0% Interest for 48 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Live Sound Month!

Alesis Monitor1 MkII Reviews

4.0 stars based on 10 customer reviews
  • en76
    from hawaii February 9, 2013Music Background:
    hoppyist

    nice

    for these pair its a steal. bass is clear for ported speakers and tight. getting another pair. just amazed by these...

  • Johnnie Wallace
    from United States September 20, 2012Music Background:
    Christian singer/song writer

    Color free audio

    Very hard to tell the difference between live playing and recorded play back with these. They just don't add much color and that is what I was looking for at this price point.

  • Michael Sole
    from United States January 6, 2012Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Live Sound Engineer, Pro Musician

    Excellent Reference Speakers

    I found these to be very acurate reference monitors. For those that do not know, you wouldn't want these on your home studio due to their flat response. However, mixes that I made on these speakers have translated very well to a variety of other sources.

  • Larry Lewis
    from Ashland, Oregon September 26, 2010Music Background:
    professional jazz musician, composer, videographer

    Very good well made monitor

    I bought a pair of Alesis Monitor1 MK2 years & years ago. They were sweet & clean out of the box, and remain sweet & clean.

    I am using them as nearfield reference monitors for composing film soundtracks & jazz compositions.

  • Jon
    from August 7, 2009Music Background:
    15 years experience home recording, visiting studios, and helping bands get their sound!

    Bookshelf speakers...

    These are bookshelf speakers, and they make a great reference as such, in the tradition of the NS-10m. I would not dare use these as my mains. Just the "B" in the "A/B". That said, they are relatively easy to power, and are built really well. The vinyl skin on them is a great touch and truly adds durability. These are good to use as you save up for some more accurate MAIN monitors.

  • Kip
    from New City, NY July 29, 2009Music Background:
    Songwriter/Engineer

    These monitors are a steal. Love them.

    I've toyed around with "upgrading" my monitors so many times I can't count. Each time I just realize that I'm not going to get a better sound unless I plan on dropping over a grand. These Alesis monitors really are wonderful. I use them with an Alesis RA150, and before that an RA100. Accurate, good. And the price is right. Unless you're gonna go into the upper upper tier of monitors, give these Alesis a good look, you may find yourself a keeper.

  • Danny Mccuiston
    from New Concord,ky42076 February 19, 2009Music Background:
    40 years recording

    Good Monitors

    I had a couple these in my big studio and they are good for the money. Don't try to drive these too hard they wont take it,They have a little too much bass response they kick *** but they will lie so EQ high if you want the recording to sound good on say a car stereo or home unit or the bass will be too boomy and the recording will very brown and not crisp in the places where it is supposed to.

  • Two hours of driving!
    from canada February 2, 2009Music Background:
    hobbyist

    These are 4-ohm monitors

    Just a short note: these are 4-ohm monitors. Don't forget to check for compatibility with your amp (many amps require 8-ohm monitors). The Ohm rating is written in the tiniest print imaginable on the back of these monitors. Double check before you drive two hours 'round trip to pick up a pair of these! Ouch!

  • Jon-Michael
    from NY May 3, 2008Music Background:
    Drummer, Composer, Recording Artist

    Translates well.

    I use a Halfler TransNova amplifier to power these. They are insanely loud and have very clear upper-mids to treble range (so I have the treble rolled off slightly). They are ported so they lack dynamic range and punch in the lows, but on a positive note, the ports rarely add too much resonance when placed correctly in my listening environment, which is, of course, my home studio! They sound similar to an '80s Hi-Fi stereo. Cool Speakers.

  • Chris
    from Palm Beach Gardens, FL USA July 24, 2007Music Background:
    Recording Engineer

    Great Detail

    I would definately recommend these monitors if you have a great amp or are planning to get one. The only thing you should know is that you will need a subwoofer, unless you're not mixing any bass or kick drum material.

Questions about the Alesis Monitor1 MkII?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway