0% Interest for 36 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Presidents' Day Sale!

Korg Monotribe Reviews

4.0 stars based on 9 customer reviews
  • Jimmy B.
    from Raliegh, NC USA September 5, 2012

    Tones of Fun in a Small Package

    This is a great creative tool! Classic sound. It is limited on drums, but what do you expect at this price? Lots of fun! And moddable! Love it!

  • Yam Ben-Adiva
    from Israel. August 23, 2011Music Background:
    Sound engineer.

    Great analog synth!

    Really great analog synth, awesome filter.

  • Customer
    from April 28, 2013

    fun

    This thing sounds great. Its easy to use and learn.One reviewer above says you cant stop the sequencer to program notes, this is not true, You can use the active step mode to do it.. I went through and programmed pink floyds "on the run" on this thing. It can be modded fairly easily. The ribbon is recessed a bit far though, makes playing edge keys difficult with fingers. def worth the money. the drums are punchy and fat and sit in mixes incredibly well IMO.

  • Adam
    from Minneapolis July 22, 2012Music Background:
    Musician - drummer

    Way fun

    I now have 2 monotribes. The sounds these things can produce are endless. Combined with some effects, you can make any kind of synth- keyboard- guitar- theremin- bass sound you can imagine. I've been messing around with the monotribe, kaoss pad quad, and a multitrack recorder for about a year now. It's always fun and direct.

    www.ath315t.com

  • Customer
    from December 28, 2011

    Monotribe

    It's exactly what my son expected. Great product! Excellent service!

  • John
    from Los Angeles, CA April 30, 2013

    More than Expected

    I bought the Monotribe thinking it was just a cool little box that I could toy with when I'm too tired or lazy to fire-up my main workstation, but I actually ended up recording it. Obviously the Monotribe is very simple, but its sound can cut through a mix full of huge Moog sounds and sizzling Waldorf sounds, with its gritty and wooden growls and bleeps. Its mostly good for classic acid-house style leads/basses with its single oscillator and limited modulation options, but I've been surprised at some of the modern sounds Ive programmed with it. But it definitely has a rough sound. Nothing gentle or soft about it.

    And a lot of people dislike the ribbon controller and/or lack of midi, but the ribbon can create twisted and alien sounding leads and interesting variation, that you never would have discovered if the Monotribe had midi. The Monotribe also taught me how fun it is to program drums with a hardware step sequencer and real analog drum sounds. Now Im saving for a Jomox!

    A great buy that gave me way more than I expected.

  • Mike Kassner
    from Big Sandy, MT. USA September 11, 2012

    Monotribe, a synonym for cool!

    First of all, I liked it so much I had to buy another right away. I wanted to take advantage of the sink I/O and I'm glad I did. I've had them a couple months now and I am still finding new things to do with them. Not bad for someone who has been building and playing synths for about 35 years. I like the max bang for minimum bucks and the Monotribe does that quite nicely. Three very important downfalls that I see (and the reason for the 4 of 5 rating). 1) I don't really care much for programming with the ribbon keyboard and they don't stand up too well to everyday jamming, but if you are gentle and 2) if it had a step mode to set each step instead of trying to catch it as it came around (if it had that the ribbon would be a little more tolerable. Finally, 3) no midi. Actually there are connections inside and there are kits available but you know where your warranty goes.
    Before I forget, The battery life is nothing shot of phenomenal, I was very impressed with that. My sales Engineer, Chris, Made sure my experience was the best and got my gear to me FAST.

  • Pierre Fontaine
    from Westchester, NY September 17, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Simple synth/sequencer that's a lot of fun!

    I knew going into it that the Monotribe had limited functionality. However, the idea of a small box that offered analog-style synth sound and control and a pattern sequencer really piqued my interest. The Pro's and Con's are:
    Pro's:
    Simple interface that offers a lot of flexibility.
    Great Analog sound, even if it's a single oscillator.
    Filter control adds a lot of variety to the sound and can really make it scream.

    Con's:
    No MIDI (though it can be added by 3rd party hardware for an extra money if desired). MIDI really should have been on the Monotribe from the start!
    The Sync options sound great in theory but is more of a hassle then it's really worth. The Sync app available for iOS works well but it's kind of silly to have to use an additional piece of equipment to sync the Monotribe to other iOS apps when MIDI would have been so much more effective.
    The ribbon keyboard works well but can be limiting. Again, MIDI offers so many additional controller options but the lack of MIDI on the device limits those options.
    The Monotribe will only remember one pattern on power-down.

    Essentially, the Monotribe is designed to be a "live performance" instrument. It's very easy to modify what you are playing and it does sound great. The design invites lots of knob twisting and experimentation but the lack of MIDI is a real let-down. I don't regret my purchase because I knew all these things going into it and I would certainly recommend the Monotribe purely for it's unique price/performance abilities.

  • Customer
    from April 21, 2013Music Background:
    pro musician

    opinion on monotribe

    Took some time to get used to it but I like it. Wish it could have had a midi port connection.

Questions about the Korg Monotribe?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway