rrrabuyvsvsveytfazersurdwarubawvev
0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
June 2017 Giveaway

RJM Music Mini Amp Gizmo Reviews

5.0 stars based on 10 customer reviews
Questions about the RJM Music Mini Amp Gizmo?

Questions about the RJM Music Mini Amp Gizmo?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Dickson, TN March 9, 2017

    Outstanding

    I bought this to use with my Line 6 Helix and my Mesa Roadster. I really wanted the features of the Helix, while keeping my amp's natural distortion, and being able to use the Helix to control the amp's channel switching. The Mini Amp Gizmo allows me to do that with perfection! Easy setup and I was up and going within minutes!

  • from Pacific Northwest February 6, 2017Music Background:
    Semi-professional musician

    Perfect and Simple

    Mini-Amp Gizmo is the perfect device for building out your rack in conjunction with a Mark V. I'm using it with a Ground Control and GCX switcher. The combination is a snap to set up, and it makes creating presets using the amp's three channels, loop, eq and reverb so easy. It's small enough to fit into the pedal drawer of your rack, and it works great with a VooDoo power supply too. Oh, and last, the documentation/setup instructions are simple and well done.

    Make sure to purchase the correct cable, and you are good to go!

  • from St. Louis August 3, 2013Music Background:
    amateur recording engineer, life-time musician, guitarist for 14 years...

    Exactly what you need!

    This allows me to use my effects floorboard (Line 6 HD500X) to switch channels on my amp. For example, my Egnater Vengeance's footswitch has the following buttons: Channel (clean/dist), Mids1, Mids 2, Effects Loop, Reverb, Master 1/2. I no longer need my footswitch, it can all be controlled by hooking this bad boy up to my amp and my Line 6 pedal. Use a floorboard/MIDI controller to run into the Amp Gizmo and the Amp Gizmo has a special cable (not included) that runs from the Amp Gizmo into your amps footswitch jack(s).

    A special note: my special cable for my amp is 1/4" TRS, meaning that it is stereo. I.e. A typical 1/4" cable (like a guitar cable) with the black ring half-way up the tip. This allows each 1/4" to switch two different things from the same jack if that is what your amp requires.

  • from May 14, 2013Music Background:
    Semi Pro Musician

    What a great solution

    After watching my favorite bands on youTube and their live rig set up I have been wanting to go midi with my amp. I was expecting to spend some good money on a midi setup. Thank goodness I stumbled upon a youTube video of the Mini Amp Gizmo. I was floored at the video demo of how easy it was to set up.
    So, ...I bought one. And it is perfect. Totally does what it says. Changes all my amp channel, reverb, and effects loop on and off via midi from my Line 6 HD500. I play in a cover band professionally and this little gizmo is making my stage life easier. No more "toe tap dancing"!!!

  • from KY August 2, 2012Music Background:
    Weekend Guitar Warrior.

    Great Device

    One word review: WOW!
    More in-depth review:

    I have a MB MarkV and a GT-10. I purchased the mini amp gizmo to switch the amps functions via the GT-10. Right out of the box the MAG worked fine. The reverb switch #8 is inverted: however the included instructions are very easy to follow. My only trouble was getting the MAG to accept midi commands from my GT-10. After sending my midi settings to RJM they suggested one change and then check my midi cable (not supplied with the MAG). Sure enough it was my old cable. Switched cables, reset the MAG everything works fine. This is one rugged unit, does everything I want out of it. Communication with RJM was prompt and helpful.

    This is a great product from a great company. My only wish is that the custom cable that goes from the MAG to my MARK V was more than 10’. 15’ or 20’ would have been perfect. I currently have the MAG on my pedal board. If I want to go farther than 10’ I will have to mount it on my amp and use a long midi cable to go to my GT-10. All-in-all a very small gripe for such a great product and great company. Buy this unit and stop the tap dancing! My biggest regret is that I waited 1 ½ years after buying my Mark V to get this unit.

    Oh Sweetwater was awesome as usual. Prompt communication, very friendly sales associate, and fast shipping. Can’t go wrong ordering from them.

  • from Atlanta, GA February 7, 2012Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    RJM Amp Gizmo

    Awesome product, very easy to program and work. Integrating your amp on the MIDI channel makes everything so much easier, I can control everything from my TC unit now and all the distortion comes from the tube amp controlled by the gizmo.

  • from East Coast April 11, 2011Music Background:
    Guitarist for more than 20 years

    RJM Mini Amp Giz

    Most needed access... Allows my GT10 to change channels on Mesa & PV amps (each has it's own interface cable sold separatly) with patch changes. Realize the full potential of the 4 cable method. The RJM was truly the missing link to obtain the best sonic attributes of both Multi FX and pure tube tone!!!!

  • from San Francisco, CA February 4, 2011Music Background:
    20 Years Rockin'

    The Missing Link

    i bought this to switch my Mark V amp with a midi foot controller and multi-effects unit. it works like a champ. very easy to setup and does exactly what it's supposed to do. without it my pedal board would have to be about a foot longer and i'd be doing the tap dance. i'm all for technology that makes our lives easier instead of more complicated!

  • from September 11, 2015

    Cool !

    Very cood ! Easy to use ! Great gear

  • from NW Ohio August 8, 2012Music Background:
    Home Studio Pro Hobbyist Musican Engineer Producer Dreamer

    Works Just Like It States...

    ...once you have the right setting.
    I actually purchased one of these quite some time ago for the same Mesa MkV head it's now being used with (via a POD HD500), but returned it 'cause instead of switching when a button was pressed, it made a grinding noise like it was stuck switching the channels. This unit did the exact same thing, however, once I read the manual's section about choosing the appropriate amp/channel type setting, it works exactly as stated and has enabled putting together quite an impressive rig. The RJM MAG and the POD HD500 in 4CM with the MkV Head offers an incredible amount of tonal options, from the head alone to the head with FX in front of the pre and in the loop, to using the modeled pre's with the MkV's poweramp. Really lovin' this setup. Thanks RJM!
    More sole issue with this unit is deciding where and how to mount it. Right now - as I'm not currently playing out - it simply sits on top of the head/cab, however, I'll probably end up mounting it on a pedal board which will put it right with my only complaint about the POD HD500: bending over to make changes and save presets. That said; this waist of mine can use the exercise. hehe
    Thanks again RJM and Sweetwater!

Questions about the RJM Music Mini Amp Gizmo?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway