0% Interest for 36 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
July 4 Financing

On-Stage Stands SMS6000-P Studio Monitor Stand (pair) Reviews

4.0 stars based on 80 customer reviews
Questions about the On-Stage Stands SMS6000-P Studio Monitor Stand (pair)?

Questions about the On-Stage Stands SMS6000-P Studio Monitor Stand (pair)?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • Customer
    from April 17, 2017

    Value

    Great Value

  • Natu
    from New york March 22, 2017Music Background:
    singer, songwriter

    i love these stand

    i don't have a big space in my small studio and i need my speakers high, this on is perfect. just as it is on the picture. i definitelyrecommend it

  • J-NICE
    from Denver, CO December 12, 2016Music Background:
    Music Producer/New Wave International

    As Described

    I absolutely have nothing negative to say about these pair of stands. Extremely sturdy and affordable. I highly recommend these for anyone's studio setup.

  • Customer
    from November 24, 2016

    Monitor stands

    Perfect height for standing desk.

  • James N.
    from California September 3, 2016Music Background:
    Synthesizer enthusiast, recording songwriter, producer

    Awesomely sturdy stands

    You really feel a sense of how massive and sturdy these stands are when you pull them out of the box and set them up. They are dense and heavy, solid metal, stable, so I rest assured that they will hold up my monitors. And that they do. They do they're job so well, and they look so good! Minimal and functional design. Love them.

  • jacob
    from Springfield ma July 1, 2016Music Background:
    Christian(worship music)

    God is good! its a blessing

    Great (love them)

  • Adam Hyman
    from Murrells Inlet, SC May 22, 2016Music Background:
    Solo musician

    Studio Monitor Stands

    These stands support my JBL 305 monitors (which I purchased through Sweetwater of course) without any problem or concerns at all. I personally really like that the feet on the bottom of the stands securely hold into carpeting. I finally have my monitors off of my desk, and can feel really good about having them set on these very solid stands. For $100 for the pair, how can you beat that?!

  • Customer
    from April 29, 2016

    Perfect for a Standing Desk

    I'm about 5'10" and have a standing desk. They work perfect with KRK V6. Light a sturdy male for easy/quick/safe adjustments. Didn't come with instructions but if you can change a flat tire, these are a 2 minute assembly (1-minute each). If you can't change a flat tire and have purchased these, then complain about and they will magically assemble themselves.... or call AAA.

  • Satisfied Customer
    from Georgia January 20, 2016Music Background:
    Experienced

    Great Product

    I received these pair of monitor stands quickly from Sweetwater. They are very well made and were a snap to assemble. I have had them for shot time, and they are great. I like the locking pin feature also. No complaints

  • Sven
    from Florida December 31, 2015Music Background:
    Funky nuance, DJ/Producer

    Monitor stands....exactly what I was looking for!

    These monitor stands are for anyone needing to either save space at home for the studio or use for live shows....very easy to set up and breakdown..sturdy construction, simplicity for user..I personally use them for home recording, but I can see the application for road shows and gigs easily.
    I don't think that they can support huge monitors, however if you use 5"-6" monitors at home they are great! So experiment and know that you can definitely tweak the parameters with some creativity! I found them easily on the website and knew what I was looking for from the beginning! Thanks and I hope this helps someone!

  • 3$ixes
    from Parts Unkown. October 7, 2015

    Solid "budget" stands!

    Pairs perfectly with my KRK Rokit 6's. Quick assembly time with a heavy base to eliminate tipping worries. The triangle base design makes it easy for positioning between my desk and walls.

  • Juan Pacheco
    from May 14, 2015

    perfect for my studio speakers

    It is just what I wanted....

  • Banjo-Jim
    from Lowell, MI February 4, 2015Music Background:
    Banjo picker, recording engineer, live sound

    SMS6000-P studio monitor stands

    Exactly as advertised: Position your studio monitors at correct height and with the carpet points anchor them to the floor.

  • RICK
    from LA June 20, 2014

    On-Stage Stands SMS6000-P Studio Monitor Stand (pair

    These are very good stands I have 5 in use now.

  • Dan Serafini
    from Nashville, TN June 11, 2014Music Background:
    Producer, Arranger, Programmer

    On Stage Monitor Stands

    Incredibly solid especially for the low price.

  • Frank Rebeka
    from NW Suburban Chicago, IL November 29, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist, musical theatre pit musician

    Very useful

    I have a pair of these stands in my home studio. They work great for holding monitors and more. I've also used them as temporary stands for rack-mount gear to put it at a convenient height for manipulating knobs. I've used the pair as a keyboard stand--perfect height for keys while standing. I've used one to hold my small-format mixer. If you remove the shelf, the pole is the perfect diameter for a small pole-mount speaker.
    Remember this important caveat: Because of the small base and high center of gravity, these stands should only be used on a solid, level, surface. If you put them on a riser or wobbly floor, put sandbags on the base to help prevent tipping.

  • Kirkwood West
    from Champaign, IL August 19, 2013Music Background:
    DJ/Producer

    Great and Ez to setup

    Not sure why you would need any other monitor stand. These are easy to setup and the price is right. Recommended!

  • Eugene
    from Bay Area,Ca. July 22, 2013Music Background:
    Composer-Songwriter

    On-Stage SMS6000-P Monitor Stands

    I needed a pair of monitor stands for a new set of Tannoys and these served my purpose well. That fit well in my small project studio and being fully adjustable,I was able to position my monitors at the perfect height and in the perfect location !!

  • art gillum
    from ray, oh usa April 23, 2013Music Background:
    live sound, recording, mastering

    great stands

    the perfect combination of stability and sound construction.

  • Ben
    from United States March 14, 2013Music Background:
    Audio Mixer

    Standing Tall

    The On-Stage SMS6000-P Studio Monitor Stands are great! They are tough, durable, and excellent for what I need. Because of the triangular base, the fit conveniently in the small amount of space I have in the front of the studio! Sweetwater expert Matt Adams referred me to these stands . His knowledge and professional courtesy is the reason I stay with Sweetwater Sound for all my audio needs!

  • Kenneth Alsip
    from Choctaw, OK March 5, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Power Swithes On Back of Your Monitors?

    Power Swithes On Back of Your Monitors? You can leave the height know loose and use the safety pip pin. So, you can easily rotate them each time to set your controls before powering on a keyboward etc. Well packed, easy to set up. Good Base. Best price on the web too.

  • Wolf Kroeger
    from Los Angeles September 15, 2012Music Background:
    Independent Artist/Producer/Engineer

    Do what they are supposed to

    I've had them for a few weeks now and they are great. The adjustable height is a good option that most more expansive models don't have. They also don't take too much space and are ideal for smaller studios. The only complaint I have is that the cable clips were in a bad shape and gave up easely, but it isn't a good enough reason to decide against buying this product. They are not the most stable things out there, but if you don't plan on having a football game in the studio there is nothing to worry about! You won't regret buying this item.

  • Dr. Digital
    from Portsmouth, NH June 29, 2012Music Background:
    Recording Engineer; DeeJay

    Like These Stands!

    About 6 months ago I began looking for a nice pair of speaker stands for my Fostex near field monitors. I bought by mistake a lousey pair of stands not from SW. That will teach me! Anyway my recording buddy had a pair of these On-Stage SMS6000-P, and these are just wwhat I needed! Perfect! Very sturdy, adjustable...I could not be happier with these niice speaker stands! Thank you, SW!

  • Marvin Windsor
    from TN June 28, 2012Music Background:
    Long time Musician and new to recording

    Great Stands not just for Nearfield Monitors

    Stands are very strong and easy to assemble I have KRK Rockit 5 monitors that I use on the stands.

  • Josh Wolfer
    from San Francisco, CA November 23, 2011Music Background:
    Producer, engineer, and musician.

    Work perfectly - with 2 monitors on each stand

    This does exactly what it should. On each monitor stand I have a KRK Rokit 10-3 (45 pounds) and a Alesis M1 active 620 (~20 pounds?) on top of the KRK (on Mopads).

    The stands hold them without a problem. They were easy to setup and adjust.

  • Customer
    from SoCal November 17, 2011Music Background:
    hobbyist with delusions of grandure

    solid as a rock

    I bought a cheaper pair of stands that were useless, but these, man Id build a house on these! I have a piar of krk 8's on these and they are heavy....but I never worry about them...the have a choice of feet for carpet or wood, a huge plate to place your monitor on, a pad to help isolation, and a solid build...highly recommended

  • Carl Romey
    from Green Bay, WI November 3, 2011Music Background:
    Voice-over, commercial production

    Great stands, Great price

    I'm using these to hold a pair of Mackie 824's at 46" high. Works perfect for my needs. It is however, a controlled studio environment. Some weights placed on the bottom would be advisable if used someplace where any bumping is possible. Build quality is higher than I expected for the price, and Sweetwater always rocks.

  • Derek Douville
    from San Francisco Bay Area, USA January 17, 2011Music Background:
    Hobbyist Producer

    Solid, stable, easy to adjust, quality metal

    These things have been in my home and moved around a few times for about a year. The adjuster is solid, it has never slipped, even after I've twisted them to angle them towards me without loosening them. (That's probably not recommended, but it's as much abuse as I've put them through). Just in case, there are holes drilled through the top tube at regular intervals and a heavy pin hanging near the joint that goes through these holes. If the adjuster/clamp lets go, the pin will save your monitors from a nasty tumble.

    I put Auralex pads on top of mine for additional audio isolation. These things are fantastic for use at home if you don't have room on your desk for your monitors.

  • Jeff
    from Port Aransas, TX July 10, 2009Music Background:
    Music for Film

    Very Supportive

    Robust, strong, heavy duty. Will withstand torture. Maybe not torture but everyday use on the road or in the studio without the worry of it falling apart and your speakers falling to the ground. Built to last and well made.

  • Robert Turner
    from Tenn October 31, 2016Music Background:
    Professional player and engineer

    SMS6000-P Studio Monitor Stand (pair)

    Highly recommended for studio monitor separation, placement and isolation from desk. I love these very rugged and functional stands. They were easy to assemble. Thanks Sweetwater.

  • Steve P.
    from CA October 4, 2016

    Great stands at a very affordable price

    I've become a big fan of On-Stage products. I'm using these with Mackie MR6 speakers and they are a perfect match. Good build quality and I especially like the lock pin for safety while also keeping the stands at the exact same height. Very stable even on carpet.

  • Kenny
    from Kokomo,in March 14, 2016

    Monitor stand

    Love them great

  • Glyn Davies
    from LA, California June 11, 2014Music Background:
    Engineer, Post Production

    On-Stage Stands SM S6000

    We needed to add some near field monitors in a couple of 5.1 studios. With no console mount plates these stands fit snug right next to the desk and adjust to perfect height. They are at a great price point from Sweetwater and will hold a good weight. Although we had to buy them in pairs and we only need an odd number for the L-C-R front monitors.

  • geroeg kazamias
    from April 12, 2014

    great stands for the money

    good look, easy assemble

  • Chris
    from Western Mass May 24, 2013Music Background:
    Drummer, Producer, Engineer

    Like a rock...

    I bought a pair of these to use for my secondary studio set-up and as soon as I took them out of the box, I noticed that they're very heavy-duty. I have a pair of Event ASP8 monitors on them, and those speakers aren't exactly light. At first I was afraid they might wabble back and forth when someone walks across the floor, but that hasn't happened at all. At the lowest setting, they're at the perfect height for listening in while sitting at a desk or console with these particular speakers. I like them.

  • Richard Wiggins
    from Clarksville, Tn. February 21, 2013Music Background:
    Musician, singer/songwriter, Operate Home studio for personal band and several others..

    Work Great

    Really Great product for the price.. A lot sturdier than I thought they would be actually. Only complaint is I wish they had better quality pads on the three corners on bottom.. They come with carpet spikes but mine are set up on hard floor and it only has the cheap feeling plastic stubs in there.. Not a deal breaker I believe but could be improved. I have Yamaha HS80M monitors on these which have a decent weight and I have absolutely no concern for these stands holding them. No rocking back and forth, holds firm.. adjustable height is a bonus too..

  • Bert
    from Dallas, TX January 10, 2013

    Great for the price!

    I needed some stands for my BX5-D2s. Sweetwater had the best price of anyone online who had these in stock. Pair that with the free shipping, and I was sold! My Sales Engineer, Ryan, followed up a prompt email with a phone call, which I greatly appreciated. The stands arrived promptly, but one of the platforms was damaged. I emailed Ryan, and within half an hour, he was working on getting a replacement platform for me. It arrived in less than a week, and now I'm all set up.

    The stands themselves are solid for the price. Assembly was easy, but there were no instructions included. I like the height adjustability. Since I'm using these on a carpeted floor, I put the carpet spikes in to level. The threading on two of the holes seemed to be the wrong pitch or something, but I was able to get the spikes screwed in with some vice grips. Not a huge deal, especially considering the low price.

    I cannot say enough about Sweetwater's customer service. They provide, without question, the best service of anyone I've ordered online from, regardless of who inexpensive my purchase is.

  • Jayson Smith
    from Orlando FL October 22, 2012Music Background:
    Recording Engineer/Producer

    Glad I got em'

    Nice set of stands that I was able to assemble in 5 mins. I immediatley noticed the difference in my mix. I was able to dial in the vocals and it translated perfectly in the car and on other systems. This was an issue i was having a lot of trouble with before. These have me right in the sweetspot. Glad I got em'. I have a set of mopads on the way too. The reason i didnt give these a 5 is because the stands can be a little wobbley depending on how heavy your speakers are. I had to build up some confidence in them at 1st, but they hold up well.

  • Harold Terrell
    from Memphis, TN August 15, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    On-Stage Studio Monitor Stand

    For the price, these stands are very well built. I use them for my keyboard and can turn the speakers inward for an excellent sound,

  • Leandro
    from Miami Beach December 7, 2011Music Background:
    Psytrance DJ

    Sweet stands!!

    Very nice and good quality stands!! The best for the prince range!! Very strong and holds up to 90lb each!! Best of all, you can adjust to the height you want!! Very recommended!! =)

  • SoCal
    from SoCal November 25, 2011Music Background:
    hobbyist with delusions of grandure

    rock solid

    excellent for the price


    these are rock solid...i have krk 8s on them and these could take two on each stand if need be!

    well built, a choice or rubber pads or rounded spikes takes care of the floor covering.

    they have large flat bases with a rubber mat to help with isolation and big enough height flexibility to handle any desk or listening position


    bargain

  • Customer
    from September 17, 2016

    Best for the $

    Way way way more solid than I expected. Top platform occasionally needs re-tightened

  • david batchelor
    from baltimore January 25, 2016

    great value

    For the money these stands are excellent value.

  • Colleen Dillon
    from Minneapolis, MN December 29, 2014Music Background:
    singer songwriter

    Perfect stands

    These were exactly what I needed for my small home studio space, simple to assemble and very sturdy without taking up the entire floor

  • Customer
    from August 21, 2014

    yea yea

    These stands are boss levels! Exactly what I needed to hear my speakers correctly>)

  • Vinny Roth
    from Centreville, Virginia March 4, 2014Music Background:
    Pro musician and engineer

    Awesome

    Purchased online and received it almost instantly as described. These speaker stands are sturdy and cosmetically nice. I love sweet water and will plan on doing all my business with them!

  • Brooke D. Daye
    from November 15, 2013Music Background:
    Studio Owner - Producer/Engineer

    Does the Job

    These stands hit it right on the head. Stable. Solid. Good max height with excellent variance. Stable platform that your monitors basically stick to. Easy to put together.

  • Leon Smith
    from Oklahoma City, Ok October 2, 2013Music Background:
    Instrumental player(major in University) but worked for 47+ years in broadcast TV and photography.

    Great little stands for not much..euq

    I have made my own wooden stands before, bought ready made wooden, all not adjustable. These are the first adjustables I have owned and I think they are great. The speakers I have on them are the Dynaudio BM5 MkIIs at about 20lbs each, not very heavy. Also I don't tend to move them up and down a lot, they pretty much stay put. But the build and ease of adjustments has me sold. I have also bought other On-Stage equipment, a large music stand and a couple of desk mic stands and am impressed with the quality vs price. Very good.

  • Rod
    from United States September 3, 2013Music Background:
    Worship Director

    Great Stands

    We have a set of JBL monitors not Nearfield but the stands work great with the JBL's and work well in our editing room at our church!! Good heavy stands with a lot of adjustment options.

  • Rich
    from Texas December 27, 2012Music Background:
    saxophone player

    P-Studio On Stage Stands

    These stands are great for my needs. Thanks to the staff at Sweetwater for helping me decide which pair of stands would best serve my needs!!!

  • J. Gilson
    from Fort Lauderdale, FL December 12, 2012Music Background:
    Pro Musician, live and studio work, songwriter

    On-Stage Stands SMS6000-P (pair)

    I use these for my studio monitors and they're perfect for this purpose.

  • Steve R.
    from Great Barrington, MA December 3, 2012Music Background:
    Multimedia Production

    Great Monitor Stands

    These On-Stage Monitor Stands work really well for our small studio. They're holding a pair of Mackie MR8 monitors sitting on Auralex MoPads. The stands are sturdy (even on carpet) - assembled very easily -- look great -- and it's a big plus to be able to adjust them to just the right height.

  • J.C.
    from Houston, Tx May 14, 2012Music Background:
    Creative Producer / Label Owner

    On-Stage Stands - Good Value

    Good value for the money. Using with Dynaudio BM-15s, a heavy monitor.
    One of the little plastic cord retainers broke off during assembly. Would be nice On-Stage sent some extras. Overall very pleased with my purchase. Dan at Sweetwater was very helpful

  • KC
    from Oakland, CA April 27, 2012Music Background:
    Producer, Engineer, FOH, Label Owner

    Solid...for the money, with a few flaws.

    For the money these are hard to beat.

    A few things that could be improved:

    1. The cable clips come out too easily. Why not use a screw mount for them? Surely it would only cost a few bucks more.
    2. The 'feet' on the bottom also come out to easily and have no height adjustment to compensate for floor unevenness. Again, screw mounts would fix that (which I did by re-tapping the hole and using some feet I found online).
    3. The padding of the feet isn't enough for good isolation. Solved by putting some rubber padding on the new feet I installed.

    Minor points, easily fixed, though it would be great to see these kinds of improvements in a newer version for a few bucks more...

  • Customer
    from December 21, 2011

    Just want I wanted

    Everything I needed, no damage in shipping and they work great.

  • Customer
    from October 5, 2011

    close monitoring

    They are perfect for close monitoring

  • Jerry
    from Reno, NV September 2, 2011Music Background:
    Pro Musician/Recording Engineer

    They do the Job!

    I would recommend these stands. They do what they're supposed to do - they hold speakers. They have a little bit of wobble on carpet, but are still pretty steady. These stands are also built well. I'd buy them again.

  • Kevin J. Boies
    from August 31, 2011

    Better to hear you with

    I know I should rate these 5 stars, but that's not my style; however I don't see how they could get much better? Definitely, these On-Stage Stands allow me to easily place my monitors for the most correct listening perspective! I thought they were easy to assemble, and the default height is the perfect level, when sitting in a standard office chair. I don't have any experience with them with the higher adjustments, but they should be alright; however at the highest height, depending on the weight of your speakers, they may be a little top heavy?

  • Gerald C.
    from N.Y. June 2, 2011Music Background:
    long time drum player

    strong stands

    these stands are great. plenty of adjustability , nice wide base for stability,and the plates at the top for holding monitors are the perfect size..only issue is the adjustable feet ..when removing the standard plastic flat feet and installing the pointed spikes that come with the stands you must be sure to remove any plastic that may still be on the threads in the base or you will strip the threads on the pointy spikes and or get them stuck..very hard to remove after....

  • Customer
    from January 18, 2013

    Great, but no directions

    Great, sturdy stands. I don't get why they wouldn't take the ten minutes to knock out a set of directions, but otherwise, you get what you're paying for.

  • Tim
    from Cleveland, OH April 9, 2012

    Important for the Home Studio. (And the price is good, too!)

    If you're putting together a home studio, you know there's a thousand things to buy. Thinking that they wouldn't make that much difference, I held off buying monitor stands until I had pretty much everything in place.

    I was wrong.

    It turns out that elevating speakers makes a huge difference in the sound. (Which, I realize, is why the pros do it. ;-).

    So - if you've put together a home studio and you've put off buying monitor stands, buy these! They're reasonably well made (for the price) and hold my Mackie monitors well.

  • Customer
    from Northeast, US February 6, 2012Music Background:
    Pro musician, worship leader, recording hobbyist

    Not bad for the money

    I purchased these to hold a pair of M-Audio BX8a Deluxes. They do the job just fine. They were not quite as solid as I would have like but once set up they are dong well. The height justifiability was a big factor in my decision and has afforded me a versatile set of stands.

  • Taylor
    from Bellingham, WA October 12, 2011Music Background:
    Recordist and working musician

    Fair price.

    They take a little work putting together since there are NO instructions included. That said, a lot of the height balance between the two towers may be dependent on that assembly, either that or mine came 'out-of-the-box' unleveled, very unleveled, like 4+ inches. Plus, you must tighten the top shelves, from the top center, which means without the speaker on it. This means that you have to adjust it the way you want it, hold it very still while removing speaker and then adjusting, which is nearly impossible to do with any accuracy.

    However, overall, the build is solid, the triangle bases are great and fit into multiple setups, and tightening pegs seem to work well enough. I would value them about $20 cheaper than they are, but as it stands they're the best value available right now.

  • Jimmy
    from Rochester NY December 29, 2016

    studio monitor stands

    These are OK . Hard to get level and properly balanced.

  • Neal Koumjian
    from Boston June 22, 2016Music Background:
    Guitar, piano, electronic synths, project studio. Forever!

    On-Stage Monitor Stands.

    I've always decouples my monitors from whatever they were perched on, tries to keep them away from walls, and I've built DYI sound control modules from rock wool and open cell foam. I had a pair of obscure , (but pro) Yamaha monitors, passive, 6.5 x 1. I think they are NS 635. Found 'em in a thrift. They I saw a pair of HS5's that had been returned, and they were marked down considerably, I immediatly put a deposit down. I ordered the SMS6000's in anticipation of installing the HS5'5. Just with these little passive Yamahas, I was literally blown away by the difference. IN a heartbeat, the stereo imaging, the frequency response improved, this was not a small difference. It was like I had put up a new set of monitors. I hadn't. It was just the stands getting them off the ground, careful positoning, that was it. I didn't need to buy Mo pads or Recoils, (although you can and it certainly wont hurt) the On Stage have about 3/8" thick noprene or rubber coating on the platforms to keep the speakers from moving, and they work well. So I get the HS5's home, and realize I have to make cables, so I do that, hook them up put them up, and oh man. To sum up, for the $100 or so I spent to get the stands, I was like getting a new pair of very high end monitors, just without the expense. I thought I knew about room control! I really didn't expect what I got. I was just doing a little housekeeping, racks, cable tester, a DI, mic boom. Opened my ears, very pleased.

  • Customer
    from January 13, 2016

    Good enough

    Used to support studio monitors. The do sway a little. Macki 824's are heavy. Had to trim about two inches off the inner tube to get the tweeters down to ear level. Easy hack saw task. They aren't going to fall down but if I had a large curious cat in the house, I would have second thoughts.

  • T Lenox
    from Nashville, TN December 6, 2016Music Background:
    Producer, Engineer, Musician

    A little uneven

    These stand are sturdy and can hold my 8" JBLs with no problem. The only issue I have with them is one of the stands is about 1" taller than the other.

  • Customer
    from October 4, 2013

    Cheap, but gets the job done...

    Keep in mind, the rating system here has a 3 star rating as "Really Good". Since these are just average in quality, I should have given them a 2, but they offer a good design, just cheap materials.

    Other than that, they work for placing your monitors on. Again, nice features. It's difficult to find quality stuff these days it seems.

  • Jim Grimes
    from New Hampshire September 8, 2011Music Background:
    TV and Radio Broadcast Engineer

    Handy Stands

    Purchased two sets to support speakers in two different control rooms. They do exactly what we wanted them to do, and the "look" fits the design of the room....this is a much better alternative to wall mounting.

    Now the downside: The stock rubber feet (required for this install are not adjustable, so we had to shim the bases to get the stands level. This is certainly not a deal-breaker, but adjustable rubber feet would have been a nice touch.

  • Mike
    from Tulsa, OK June 8, 2011Music Background:
    TV Editor

    Little wobbly

    Stands are ok, but a bit wobbly. Also, when assembled they are at different heights. Good for small budgets.

  • Customer
    from United States October 13, 2014

    Not bad, but

    I bought these stands used in a package deal. The previous owner had over-tightened to bolt from the base into the tube. This caused the base to "cave in" slightly and made the stands very unstable. I think they would have been better off to add an internal sleeve or reinforce the base to prevent this from happening.

    I add a fender washer to each base and this did help but I think a tripod style base would work much better.

  • Mikey Razor
    from Sugar Land, TX October 3, 2011Music Background:
    Engineer

    a bit wobbly

    The base isn't quite wide enough, nor is the top plate. This is especially evident on a thick padded carpet. Probably best if the stands were pre mounted to a board

  • Customer
    from October 12, 2016

    Resonant tubes, wobbly base

    I've had these in my mixing room for awhile. Their greatest features are adjustable height and turnable top for switching on the monitors. But the base is wobbly, and the poles resonate - not saying I can specifically hear that when mixing, but knock them and they sing a bit and potentially contribute negatively to the sound. Additionally, the poles are pretty long for getting your height situated. I had to cut them down for one set of monitors. They were also low enough at that time that I couldn't use the stop bars and corresponding holes. Every week or more I'd notice that one looked lower than the other. It was, one wouldn't support its monitors on friction alone. I recently upgraded monitors and changed height as a result. It turns out I was actually able to use the stop bars/holes in the poles on one side, but the other side was not milled the same and required me drilling a hole to match.

  • Samuel Hanson
    from MN July 13, 2011Music Background:
    Producer, Engineer, Songwriter, Composer

    Not so much..

    These are below average stands for a good price. They are a bit wobbly. I had major issues with knobs snapping. I cannot recommend this product unless it's quite literally all you can afford.

  • Marcos M.
    from Los Angeles April 5, 2017Music Background:
    Composer, Producer

    Had to cut the tubes...

    So, I'm a pretty short guy, 5'5" and the lowest setting on these stands were simply too tall for setting my speakers at an optimal listening level in which the tweaters should match the height of my ear holes (using Yamaha HS8s). Luckily, I'm mechanically-inclined and I hacksawed about 4 inches from the bottom of the inside tube to get the height I needed. I'm also not entirely sold on the stability overall as it's a little too wobbly for my comfort. For the time being, it does what I need it to do but I'll definitely have to upgrade to a more sturdy, and lower, stand.

  • James Tillman
    from August 27, 2015

    You Get what you pay for

    These (like much of On-Stage Stand's products) are poorly built, poorly thought out, and pieced together by parts which seem like they were never intended to work together. The rubber feet that arrive installed cant elevate the stands more than an 8th of an inch, and the metal spikes I recieved in addition (in case you had to level your speaker stands like most people), did not fit or thread correctly into the bottom of the stands. A complete pain.

    Would not suggest to anyone, nor will I purchase any more products by On Stage Stands.

  • Customer
    from Los angeles March 16, 2015Music Background:
    Film composer

    Unstable

    Stands are completely unstable for holding BM15AS. Triangular base is a terrible design.

  • Richard Slone
    from Lexington KY December 28, 2011Music Background:
    pro musician

    Pass these up, quality issues.

    First, let me say Sweatwater is awesome and they take care of you with a problem...

    ... these stands being the problem.

    It took 2 sets to get one working set. High quality metal, extremely poorly machined. The plastic bits are brittle and both sets came with broken plastic, damaged metal and I'm going to have to get a tap and die set to assemble the feet pegs correctly.

    They are also a little wobbly, so good only for home studio use where you have no pets or children who will tip them over.

    This will be the last On-Stage product I buy. But Sweetwater has my business forever. The quickly shipped replacements free of charge. I couldn't be happier with a company.

    As for these stands - pass them up.

  • Travis
    from USA June 23, 2011Music Background:
    sound engineering/musician

    on stage stands

    the stands are poorly constructed, and I would have a hard time even putting my computer speakers on the stands without having a nervous breakdown. they are unstable which would cause any speaker mounted it on them to move leading to an unreliable source for monitor mixing especially in smaller rooms where the sweet spot is so much smaller.

  • Samuel Hanson
    from May 2, 2011Music Background:
    Producer, Engineer, Writer, Composer

    Quite disappointed

    I had major issues with these stands. Screws stripping. Handles breaking. Incomplete packages from the company (they had to send me 4 stands in total for me to be able to have 2 working stands). I'm not sure what the issue was. "On-Stage" stuff is usually decent. This was a massive downfall though.

    Wretched.

Questions about the On-Stage Stands SMS6000-P Studio Monitor Stand (pair)?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway