0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart

Avantone Pro MixCubes 5.25" Passive Reference Monitor Pair - Retro Cream Reviews

4.5 stars based on 9 customer reviews
Questions about the Avantone Pro MixCubes 5.25" Passive Reference Monitor Pair - Retro Cream?

Questions about the Avantone Pro MixCubes 5.25" Passive Reference Monitor Pair - Retro Cream?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Jurupa Valley California October 11, 2015Music Background:
    Published Songwriter

    Mix Cubes Are outstanding

    I've been using NS-10Ms as my go to near field monitors for 15 years now. I installed a set of passive MixCubes about two weeks ago and I will never go back to the NS-10Ms. I suddenly heard the good bad and ugly of my recordings. Things the 10Ms never could reveal. What makes them extremely cool is the fact that what you hear is what comes out on a car stereo, iPad , or any current listing device everyone is using. In fact I can now switch between my sony professional dynamic head phones and the cubes and they sound almost identical with exception to the low end frequencies accompanying the bass and kick drum.

    If you are still mixing with home stereo speakers or any other new fanged near field speakers, do yourself a favor and drop the bucks and pick up a pair. Trust me you will be blown away by the accuracy and they will immediately improve your mix.

  • from January 7, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Not looking back

    I've been mixing with dynaudio bm6a mark 1s for the last 4 years or so. My mix quality always came out less than desired. I thought my mixes were rockin only to be greatly disappointed when playing them back in my car, ipod, or laptop (pretty much the only places people listen to music). I bought these cubes about a year ago and they are, without exaggeration, the biggest leap forward for my mixes. They've done what I've needed so much better than I thought they ever would; I've actually since totally turned off my dynaudios and use the avantones for my primary monitors, using other speakers to check bass.

    I would not agree these speakers sound "bad" at all. I would say they don't color and hype any mids or highs like modern hifi speakers. I actually listen to itunes and spotify on them everyday. If the music sounds bad on em, it aint the speakers fault...

    If someone steals em, buying again before I mix again.

  • from hawaii March 29, 2012Music Background:
    serious hobbyist but not pro yet

    secret weapon mmmm maybe not anymore!

    its no secret anymore cause i got a pair lol...can't agree more with all review on this one. pair it up with my mackies hr826mk11 even more awsome so get your sets today.

  • from Vacaville Ca. October 14, 2010Music Background:
    Recording Engineer

    A SECRET MIX WEAPON !

    I spend countless hours mixing and mastering,Yet a studio is not complete without the Avantone Mix Cubes,If you like to mix your own music with professional results look no futher because these cubes are awsome! When it come to cross referencing your mix. these cream blocks are a no brainer to have in your music arson a must have!

  • from South Africa July 14, 2010Music Background:
    Producer/Engineer, Pro musician

    Mix right?

    Your mix may sound good in the studio, but what about on the radio, in the car or HiFi? This is why I use the avantone MixCubes... I know my mixes will sound good everywhere! Very precise and spot on! This is simply a must have!

  • from Temple, TX October 28, 2007Music Background:
    Avid home recording enthusiast

    Check your mix

    Excellent tool to check your mix - they instantly reveal the flaws your studio monitors hide. (Too much bass - voices getting lost in the mix - a snare that sounds great in hi-fi but sounds like a gunshot on crud speakers.

    If my mix sounds good on my Mackie 824s and these it will travel anywhere.

    Highly, highly recommended as a secondary mix check tool.

  • from Van Nuys, Ca. April 25, 2012Music Background:
    professional recording artist, producer, songwriter,engineer

    very useful

    very useful to check your mix , good alternate speaker to emulate car and computer listening

  • from New York, NY April 28, 2007Music Background:
    Recording Engineer

    The best "worst" monitors

    Nothing will sound good on these speakers but... They are completely honest about a few important things. 1. Vocal/Leads Level, 2. Kick/Bass Balance. 3. Because there is no crossover the mid-range information is much different than professional monitors (no phase issues), this can prove to be a tremendous help, especially with 500hz-5khz range. Once you learn what "sounds good" on these things, and you use them for their intended purpose, your mix translation will improve greatly. Highly recommended for "B" monitors. They look cool to boot. Also kind of cool if you want to reamp to a nasty little speaker.

  • from May 23, 2014Music Background:
    engineer

    Mic stand mount is junk

    Speakers sound as they should, no problem there. HOWEVER; there is a flaw in the mic stand mount on the bottom of the speaker. If you are purchasing these to mount on mic stands BEWARE. I had an awful time trying to thread these, just kept spinning and spinning. I did put them upside down to make it easier, even trying stands from 2 different manufactures but they just wouldnt screw in. Finally I was able to get them barely on, really looks like you have to try to cross thread these if you want them to stay put.

Questions about the Avantone Pro MixCubes 5.25" Passive Reference Monitor Pair - Retro Cream?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway