0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
#WinYourWestones

RTOM Moongel Drum Damper Pad - Blue Reviews

5.0 stars based on 12 customer reviews
Questions about the RTOM Moongel Drum Damper Pad - Blue?

Questions about the RTOM Moongel Drum Damper Pad - Blue?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from IL February 10, 2017Music Background:
    drummer, recording hobbist

    Great idea !

    Very good idea to control sound. very happy!

  • from December 26, 2016

    A Must For Studio Recording

    It's always great to control how much the ring of each drum.

  • from West unity, ohio usa March 9, 2015Music Background:
    percussionist, vocalist, guitarist

    no ring

    Moonglow is the best product for eliminating ring and overtone problems. You can cut it pull it off put it somewhere else it's always stays perfect for recording.

  • from Wis. February 13, 2015Music Background:
    Drummer/Soundman

    Best Little Percussion Invention

    I've been using these for almost 20 yrs now and I think they are one of the best percussion inventions ever. I got so tired of using cocktail napkins and duct tape to damper my drums. Who knew a material that was once used to make wall walker toys for breakfast food cereal would be so innovative to the percussion industry. Very worth the money if you have a lot of ring in your drums or just want a fatter sound!

  • from Nixa,MO November 30, 2013Music Background:
    Drummer from the 60s

    MOONGEL ROCKS

    I recently purchased moongel from Sweetwater,hoping that it would work at least half as well as it was reviewed.Much to my surprise this product greatly out performed my expectations.My snare now sounds like it did in the 60s!!!!!

  • from Utica NY October 10, 2013Music Background:
    mainly a guitar player,but have been playing drums for years

    no more ring

    I never liked the ring from drums ,I tried duct tape,and every other trick to try to get the ring out.Some worked pretty decent but looked pretty bad.These Moon gels made the ring go away and don`t take up much space on the drum head.Worth every penny ,and do what they claim.

  • from West Chicago, IL August 16, 2011Music Background:
    musician, part-time studio engineer

    Amazing

    This stuff really does work! It also won't fall off like those rings or be ugly like duct tape on your drums can be. They don't leave any residue either. On my white snare head there is a little blueish tint where the moongel is but it's not sticky and that was only from about a year of use. These also make it much easier to record drums and get the best sound possible out of a kit and that heads. Unlike another comment said that you need to replace these, you don't unless they literally fall apart (which would take a very long time). You can wash them with soap and water and they will be sticky again. And yes, it really does work, I thought it was crazy at first but it's true.

  • from LA, CA. USA June 13, 2011Music Background:
    Engineer

    worth its weight in gold

    Buy one of these for ever shell you have, even the snare and kick. It makes things so much easier to record. Honestly controlling the drum set is half the battle. If you can do that well, everything else just seems to fall into place. These little guys are a small price to pay to win that battle. You will have to replace them every once in a while because they start to collect dirt and lose their stickiness, but if you treat them well they should last certainly long enough to get your moneys worth. Same stuff that those little stretchy hands you get in the quarter machines are made out of. I have yet to come across something that is as effective as these are. No rings, wallets, tape, sand bags, etc.

  • from Powhatan, VA May 22, 2011Music Background:
    Live Sound Engineer, Sound Production Director, Technical Systems Director at Bethany Place Baptist.

    Best dampening out there

    All you drummers out there, this is what will make your drums sound amazing. All that nasty ring u hate is gone, and in a much better way and sound then u get from Duct Tape. Used by Lester Estelle, and other world class drummers, and yours truely, it really does make the difference for that big dampened but not dead tom sound. Experiment with where u put them on the head, or how many of them, I tend to put one on the rack tom, one on the underneath of the floor tom, and sometimes half of one on the snare depending on what I'm tracking. If you put it right on the edge of the rim, it'll kill the bad ring; if u put it about 1/2 - 1" out from the rim, it'll kill the ring and dampen the head as well. Nuff said, get these, and you wont be sorry.

  • from November 19, 2016Music Background:
    Regular gigging musician

    Excellent performance, looks freaky

    Subtracting half a star for taste--I think the bright blue looks odd on my snare. However, that might not bother some people. And truth be told, it doesn't bother me THAT much, especially when you consider that this stuff works perfectly. I spent a lot of time tuning my kit, but still was irritated by some snare ringing. One piece of this completely dampened the ring while leaving the tone of my snare intact. You can vary how much it dampens the sound by moving it around or cutting it, and because it comes off easily and leaves no residue, it's easy to experiment until you get the sound you want. I'm very happy with it, but I probably should have gotten the clear.

  • from May 19, 2015

    Great addition

    Great addition to gig bag goes anywhere works great.

  • from April 30, 2014

    Works like it says it will

    I'm using this on my snare for a short sustain and one of my cheap cymbals to take off some of the shillness. Works great for taking off some overtones on toms (good tuning is a better fix, but if you don't have the time, i guess it's an ok quick fix). It also dramatically cuts the overall tone and sustain on the toms pretty quick, so be carful. Tried it on the reso head of my kick to see if it would work and it didn't make any difference (maybe its just my set up).

    Overall, i'd say its a good tool to have and way quicker than tape (not to mention safer and cheaper in the long run)

Questions about the RTOM Moongel Drum Damper Pad - Blue?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway