0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month

Moog Minitaur Analog Bass Synthesizer Reviews

4.5 stars based on 19 customer reviews
Questions about the Moog Minitaur Analog Bass Synthesizer?

Questions about the Moog Minitaur Analog Bass Synthesizer?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

Sweetwater Advice

  • Nick Schenkel

    I got a chance to check this out while it was in development, and can personally vouch for the Moog Minitaur as being every bit as cool as you hope it is. Holy cow; what an amazing little synth! While it is dedicated to bass, it can generate plenty of other timbres and pitches; it just won't go the FULL length of the keyboard (the ones I played with could get to about an octave above middle C). Still, I would gladly pay this much for a good plug-in, let alone a true analog synthesizer! The Moog Minitaur will shake your walls, knock stuff off of your desk with sonic awesomeness, and leave you wondering how such an amazing instrument can sound so huge and cost so little. I've already got mine on order!

  • Nitish Kulkarni

    Coming from a strong soft-synth background, I've found the Moog Minitaur both fun and easy to use. This monophonic synth's set of essential waveforms and sound-shaping tools lets me get creative quickly, so I can dial in a massive range of bass sounds in minutes. It also integrates perfectly with my DAW and MIDI controller, so it fits comfortably into my regular workflow.

  • from Myrtle Beach, SC February 4, 2017Music Background:
    Bass player / music hobbyist

    Minitaur = BASS!

    This is my first synthesizer. I've always loved the classic Moog Taurus pedals and the floor shaking bottom end they produced. Since I already own a set of Roland PK-5A MIDI pedals, this was a no-brainer. I now have classic Moog bass madness at the touch of my feet. Don't let the smaller price tag or the smaller sized module (compared to the Taurus) fool you - this thing puts out some BASS!!!! With some tinkering, you can dial in the classic Taurus sounds and a whole load of other-worldly synth sounds.I've only had this thing one day and I'm hooked.

    As always, I gotta give a shout out to Sweetwater and my sales engineer Dave Brow. Every time I order from Sweetwater, I become that much more of a lifetime customer. I ordered this thing mid-afternoon Wednesday and it arrived on Friday morning. You can't beat that! These guys are amazing.

    If you're looking for earth-shaking bass in a compact, affordable module and want it quick? Look no further than the Moog Minitaur from Sweetwater. You won't regret it!

  • from Oregon December 29, 2015Music Background:
    Musician; Production and Recording

    Awesome Growl!!!

    I'm biased, I love everything Moog, but you gotta hear this thing. Rich frequency sweeps, rubber band bounce, anything you can create! Add a CP-251 and a couple of Moogerfooger pedals and you have quite a sound generator.

  • from Phoenix, AZ October 30, 2015Music Background:
    Electronic Music Producer

    Maxi Features

    I love my new Minitaur. There's nothing like owning quality hand-crafted gear from Moog. The unit is very solid, all the knobs are very tight and smooth and the buttons have a nice positive feedback click. The sound is unmistakably Moog Taurus. It is a bit dry so it sounds best run through some effects. The greatest feature, however, is it's MIDI functionality(either from 5-pin or from USB MIDI). Every knob parameter can be controlled via MIDI and also some parameters that aren't on the front panel. The unit looks great with the wood side panels and matches my other Moog gear. Get it--you won't be disappointed!

  • from June 30, 2015

    amazing!

    Its amazing. its quick. and it is well made. Unless u plan on getting a Sub phatty or a Sub 37, this is the best bass sound out there. and it dang cheep for what u get.

  • from March 11, 2015Music Background:
    Performer

    Moog Minitaur Reset

    Has your Moog Minitaur stopped making sound after a firmware update? When I tried to update my Minitaur's firmware, it stopped producing sound. I was frustrated but finally found a way to reset it. Hold in all 4 buttons, Oscillators 1, 2, Release, and Glide, then the buttons will start flashing. With buttons flashing hit any note on your MIDI controller and it should immediately start working again. I just played my first gig with my Minitaur and the sound was exactly what I have been looking for. I am very happy with this synthesizer.

  • from Geneva, IL January 26, 2015Music Background:
    Hobbyist/Novice of All Trades

    Fantastic Synth

    This was my first analog synth, and let me tell you, it's a great little setup. Made it very easy to learn to make your own sounds that actually sound good! Had a bit of instruction with it on what each knob does which helped me out a lot as a beginner. Has that classic Moog sound and has the excellent bass tone a lot of people (myself included) are looking for these days. Well worth the money, and for me this has started a chronic case of synth fever.

    If you're looking for something that's a good value with a classic sound, or just looking to get your foot in the door when it comes to synthesizers, this is the one for you!

  • from Hartford August 16, 2014Music Background:
    Semi Pro Musician

    Great Bass Synth

    I like how full, warm, and tweak-able this unit is. I use it mainly with my b3 clone (blues jazz) as I don't like the warble of the leslie in the bass. This has exceeded my expectations. Nothing like true analog. Very sturdy and reliable. Nothing negative to say. Would replace it immediately is lost or stolen.

  • from Venice, FL July 19, 2014Music Background:
    maker of

    Dope little box

    Glad I finally jumped the fence on this. The sound is so smooth, and the controls are straight to the point. It's a piece of cake to get exactly what kind of sound I am trying to create.

  • from Tampa, FL USA February 25, 2014

    Awesome!

    I play mostly Industrial, Ambient, Synth Pop. I was looking for a bass synth to complement my Virus TI2, Elektron A4, and other hardware and software synths. While those synths offered some decent bass sounds, I was looking for that gritty, dirty bass that I just couldn't manage to get out of my current setup. So, I ordered the Minitaur thinking the Moog sound was probably what I was looking for. This synth delivered more than I expected. It just sounds so good and is very easy to program. On top of that, this little box is a lot of fun to use. I have it connected it to my A4's sequencer via CV and it is absolutely awesome. Additionally, with the current Sweetwater 24 month interest-free promotion, this purchase was a no-brainer for me and is clearly one of the best purchases I've made in a while. Thank you Sweetwater for the great service and speedy delivery.

  • from October 23, 2013Music Background:
    Producer/DJ

    The minitaur is amazing!

    The minitaur is a little beast! I am extremely happy with this piece! Thank so much for it! I have problems with the side panels... The don't fit... The screws can't go all the way in i wanted to put that beautiful vintage moog look on it but that didn't work out however that is not important brcause the sound of it is pure gold! An amazing piece of equipment!
    Thank you!
    Ivan Manov

  • from United States March 4, 2013Music Background:
    Pro musician

    Love my Minitaur and so does my Pastor

    It's been a few weeks to get the art of playing bass with my feet as well as with my hands but now that I'm getting a little proficient, I can say it was well worth the effort and the purchase of the Minitaur. I'm getting compliments on the fat sound it produces. It's now a part of the overall band sound and it's been expressed that we can't go back to being without that fat Moog sound. My pastor of my church wants it on every song, seems like. Haha. This was a great buy.

  • from Detroit, MI November 27, 2012Music Background:
    professional pianist and keyboardist

    Outstanding

    Up to this point the one thing I always felt I was missing was an analog synth. The release of this product, plus the Sweetwater 3 payment plan has finally made it possible for me to have exactly that. It doesn't play anything above C4, but for now I'm totally happy to stick with Massive and Zeta 2 for my leads, and use the Minitaur for all synth bass projects. It totally lives up to all expectations. It IS the sound I was looking for!

  • from Richmond, Virginia August 27, 2012Music Background:
    Ambient Techno, Electro Synth, Justin Bieber Bubblegum pop!

    One heck of a possibility

    I have been playing VST's, Virtual Analog Synths, Programming Midi (not on computer, but with rack modules and samplers) going on 10 years and I wanted something I could add character to my songs, preferably a bass synth. I ordered up this unit after speaking with my rep, Aaron Smith, and recieved it within 3 days of the order. After hooking up the unit to my favorite midi controller, I read the instructions carefully, and went to work creating a very nice hard bass line. It took about a half hour to get the hang of the buttons and knobs, but once you have it dialed in to how you want it to sound, this will produce that bass line other synths can't. Would I reccomend it to anyone? No, only novice synth users who can understand and appreciate synthesizers. A kid who is looking to create dubstep wobble sh!t from this should know better and spend their money on a good set of monitors. For the price, I think its about right. The build quality is 10 out of 10, Solid sturdy metal case that can handle alot of use. Made in America by Moog, I support that very much, as not many synths are made in Germany (Waldorf) or England (Novation) They are all manufactured in China. Try this before you buy this, I bought it on a whim and was happy with my decision. If you like knob turning, analog synth experience, this is the one for you. If your looking to make dubstep, go buy a copy of Ableton Live Suite and make crooked unamusing garbage music like Skrillex.

  • from North Canton, Ohio December 5, 2015

    Specialized, Simple, Effective

    Affordable analog synthesis. Some people are put off by the Minitaur's limited programming (no PWM, lack of oscillator sync as examples) and note restriction. They are fair criticisms. However, for the price you get the highest quality monophonic synth capable of covering all the Moog-ish bass sounds. The tone is different from the Sub-Phatty/Sub-37 and Voyager schools, allowing the Minitaur to stand on its own. Great little synth that is a worthy addition to any synth arsenal.

  • from Dayton, Ohio July 31, 2014Music Background:
    Electronic Music Production / Sound Design

    Fat!

    This analog synth generates some of the fattest bass out there! Many VST's out today are capable of creating great analog sounding bass (Sylenth1 for example) but after hearing the Moog Minitaur in person, the difference between digital recreations of analog circuitry and true analog are very clear. If your looking for bass that has warmth, fullness, and can shake the hell out of any monitoring environment, Moog Minitaur is defiantly the answer. Plus with DAW automation control over every parameter, its a no brainier.

  • from Baton Rouge July 17, 2012Music Background:
    DJ/Producer

    Does what it does, as advertised

    Well, I wish it did more, but it wasn't designed for that, was it? For a bass machine, it can't be beat. This is my first analog synth, and I won't be going back. I'm tired of menu diving, and I want to play my synths like a real instrument, and this allows me to do just that. No regrets. If you're tired of grainy, crappy digital basses, pick one up. There are a few kinks with the firmware, such as hanging notes, etc., but I'm confident these will be sorted out.

  • from Los Angeles CA USA May 24, 2012Music Background:
    Professional touring bassist

    Taurus 3 vs the Minitaur

    So I own a set of Moog Taurus 3 Pedals... but since I fly and play most of the time it's not realistic to bring them since they weigh 85lbs in their case. The way Airlines destroy gear it was too expensive an instrument to subject to such horror. I needed an easy solution to have the same sound in a rig that travels easier. So when I heard about the Minitaur I jumped on it immediately. I got this unit from Sweetwater. Once it arrived I set it up in my touring rig and then I got out my Taurus 3 Pedals and put them side by side. I found the Minitaur to be very easy and intuitive to dial in. So I dialed up the Taurus sound and compared them in my studio. Using the real thing to guide me I was able to program the sound. But alas the real Taurus 3 has some serious Mojo that the Minitaur just doesn't quite have. But the difference is negligable and as amazing as the Minitaur sounds it's well worth it! As a touring musician I rely on being able to save presets and not have to worry about my sounds changing night to night. But the Minitaur has no programability to save presets and I will have to make sure everything is set each time. This will include tuning as well since by band tunes down a half step live. (This makes the vocalist happy). Anyhow if you want a nice alternative to the Taurus pedals the Minitaur certainly is that. However when in my home town for a show I will be using my Taurus pedals.

  • from Atlanta, GA May 26, 2016Music Background:
    Music producer/engineer

    Okay, but not for me.

    I wanted to like the minitaur but I'm returning it tomorrow and here's why. Between my vst library and my rack romplers, I couldn't find anything sonically in the minitaur that I can't already produce and believe me I put it through the ringer tweaking it. It's a cool unit, maybe for $199 I'd keep it, but at $499 I can't justify it taking three rack spaces for its functionality. I've also noticed some issues with the usb connectivity. When plugged directly into the Mac it produces a high pitch squeal. I had it plugged into a profire 2626 > adat >Scarlett 18i20. I thought it was a clock problem at first, but when I plugged the minitaurs usb into a powered hub, the squeal stopped. That makes me suspect there may be sub par engineering on the usb circuit. The midi setup through the minitaur editor was fairly easy as was registration. I have no doubt that Moog is an excellent company, but the minitaur just isn't for me.

  • from January 28, 2017

    Nice - but not a Moog.

    This IS a nice synth; it's very versatile, especially in the latest versions.

    Tragically, however, the Minitaur doesn't play above middle of the keyboard, with different firmwares having more or less useful behaviour at this point. Silence (most useful to me) was superceded by highest octave wrap-around in the latest firmware! That pissed me off! Some have argued that 'it's a bass synth, why would it' - but compare the Erebus Dreadbox: in tune for just a few octaves, but they're anywhere you want them.

    The biggest downside for me, the biggest of all, is that it does not sound like a Moog filter. It's a good filter, it's musical, but it simply does not go Moog like a Moog filter should. I've owned several Moogs over the years, and, yes, the filter differs somewhat across the various models, but it always has a heavenly Moog sweep.

    The Minitaur doesn't. Listen to any demo while sweeping with some resonance. It's nice, but it's not a Moog. Sonicstate, politely, says the resonance doesn't seem to be part of the sweep, but overlayed on it. That's a sophisticated way of saying: it doesn't sound Moog.

    I sold mine.

Questions about the Moog Minitaur Analog Bass Synthesizer?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway