0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month 2

Allen & Heath MixWizard WZ4 16:2 Mixer with Effects Reviews

4.5 stars based on 14 customer reviews
Questions about the Allen & Heath MixWizard WZ4 16:2 Mixer with Effects?

Questions about the Allen & Heath MixWizard WZ4 16:2 Mixer with Effects?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

Sweetwater Advice

  • Evan Mehre

    The WZ4:16:2 is not just a great board at an approachable price point, itís THE STANDARD for analog, rack-mounted consoles. Itís built like a tank, but easily serviceable, and with its quality preamps and built-in effects, itís a gem. Iíve mixed on mine for YEARS, and Iíd happily use one at any show with an appropriate input list!

  • Tyler Berggren

    I use my MixWizard as the front end of my recording rig. Using the channel direct outs set to post fader gives me full control of my levels before hitting my A/D converters. The preamps have gobs of headroom and plenty of gain on tap, the EQ section is great for boosting what you like about a sound and cutting out what you don't, and the built in effects can hang with any stock DAW plugins easily.

  • from College Station, TX March 24, 2017Music Background:
    Pro Studio

    Go to power and versatility

    I own 2 of these. One stays in my studio, has been there a decade. It works every day, with plenty of gain to push a quiet acoustic guitar when that happens. It provides complete connectivity for my Pro Tools rig, 16 channels of great sound, reliable. I also use one live, with my band and rentals. That mixer sees a lot more abuse, riding around in a case and trailer, lugged up stairs, pounded around, bumpy carts and roads. It never blinks, it only works it's butt off. I've never used all 6 aux mixes, but I use the aux (monitors), mains (FOH), EQ and gain just like I do in the studio. This mixer is capable of solving both problems, and I don't even give it a second thought. In a world where folks are buying mixers with digital controls on their IPAD, I could still sell these Allen & Heath mixwizards to anyone with a brain. It's just gonna take care of you.

  • from North Carolina November 21, 2016Music Background:
    Studio owner and pro musician.

    Great Board and Sound

    Great board. Using it as our main sound board with a Sound Craft for Sub Mix of our Drums.
    Monitoring for the band is now super easy.

  • from Dallas, TX September 28, 2016

    Allen & Heath WZ4:16:2

    If you have ever experienced latency issues when recording in your studio, this is the best front end your system can possibly have. The six aux sends permit individual monitor mixes that musicians/engineer(s) can use to monitor playback in real time, The direct outs on each of the channels are great for recording in the studio, or live. I'm surprised more manufacturers don't have something like this.

  • from August 12, 2016Music Background:
    Professional musician & recording artist for 22 years

    Mixwizard magic

    We purchased a Mixwizard 16:2 for our FOH running into powered speakers - construction is solid, all knobs and switches feel pro and the long channel sliders feel great and hold a wealth of headroom set in conjunction with the highly adaptable Gain and Pad level controls.

    4-way channel EQ with mid-high and mid-lows sweepable is unbeatable, onboard effects are really good with enough parameters to tweak and the processor runs as a dual/stereo one so you have 2 effects available per channel.

    Love the input connections going horizontally into the back panel - keeps the mixer desk so much cleaner - and the under-mixer storage also helps heaps with keeping your work area tidy during the show.

    Enough AUX sends to sink a ship, direct outs an amazing "extra" feature and master L and R Main Mix Insert means we can add a FOH stereo EQ rack to tune to a room. Overall headroom and noise floors are amazingly clean, board layout is very intuitive given how many channels and features are squeezed onto a rack width panel.

  • from Fairfax VA August 18, 2015Music Background:
    Professional Musician (35 years }

    GREAT BOARD

    This board has been upgraded substantially since the version I had for over 3 years. They came out with Mix Wiz 3 and now 4.
    I was ready see what was out there and was told Soundcraft had really improved their pre - amps and quality. I had a S.C. for 8 years and liked it so i bought what is supposed to be their comparable board to The A&H Mix Wix 4 { The S.C FX 16:2 } It does NOT compare !. Maybe it does to my 3 year old A&H board which is very good, but I wanted better and traded it in for the A&H Mix Wiz 4. All I can say is the pre-amps have DEFINITELY been redesigned and upgraded. They are very punchy, clean with much more headroom, which in a rock band is really needed ! The board is built sturdy and has a better digital effects section and an EQ in/ out switch which is very helpful. A+ to A&H for staying on top of their game !

  • from MASSACHUSETTS April 8, 2015Music Background:
    Keyboardist

    SMALL BUT MIGHTY

    This is a very good mixer. The channel are extremely clean and the unit looks really nice. You won't regret buying this mixer.It will make your life complete.
    My sales rep, Nick LaMendola is awesome and very knowledgeable. He is the best sales rep at sweetwater.

  • from Austin Texas October 10, 2014Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    You'll be hard pressed to beat this analog board!

    We have been using several different mixing consoles in the past, Mackie, Behringer, Peavey, LIne 6 etc. and after needing more than 12 channels in our 19" rack mount road case, we purchased one of the Mix Wizards 16:2's. This board out performs all the analog boards we've used in the past. It's super quiet with lots of headroom and the on-board effects are simple and effective. If you're looking for a great 16 channel rack mountable analog mixer, you owe it to yourself to try this one. I've got to say we have been using Musician's Friend for several years but the professionalism and endless knowledge of Lindsey Becker, our go to person at Sweetwater assured, me we'll always buy from Sweetwater.

  • from Odenton, MD July 8, 2014Music Background:
    Pro Musician, Recording Engineer

    Great Board- great sound!

    I purchased the WZ4 16:2 this past year and also just had the USB card installed. Awesome mixer for the price or any price. Very clean sound and solid construction. I use the EV Live X (12's) in conjunction and people are blown away. Even did an outdoor concert a couple of weeks ago using the band leader's powered Behringers as the mains- even the B's sounded OK with the WZ4! One of the best purchases I've made in recent years.

  • from Geneseo, Illinois June 12, 2014Music Background:
    Weekend warrior, singer, song writer, guitarist

    Great Board

    The sound, routing, and headroom on this board is stellar. Plus so many optional ways to set it up. Using this for live sound and recording in my home studio. Having the EQ on this board on the front end of the studio has been a blessing. Currently using the direct outs for recording but soon will install the optional USB port.
    My sales engineer Chris pointed me to this mixer and I couldn't be happier.

  • from Scottsdale Arizona November 10, 2013Music Background:
    Professional musian and sound engineer.

    Great board

    My Presonous Studio Live 1602 was a good board for a while then the preamps got a bit noisy. I decided to go back to analog and wow what a difference the tone is ten times better and the EQ is sweet. The effects are hands down much better that the Presonous.
    I know I made the right decision. The shopping experience with Sweetwater was smooth and easy.

  • from Ridgeville Corners, OH October 14, 2013Music Background:
    Pro Musician, TV and recording producer.

    Great Clean Sound!

    Great mixer! Upgraded thanks to the recommendations of inside sales reps Mike and Katie, and boy am I glad I did. I had been a "Mackie guy" for a long time, but the cleanliness of the sounds with this Mixer is incredible. I like having 2 sweepable eq's, and the onboard effects were all that I needed... so I was able to eliminate an effects unit when I added this mixer too. I'd highly recommend it. I've been very happy with this!

  • from Wausau, WI USA December 18, 2013Music Background:
    Vocal Singer/Musician

    Allen & Heath Mixer - Awesome

    When our existing Peavey FX16 board failed, we were in a hurry to get a replacement board as quickly as possible. However, if I was going to invest a fair amount of money I wanted to do some research first. After reading how many other people had experienced the same issues with their Peavey FX16 board, I had decided I was not going to replace it with the same brand. The Allen & Heath board offered our group everything we needed. The six Aux sends was a must and the onboard digital FX sound incredible. The clairity from this board is awesome. Plus, the response from our audiences have been incredible "What are you guys doing different... you sound incredible tonight?" If you are in need of a great sound board and are on a budget, you will not be sorry for purchasing the Allen & Heath WZ4.

  • from West Jordan, UT March 10, 2017

    Great Mixer

    This is a good all around mixer. The EQ is very serviceable. The preamps are plain, but clean. There is no phase flip, which I think is kind of a weird feature to leave out, but they do all have individual phantom power. I have other preamps that I use, so it that doesn't really matter to me. I use this board at the back end of my studio for mix down, but I wouldn't be upset if I had to use it at the front from recording. It is laid out as you would expect a "general purpose" mixer to be laid out, so don't expect something that is laid out for studio use.

    The only feature that I wish that it had that it doesn't is "solo" for each track. They all have mute buttons, but it would be really handy to be able to solo a track.

    More stereo inputs would be nice, but again, I knew what I was buying so that isn't really something to complain about (and if I really want more I can always get the 4 sub channel version).

  • from Las Vegas November 15, 2014Music Background:
    I do voice overs and produce commercials

    Beware you might get a bad one!

    The reviews on this mixer are outstanding! Some say beats the Mackie of the same caliber hands down.
    Perhaps it does. Thats why I purchased one and had a pro engineer try to install it for me. Notice I said TRY!
    This mixer was so bad, to get sound we had to leave the tip of the cords half out. Thats not right! The sound was awful. Perhaps I got a dud? But its going back I won't buy another.

Questions about the Allen & Heath MixWizard WZ4 16:2 Mixer with Effects?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway