0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
NAMM Show Report

Avantone Pro Active MixCubes Powered Studio Monitor Pair - Gloss Black Reviews

5.0 stars based on 17 customer reviews
Questions about the Avantone Pro Active MixCubes Powered Studio Monitor Pair - Gloss Black?

Questions about the Avantone Pro Active MixCubes Powered Studio Monitor Pair - Gloss Black?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Rochester ny November 18, 2016Music Background:
    Dj, producer, engineer

    Great buy

    Happy with the Avantones for auditioning your mix in mono and for other mediums.

  • from April 27, 2016

    Love the Crap sound out of this thing!

    Avantone Mixcubes have a love hate relationship in audio circles just like the Yamaha NS10's. I run a pair of HS8's along side a pair of Mixcubes and glad I do. When I first purchased these Monitors I made myself listen to songs I loved and my own mixes before actually diving into mixing with them so I could learn how certain instruments sounded coming through them. I suggest everyone approach it this way before mixing right away with the mix cubes they are not like other studio monitors there is a learning curve. The sound is not exciting at first, but when you start mixing on these I suggest starting off on these first and get your mix sounding exciting and comparable to other mixes through these, get about 70% there and then throw them in mono and check everything is coming out great, then spend 15% of your time through your other stereo monitors to ensure everything is banging, when done properly your mix will sound clear, you might have to ease off some prior EQ moves but within no time you'll be knocking out mixes 2x as fast and know they'll translate of all sources. For referencing I suggest picking up Magic AB.

  • from September 16, 2015Music Background:
    Audio Engineer/Producer

    Fantastic Reference Monitor!

    I'll admit that I was a bit of a skeptic when it came to purchasing MixCubes, mainly due to the 5" driver. I currently own a pair of Focal Twin 6's, which were purchased as an upgrade to Rokit 5's. Once I heard the sultry sounds coming from the Focal's dual 6.5" drivers, I vowed that I would never purchase anything smaller than a 6" driver. Man, am I glad I broke that promise. After a 30 hour "break in" period, I found that the MixCubes provide an exceptional representation of the mobile listening experience. I can proudly say that purchasing these monitors is the second wisest decision I've made to date.

  • from Berkeley, CA June 1, 2015Music Background:
    Everything

    Great second monitors, Incredible Clarity!

    Great monitors, I'm impressed with the clarity! Just got these, I am breaking them in right now, and I'm ready to see what they can do! These are meant to be a used as a second set of speakers for referencing mixes done on your main monitors. They are more midrange focused, and don't go too low or too high with their frequency range. That's what I bought them for, I wanted something that would help me focus on the midrange of my mixes. I have heard about these, my favorite engineers use this style speaker, so I decided to take a chance on these!

    I didn't expect to actually hear things in my songs that I never heard before! I already have expensive JBL studio monitors (and a sub) and have been through that with those monitors! I don't feel like I'm missing anything on my JBL's, I just wanted a second set of monitors to re enforce my mix decisions. Funny thing is, on 2 of my reference tracks I use all the time, through the mixcubes I could actually make out certain lyrics I never understood before. Finally on these speakers i'm like "oh thaatts what he said I didn't even realize he said that". And this is after years of hearing the same song! Finally I hear what the artist actually said, clearly through these monitors, and never even realized it before! These speakers are telling me something no other speaker has. Very impressive. I tried some cheaper versions of these but was unimpressed, these have exceeded my expectations. I'm sure they will get better as I break them in and get to know how to mix on them. I can already hear some things on my mixes I can touch up through these.

  • from Roper May 20, 2015

    Doing the Job

    I've been running mixes back and forth to my car to test them for some time now, but the current project hasn't translated well at all from my studio monitors to the car stereo environment. These speakers have the right balance to allow me to hear things and make the right adjustments to the mix without having to make the round trip, which is reducing the number of iterations in the mix and making me more productive. I may *yet* get this project out the door. :)

  • from Columbia, SC October 27, 2014Music Background:
    Producer/Engineer

    A worthy addition to the studio!

    After I got over the learning curve of these speakers, by placing the vocals a little too low in the mix due to their mid-range focus, they have really helped. As others have said, these are really helpful when automating vocal volumes. They are also great at making sure you have enough note definition in the bass guitar and attack on your kick drums. So far, I am using these more than I thought that I would.

  • from Chincoteague Island, VA January 17, 2014Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Musician, Retired Professor of Engineering

    A must-have studio tool

    These are some of the worst sounding monitors I have ever owned. And that's what makes them PERFECT. The Avantones allow you to hear all the bad mixing decisions that have been made. Great for checking a mix in mono too. I avoided buying the Avantones for years. Didn't think I needed them. But, I was very wrong. These are now essential mixing tools for me.

  • from Oakland, CA September 22, 2013Music Background:
    Recording engineer of 14 years professional experience.

    VERY revealing.

    Just got these from Sweetwater. When you first hear them in a studio context, you're like "Where did all the bass go?", but that's how people actually hear most music!!! These speakers have been fascinating to listen to old mixes on. Panning and level decisions that were hard to discern before are now much more obvious. You would never want these speakers as your only speakers, but I now consider them essential. I am totally happy with this purchase.

  • from Los Angeles, CA February 13, 2013Music Background:
    Songwriter, Audio Engineer

    How music is suppose to sound

    As soon as I turned them on I smiled. This is how music is suppose to sound. Our audience doesn't get the chance to always enjoy engineer standard audio. They listen on what they can get ahold of. Grandma's radio, a laptop or their car's system. And that's exactly the sound I got!!! The sound of driving down the beach in my VW Bus just enjoying the California sun. It's a very nostalgic sound because that how we first experienced the songs we love.

    I have a pair of JBL 6328 as my main monitors but these are exactly what I need for telling me how a mix feels. I have my JBLs to tell me how they sound, but these Avantones definitely tell me how the song feels. After all that is the purpose of music. We're suppose to make sure our music evokes the right emotions.

    These are my new go to reference monitors for how the mix translates to other systems. But most importantly, they'll tell me how the song feel. They're the right investment if you're looking for everything I mentioned.

    Great job Avantone!

  • from DIVIDE,CO. January 2, 2013Music Background:
    MORE THAN 50 YRS MAKING/ PRODUCING /MASTERING FOR ALL MAJOR LABELS

    A MUST FOR ANY REAL ENGINEER

    AS FORMER MASTERING ENGINEER/ PRODUCER FOR COLUMBIA / EPIC RECORDS AND 51 YRS IN THE BIZZ . MY EARS LOVE THESE GUYS !! THEY HELP YOU FINE TUNE YOUR MIX . I HAVE 6 SETS OF MONITORS AND THE MIX TRANSLATES TO ALL , THE MIX SETTLES DOWN AND KEEPS THE LOOSE ENDS IN CHECK. AT 71 YRS OLD IVE USED THEM ALL, THESE CUBES WORK JUST GREAT . IF YOUR LOOKING TO DAZZLE YOUR CLIENTS ..BUY SOME THING WITH A LOT HYPED COLOR AND WHEN YOUR RECORD COME BACK ITLL SUCK !!!

  • from smithfield, va October 23, 2012Music Background:
    Audio Engineer, Guitarist.

    Truly great tools.

    These little guys are truly revealing in the mid range. Everyone should have a pair.

  • from USA February 29, 2012Music Background:
    Publisher

    Mixcubes Are Lifesavers

    I was skeptical at first but once I got these guys up and running (and burnt in) I was amazed how easy it was to listen through these in mono and hear everything going on in the mix from levels to mid range mud. If you can make it sound good on these, it will sound good anywhere. I use them more than my mains now. If you are having trouble with translation from your room to your car / ipod definitely try these out. They will open your eyes and make it possible for you to hear clearly without question what is happening in your mix.

  • from United States November 1, 2013Music Background:
    Musician, engineer, producer, Rockpile Recording

    These perform as advertised

    I heard about these through fellow recorders and kept seeing them in photos of bigger studios, so I decided to try them out. I had heard that they sounded terrible and they do! They offer a fantastic representation of what a typical cheap set of speakers is going to sound like. I use them regularly while mixing to see where my mix is heading.
    I would emphasize though, that these are not designed to be your primary monitors. If you can afford them they're a great tool for translating to a wider variety of listening mediums.

  • from Fort Wayne, Indiana June 18, 2013Music Background:
    Composer, Producer

    Fantastic for mixing!

    These do exactly what I need them to do and at an affordable price. I don't need high dollar speakers. These tell me everything I need to know. With the Presonus Central Station, I can set it to mono and turn off one of these cubes to hear my mix coming from a single sound source. Very helpful.

    I wouldn't recommend these as your ONLY studio monitor as they aren't great for just listening to music or playing instruments through etc. I have a pair of Samson monitors for that loud stuff, also a pair of Yamaha's for up-close listening..

  • from Los Angeles March 31, 2013Music Background:
    Recording/Mixing Engineer

    Avantone Mixcubes

    Great Speakers! Translate mids so well!

  • from Broward County, FLA. September 26, 2014Music Background:
    Musician, home studio recording

    Avantone mix cubes!

    Ive only had 'em for a month or so, so I'm just beginning to learn how to work with them. Ive done two songs and they've already proven themselves. Ive gotten immediately better with the low end,and all I had to do was start learning how to really listen. A great addition to my home studio!!

  • from Newark, CA July 13, 2013Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Hobbyist/Wannabe Pro Musician

    More Than I Expected

    Pro’s: Compact, lightweight and easy to mount and fit into virtually any studio configuration no matter how small.

    Con’s: Nothing yet; they do pretty much what they’re advertized to do; reveal the harsh midrange spectrum which does need some getting used to.

    Overall, these Avantone Active MixCubes are what I hoped for and more. I have to say, they do live up to their namesake; the Auratone or as it’s more affectionately known as, the “Horrortone”. But then again, they are perfect for what they do. With so many people nowadays listening to music, myself included, on small phones and other devices never intended for high fidelity, the mixing world has been forced into mixing to these devices because after all, what the customer wants, the customer gets.

    But even so, I have noticed an overall improvement on all of my mixes regardless of what my final play-back system is. Switching back & forth from my main monitors during the mixing process, (ADAM AX7’s with a sub), these have enabled me to hear “through” the smoothness of full range monitors and dig into the harshness presented by these Avantone’s. They really have done more than I expected. I’m grateful to my good friend who recommended them to me. Here's one for you Jim!!!!

Questions about the Avantone Pro Active MixCubes Powered Studio Monitor Pair - Gloss Black?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close