0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month

Fender Mustang III V.2 100-watt 1x12" Modeling Combo Amp Reviews

4.5 stars based on 69 customer reviews
  • from The NY February 16, 2017

    New Amp

    Great. Did not expect to like it this much. Thanks Dennis.

  • from OH December 24, 2016Music Background:
    playing 20 years

    very nice

    super nice amp.very easy to use! you can tune in any sound you want.plenty loud!can turn it down as low as you want,or use headphones.for the money cant go wrong.debated this one or a code marshall.glad i went with the mustang.havent really heard the code,but this one does all i need.also love the digital screen.was gonna go with the mustang 2 but no digital screen.bump up to the mustang 3 and it will be all a guy needs then some.really i do not even use a thirdof the channels.it offers alot for everyones taste in sound.

  • from Bowling Green, KY November 2, 2016Music Background:
    80's metal guitarist retired but still very active

    Mind = Blown!

    I've been playing guitar for 35 years and Never before have I had an amp this awesome and versatile. Straight out of the box it was a monster. Loud and loaded with very easy to use effects. I sprung for the 4 button foot switch and it was so worth it! After accessing the fuse software I found myself able to download new presets with ease. There is simply no need for effects pedals with this amp! There in my opinion is no other modeling amp this easy to use.There are a ton of pre-loaded presets and once you update the firmware; there are even more! I haven't even got to them all. For the price you will never find an amp that can effortlessly transition from Country, Blues, Rock, Metal or Jazz. This amp really does it all! You will not be disappointed!

  • from Pittsburgh PA October 7, 2016

    Best of Fender Amps in one amp

    Have always loved the Fender Twin and Deluxe tube amps. Their sparkling presence and beefy mids for on the edge cleans is unmistakable in recording history. Yet I always needed to play live and needed a lot of distortion which required lots of solo playing. As a result was stuck with mediocre cleans. Always suffered from a non dynamic clean sound. The Mustang 3 gave me my Dream Amp in a little 30 lb powerhouse. It really Booms!!! The factory presets are not tuned in right. Just by adding included compressors at the front of the mix makes them so much better. However this amp is a tweakers delight. The fx are very good and many are stereo. Nothing beats a stereo flange or stereo delay with Ducking. A Screamer tube distortion or my favorite Ranger Boost in front of the British 80s which really gives a MS 4x12 speaker stack distortion. This Ranger Boost is a terrific distortion SIM and it is modeled after a Germanium fuzz and uses balanced harmonics.Wiki the Mustang 3 v2 for more info. The metal amps are very good and limitless tweaking can really fatten up hi note leads that otherwise get thin on most amp setups. The tube emulation is actually adjustable in each preset. The free Fender Fuse Software was easy to download and visually accurate and super easy to edit and save and even share online settings at Fenders own website. There is also a SIM of Fenders own SuperSonic amp that is a terrific hot lead amp and is Legendary in the recording industry. Once again I like it with the Ranger Boost distortion or the Greenbox (screamer). I have tube amps and other modeler amps and the Mustang is clearly my favorite. It does everything but IMO the Factory presets do not show what the amp is capable of. This amp actually comes alive as it is cranked to about half master volume just like a tube amp. The Twin with compressor chorus and stereo delay just cannot be topped. The speaker just jumps up and throws mids and Sparkling hi end out like a Fender tube amp. Compressor in front keeps speaker protected and really lets the cleans project at massive volume levels.

  • from Lake City, MN September 20, 2016

    Fender Mustang 3 V.2

    I purchased this amp as a lighter amp to carry having a fender 65 twin reverb is just to much to drag around. but sounds great! but this amp has the my old amp as one of the preset and 100 more amps of the past and future, what a great amp it really does the job for me and I upgraded to the 4 button pedal. I still have a lot to learn about it but I like waht I hear.
    waht a great amp!

  • from Klamath Falls, OR August 31, 2016Music Background:
    55 yrs playing guitar

    Amazing Amp

    I own this incredible amp and purchased it when they first arrived on the scene, although it has fantastic DSP effects built in, I use a few pedals because that's what you did back in the day with the tube amps. This amp is a very loud 100 watt amp and while I have yet to turn it up to 10 my friends can still hear me jam from down the road. I can easily get above the mix when leads need to be heard and my favorite setting is 00- Super-Sonic-for heavy rock because the sustain lasts for days. However, this amp covers all the bases with the tweakability it has to offer. I play country, rock, blues and jazz easily with this amp and am also able to go to all genres on my laptop via usb connectivity in a twinkle of the eye. I will keep this amp even after I can no longer play guitar. I highly recommend this Fender Mustang III

  • from TX August 21, 2016

    My fender mustang 3 v2

    I am very glad i purchased this amp. It is great.

  • from Lacey, WA June 12, 2016Music Background:
    50+ years playing guitar, 10 of those professionally.

    Just awesome little amp!!

    I have been playing for 50+ years, own three great tube amps and have a happy trail of about 50 amps in my history. I used to be a "tubes or nothing" guy, but the Mustang III changed that. I haven't even turned one of my tube amps on since getting my Mustang III. It can get LOUD ... every bit as loud as either of my 100W tube amps. But it sounds just as good at bedroom volumes as it does cranked, and my tube amps just don't. It has plenty of power for any gig you're likely to throw at it, it is small and light weight, it is now my go-to amp! I have had my Mustang III V1 since they came out. Zero problems, still going strong and working as good as it did when brand new. I know it has great effects, but I am a pedal board guy. It takes pedals very well. The Fuse software is amazing. Get in there and fiddle with the bias, sag and speaker emulation controls and be amazed! It has an EXCELLENT high-efficiency Celestion speaker in it, and most of my presets have the speaker emulation turned OFF. I do a lot of recording over jam tracks for my blues forum. The USB out and Audacity make that super-easy. Anyone who has gigged with a modeling amp knows that there is no such thing as a preset that is going to sound great at any venue you're likely to play ... the rooms change and your preset has to be tweaked accordingly. With the Mustang this is not a problem because after choosing a preset, the knobs on the amp can be used to easily and quickly tweak it just the same as on a tube amp. My humble opinion is that the Mustang III is the best bang for the buck in the entire world of guitar amps.

  • from Baton Rouge June 1, 2016Music Background:
    Playing for 30 years

    Very Happy with Mustang IV

    Awesome amp with MANY options. Clean channels are classic fender sound. No need for pedals. Get the 4 button switch and expression pedal and you are set. PLENTY of power for just about any gig. The modeling options are very close to the actual amps they are emulating. Highly recommend Mustang setup. Fender Fuse is included which gives you unlimited options in setting up your own sound. Get the III, IV, or V and you wont regret it.

  • from Sun Valley,Nevada March 24, 2016Music Background:
    30+ years in cover bands

    I've nicknamed it "The Beast"

    After several days' worth of researching modeling amps online,and not being satisfied with the options available (each one had SOMETHING I didn't need, and not a one of them had EVERYTHING I need) I stumbled upon this little unit, and discovered that it had the MOST of what I was looking for,and I couldn't be happier with it! Face it...most of these kinds of amps are going to have some usable presets and some that are,at best,marginally useful.That being said,this amp has a minimal amount of "garbage"compared to the vast array of very nice sounding patches that come in the bank of 100 presets. And that's not even talking about all of the other patches available to you once you open the Fender Fuse software.I really haven't had enough time to adequately delve into this area since getting the amp,but I can already tell from my short introduction to it,that the Fuse software will open up a plethora of patches. This is a 100w amp,with a Celestion 12 inch driver,and it is LOUD! I've read a review that mentioned that you could not get good tone out of this thing at low volume,but I have NOT found that to be the case at all.When I've been playing it,at a comfortable bedroom volume,I've not had to turn the Master Volume past 1-2 to get a GREAT sound, and the tone is SWEET! Very user friendly controls with a LOT of flexibility in adjusting all parameters of all of the patches. You can plug your MP3 player into the AUX input and jam along with your favorite tunes. And you can plug your headphones in and jam at full volume with no one else able to hear it. SWEET! It's a pretty little amp too! Nice silver mesh grill cloth,classy looking Fender logos,black Tolex...very sturdy construction.The available 2 and 4 button footswitches add quite a bit more control over the patches as well as adding access to features like the expression pedal,tuner,etc. The only change I'd make would be to add some metal corner protectors.I can probably find those online,however.Maybe,in the future,they can add some dedicated patches for bass guitar as well.But that's nitpicking.Great amp for the money!!!

  • from North Port Florida March 5, 2016

    Just what I needed.

    I wanted a portable, great sounding amp that required no add ons such as overdrive pedals to bring to my favorite weekly open mic. The first 2 presets I dialed up sounded so good that I could just stay on either one of them and just manipulate the controls on the guitar. Perfect! Easy! And it has plenty of headroom to cut through effortlessly. And for the price? Home run!

  • from Ardmore, AL February 24, 2016Music Background:
    Songwriter

    This amp is amzaing

    This amp blows me away. You can get so many great sounds out of it. The distortions and reverbs are amazing. Passable tremolo/vibe, flanger effects are solid, some good delays. You need the 4 button footswitch to take this amp to it's full potential but I highly recommend. This amp sounds as good as amps twice it's price and is powerful enough for medium size venues. Highly recommend.

  • from Carlsbad, CA January 31, 2016Music Background:
    48 years of pickin' for fun.

    A great, versatile amp

    I love this amp. I have had mine ever since the V2 came out. I had the Mustang IV before that for about a year but got tired of hauling it around. Very heavy. It is the exact same electronics in both the iii and iv (except the iii is 100W, the iv is 150W) and I have never looked back. This thing is plenty loud, I rarely have it above 3.5. I play in a medium size hall regularly with the speaker mic'ed and get great tone. I recently found myself playing with some younger heavy metal fans and had to crank it up to 4.5 to keep up. The tones I get out of this are amazing. I like to play a wide variety of styles, country, blues, rock and jazz, plus some religious service stuff and this amp does it all very nicely. I was reading an article by Larry Carlton on how he sets up his amp. He was saying that there is a sweet spot on a tube amp where the gain is set such that when you play softly the tone is clean but when you strike the string hard you get a nice distortion. He said on his amp it was with the gain just over 3. I gave it a try and sure enough, the mustang responded the same way with the '57 Deluxe amp model. I set the gain to 3.5 and my amp responds to the dynamic ranges just like he said. Pretty cool for a modeling amp. I have gotten a lot of compliments on my tone from fellow guitarists (I play an ES335 and a Les Paul). I bought the 4 button foot switch and the EXP 1 expression pedal and can do most anything I want with this set up (I daisy chain the 4 button into the exp pedal and the 2 button pedal goes into its own jack). I have owned an Roland GA 120 and currently own a Mesa/Boogie DC-3. The Mustang is my go to amp. I highly recommend it, it won't break your back or your bank.

  • from Richlands, NC January 12, 2016

    Great Decision

    It is so nice to have such realistic tones at your finger tips and not breaking the bank our your back. I gig from church,clubs,and sit ins and this does what I wanted , a light weight powerful,quality amp and elimination of a full pedal board. I would recommend this amp to any one. I did not opt for the IV or V because the portability is what I wanted.(the line outs work great as well)

  • from Bakersfield, Ca. September 29, 2015Music Background:
    Player for 50 years

    Fender Mustang III V.2 1x12" 100-Watt Modeling Combo w/FX

    What A great amp fender did it right.

  • from September 25, 2015

    Awsome !!!!

    Great product. So many pre sets you will never get bored. Easy to use great sound

  • from September 17, 2015Music Background:
    Playing for just over one year loving the Ride.

    Mustang

    I have the Mustang II. I'm waiting on my III. For the style of music I play, this amp is the best.
    My contact Justin has been very professional. The delivery time is awesome. Sweetwater is the best music experience I have ever had.

  • from Chicopee, MA July 29, 2015Music Background:
    Hobby guitarist

    Mustang III amp

    This is a great modeling and practice amp for the money. Lots of tones and easy to navigate. The amp is powerful! Reasonably small footprint, also. Definitely well worth the investment. I plan on having this for many years to come. I definitely would buy again. I recommend this amp to any budding musician or experienced guitarist. Looking forward to tweaking the sounds with the online software.

  • from USA July 8, 2015Music Background:
    Pro

    Amazing

    Amazing sounds - loud - nice looking - another Fender classic. The amps are so accurate, they have me considering the purchase of a new tube amp!!! The installation of the FUSE software was a bit bumpy but well worth it. Once installed, FUSE is very robust, elegant and easy to use. The entire FUSE community is on the edge of their seats yearning for Fender to launch a long-awaited update.

  • from May 19, 2015Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Fender Mustang III V.2

    Just an amateur tinkerer. This is what I needed. Great presets, easily changeable. Packs a lot of power. Not able to get it past 4 in volume without the wife throwing something at me. Our house echo's. I really like this amp and p****d I didn't get it earlier. Quit wasting time if you have a crappy amp. Just get this.

  • from NY May 13, 2015

    wow that price point...

    Let's start with the cons. The factory presets are godawful and if you auditioned it on that alone you'd be missing what this amp can do. Second, the whole system is REALLY BRIGHT to the point of being obnoxious. When you combine that with the irritation of the ridiculous factory presets you're getting an unfortunately skewed version of the sound. Third, some of the models are better than others, and that goes for the amps as well as the cabinets. Next, the documentation leaves a lot to be desired. Finally, the software is not exactly intuitive and the way it combines with amplitube or a DAW or your existing ASIO drivers is sort of a tangled mess.

    BUT, if you can get past that you are going to be blown away that you paid under $400 for this thing that can easily become your gigging amp if you want to take the time to tweak it - and I do mean take a lot of time. I've had it for a few weeks and I've got maybe two presets that I'm really happy with. The downloadable community presets are pretty good (although they aren't necessarily made for this particular amp and could need considerable tweaking in some cases). At the very least, they are a much better starting point than the factory settings.

    No, it's not going to rival a big fat tube head and a bunch of hand wired pedals. But you can pick it up without straining your rotator cuffs and the whole thing is ONE BOX. Oh did I MENTION THE PRICE?!? It's insane that this can be had for what they're selling it for.

    I can envision this being a beautifully integrated part of a live laptop rig that feeds Ableton through USB, WITHOUT THE NEED FOR MICS! Yes, I tested that and it can be done.

    Stereo XLR outs?! What?! And I love that the footswitching can be set to run like a pedal board and flip stomp boxes on and off within a preset. Thank you. This whole thing is designed pretty darn well. It's a little shrill in the high register and I'm not sure if that's the modeling or the EQ or the speaker but I think I can work it out with more tweaking. The cab model seems to have a lot to do with it. I've been sticking mostly to the Super Sonic cab models because they seem the least prone to this.

    Don't waste your time editing presets if you're not connected to a computer. However, trying to save to the amp from the software is needlessly complicated. The whole software side needs a better workflow. It looks pretty, though, and mostly gets the job done.

  • from United States April 13, 2015Music Background:
    Casual player

    Excellent Amplifier

    This is a great amplifier and I am glad I bought it. As an electrical engineer that designs products for a living I found that Fender engineers made excellent choices to develop this product. This amplifier provides an outstanding flexibility thanks to the versatility provided by the USB interface and the Fuse software.

    Great job guys!

  • from March 26, 2015

    great

    It's great

  • from New Hampton mo. February 25, 2015Music Background:
    25 year's of playing, electric and acoustic guitar

    really like my mustang 3 v 2

    incredible there is no end in what you can do with this amp,I am usually never satisfied with gear ,there's always something better around the the corner. I find something cool every time i use it. Sweet Water is a great store great people from receptionist , to sale's.

  • from United States February 13, 2015Music Background:
    Man cave band guitarist, amateur recording engineer, hobbyist

    Fender Mustang 3 V2

    This is a fantastic modeling amp! many sounds and features. Have had this for a few months and still exploring different tones and settings! I would definitely buy this again I had to!

  • from California January 7, 2015Music Background:
    Guitar Player for 20+ Years, Home Studio Recording Engineer

    Super Versatile, Great Sound And Affordable, Too

    The Fender Mustang III V.2 amp is just what I was looking for. I have a small home studio and do a lot of recording. What I needed was a do-it-all amp that could sound, realistically, like many different amps. And also be able to play at home-studio volume levels. This amp does all of these things and more.

    While there were maybe a dozen factory presets out of the 100 it came with that I liked, the real utility (and real fun) started when I began creating my own presets in the Fender Fuse software. The Fuse GUI is very easy to use, no need to look at a manual. It is literally a lot like setting up a real pedal board, albeit a virtual one. And for those of us who don't have the luxury of owning 17 different amplifiers and half a dozen different speaker cabs, the Mustang III offers the ability to "audition" many different amps via the models and see what we like. For example, I've learned that I really like the Fender Twin Reverb for clean tones and I really like Orange and Mesa/Boogie models for high-gain tones. Also, the virtual stomp boxes are rather convincing.

    I think I didn't truly appreciate how good the tones that this amp pumps out were until I really started critically listening to recordings I made with it. You close your eyes you start to hear sounds reminiscent of tones you have heard on countless records. The guitar tones and even subtle nuances, for example, a tube amp just starting to break up are there.

    Though I bought this for recording in my studio, I have no doubt that it could be used for gigging. 100 Watts into a 12" Celestion speaker should be plenty for most gigs. I think that if I ever did use it for gigging, I would definitely buy the 4-button footswitch so that I could use it to control the virtual effects pedals. Overall, if you are in the market for a very versatile modeling amp, you really can't beat the Mustang III.

  • from Tacoma, WA December 4, 2014Music Background:
    Long time student of jazz

    Money Well Spent

    The Mustang III really covers a lot of tonal bases well. Really good Jim Hall, Pat Martino, Larry Coryell, Joe Pass, George Benson and Norman Brown sounds can be conjured up. I'm not a player of rock, blues or metal but I listen to a number of solo artists and groups. Using some of the presets and the Fender Fuse software, I have dialed in very decent blues, hard rock and metal sounds that rival what I hear in many of the songs I listen to. Direct recording is simple and effective and the tuner is a godsend. After about 8 months of using it, I can categorically state that it was money well spent.

  • from New Haven KY November 5, 2014Music Background:
    taking guitar lessions for about a year

    whole lotta fun

    At a pawn shop, I paid $50 for a mustang V1. It was fun learning the molding betat. When found fender fuse, it was like that time that i figured out the tv/vcr button on the vcx!!!! I saved every dime and got a mustang111v2. I just love crank it on 10 ...tip for you'all, don't plug an acustic guitar through this amp. I read a that said to use the preamp, so i tweeked the amp setting, add a ranger boost and wittnes the breakdown of my speaker, when i plugged in my strat then i took the volume past 3 the speaker went dead, lucky I was still under warrenty so I got a new speaker

  • from Carmel, Indiana October 3, 2014Music Background:
    Working musician for 40 years.

    Big amp in a small box!

    I have been strictly a tube amp guy using vintage Fender and Matchless amps. In my book those are still the best amps out there. But!!! The new fender Mustang III V.2 is really a good sounding amp for not being a tube amp. The modeling is really well thought out and sounds great. I have been using it for rehearsals and the whole band is pretty blown away with the tones I can pull from it. I'm planning on using it in some of the smaller venues we play and think it's really going to rock. It's very responsive also and that is one of the main reasons I didn't use any transistor amps in the past. With a little work setting the amp up you can get it to produce the great Fender cleans and just by digging in a little bit it will sing. You can easily go from 60's to Blues and to Metal in seconds. I think it was a great purchase. At the Sweetwater price you can't go wrong!

  • from King City, CA August 25, 2014Music Background:
    Amateur Musician

    Spectacular!

    When I first tried it out, it had all these great presets! The magic really started happening once I used the Fender Fuse software and got some new presets that fit my tastes! I am very surprised by how amazing this amp sounds! Definitely a must!

  • from Greenwood, Missouri August 18, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist & Partime member of the Statin Junkies Blues Band

    Fantastice Tone Machine

    First a shout out to my sales rep Andrew Plassman. I have worked with Andrew for over two years now and he is 90% of why I do business with Sweetwater – Thank you Andrew! Now, having been so impressed with the Mustang II I bought in January, (and about to jump back into being in a band), I decided to upgrade to the Mustang III.

    The tone and response of this amp is fantastic. As a tube purist I am reticent to say just how well this amp delivers very authentic playability and feel of a tube amp. This amp is also very versatile. It is fairly light weight which makes it much easier to carry around and the left and right XLR outputs make stage set up a breeze.

    One question often asked is does this amp have enough power to gig? Fender has it rated at 100 watts whatever that means. All I know it is freaking loud. The Celestain speaker delivers ample volume and punch so the Mustang is loud enough to rattle you brain, scare your neighbors and fry the hair off your hamster. In all seriousness the volume is tremendous and the quality of the sound remains very consistent.

    The Mustang III comes with 100 presets though personally, I find most of them way overdriven and leaning to the metal side of the spectrum. Not to say that is bad, I love Metal but play it very poorly so I just do not use them. I find the basic amp models great especially the Fenders and the Fuse software allows you to customize your tone exactly how you want it. I set up mine to emulate 5 amps on the first 5 spots of the dial; 3 classic Fenders, a Vox and a Marshall. I put an overdrive, reverb and delay on each and programmed the 2 button footswitch to operate the overdrive and delay. You also have the Fender website where you can download tones from other users directly into the amp.

    Even if I had only been able to create one emulation that I really liked I would still rate the Mustang as a exceptional value. Does it sound/play exactly like a tube amp? No, but what you get is a highly portable, gig worthy, powerful great sounding amp that gives you 9/10ths of the tonal quality of a great tube amp for hundreds less.

  • from July 28, 2014

    Nice amp

    First amp I had in 25 years. Tube amps are cool. But this is fine for the enthusiastic none pro/

    Sounds great to me.

  • from Albuquerque, NM June 23, 2014Music Background:
    Former Pro Musician, Now a Hobbyist

    Outstanding little amp

    I've had this Mustang III a couple of weeks now and I'm really impressed. I bought it primarily for home recording use, following some YouTube blind tests against other regular, non-modeling amps. For the price, it's hard to beat, and the sound quality is hard to beat, too.

    There are some nice presets among the 100 that come with the Mustang. But one of the big benefits is getting access to free user-created presets or being able to create your own if you are so inclined.

    For instance, three of my favorite presets were created by a guitarist who posted blind A/B listening tests on YouTube, asking viewers to comment on which, for instance, was the Eric Clapton Tremolux and which was the Mustang III, or which was the Deluxe Reverb and which was the Mustang III. He did this for a number of amps.

    The blind tests faked almost everyone out, including me. Most people preferred the Mustang and assumed therefore that it was the tube amp. In those tests, the tube amp always sounded to me like it was trying to imitate the Mustang rather than the other way around. That's how good the sound was. In the end, all the tested presets from the videos were uploaded to the Fender Fuse site, where Mustang users can download them for free and further tweak them if they want.

    Due to the availability of presets, coupled with the limit of 100 that can be on the amp at one time, it's wise to create a baseline backup of all the presets that come standard so they will always be available if the need arises to restore them. What happens is you'll come across or create a great preset and want to overwrite another unused preset in order to store it on the amp as one of the 100 selectable presets. So it's good to keep a backup of what you started with. Note that on your PC you can essentially have unlimited presets and download them to the amp as you desire.

    Don't expect much product literature to come with the Mustang. What is supplied is very minimal, but you can find manuals and instructions online. For instance, I needed to restore my original factory presets at one point, so that I could back them all up and save them. It took a while to figure out how to do that, which simply involved turning on the amp while holding down a button. But that's a minor nit. This amp is simple to use and find your way around on once you learn a few things.

    One nice feature is a headphone out jack. If you don't want to wake or disturb the household while you're jamming away or practicing, plug in the headphones and the speaker is bypassed. However, if you really want to hear some impressive sound, just unplug the headphones, move the amp volume up to 2 in a small room and be amazed at the sheer volume and quality of the sound. It's much fuller and richer than listening with headphones, which is not bad in itself. Then move the volume up to 3 in that same room and it will almost blow the walls down. That would be plenty of volume for playing as part of a band in a club, for instance, so this little amp packs plenty of power.

    One of the nice features of the Mustang is that, with the Fuse software, you can edit your effects settings, adding things such as a stomp box, reverb or modulation with a mere mouse click. You can add any of them pre or post amp. It's good imitation of a real world setup. Then, of course, you can tweak those effects as you need.

    The Mustang III comes with a two-button footswitch. The four-button model is much more versatile and useful, so if you're into using footswitches, plan on upgrading to the four-button model. The footswitch is useful for doing things like switching a stomp box off and on, selecting different favorite presets on the fly, or selecting the tuner.

    All in all, this is one incredible amp for a fraction of the price of a typical quality amplifier. I can't say enough good things about it. Fender hit a home run with this amp, in my view.

  • from Atlanta,GA June 17, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Great value

    I shopped around, but was impressed by the quality of the sound, the amp and cabinet models, and effects. The amp packs quite a lot of nice features like the display which can be used to tweak the various modeling settings without the need to have a PC connected. For me it met my needs as a hobbyist.

  • from Grass Valley, CA April 10, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Great amp for the price!!

    I have had this amp for a month or so and love it. You can get a lot of great sounds and and effects out of it. When you switch effects and channels it is seamless, no hesitation at all. Very loud amp. The display and controls are simple and clear. I would recommend this amp to anyone from beginner to pro. It is very easy to use and plugging into computer gives you an experience like no other.

  • from March 6, 2014

    Money well spent

    This is a great amp.It has great sound and flexibility.The interface is very user friendly.I am very happy with this amp.Using the fuse program gives tons more options to you.I have an epiphone dot that sounds great with this amp.This is also a very stylish amp.It looks great.I'd buy it again if I had to.Great Fender Product.

  • from denver March 5, 2014Music Background:
    artist,producer, instrumentalist

    mustang iii v 2

    first off ill like to thank Jeff for putting
    my package together and always giving me updates on my package. but i love the amp its amazing. looks great sounds great.
    you guys keep
    up the great work God bless

  • from Batesville, Ar March 3, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist.

    Great Amp

    Can't say enough good things about this amp. I had a Line 6 Spider IV 75 before this amp. This is definitely a step up in amp modeling. It has a 100 presets, and alot are usable without making any tweaks to them. User friendly with the LED readout screen. To my ears, it sounds about as close to a tube amp one some of the amp models as one can get in a solid state model. Oh yeah, It is a loud 100 watts. You won't be sorry you bought this amp if you decide to take the leap.

  • from Bellingham, WA February 20, 2014Music Background:
    Guitarist, recording engineer, songwriter

    Happy with it!

    After screwing around with amps costing several times more than this one, and being underwhelmed, I decided to give the Mustang III a try. I'm quite happy with it. I've used it live once so far and it came through for me. That was with a full band, drummer, etc. and I think I only turned it up to around "3" the whole night. It sounded great. I don't miss those "expensive" amps one bit. Plus, this one is nice and light, easy to lug around. I've been playing since the Beatles first came to the US, so I'm no newbie. This amp will be a keeper.

  • from Beardstown, IL AREA January 24, 2014Music Background:
    Experienced

    Love this amp and have had NO issues!

    I have owned many different brands of amps in my time and seem to come back to the Fender line time and again. This amp Rocks! I had the Mustang V V.1 head and the Mustang Floor, which I wished I would have tried with the EHX 44 Magnum before I traded it off. This Mustang III v.2 seems very easy to me to operate and change settings. I use the MS-4 4 btn. footswitch along with the EXP-1 expression/volume pedal, which I use mainly to control the master volume. If you don't want it to go straight to Liquid Solo and blow you away when you turn it on, you can change that - I did. It automatically goes to the 00 setting when you turn it on, so I changed mine to a custom clean setting that even growls at you a little when you dig in to it and is clean even at a higher volume. I also picked my favorite distortion settings - one with very little effect and one with chorus and delay that sounds alot like EVH. I stored them in the 4 btn. footswitch and now have 3 favorite settings that I can switch on the fly and you can customize the volume settings of each so that they don't blow you away when you switch from a clean setting to a dirty setting. If you are ok with trying to learn newer technology, give this one a try. I don't own a computer so the Fuse Software doesn't do anything for me, but I do love the presets and the way you can customize them to sound the way you want and store it and it remains there even after turning the amp on and off. Try one out today! WAY TO GO FENDER! I will be ordering a cover for it from Sweetwater soon!

  • from Richmond, Indiana November 17, 2013Music Background:
    Played in a band for 21 years. have played solo the last 13 years

    Awesome Amp!

    I bought a Fender Mustang 3V amp a couple of months ago and this is an amazing amp.
    I used a Fender Twin years ago and have always been partial to the Fender sound. This amp sounds just like the Fender Twin I used to have, but it actually gives you the flexibility of getting pretty much any amp sound you are looking for. It is very simple to adjust the various amp sounds. You can take any of the basic amp models and adjust them to your taste, plus add the various effects you desire and then save the setting and access it quickly with the footswitch. I recommend getting the 4 button footswitch.



    This amp is easy to carry, and at 100watts it has plenty of power.
    I set mine on an Ultimate Support amp stand and by getting it off the ground and angling it I don't have to turn it up very loud at all to cover the places I play. It has plenty of power to spare.

    Fender has "hit it out of the ball park with this one."

  • from August 7, 2013

    New Tricks for old dog

    I decided to once again take up guitar playing on an amateur level after a 30 yr hiatus. This amp is very versatile and has way more power (volume) and features than I will ever need. Great amp for me!

  • from Tacoma WA USA June 25, 2013Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Very Cool Amp

    I bought the Mustang III V2 because I wanted a compact versatile amp for both gigging and recording. This amp is amazing. I had read the various reviews on forums, and watched YouTube videos praising it, and I must agree with the overwhelmingly positive comments this amp receives. The amp models are very good and the built-in effects are excellent. The Fuse software allows for fine tuning tone and effects to taste. I found it exceptionally easy to dial in a variety of very satisfactory sounds. I'm not terribly computer literate, so often I find these types of things frustrating, but this software is so intuitive and straight-forward that I had no trouble.

    My only complaint is not about the amp, but rather the online registration process. I got caught in a loop between steps 2 and 3 and was not able to complete the registration process. I had to resort to mailing in the registration card that came with the amp. On some of the forums I've read that others have had the same problem. Fender should give some attention to their web registration process. Aside from that little irritation, I have nothing but positive things to say about the Mustang III. It's lightweight, compact, sounds great at any volume and is very versatile. I recommend adding the four button switch. The two button floor switch that comes with the amp limits what you can access on the fly. For gigging, the four button switch is a must-have.

  • from Wichita, Kansas June 14, 2013Music Background:
    Pro Musician - Guitar Teacher

    Nice amp.

    Take this amp- plug it into your laptop and design any sound you can think of. Add the 4 button switch and you eliminate having a floor covered in effects. I'm not really blown away because my 65 Twin with 15" speaker still sounds better. Butttt - that's like comparing apples and oranges. It is excellent for what it is.
    I also love hooking it to my laptop and rearranging the amps, speakers, and effects. You can sit there with your guitar and hear the stuff you put in.
    It comes with a 2 button foot switch. By adding the four button you have an amazing selection.
    The guys I jam with say the settings i have made sound really good.

  • from Greenwood, in. June 6, 2013Music Background:
    Musician, singer/song writer

    I love Sweetwater Music!

    I was totally pleased with you guys! I love my amp and I loved the service Carson McClain had given me. Very nice and professional. I was a first time buyer and will definitely be a returning customer!
    Much Love
    -Aaron McClain

  • from St. Paul, MN April 9, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Adds So Much to My Practice Sessions

    I've had my Mustang iii V2 now for a couple weeks. I am absolutely blown away by how much fun it has added to my playing. I had a Frontman 15G that would basically give me two tones: clean and crunchy. My guitars sounded pretty good through it, but I wanted to explore more tones, so I bought the Mustang iii.

    When first got it, I kind of gravitated to a few tones that I liked. I thought that maybe I would find half a dozen presets that I would use and the rest would be overkill. But the more I play with it, the more I'm blown away by all the presets. Some of the ones that I initially thought were no good are becoming my favorites. I've decided not to delete any of them until I've really tried them out. But the number of different tones is simply amazing. I'm currently on a quest to learn a new song a day, and the Mustang helps me match the tones of the original artists.

    And the Fuse software is amazing as well. Different presets are just a mouse click away. It makes practice so easy.

    To me, this amp is the deal of the century because it gives me a chance to try out different amps and effects without having to buy amps, pedals, or rack effects. Thanks Fender and Sweetwater! I couldn't be happier with this purchase.

  • from United States March 28, 2013Music Background:
    90's Alternative Specialist

    Worth every Penny

    This amplifier is astounding. I am more that happy to own this and it was well worth the money. It has the original fender tone I was looking for. A beautiful construction as well. The Mustang III is just right. Its not too big and expensive while at the same time it is not too small and inadequate. This one is the Jack of all trades.

  • from Maryland March 19, 2017

    Mustang Great Value

    This is my 4th Mustang amp. I own the Mustang 1, 4 and 5. I'm also an avid FUSE user. To me the sound is very usable in a giging environment. I guess if I had to be put on the spot, I'd agree that a tube amp give a warmer sound after it has warmed up for about a half hour. But I really can't say that the difference in sound justifies the higher price. The Mustang 5 gives as much power as most places can handle, but I wanted an amp to leave at a fellow band member's house so I didn't have to cart my Mustang 1 back and forth. For the price, I felt that leaving a 100 watt Mustang 3 that I could load with all of my existing presets was a good choice.

    I now can just bring my guitars to practice and still have my Mustang configuration that matches what I use at home. Should I decide to make updates to the settings, I can just bring along my laptop and USB cable.

  • from Earth March 2, 2017Music Background:
    I made many real vinyl records before you were born.

    Tips from a pro user

    Owned this and the older model for five years now and can help you get the most from this versatile club amp.

    First of all, the modeling: It's pretty good! The only tricky issue is Fender intentionally mislabels some amp models to perpetuate the myth of their most famous amps. They call the good British sounds tweed, champ or blackface, while the British labeled amps are actually just stuper-gain versions of mondo metal madness. So, for reasonable adult players that means; use the models with Fender brand associations. You'll get better tone and distortions that don't suck.

    Effects: These have a good musical assortment of usable effects, plus some ridiculous cheesy combinations in factory memory. Fender is obviously trying to tempt younger less experienced players by including ridiculous radical effect combinations. Best practice is to avoid or overwrite them with usable patches.

    Tweaking: Super easy and intuitive! The manual is blessedly short and written in comprehensible English. Good on ya Fender! But you don't need the manual. Adjusting any effect is so easy even an old guy like me can do it without any training. How?

    You just select the model-effect-tone-etc. you want. The red light flashes. If you’re happy with the tweak, press the red button and hold. It automatically saves that sound in memory at the current location. Double press any knob to instantly get to deep editing. You don’t need a computer or a stupid smart phone. Yes, it will interface with your computer if that is what you want. Fender has free software for such defective lonely humanoids.

    The cool thing is, so long as you do NOT press the red SAVE button, you can always get back to square one.

    That feature is GREAT for several reasons, not the least of which is when you must play host at jam sessions. Since all knobs operate in real time, you can allow any goofy guest guitarist to play through your amp with impunity. He can adjust the knobs until he finds that perfect setting to massage his insecurity while you go drink and contemplate the err of your career choices.

    After the band leader kicks him off stage, you can instantly return your amp to real-world musicality by simply turning the amp selector knob either direction (one click) then back again. Since the Stevie Ray wanna-be did not save his awful tones, your settings remain unsullied by his rank incompetence. That makes your interminable sentence in jam-session purgatory far more tolerable!

    An unspoken but VERY useful addition to the higher end Mustangs is, STEREO OUTPUTS.

    Of course it’s impossible to get true stereo effects from a single speaker. But these amps have TWO BALANCED LINE OUTS !!! (Please read that sentence again so the import of it sinks firmly into your skull)

    That means for ANY BIG GIG, you do not need an entire new rig. You just send these stereo outs to the house PA, and suddenly you’ll realize why the great mahooga gave you two ears.

    Chorus, Phase, and detune pitch-shifting are ten times better in stereo. With this amp and a pair of powered speakers, you can rule the universe with righteous stereo effects befitting of your rock-god stature!

    The cons are few and small with this amp. It is heavier than it needs to be since it was designed and commissioned before Fender got smart and started using Baltic Birch cabs. Since the line is successful, they don’t want to change it. If you are handy like us old guys, you might have access to a shop full of woodworking tools. So if your back is bothering you, you could build your own cab to house this head and speaker. I did that and lost twenty-two pounds from the two-twelve model! For the smaller one ( like this) I elected to simply attach it to a cheap fold up dolly. That’s easy enough and requires no engineering or woodworking skill.

    NOISE: Since the modeling and effects are all done with inexpensive chips, these have a noticeable amount of self-noise and digital artifacts That noise is compounded every time you add effects or use more complex amp models. In live setting, that noise is imperceptible. The crash boom bang of any rock drummer plus the constant din of chatting patriotic Americans in bars masks these unpleasant artifacts. If you can still hear that noise at the gig, have another beer.

    So, other than the slight noise and digital artifacts, plus the weight, this is one of the BEST BARGAINS for ANY PRO player. It has almost any effect and copy-cat tone you’ll every need for cover tunes. Plus, it won’t break your bank or your back.

    Fender did something VERY RIGHT with the Mustang series, and this one-twelve model is the most versatile of the bunch.

    Real world Reliability: I should point out that I am most definitely NOT a Fender fanatic. Nor was I even a Fender amp fan, UNTILL I started using their amps fifteen years ago. I have used and abused their rumble bass amps beyond any ethical standard. All of them have survived the most heinous torture at outdoor rock gigs, traveling in frozen vans and sweltering hot cars, being knocked over by drunken drummers. Not once have they ever let me down.

    I had ONLY ONE problem with the first mustang. It quit on me during the first set of my first gig with it. It was fixed fast and free under warranty and has worked perfectly for eight years since. Fender warranty pays for EVERYTHING, including labor, parts and shipping those parts to your local repair center. GOOD ON YA FENDER.

    Highly recommended. Get one or two. Be happy. Save money.

  • from February 11, 2017Music Background:
    25 years playing guitar

    The "Do Everything" Amp

    This amp is great. Obviously has a lot of options, but I don't spend much time tweaking. I stick with a few amps and have one or two effects with them. I also have the original Mustang Floor so I knew this would be the right amp for me. The new amp models are a nice addition to the Version 1 Mustang Floor. The British Colour is fantastic. It is great for straight up, gritty rock n roll. The Fender cleans are great as you'd expect. My favorite amp models are 60's British (Vox AC30), Fender Twin, Super Sonic, and the aforementioned British Colour. Check out "intheblues" presets for some great sounds ready for you to just play.

    My only gripe is the inclusion of the two button footswitch rather than the 4. It would've been great if you could choose a "kit" with either the 2 or 4. I would much rather have the 4 to go between presets and turn effects off and on all in one unit. If I buy the 4 the 2 will probably just sit there collecting dust.

    As always, Sweetwater service is great and Jonathan Appleton was very helpful.

  • from Michigan September 19, 2015

    Amp for home and gigs

    I have been working at this modeling game for some time with most of the software based programs no names here and a rack unit....Each had their own plus's and minus's, Enter Mustang 3... This combo does fender clean/modern drive tones very well, Deluxe,Twin,Champ ETC... High gain amps so so... Don't expect a Marshall.

    Please do not base any opinions on the factory presets, "All" are over processed with effects, some might sound good at bedroom levels but turn up the master and it will be over the top bad...You can make this amp come close to its tube counter part if you start with a base amp preset and go easy on effects, reverb, drive, pedals, eq.. ETC...Fender has put these all high... If your thinking 5 or 6 on a effect turn it down to 2 it will make a world of difference when you crank the amp...

    I have done a few of these that way and it sounds good at master@1 bedroom level or master@ 5 or 6 gig level. .. 90% of the people that listen at a gig could not tell a deluxe from a champ anyway, they listen for good music and this amp can bring it....Im sure that will sound better as the awesome Celestion speaker breaks in. This amp is win win at a price point that's hard to beat.

    Now for the candy... This amp has all the connections you could want.. xlr's out for hooking to pa/monitors....effects loop...headphones for late night jamming.. aux in for cd/ipod music input.....usb for recording/ Fuse software link... awesome easy to read display on top for editing or dig in deep with the Fuse software..

    The only downside is there is not cd included, You must go to the Fender site and register/serial # and jump a few hoops to get the Fuse software and login ability...

  • from West L.A., CA May 10, 2015Music Background:
    Had a guitar, at least 1 for 40 yrs of my life. I write my own stuff anymore.

    Sold!

    Okay. This is how I ended up owning this amp. At first I ordered a Peavey Vypyr. As luck would have it, Fed-ex musta dropped the damn thing. It only busted the bottom corner protector and a busted chunk that would be under that same corner piece. I called Jared at Sweetwater and told him the whatsup. He told me to play with it until I could get the return label in the mail. Sooo glad I did. The sound was just okay. Not even close to what I have now. I had to wait two weeks to have enough money to get something different. Knew the Peavey was not the amp for me. As long as I had the time I did a LOT of research. Read every review I came across. Watched countless video demonstrations. Then read the reviews and watched the videos again. Now I had it narrowed down, to within my budget, to the Line 6 or the Fender. I went to Guitar Center and grabbed a $129 git. First the Line 6. I liked that it had a mic input. Background drums and other music to play with was, I said was a plus. Asthetically it didn't hold my eye too much. It seemed cheap looking. What's more it got to be pretty complicated. I did like the idea of the Sanpera II footswitch, but you don't buy an amp because of multiple buttons . I played with it for about an hour. Despite having foreknowledge of how it operated it was still too much to do. The sound quality was alright but not all that. Now I took myself over to the Fender. In five minutes I was able to move freely through its menus. Sound was killer on a number of the presets, and the rest I could tweek to my liking. It is cheaper too! Moneywise that is. Now my mind was made up. The only hurdle was doing more research on the 4 button switch & the expression pedal, neither of which come with it. Hence, minus 1/2 star. Also the pedal plugs into the 4 button switch input. Not the way I would have designed it, but, I can redesign all the presets and fx til my heart, no ears are content. Programming the 2 & 4 button switches was an easy process. I can also rename all the presets like... Dave'z Day trip, Scream Dream, and Lazy Afternoon. The possibilities on this amp are of epic proportions. Don't dream it, buy it!!! I've done all the research on these three amps. But don't take my word for it... well do! You will not regret it.

  • from Hayward , WI February 18, 2015Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Fender Mustang 111 v.2 1 x 12 amp

    I liked that it had 100 pre sets and I might not use them all but there are alot of them that I do like. It came free of shipping and it only took 3 days after ordering it and I was playing . It has alot of sound and I think it was worth the money. Small amp small price big noise. I think a good buy

  • from DFW August 30, 2014Music Background:
    lifelong casual player

    Fender does Fender tone best

    Let's face it. When it comes to modeling a classic amp, who has the best "classics" and who knows their tone best?
    Fender.
    I don't care about the majority of the presets. This amp, for a third or much less of a classic tube amp, gives you a stable of classic Fender sound in one little package. I couldn't be happier with it, and I just select a Fender amp from the menu and play. Not fiddle with the amp all day, though that could be entertaining as well.
    I bought the Mustang III V1 from Sweetwater, and recently the V2, also from Sweetwater. The upgrade was NOT necessary, the V1 is a rocking machine. It will continue to be played in a friend's care.

  • from ILLINOIS February 18, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Good tones to be found

    This thing is a tweakers dream! So many options and things to fiddle with. And you better get good at fiddling if you want good sounds out of this amp. They're in there, but you have to work for it. Works best for clean to edge of breakup. All out distortion is possible but there are better things out there for that.
    I got this for low volume playing and as a backup to my blues deluxe. Works great with headphones, and as a recording interface. After much tweaking I still wasn't quite thrilled with the low volume sounds. So I turned it up, and up, and up, til it was roaring. That was the wow moment as well as the boooo moment. It sounded as good as my BDRI but had to be turned up to the same volume, which is really really loud. Evidently I like things loud.
    Will it replace my tube amp? No
    Tubes produce something that ss modelers just can't do.
    But it's definitely a fun piece of gear and could be a suitable backup or grab N go for quick jams.
    Couple of tips -
    Start with basic blank amp models, 80-99 are good starting points and tweak from there.
    Distortion is not your friend with this amp.
    Use effects sparingly.
    Big one - turn your guitar volume down just a little - the amp does not like a hot signal.

  • from MI February 11, 2014Music Background:
    PART TIME WORKING MUSICIAN

    MUSTANG III

    GREAT LITTLE AMP. NICE FOR RECORDING WITH THE OUTPUTS IT HAS. EFFECTS ARE GOOD QUALITY, AND HAS PLENTY OF POWER. LIGHT!

  • from Midwest Around Iowa, Illinois. October 30, 2013Music Background:
    Musician Hobbyist.

    It Goes Loud Enough

    The amp works. I have not been through it all, after-all you must download the advanced manual from the Fender website. The registration on the website is wonky, but they give a card form to mail in to Fender for the 5 year Transferable Limited Warranty. So I do not like that portion from Fender (on-line not working maybe, maybe not). The connections out on the amp are good and I will still have to work with the amp awhile to know all I can set with it. Been to the jam session and it worked fine, and now I have an amp despite the volumes of the other Fender Amps. Still the same though at jam seesions as tube amps seem to have to be turned up louder all the time from other guitar players if any amps are brought in besides the Frontman 100 watt sitting there, and that amp can remain there far as I am concerned. The reason for the 4.5 stars is because of the registration factor and the and the Advanced Manual download needed and the Ableton Fender version which I do not need and do not intend to jump through hoops to get. I could go on, but another jam session is coming up again so I may have to see what transpires there again.

  • from Colorado October 24, 2013Music Background:
    30 years as pro and semi-pro. Guitar, steel guitar, mandolin, vocals, songwriter.

    Sceptic won over

    I play pedal steel, lead guitar and mandolin. I have a collection of vintage amps that are generally heavy, somewhat finicky and I was looking for a lightweight, small footprint amp to use for smaller stages. I figured the Mustang III might sound ok, after all, bar patrons can't usually tell vintage sound from shinola.

    The Mustang III, filled the bill, but it exceeded my wildest expectations for sound quality. The vintage amp models are just great. I love being able to call up a 65 Twin, 65 Deluxe, 65 Princeton, 57 Deluxe, etc, depending on the instrument and song. This is from a 30 year pro and semi-pro and a confirmed vintage gear lover.

    You have to ditch the presets - they are all over drenched with echo, reverb and odious effects. But you can build the sound you want from the stripped down amp model. The small cabinet Fender Deluxe and Princeton meddles work especially well with the 1x12 format. They are stunning.

    Taking off 1/2 star because of the horrible resets, but otherwise I highly recommend the Mustang III even to vintage tube snobs like me.

  • from Northern California June 24, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist, Small Business owner for musicians.

    Super Versatile, Great Price, Great Software too

    This is my 4th Mustang amplifier. i tend to sell them and pick up other amps. I kept coming back to the Mustang line. 1 Mustang II, 2 Mustang V heads, and the Mustang III now.

    The amp is the most versatile amplifier for recording, practicing, and if you get the II, IV or V, very very giggable. They get loud.

    The PROS:
    Easy on the wallet, Every amp you probably want in one package, Great deep editing software (you will love the software), lightweight, Tremendous sounds that sound very much like the Tube/ Valve counterparts. I personally like the all black tolex on this V2 vs the carbon fiber looking cover on the V1 series.

    The CONS:
    Celestrion G12 T 100 is lacking low end, however sounds great even cranked with all the clean amps. No 4 button footswitch included with the III. The dumb racing stripe they added on the amp face. Those with non V2 versions of this amp will not receive an upgrade to the newer amp and pedal models.

    I took a 1/2 star away only because you have to buy the 4 button footswtich and it is not a cheap add on though i feel is needed.

  • from Bowling Green, KY November 28, 2016

    This amp does it all

    I've read a lot of reviews of people being overly critical of the factory presets of this amp but I must say this amp is so versatile. The clean setting is crystal clear and there are many overdriven presets right from the factory such as the MSG lead, Liquid Solo, and 90's Metal that really incorporate a tight over driven sound that is flexible, there are a ton of tweaks you can do to each preset along with multiple delays and reverbs to choose from; so you can get exactly the sound you want if you take a little time and just go one on one with the amp and learn how to use it. I've yet to turn the master volume past "2" which is loud for a bedroom environment. So I'm gonna go out on a limb and say that one could gig with this amp. The fender fuse community is a bit disappointing as it's not very clear how to download new presets into the amp. I'm still learning that. So far it says memory locked choose another location. But I'll persevere and figure it out. It's a Fender so the quality is unsurpassed and the price is simply unbeatable.

  • from highland village, TX April 2, 2016

    Buying another one

    I gave away my Mustang III VI and bought a VII, just because they are so affordable. No real reason.
    I was much enjoying the VII, but I did run into a problem.
    The cat jumped up on the top of the amp while I had the headsets plugged in. The headset plug got bent in the amp headphone jack. I pulled it out no problem, but the amp main speaker wouldn't sound! Oops! The headphones still worked when plugged back in, but the amp "thinks" they are permanently in.
    I took it to a local amp guy. That was a mistake, it might have still been in Fender warranty. He disassembled it, removed the PLASTIC jack from the circuit board (5 welds) THEN found that he couldn't replace the jack. So amp basically trashed, warranty voided.
    I will say, the sound through the headphones was crap anyway. Nothing like the fun sounds from the main speaker.
    So I am getting Mustang III, 3! It's a great practice amp and I miss it. I purchased a brand new, tube Blues Deluxe Reissue. It works fine and is rated as a great amp. No doubt it is. But I just have one overdrive pedal for it, and can't easily make it do all the effects that the cheapo Mustang can do. Yes, mostly I just need more time with it.
    But heck, the Mustang is so simple and easy for the nice and varied sounds, you can't beat it.
    Hey, Fender!! Fix that headphone circuit and make it better. Charge for the upgrade, it will still be a great deal.

  • from Tacoma, WA July 21, 2015

    Call Me Fickle

    Thought I'd check in with my second evaluation of the Fender Mustang III based on my experiences with it for the past year.

    I will state up front that the amp is really good, that it has many great sounds in it if you take the time to dig them out, and for the money, I don't think it has many peers. It is probably a good gigging amp for a guitarist who works professionally in a cover band. It certainly is one heck of a practice amp. I recommend it highly for the novice to intermediate player.

    I have no claim to fame—I am just a retired geezer (I had 2 careers: US Navy (25 years) and university prof (20 years)) who now spends hours studying and practicing within the genres of jazz-fusion/jazz-pop/smooth jazz. I also spend a number of hours each week working on tone, learning how to be a competent recording person (I'd say engineer, but that would, I'm afraid, denigrate those dedicated professionals who spend their lives as recording engineers) and home recording projects. My working life was never this much fun. :)

    As many of us home recording enthusiasts have discovered, there is the player/guitar/guitar amp side of tone and dynamics and then there is the recording side of mics/recording environment/interface/recording medium, etc (almost an endless list). When playing, there are aspects of tone that I, for whatever reason, do not hear. It is not until I work with the recorded music that I notice there is a dry, spongyness to my guitar tracks. I have been trying for months to get the tone and dynamics from the Mustang III that I have in my head but I have not been able to get there. At first I thought it was my recording gear or technique, but through the application of the principles outlined by professional recording engineers I have found my technique is OK. So, regardless the adjustments I make—and there are many within the Mustang III's Fuse software (amps, amp settings, cabinets, pre- and post-effects, SAG, BIAS)—there is always a dull, spongy, synthetic sound in the lower mid and bass frequencies. I have as yet been able to drag out a resonant, springy, liquidy warm edge without upper range harshness of say George Benson, Paul or Norman Brown. I have tried all combinations, spent many hours looking for the sound.

    Now, true, some of what my mind's ear seeks is subjective, but I have recordings of both Benson and the Browns to compare with the Mustang sounds. I know—picky, picky, picky. Yet, we buy these products looking for 'our sound'.

    Again, I will state I am not complaining about the Mustang III. It is a good sounding, solid performer. But there are things that I would like it to do that it can't do and it is not the fault of the amp or Fender—it is the nature of the differences between tube and digital technologies.

    I will be buying a tube amp for recording.

    And the search (trek?) goes on.

  • from Kansas February 19, 2015Music Background:
    Guitarist

    Amping out!

    This amp is just what I needed for some versatile practicing, and laying down recording and song ideas. After some 30 odd years of jamming out on the road with one band or another, Marshall stack behind me, I find that my private practice and recording sessions needed an amp that was as versatile as my music. This fender fits my needs perfectly.

  • from Long Pine, NE USA February 16, 2015Music Background:
    Local gigger

    The Fender Mustang III

    Great amp! Great sound! Would like more detailed manual.

  • from Dallas January 28, 2015Music Background:
    Hobbyist and play out some

    Fender Mustang III V.2 1x12" 100-Watt Modeling Combo w/FX

    This amp back-up for my Fender Princeton Reverb. This is a very good amp for creating a lot of tones and sonic textures. Complicated, at first, ... learning the FUSE system. I've figured out a way to work it for me and have downloaded patches, which is instructive in educating one for setting up the amp. I have the 2 and 4 button switches. Use the 4 for tuner and 3 basic amp tones (two clean, one dirty) and the 2 button is on and off for my most commonly used effects. I also use my own effects board, if I want the whole shebang. Pedals work well. The highs are a little difficult for me to "round off" for a good jazz tone, but it works - just a bit more brightness on the top than I'd want. I expect that the speaker is picked for versatility and compromise is needed to access all the sounds desired. I won't be altering the amp. Works well.

  • from Moscow Mills, MO September 3, 2014Music Background:
    Music student and hobbyist

    I'm Impressed

    Was not sure if I would like this amp or not, never owned a modeling amp before. After spending a few days exploring all of the presets I found that I really enjoyed the clean setting especially the twin reverb and the Princeton settings. I'm not a big metal or crunch guy but there are plenty of settings that make scene for the blues and country rock songs that I play. This thing is loud I play it at home on 2 or 3 anything over that shakes the room, there's more then enough power for live gigs. Can beat the bang for the buck that you get with this amp, I would recommend this to anyone looking for a great amp that won't break the bank.

  • from glennville, ga August 25, 2014Music Background:
    musician

    mustang lol v2

    Very versatile, light, and powerful little amp.
    Great deal for the money. Not a Boogie, but not
    $2,000. either, as well as not a 65# backbreaker..

  • from Texas March 16, 2016

    Great, but not bullet proof

    I may have to lower my "star rating".
    I have really enjoyed my Mustang III. But the cat hit the headphones cord when it was plugged into the amp, bending the prong inside. It disabled the sound to the main speaker, so just the headphones would work.
    I took it to a local amp guy, he said the headphone jack is soldered to the board in 5 places, and he can't find a replacement! He also gently suggested that, at $300 odd bucks, it might make more sense to just get another one. Wow.
    I have a nice Fender tube amp, Blues Deluxe, but I did also really like the solid state Mustang. No pedals to hook up, ok to just leave it on and walk away. It's very light! And it DOES make very good sounds. I like.
    It was a freak accident. I will make sure it doesn't happen again. And to be honest, the sound through the headphones is poor. That channel does not give you what the big speaker does. For playing through phones, might as well plug into the ipad and download Amplitube.

  • from Chico ,CA July 10, 2015Music Background:
    Classical (spanish guitar) and Gibson for warm jazz

    Fender Mustang lll V.2 1X12" 100 Watt Modeling

    I wonder if unit this is good rock , and distortion noise only , How come that is never a jazz player
    doing a demo sound for a change.
    I'am a fender user for over 30 years and I think that could be nice if from time to time a nice and warm
    jazz player shows the nice quality of this instrument,

Questions about the Fender Mustang III V.2 100-watt 1x12" Modeling Combo Amp?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway