0% Interest for 36 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Presidents' Day Sale!

PreSonus Monitor Station Reviews

4.5 stars based on 28 customer reviews
  • from Mexico City January 30, 2014Music Background:
    Pro musician, producer

    Great Piece of Gear

    So versatile with 3 stereo ins and 3 stereo outs, not to mention 4 headphone outs talk back and cue mix... yet so very easy and simple to use at the same time. It colors the sound a bit, but nothing too drastic.. all in all a great piece of gear, and a GREAT PRICE; a must-have for your home studio.

  • from CT December 12, 2013Music Background:
    Live Sound Engineer

    KPSOUND

    GREAT LITTLE TOOL FOR THE THE PRICE

  • from United States October 15, 2013Music Background:
    Mixing Engineer, Live Sound, Musician, Studio Owner/Operator

    Cool!

    I like it! works great and is very versatile! Love the talkback option and I can use this to set a different control room mix via my summing board.

  • from January 14, 2013Music Background:
    Pro Musician/Digital Audio Engineer

    Solid.

    Best value for money there is. I like this better than its big brother, because it's so immediate and user-friendly. Can't recommend it enough, every home studio NEEDS one!

  • from December 13, 2012Music Background:
    producer and musician

    Amazing!!!!

    It's amazing. working perfect for me

  • from fort wayne, in October 24, 2011Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Artist, and Producer

    I Love It

    i like the fact that i can use it with both sonar x1 and pro tools! i can work in both. i can use my one set of monitors without unpluggin anything.

  • from Manila, Philippines January 4, 2011Music Background:
    Session Keyboardist, Record Producer, Musical Director... blah, blah.

    This one is staying in my rack for a long time.

    I've had this interface for more than 3 years now. In terms of sound quality and feature set, relative to the price I paid, I think the Fireface 800 blows away the competition.

    Thanks to Alan Carter of Sweetwater for the consistently excellent service.

  • from Cincinatti, OH February 26, 2008Music Background:
    Project Recording Studio

    Solid and sounds awesome

    I was torn between this and the Central Station but thought I'd check it out. If you are looking for a desktop monitoring controller rather than a rackmount, I would highly recommend the Monitor Station. It's dead quiet and doesn't color the sound at all. Also nice having four headphone amps that can choose between two mixes when you are tracking a full band.

  • from September 10, 2013

    Great - Does Exactly what I needed it to do!

    Simple - sleek - easy to use - does it all as well!

  • from Fort Lauderdale, FL September 6, 2013Music Background:
    Pro Musician, live and studio work, songwriter

    PreSonus Monitor Station

    Easy to set up, easy to use, and makes my monitor routing a breeze. Perfect for future expansion.

  • from Phoenix March 8, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist studio, player and band member

    ProSonus Monitor Station really good for controlling the sound

    With near and far monitors and a subwoofer, I was looking for a good controller with just a few bells and whistles. This unit really fix the bill. It provide positive control of all speakers, is well lilt, and provides a very ergonomic use.

  • from MI January 6, 2013Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Must Have!!!

    Best purchase I have made recently. Sales rep went above and beyond to help me choose fo(r my personal setup. I am super happy with the performance and features. I do notice some white noise (very minor) or I would have given it a 5. Works terrific! I have two pairs of active monitors and now I have a a way to switch between them, or monitor simaltaneously. It was the perfect solution for my studio. Easy to connect, RCA aux and mute is nice too. Talk back feature works really great too and will accomodate mutiple headphones. Buy one! You will not know what you did with out it!

  • from June 4, 2012Music Background:
    Pro musician, Hobbyist home studio

    Single favorite piece of gear?

    I love the monitor station. Couldn't be happier with it as far as features/price go. I have had intermittent issues with some crackling in the main knob, but they went away and I actually don't need to adjust the main volume knob, so I haven't noticed anything in years. The features and price make this a no brainer for me. I bought mine years ago and still no other monitor management product has had anything on the monitor station. Adjustable dim and mute, mono, 3 inputs on 2 different output matrixes, a phono preamp (cool), great metering, etc. The backlit soft buttons are fantastic. It looks great on a desk. It's a handy thing to have besides using it for the obvious use of monitor management. I have used it for live performances too, it's just a handy, flexible piece of gear.

  • from MN January 14, 2012Music Background:
    DJ, radio broadcast hobbyist, student.

    Glad I bought this item after my sales guy referred it

    So here's the breakdown. It allows me to mix 3 different signals, FM, PC, MBox Pro Tools all to one output. I don't use it for the multiple speaker option but it sure reduces the clutter of wires having it the way I did before.

    The only reasons why this unit is not perfect is be careful what type of RCA cables to use, the connection is quite flimsy though the Y adapter I'm using requires force to plug it in which is a good thing. The unit I received wasn't level out of the box when placed on a level table top. Hoping the rubber feet would remedy the situation it didn't. I just folded up a piece of paper a couple of times just so that all feet are level. It was quite annoying because every time you pressed a button before hand the entire unit would push down with it. Not too professional IMO.

    Lastly the button lights and LED meters are not shielded in a way where the light bleeds over to other button such as the LED's bleeding over to the ST1 etc. Other than that the connections are solid, it's rugged (an all steel enclosure). Great headphone outputs. The talk back mic maybe useful someday for an isolation booth. The built in mic isn't bad but you'd wanna use the external mic input.

    Overall this is a great product if you have multiple speakers however it works just as great for multiple sources for sub mixes if your main board is being used for something else. A little on the pricy side but worth it considering the other products from reviewers had hum noise and other nasty sound artifacts. This product has none of that. Well worth the investment!

  • from Sedona, Az July 15, 2011Music Background:
    Music Producer, Recording Engineer, Musician, and pro songwriter

    yes its Amazing, the monitor station by PreSonus

    was exactly what I was looking for.. ns 10s on A, JBLs on B and Cd player on Aux .. awesome for switching, dimming, muting, headphones,
    and one big knob for volume.. its easy, effective and I LOVE IT

  • from Belo Horizonte,Brazil February 25, 2010Music Background:
    audio recording engineer and installer

    Good For The Money

    Has done an excellent job on my studio with three diferent set of speakers (HR824, NS10 and Genelec 1031). The headphone outputs also are great; I have recomended to all project studios owners I install

  • from Leuven, Belgium February 10, 2010Music Background:
    Musician, Acoustics Engineer

    Perfect for a small studio!

    I've had this unit for nearly a year now. I bought it to replace a small mixer which I used to have a master volume control for my active speakers. The biggest advantage is in the sound quality. Small mixers for the same price as the Monitor Station are made to serve a lot of functions so they often end up being cheap and quite noisy. Monitor Station focused on the basics but it does that very well and it has a very low noise floor. Actually, I haven't noticed any change when I inserted the unit between my external sound card and my expensive active speakers. The layout is nice, the buttons also feel good and using the unit is quite intuitive.

  • from Vancouver, Canada October 25, 2009Music Background:
    Professional Composer, Gigging Guitarist

    Monitor Station Rules!

    I use a pretty basic setup, but boy is it freeing to have this little baby doing the complex routing for me! I really, really love the soft rubber buttons (the complete opposite of their hard, chunky buttons on the Faderport!?!) that light up. It's always clear what's active and what's not. And the calibration gives you level meters you can trust. Highly recommended!

  • from San Antonio, TX June 19, 2008Music Background:
    Recording Engineer/Home Studio Owner

    Perfect for the Home Studio

    This little thing ROCKS. Period. Just buy it, you won't regret it! A more affordable solution to the Central Station. This unit has SO many options. Hook up three pairs of speakers! Or two pairs and a subwoofer. Switch between speakers with the push of a button. Multiple inputs. Switch between inputs with a push of a button. 4 Headphone jacks with separate volume for each! Mute, dim. TALKBACK. Perfect.

  • from Miami, Florida May 31, 2008Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Producer Hip-Hop/RnB

    My monitoring and headphone solution for the home studio

    The Monitor Station is a perfect box and answer for any studio not running off of a large console. With the option of running 3 different sets of monitors, I can now check my mix faster as opposed to burning to disc, and playing it on everything from the car to the laptop, dvd player, radio. I still do those things but at the final stage after the mix sounds good on all sets of speakers. It also gives you 4 headphone outputs with indivual control as a cue box would that you would find in the bigger studios as well as a talk back feature with built in mic. After taking it out of the box and reading the meter calibration steps, I wasnt sure as to what my source output db level was. And after some trial and error, I was up and running. From out the box, to trial and error calibrating, to setting dim levels, maybe a total of 5-10 minutes. I definitely recommend

  • from Burleson, TX November 8, 2013Music Background:
    Producer, Musician

    Good Mointor Mixer

    I have a couple of different monitors, and this is proving to be a great tool to manage these outputs from one place. I also like the headphone amp/mixer that this can be used with also.

    The reason that I gave it 4 stars, is that the input volumes are a bit of a trick to get set just right. I think this is more of a learning thing that I need to figure out, but I have 2 primary sources that feed the inputs into this system. One I have to keep turning down, and the other I have to crank. Did not notice this issue when everything was running with out the monitor station.

  • from seattle November 14, 2012

    Decent piece of gear

    This thing comes in handy, but is not very high end. The headphone preamps seem to color the sound quite a bit when getting close to noon on the dial, anything past that is pretty saturated (even though its cute that the headphone preamps go to "11", and they are quite loud). I wish it had a "mono" button as well as a "reverse" mode to swap left and right. It is a little under-designed for $300. Overall, it comes in handy and seems to work well for basic things. I do like it, and appreciate the function it serves, but wish they had spent more time refining the button layout. Specifically, the assignment of source to a mix is a little clunky. I would prefer all source buttons to behave the same way, but they don't. There are 3 source buttons per mix. It would make the most sense to me if they were each just on/off action. The problem is, if only one button is on, you can't turn it off. It just seems to be an over-complicated "feature" that serves no real purpose, other than to prevent you from turning off all sources for a mix.

    I think it could be about half the price for what it does and the quality of its construction, but it works well and can serve an important role in any project studio.

  • from Austin, TX USA September 18, 2012Music Background:
    Musician, Home Recording

    Just what the doctor ordered!

    Once again I called up my sales engineer (what patience!) after realizing my system need a good speaker switching system, albeit I didn't want to spend much on it. As my I ideas came blurting out, TJ said what you should try is this unit. Once again he was on the money! Great price, plenty of in/outs, four headphone jacks.... it looked like what the doctor ordered. My only caveat was the picture made it look a bit light weight and I had never bought a preSonus product before. Well the picture doesn't do it justice. It is a substantial piece of hardware. Solid build, clear layout, and you can bypass the manual and get started immediately. What more more could I ask for? Well I should have more trs 1/4 inch wiring as I didn't have enough sitting around; it would have been a good add on sale. Definitely a winner product for those on a budget!

  • from Atlanta April 16, 2011Music Background:
    career musician

    Functional Performance

    Easy to get up and running. Did exactly what I needed it to do right out of the box. The only complaint I have is the rubber feet that came witht the unit. They were difficult to get off the contact paper and one of them got trashed in the process.The were kind of cheesy........and why was I having to put them on anyway?

    I'll be heading to HD for some real "feet".

    Electronicallt speaking, hte unit is great though.

  • from Thailand July 18, 2010Music Background:
    Producer, Song writer, Recording Engineer

    Great peice of gear BUT...

    Got this monitor station for about 3 weeks now and i'm pretty happy with all the functions esp. the TALK BACK. It has 4 headphone amps and it doesnt color the sound (much). BUT... when i first bought it, i had to return it back to the shop due to quality of the product. one of the headphone button is deeper in than others when u press it down and they are not equally in the same level. And also when u put it on the table, its not equally flat on the table. I went back and choose between 4 new ones.. none of them have any problem with the buttons but all of them wabble when u put it on a flat desk. So i guess for functionality - Its a HELL YES! BUT for the build quality (not the sound) - BOOOOO

  • from Los Angeles, CA November 6, 2010Music Background:
    Recording Engineer

    Pretty good for Tracking

    I just picked up one of these for a session I am doing. I pretty much bought it for a talkback for my artist. Works great for that. It has a cue mix and 4 independent headphone amps that are LOUD!
    For fun I hooked it up for monitoring. It was pretty good once I calibrated the levels. But after I compared it to my Digi 002R (modded by Black Lion Audio) I did notice the Presonus altered the sound. It didn't get quite as good stereo image as my D/A on the 002R and seemed to be missing something.
    But for the money this thing is great for tracking. I wouldn't want to mix or master on it though.
    Cool product, but not great.

  • from Beirut January 29, 2012Music Background:
    Producer

    Good but no INPUT level attenuation

    I've had this piece for a while now and it was doing a good job.But when i upgraded to a new SSL Soundcard the output was distorting. Presonus has a control on the VU Meter that reduced the distortion but it was still peaking when i was mastering my tracks. I tried everything.. The problem is at the input stage. Presonus doesn't offer input level reduction like the Mackie Big Knob does (which solved my problem). Still, i must say that it is a solid piece and doesn't color the sound at all, however the design is not really sexy.

  • from Dallas, TX September 14, 2012Music Background:
    Audio Engineer

    Like the functions but...

    The functions of the Monitor Station are great!! Headphone amps are great, the talkback is cool, it feels sturdy. But I have noticed that it definately colors my sound in a negative way. Coming out the mains its nice and full like I would expect, but then you have no volume control. Coming out of the A, B, or C outs the sound feels choked. The low end doesnt develop very well, the top seems a bit dull and I feel like I lost some stereo imaging. So for just tracking and basic monitoring, i would say get it. But for mixing and serious listening id say pass.

Questions about the PreSonus Monitor Station?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway