0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
NAMM Sneak Peek

AEA N22 Reviews

5.0 stars based on 12 customer reviews
Questions about the AEA N22?

Questions about the AEA N22?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Plano, TX December 19, 2016

    LOVE IT!!!!

    For a Ribbon mic that is under $, this one is amazing.
    Electric guitar, Acoustic guitar and even vocals.
    It's not as dark as the Royer mics, which I love as well.
    The N22 has some top end that is smooth and pleasing.
    I even used this on some vocals. Put it up with a U87 and was shocked by the amazing results.
    For guitars, I mic about 6 inches from the speaker and off axis just a bit. Works like a charm.
    I'll be getting another one of these soon.

  • from Oklahoma City, OK July 4, 2016Music Background:
    lots o' stuff

    Great Mic for the price and it works great on Amps!

    Okay so I am using a heritage audio DMA 73 preamp, one channel is miking a Dr. Z 1x12 18 watt boutique amp (12'' alnico blue custom speaker) with a Mojave MA-200 tube condenser, while the other channel is miking with the AEA N22. The results are phenomenal. There is plenty of output from the N22. That is without a doubt NOT a problem (i.e. no CloudLifter needed here folks then again DMA 73's have 80 dB of gain) - this isn't like your typical ribbon mic at least from my perspective. What else....well it blends in really well with tube condensers on amps/electric guitar (using my ES-335 that I bought from sweetwater a while back), and I've even been using it on vocals and harmonizing with myself in Pro Tools HD and gosh its just absolutely amazing given its price. Ideally I'd love the R122-V its a tube ribbon. Thats the ultimate and I am a ribbon junkie without a doubt. I love em. This is a lot better than Peluso thats for sure. Its up there with Royer's R121 maybe even an R122 which costs quite a bit more than this humble microphone. I mean if you want the best of a ribbon without burning holes in your pockets, GET THIS. Trust me you'll not regret it. I suspect this mic can be used with another or by itself on ANY application. That is from electric guitar to brass to woodwinds and everything in between.

  • from Nashville, TN February 12, 2016Music Background:
    Producer / Audio Engineer

    Wow

    This was suggested to me by my sales engineer Geoff Allen, and this may be the best thing that's ever happened to female vocals. With perfect vintage/modern vibe hybrid that just works with the right voice. Also amazing on guitar cabs and horns. I know ya'll probably won't believe me, but this based on versatility and just usableness straight at the source before EQ has the Royer 121 beat to my ears on most all relevant applications.

  • from Houston, Tx December 25, 2015Music Background:
    Classical guitar player

    Closest to live sound.

    Now I'm sorry I didn't buy a pair. The N22 made all my other mics sound like an old Caruso's recording. Yeah, exaggerated but you know what I mean.

  • from Anaheim, CA November 4, 2015Music Background:
    Songwriter, Producer, Multi-instrumentalist

    Believe It

    A great sounding, versatile mic that is very responsive to placement and always sound good. Just find the spot that sounds the best. So easy to work with and it seems to sound good on everything. Like another reviewer wrote, I liked mine so much I bought two. I will be keeping these mics for life!!

  • from Hollywood, CA March 21, 2015Music Background:
    Jazz Guitarist, performer, teacher, author

    First "real" mic investment, best choice out there

    I purchased my N22 in December of last year, and for the past three months, I have so enjoyed having such a beautiful microphone for my home studio. I'm a jazz and classical guitarist, so I mainly record instruments and amp cabs. In addition, I've used my N22 to record horns and piano, both sound fantastic.

    Its a very natural sounding microphone with lots of "air" on top. Really a great choice for those who want to spend under 1K on a nice mic for most purposes.

    I like how the mic is phantom powered, it has a high output gain and works perfectly with my Apogee Duet. Other Ribbons I've used needed a cloud lifter for extra gain. This mic acts very much like a condenser and needs little to no extra gain.

    Strongly encourage guitarists to check this mic out

  • from Meriden, CT October 6, 2014Music Background:
    pro musician,

    Am I ina a Dream

    First of all let me say this is the most unbeilveable Microphone I have ever used.Mic up you guitar,Mandolin,Banjo,ukelele and you got the sound of that instrument.To sing with it is Angel like.get yourself a T.C. Helcon Harmony GTX,or other voice sound FX and let the fun,insperation and party time take over.Thank you Sweetwater If I never entered the contest you were having I would never have had the pleasure of owning such a beautiful Microphone.And thanks to Nick Lamendola for calling me and leting know I won it,also for being so helpful

  • from Salt Lake City, UT September 5, 2014Music Background:
    Multi-Instrumentalist, Recording/Mix Engineer

    Pretty close to a desert island mic.

    5 stars means "blown away" in this case, especially for the price. Very natural sound. This microphone is very forgiving about placement, and for my tastes, I don't find them "thin" sounding when used for distance. I bought 2, having borrowed a Royer SF-24 a few years ago, and finding it to be the closest thing to a "desert island" mic I had ever heard. I set the 2 up in a Blumlein pair about a foot in front of my guitar, and this is about as close to that magical guitar sound that Gary Paczosa gets with his A-list Nashville players - even with my substandard guitar! Quite simply, it sounded just like my guitar does - a first in all my searching in the last few years. (Not including my experience with the SF-24). Considering that a pair of these is $1800 and not $4200, it will get you about 99.9% there. Best of all, it makes my voice sound like me, and since it is SO responsive to EQ, you can give it the character of a condenser or an SM58 with the right curve. But far and away, to my ears, this works best in a Blumlein pair, much more so than a spaced pair. Scary accurate yet "three-dimensional" stereo imaging in the former configuration.

    Being a project studio owner and part-time session engineer, having worked with plenty of great mics - I think if you are a musician looking for a pair of mics to keep you focused on music-creation without worrying about the sound of things, THIS is the one to get. It's been a long time coming, but given the price and the fact that this was specifically designed for the project studio owner, but it's hard to do much better than this without spending 3 times as much for MUCH LESS than a subjective 1/3 improvement in clarity and flattery.

  • from LA,CA June 30, 2014Music Background:
    Engineer, Producer, Arranger

    Perfect for acoustic, vocals, percussion.

    This is a wonderful mic. You can tell AEA was trying their hardest to get it down to this price point. No nice and shiny wood box, shockmount, cable, or much of anything. Just a pretty basic plastic case and a rubber mic clip. I doubt there's a whole lot of money in these mics. It sounds amazing for a lot of different applications. Don't get too far away from it, all the bottom will go away. This is what it was designed for though. Close mic EVERYTHING. Don't be afraid of proximity boom with this mic. It sounds very clear and present and natural for acoustic guitar on the neck position. Well balanced, just watch your position, if you move back too far it becomes lifeless real quick. Not loving the bridge position too much though. It works insanely well for a lot of hand percussion stuff (shakers, tambos, cabasas, bells, etc.). And it can make an excellent main vocal mic, to me it sort of sounds like an re20 with a little less weight and a little more air and of course much more ambience (figure 8). But it'll come in really handy for backing vocals. I'll probably end up buying a second one someday, but for now I'm happy with the one.

  • from Van Nuys, Ca. May 28, 2014Music Background:
    studio owner, songwriter, producer,engineer. Analog!

    so nice , I bought it twice

    I liked the first one so much, i bought a second one. Sounds killer on my leslie speaker lower postion....also nice for acoustic guitars...

  • from Van Nuys, Ca. January 15, 2014Music Background:
    studio owner, songwriter, producer,engineer. Analog!

    excellent

    excellent mic. excellent.

  • from Nashville TN January 4, 2014Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Pro Musician,Singer Songwriter, Artist

    Great all around Ribbon Mic!

    The AEA folks came to my studio and let me demo this mic for about a week. I used it on fiddle and guitar the sound was well balanced, smooth, no overtones and I didnít use any EQ in the final mix only compression and reverb. I also like that you can use both sides of the mic at once in a live studio setup with two singers. I would highly recommend this mic it's a great addition to any studio!

Questions about the AEA N22?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close