0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
April 2017 Giveaway

Auralex MudGuard Reviews

4.5 stars based on 34 customer reviews
  • from January 15, 2015

    So Good

    The mudguard is easy to install and gives you just the perfect amount of isolation while maintaining the sound of the space you record. It helped my vocals sit in the mix SO much better. It's just that x factor. If your vocal tracks have been lacking and you have no sound treatment or isolation, get one. I can't wait to try it with my other mics when recording guitar!

  • from Joplin, MO December 10, 2014Music Background:
    Radio personality, Session guitarist

    Perfect Isolation!

    It's almost CREEPY how quiet everything is with this thing! All you have to do is lean your head into it and, boom.....0 acoustics!

  • from FLORIDA June 26, 2014Music Background:
    Angeles Studio Recording

    Mic insolación shield

    Excellent. Works great

  • from Burbank, CA December 29, 2013Music Background:
    Recording engineer, songwriter, pro musician, post production.

    Auralex mudguard

    My home studio room has some relflection. Sometimes that's good and sometimes not so good. This mudguard really helps to tighten up and add more isolation to my mic recordings. Well worth the price, especially for the home recording enthusiast.

  • from oregon/usa October 1, 2013Music Background:
    singer /songwriter/ self recording engineer

    great piece of equipment

    my friend from the 60's group the apollos advised me that this would help solve some of my problems with the acustic bounce and he was right. Bless his heart. thanks sweetwater for all your peoples expertise in the field of recording and helping me out and answering my questions...respectfully george

  • from Caro,michigan July 1, 2013Music Background:
    Recording Engineer,Pro Musician

    It's just what I needed

    This MudGuard really adds to my sound arsenal my vocals are now deep clear and rich. My vocals fit right into the music naturally Thanks so much !!

  • from Baytown, Texas April 2, 2013Music Background:
    Past church music director - current hobbyist

    Economical

    When I first saw the MudGuard and realized I needed one, I saw the price and thought, "Man, I could build one way cheaper". So I went to the home improvement store I work at and started gathering supplies. Even with my employee discount it was only a few dollars cheaper! So I put everything back and called Matt Adams right from the store! I had the MudGuard in about 4 days! It works wonderfully with my Neuman mic!

  • from United States November 29, 2012Music Background:
    Home Studio Engineer/Multi-Instrumentalist/Numerous Genres

    EPIC Difference!

    After reading other reviews of the Auralex MudGuard, I pulled the trigger and it's the best $99 I ever spent! This little fella has DRASTICALLY improved, not only vocal recordings, but ANYTHING I record with it. The Auralex MudGuard should be standard equipment in ANY studio. I'm VERY picky and I am 100% satisfied with this product. Don't even hesitate to buy... you will NOT be disappointed.

  • from November 13, 2012Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Producer, Vocalist, and Bassist for Southern, Progressive, and Country Gospel

    AmAzInG SoUnD

    One of my music teachers heard a vocal that I had recorded and said that I was standing too far from my mic. When I said that I was less than two inches away he said that my room was too big. I automatically started looking at sound isolation to get the best vocals I could and went with the Auralex MudGuard. I now get the cleanest vocals I have ever gotten and the best vocals I think I could get for this price. I highly recommend it to anyone who is serious about recording music but has a tight budget!!!!!

  • from Rochester Hills, MI, USA October 31, 2012Music Background:
    Voice-over talent and

    MudGuard Is Sweet!

    I got this MudGuard after several recommendations from audio engineers who I worked with. I am a voice-over artist with a modest home studio and I needed some sound treatment to improve the audio auditions I was recording and sending to clients. MudGuard nailed it. My recording booth area is quite small, and the MudGuard fits in nicely. A suggestion: I put it on a standard mic boom stand, upside down, and then ordered the Adjustable Boom Strap (ABS) from Voice-Over Essentials.com to prevent any tipping. Very satisfied with the results!

  • from Bethel, CT April 30, 2012Music Background:
    Voice Over talent

    Auralex MudGuard sound reflection filter

    I needed a simple and affordable solution and the Auralex Mudguard came through with flying colors. Please note this is in no way a total solution but for my needs (voice over for video training series - recorded in my office) this fits the bill perfectly. Combine this with the outstanding customer service from Sweetwater and and I couldn't be happier! Gary Coles - Marketing Coordinator

  • from NY,NY March 5, 2012Music Background:
    Pro Tools engineer,musician

    Great for the price

    You can't beat it for the price-works great. If you get a bad recording with it, you pretty much don't know what the heck you're doing.

  • from Rogers AR January 28, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Great Mic Shield

    this really works the mic was hot and you could hear the room before this

  • from bloomington il November 4, 2011Music Background:
    producer, recording engineer

    Mug Guard

    This is a must have for any recording studio

  • from Vermont, USA January 1, 2014Music Background:
    Songwriter, musician, home recordist

    Works as advertised

    I have a small home studio that is acoustically treated and fairly "dead" but I wanted something to prevent any stray vocals from being reflected back to the mic. The MudGuard seems to work really well for that. I wasn't sure how much of a difference it would make in the sound of my vocal tracks, but it really does improve the quality.

    It's a fairly large and heavy piece so you may end up devoting a separate mic stand to it. That's what I did and it works really well.

    I would recommend this as one step for anyone wanting to clean up their vocal tracks.

  • from Richmond VA December 7, 2012Music Background:
    Producer, Rapper,

    Love It

    Love it! Being broke I used to hang thick comforters on the wall to stop the room reflection. Well, I don't have to do that no more. I pretty much stand it in the middle of the room, or wherever and record. The product also increases the mic presence of the artist. Great for anyone doing home recordings.

  • from Greenfield, IN November 23, 2012Music Background:
    Singer/Songwriter/Musician/Owner of private studio

    Very nice!

    Very nice product. Worked quite good for a vocal recording session. I would recommend a heavier mic stand than a regular one. It was a little "top heavy" with the mic attached. Overall, I would definately recommend this for vocal work in the studio.

  • from Gaithersburg, MD USA September 15, 2012Music Background:
    Producer, Recording Engineer, Songwriter, Musician, Manager

    Well worth the cost!

    It's great when a product works as advertised. The mudguard greatly improved the quality of my vocal recordings, making the vocals sound clearer, "bigger" and more focused while removing the "sound of the room" by eliminating reflections that would otherwise have occurred from the vocal (sound)waves bouncing around the room. I knocked off half a rating because the instructions could have been more helpful. You have to be creative with the accessories to make the mudguard fit on your particular mic-stand; and keep in mind that it is heavier than you might realize and could tip your stand over. Otherwise, for what it does, it is highly recommended you pick this up to take your recordings to the next level!

  • from FL May 29, 2012Music Background:
    Producer

    Great product

    The mudguard mic shield has definitely increased the quality of my vocals. Great addition to my project studio. Would recommend this product.

  • from Satellite Beach, FL March 16, 2012Music Background:
    Pro Musician, Recording Engineer

    A big improvement for any home studio

    This made a very noticable difference in my vocal tracks. They are much cleaner now and seem to have a fuller dynamic range then before. This is a great addition to any home studio that doesn't have the budget or room for a vocal iso booth. I highly recommend it.

  • from Jax, FL February 10, 2012Music Background:
    Vocalist,Producer,Songwriter

    Great product for any studio!!!!

    This is a GREAT product!!!... I did a before and after vocal track with the Mudguard and you can CLEARLY hear the difference. The only reason I didnt give it a five was the instructions are not that thourough and took some guesswork. If you are thinking of buying this product...dont wait another day!!!!!!

  • from Katy, TX, USA June 6, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist.

    Quite fiddly to set up but worth it.

    This shield seemed a good addition as I'm using a sensitive large format condenser mic but don't have any proper acoustic treatment. It is a little bit tricky to mount simply because of the weight and odd balance. I ended up bending the mounting tab so that the mics cable could exit without fouling. This enabled me to move the mic closer in to the Mudguard. However once setup it all hangs together fine. Sweetwater bundled this with a mic stand as well which seemed a good deal.

  • from Boston MA USA February 18, 2014Music Background:
    Producer / Engineer, musician

    Works like a charm

    Does a great job of isolating your vocal mic - you can hear the difference when you just stand in front of it and talk. No room noise whatsoever.

    It's bulky as all heck, though. But there's no way around that - if it were smaller, it wouldn't work. A great solution, though not an elegant one.

  • from Chicago, IL January 2, 2014Music Background:
    Training Director - Presenter

    Perfect Solution for Portable Noise Suppression and voice stabilization.

    The MudGuard included all of the fasteners for most any mounting requirement. Well made and designed. Can even be used as a desk top unit. Definitely improved recording quality and is a perfect solution when recording studio acrostics are not available.

  • from Bedford, MA USA October 16, 2012Music Background:
    N/A eLearning developer

    Mic Isolation Shield

    This shield was exactly what I needed to dampen/filter out some room noise in order to do voiceover work for training purposes. It does a good job and the result is a much quieter voice capture. Thanks!

  • from Utah June 13, 2012Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Acid Polka Enthusiast

    What it is! (And, what it ain't...)

    My unit arrived with the foam detached from the center, but was easily fixed with superglue. Just for kicks and giggles, I assumed that I was a dude who wanted to sound like I was in a pro studio, except in an untreated bedroom. Of course, it made very little difference.

    However, in a treated rectangular room, this begins to show more of it's worth. It helps focus the vocals and - take the mud out of the signal. In a proper recording space, it's a good way to reduce reflections to inaudible levels, depending on the type of music being recorded.

    Keep in mind, don't put the microphone too close to the foam - you'll end up getting an even muddier and closed off sound that is unusable. Give it at least a foot - in fact, I often use this with a second stand so I can position the mic more easily according to the openness I want.

    As usual, there are no magic bullets, and this is not one of them. But a little experimentation can yield some useful results.

  • from Los Angeles, CA May 29, 2012Music Background:
    Hobby musician, Voice-over artist.

    Does the job, keeps me quiet.

    This is pretty much exactly what I needed for my apartment. Its hard getting proper sound isolation for voice over work in an apartment if you don't have a booth set up. I had padded the walls in a nook I have but it just wasn't cutting it. Enter the MudGuard...
    As soon as I got it rigged up to my mic stand I could immediately hear the difference.
    Granted, with a little time and effort I could have found some foam and a piece of plastic and some way to rig it up to make one of these myself, but seriously, who has the patience for that?
    Only con that's worth mentioning is the glue on the back of the foam came loose in the center and does not want to stick properly to the framework. I threw a couple books on it to mash it down and it held for a day and then cam unstuck again. But this does not affect the sound isolation in any way, the product still works like it should, just a little section of loose foam.

  • from Hudson Valley, NY May 22, 2012Music Background:
    pro, home studio

    MudGuard is good.

    I love this thing. It improves the sound/cancels noise really well for something so small & inexpensive.

  • from Westford, MA March 19, 2012Music Background:
    Recording Engineer & Pro Musician

    Great addition to the studio

    The MudGuard really does help to reduce early reflections in the studio. We hang ours upside down (so the Auralex logo is now also upside down) to lower the center of gravity. You'll want a heavy duty stand (or a second stand devoted to the MudGuard). Also gives singers a bit of privacy :)

  • from Milwaukee, WI USA March 15, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    More than worth the money.

    I'd been working on my first album for almost 5 months and we tried everything BUT a mic shield to improve the sound of the vocals. Once we added the MudGuard, wow: night and day difference. This small investment was worth every penny. My collaborators and I are already considering getting one or two more for our next project. There are more expensive mic shields than this one: don't bother. This is all you'll need.

  • from MN July 13, 2011Music Background:
    Producer, Engineer, Songwriter, Composer

    Surprisingly Good!

    If you don't record in a large studio complex that's fully treated and lovely, check this thing out. I had my doubts but it honestly ended up being awesome. It will bring clarity to your recordings and decrease your noise level immensely.

  • from New York August 1, 2012Music Background:
    Video Production

    Good choice for editing room

    I record voice-overs in our video editing room. It's a relatively quiet room, but it's certainly not sound treated. This helps isolate the mic without having to sound proof the whole room.

    My only complaint is they don't provide sufficient mounting hardware. They could have thrown in a few more washers...it would have only cost pennies. Instead, I had to run out to Home Depot and get an extra washer to mount the rig securely to the mic stand.

  • from Winchester VA December 23, 2011Music Background:
    Professional musician/recording hobbyist

    The mudGuard

    It works well - it helps with sound in a room which isn't padded. Studio quality? Not really, but it's worth every dime to help with sound reproduction in a home set up.

    A bit awkward in a small room, but managable and well worth the trouble.
    Installation is simple, but not such that it can be switched to another mic without tools and time -- two mics - two mudGuards. Fortunatly they are not expensive.

  • from October 20, 2015

    Worked great until the foam came unglued...

    Works as promised. Isolates the mic very well and reduces the need for room treatment when tracking vocals in a not so perfect room. However the foam came unglued from the plastic frame, and I have not been able to get it to stick again. Tried regluing but it just keeps popping off. As it pops off it makes a crackling sound that creeps into recordings too...

Questions about the Auralex MudGuard?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway