND-1 delivers it in spades! This pedal just kicked my VOX Tone Garage Double Decca delay off my pedal board. Do yourself and pick up an ND-1 before they sell out!

  • from August 24, 2015

    My favorite delay ever.

    Also the most underrated, and for some reason gets pushed to the back of the line behind the more well loved Flashback. I traded my original Nova for a X4 but within 2 months I bought a brand new Nova once again from Sweetwater. It will never leave my board as I now get to run it in true stereo at the end of my chain with its fantastic buffer. I can also now use the split quarter and dotted 8th note function for some fantastic delay options. It does the pristine digital delay as well as anything but I keep it between the tape and analog tone most of the time as I can't really tell the difference between it and some other analog dealys I've owned. Simply put the Nova Delay is basically TC's legendary 2290 rack mount delay simplified in a well built pedal.

  • from Monticello Utah July 15, 2015

    Just love it!

    This pedal is great, I just love how I can dial in the many options. It has brought new life to my pedalboard and my desire to experiment. So much can be done with this I don't have the time to tell just what I have discovered. Smart cookies at TC electronics!!

  • from Southlake May 29, 2015Music Background:
    Semi Pro

    Works As Adverstised

    I do not typically use a lot of effects. I like going straight into an amp and will occasionally use some compression and overdrive. I bought the Nova Delay really just to creatively explore. With that said, I am very impressed with the construction and quality of the pedal. Most importantly, the pedal has pristine clarity with little to no noise. The pre-sets are good and you can get those coveted Edge/U2 effects in seconds. The Nova has a lot of sonic possibilities and I know it will take many hours of experimenting for me to get the full capability out of the pedal.

  • from May 11, 2015

    ND-1 Nova Delay TC Electronic

    best delay I have ever used, easy to use!

  • from if you see me you know where I am May 5, 2015Music Background:
    Lead guitar/Worship Band

    Nova delay rocks!

    So I wanted a very versitle delay, the ND-1 fits the bill! This little 5" square box does it all - period. My only gripes are I dont have enough time in the day to play around with this thang, and it is a bit complicated at first but after a few weeks Im starting to get familiar with it.
    This is a must have pedal if your a serous musician and you play out.

  • from Nashville April 30, 2015Music Background:
    guitarist with Michael McDonald since 1988

    Really great

    I'm a huge fan of TC and have been using their gear for many years. I use to use the 2290 in the early days and this Nova Delay reminds me of it. My only hold back form giving it 5 stars is that I wish there was more control of the modulation level in relation to the overall mix volume. But it still sounds excellent!

  • from April 30, 2015

    Great delay

    Love it. The tap tempo is very useful. The reverse is great too.

  • from Texas April 17, 2015Music Background:
    everything

    Amazing

    The Nova delay is out of this world. It is better than I had realized. So many features it can seem overwhelming at first. It definitely is something every guitar player should keep on their board.

  • from Oklahoma City, OK February 13, 2015

    I Love it!

    What a beast. This is by far my favorite delay pedal.. ever! I play some U2 stuff, and it does it well. I like that you can hold down the tap tempo footswitch, and strum in your desired tempo. So many great features.

    The only down side is trying to find a dang power supply for it. So far I've only found the Cioks DC10 to meet the requirements. This thing draws tons of current. 12V at 400mA. Not even a Strymon Timeline or BigSky draws that much. lol.

    Overall great pedal, just super frustrating trying to find a power supply other than the one that came with it.

  • from NYC, NY USA January 26, 2015

    AWESOME!!!!

    This thing is very cool. it has many different delay modes and tempos, and you can even adjust between tape, analog, and digital with a rotary switch, so you can actually get the in - between sounds. also you get 9 presets, tap switch, modulation, and many more. the lights are really bright too.
    of course no pedal is perfect, so you have to do some tapdancing to access the presets, but thats a minor problem and you can get mods done.

    Overall, if you are looking for a great souding, versatile delay, and you cant or dont want to get the big eventides and strymons, this nova delay is just for you. Just get it. It won't disappoint!!!

  • from Long Island NY November 28, 2013Music Background:
    Experienced Worship Team Musician

    Terrific Pedal

    I bought this pedal because I had an impossible time getting some dotted eight settings with my old delay, which is a great delay in it's own right. This pedal is super versatile and sets up great. It took minutes to get what I needed. Excellent delay options too. All in all a great pedal. I took away one star because it is a bit of a hassle pulling up presets on the fly in a live setting . I found I actually needed to practice my stomping at home because i did mess up live at first. Once you get the hang of it it's all good. If I had it to do over again I'd make the same choice.

  • from Dubai , UAE November 21, 2013Music Background:
    Pro musician

    TC electronics Nova delay ND1

    Great pedal . I love the dynamic feature that doesn't let each and every note delay , it allows only the last note you play to delay , keeping your runs and lead and power chord work clean .
    Rugged box , many options , compact .

    Shipping ; don't use the free shipping option . You have to stay at home and just wait without knowing when the product is going to be delivered. Had sweet water ship it to Houston as
    I had a friend residing in Houston to collect it for me as Sweetwater doesn't do international shipping. My friend was luckily patient enough to wait , though it ruined his holidays as he had made so many plans and all we're ruined coz of the courier !!!!!!

  • from Albuquerque(Sandia Park), NM. USA February 22, 2013Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Wonderful Delay Pedal

    Lot s of Fun and Practical as well. Having user presets(9) on this thing is a really cool thing. Easy to use and very flexible. Best delay pedal ive ever used.

  • from Maumee, Ohio, USA November 1, 2011Music Background:
    Hobbiest, Non-professional band member

    The purchase was beeter than expected

    Our band was preparing to perform a song that relied on certain effects that make it memorable. I was unsure of what kind of effects box would create the desired sound so I called Sweetwater. I spoke with a sales representitive and was able to point him to the song on Utube. He was able to identify the effects box needed. Purchase was made and the performance was almost exactly like the original artist. I have also found that the Nova delay adds some really cool tone qualities to my electric 12 string.... Thanks Sweetwater!

  • from California November 22, 2010Music Background:
    guitarist

    Great pedal, great company

    This pedal is fantastic. The color knob lets you get some really interesting repeats very easily. The tap tempo and preset functions make it very useful on stage. Much easier to use than any other digital delay pedal I've used.

    The only reason I'm knocking one star off is that I am on my third ND-1 pedal. The first one fried after a year or so of extensive use, and I contacted TC, who replaced the pedal for free in a matter of a couple days. TC has amazing customer service and replaced the pedal even though I'd bought it used and had no proof of purchase. The replacement pedal had a faulty switch though that broke after about a month of use. Again, they were right on it and replaced the pedal immediately. The one I have now has been perfect so far, I just don't know how trustworthy it is to count on if you don't have a backup.

    Can't say enough good things about the company though. I wish every company out there had the customer service and integrity of TC.

Questions about the TC Electronic ND-1 Nova Delay Pedal?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway