rrrabuyvsvsveytfazersurdwarubawvev
0% Interest for 36 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
July 4 Financing

Vox Mini5 Rhythm 5-watt 1x6.5" Portable Amp with On-board Rhythm Reviews

4.5 stars based on 21 customer reviews
Questions about the Vox Mini5 Rhythm 5-watt 1x6.5" Portable Amp with On-board Rhythm?

Questions about the Vox Mini5 Rhythm 5-watt 1x6.5" Portable Amp with On-board Rhythm?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Arizona April 21, 2017

    Perfect practice amp

    I love this little amp. Its just what I needed to practice. The amp models are great. The effects are great if you just want to practice and bypass your pedal board. The rhythm function is cool and fun to practice too. The only snag is it didnt come with the AC adapter but a quick email to my advisor, Clint, and its on the way. Im glad it takes batteries :-)

  • from Parma, OH August 10, 2016Music Background:
    Make music for love of it!

    Vox rocks period

    Never ever disappointed on Vox Amps!!! Everything I wanted, expected & more!!! Sound, quality, extras Love fact can dial it down with out sacrificing tone or sound!!! Having drums on board is big bonus for practice or just solo jamming!!! Can't beat this amp at this level or Sweetwater for service

  • from Philly March 5, 2016

    Much better than expected!

    Who knew you could get a really nice amp for just $160? If you think that at that price it must be a real piece of crap, you'd be wrong! Buy it! You'll love it. Every statement in the ad is true.

    SW's "No Hassle" Return Policy not needed on this one. I can pretty much guarantee that you won't be sending it back.

  • from February 2, 2016

    Really Impressed

    This combo amp does it all(Effects, Amp Models, Drum Machine!!)
    The sound is great also. You can even put a mic. in it.
    I haven`t seen any amp combos that have all these features.
    I like that it small. I put it on my bed at times because it`s so portable. It feels nice to have it so close, so if I want to change an effect or something it`s right there.
    I find I use it more then my other bigger amps.

  • from Verona, NJ January 23, 2016

    Great versatile little amp

    Well, it's small, light, packed with amp simulators, guitar effects, tuner, mic/aux/headphones, and drum machine. The amps have a wide range of simulators and the drums have many patterns w/level and tempo controls. Finally, you can switch the power from 5w to 1.5w or 0.1 watts - keeping the tone but cutting the power level. Oh yeah, and it can run on either the supplied power cord or batteries to use it on the go.

    Sounds awesome. Packs great volume, tone, and super versatile. Am very happy with it.

  • from San Diego July 14, 2015Music Background:
    Been There, Done That

    WOWWWWWWWW!!!!!!!!

    I got my little mini guitar amp yesterday and it is amazing. It is a battery powered monster of sound and music, and so small that it is like carrying a pair of shoes. The sounds, rythmns and features are far better than I expected. Vox has surpassed and far outrun Marshall amps for sound quality and functionality.

    Will be using this for a beach band in a surf ministry, Bible studies, and traveling the world.

  • from June 8, 2015Music Background:
    Playing over 50 years

    Shocked, really.

    I'd never done the tiny amp thing before and despite tons of great reviews on the Vox Mini5 I had LOW expectations. I mean, seriously, how good could it be?

    Well, golly gee (apparently you cannot use the "d" word), it can be VERY VERY GOOD and I'm glad I got one. The various models are fine as are the effects. The rhythm part is cool too and great for working on tempo. And for as small as it is it's amazing to me how LOUD it is.

    All in all, I think it's well worth the money. If my cat ate it I'd buy another immediately.

  • from November 24, 2014

    Excellent Value + Powerful Performance

    This is a great entry level amp, the type I wish would have existed when I started. The amp tone modeling functions sound great and are a solid introduction to a variety of effects. The rhythm section is easy to use and a knob to control tempo is very intuitive. As other reviewers have noted, this little guy is LOUD for it's size, don't be fooled by it's diminutive stature!

  • from Chester, TX April 10, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Awesome Little Amp With a Big Sound

    Contains all the features I've been wanting in a practice amp. The convenience of battery power is an additional convenience as our acoustic jamming sessions are located where power is unavailable & this little amp allows an electric guitar in the mix. I was impressed with the many features. The volume was surprisingly loud & articulately definitive. With a Sweetwater two year guarantee, this item is a great value. I feel confident that I'll be getting my money's worth. Love it!

  • from Fort Worth April 2, 2014Music Background:
    Lifelong picker and grinner.

    Excellent Practice Amp

    I've used this for a few weeks now, and really like the size/weight/sound/features. I run it on AA batteries so I can carry it around without the hassle of a power cord. Battery life seem to be very good (still on first set). The modeling modes are very natural sounding and plenty of flexibility to get a sound I like. The microphone input is also a great feature if you sign-along. It runs an SM58 just fine, and you can add reverb to the vocals. I love the rhythm feature because I tend to get sloppy on timing when I am learning new stuff, and the drum beats make me learn the songs and chord changes in time. The 6.5" speaker can crank out some sound at 5 watts, without sounding strained. And the adjustable power setting is nice when trying to be considerate of others. The only nit I have is the built-in tuner, which only tunes to the E note. A chromatic tuner would have been nice, but I already have a few good tuners so that is no buggy.

    Highly recommended.

  • from Ashland, OH March 28, 2014Music Background:
    17 Years Guitar, 15 Years Bass

    A Sweet Practice Amp

    I love this little guy. It has a slew of features that lets you dial most amp tones. It has three power settings; 0.5w, 1.5w and 5w... I don't know how they did it, but it's actually quite loud. I usually just practice around the house with the power set at 0.5w with the volume knob only turned 1/3 the way up. A couple of my favorite features are the 3.5mm input jack, which I use to run my iPhone through to play backing tracks while I play the blues or run scales and the fact that it runs off of 6 AA batteries for 19 hours makes it untouchable. I love being able to just pick it up and go sit anywhere and play. The built in Rhythm Section with adjustable speeds and 10 different drumming styles (each with 3 variations) is awesome when coupled with a Looping stomp box. I recommend this amp to anyone and everyone who needs a practical practice amp.

  • from Vermont March 4, 2014Music Background:
    Musician

    It's a Keeper

    This amp does everything VOX says it will do, well built and has excellent sound. After playing for 35+ years I have several vintage amps and wish I could get the same variety of tones/affects this Mini5 can produce. Although this is a 5w practice amp, its much louder than you would expect and retains the tonal quality on all three wattage settings. The drum machine is easy to use and a well thought out option for chord progressions or an authentic sounding beat for lead practice. I especially like the 1/8 aux input for playing along with backing tracks and with the battery back-up you can play, sing and carry a band with you anywhere. Lastly, you wont find a better warranty or customer driven service than Sweetwater!!!!

  • from Hercules,CA February 13, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist.

    Best things come in small packages

    I got mine today Thursday 02/13/2014, at 1230 hours and all I can say is Wow!!!! This is an excellent little amp. For practice it cranks out plenty of sound and the modeling features and effects cover all the basics. I especially like the ability to scale the power from 4 watts to 1/4 watt.The Rhythm section is great with many settings and styles. They are multi-instrument and some with hand claps. Awesome! The microphone section will have you sounding like Tony Bennett! or Dianna Krall (if you are a gal that is)

  • from Seattle, WA August 22, 2013Music Background:
    former Professional; now hobbyist

    Awesome little amp

    I purchased this last month upon re-engaging music after having played professionally in my younger years. In those days, I had Marshall stack. So, I was pretty apprehensive that a small amp would leave me with anything other than discontent and buyer remorse. Not so! This little amp is impressive. The sounds you can get from it are amazing and the effects are a really nice addition. A key piece of the picture is the rhythm/drum machine - great for practicing scales or running through ideas. I highly recommend the amp.

  • from Pine Bush, NY July 16, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Follow up

    Okay, the more I use this amp, the more I think I should have given it 5 stars. Yes it is a small practice amp, and that's why I only gave it 4stars, But as far as small practice amps go, this thing is awsome.

  • from WADDELL, AZ May 30, 2017Music Background:
    Intermediate player

    Great little amp

    This is an awesome little amp. I have read some reviews that knock it because of the size but IT'S A LITTLE AMP so review it for what it is. The amp model selections are nice and allow several tone/effect options for a quick practice session without hooking up your pedals. I am still on the initial set of batteries and have yet to need to plug it in. The only reason I am not giving it 5 stars is because the drum rhythm could use 1 or 2 more options like a blues or a second rock beat but what is there is helpful if you do not have any other rhythm device or don't feel like hooking one up. A small complaint is the strap is about an inch to short so when you have it attached it will not slide back behind the amp but I think I can stretch it out enough. But a great sounding amp!

  • from Sycamore, IL July 24, 2014

    Fun little amp!

    I've been playing for years and have owned the gambit of amplifiers but I am having a blast getting to know this cool little practice amp. Shout out to my Sweetwater Sales Engineer, Paul Rowan for always guiding me to the perfect solutions!

  • from Bear Creek Wis USA July 11, 2014Music Background:
    owened a music store for 20 years now retired

    VOX mini 5

    It has great sound for the size and also great rhythm's and is portable I guess the best is Sweetwater the follow up was the best I have had from any company so keep up the good work and service very fast from order to shipment Denny Pinno

  • from Ut. USA August 10, 2013Music Background:
    Mucisian

    Vox Amp

    I have used a Roland Cube battery amp because of the sound, And portability even though it only has 2.5W, when I cranked it up it got some distortion. I have been looking for a stronger amp that can give me the power and the sound I Like The VOX has done it, with 5W. AC&battery is just right for me. The added rhythms are great, but I wish this amp could be programed for other rhythms ??? Can It?

  • from Pine Bush, NY July 11, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Dang, Vox really did a great job.

    I have had just about every Vox DA series amp over the years and liked them all. Right now I've been using the now discontinued DA-5, which has been my go to amp, and yes, I am just an amateur guitarist. But this little amp really succeeds in being substantially better...sound, models, effects, etc, but the rhythm is awesome. fyi, my other amps that I have are a Blackstar HT-1R, a great amp and a Fender 25R, a so-so amp, but not bad.

  • from ohio March 4, 2016Music Background:
    semi-pro, i play in bars a few times a month

    Not So Fast

    Im going to compare this amp to the two Vox Mini 3 amps ive owned for years. I bought this Mini 5 blindly because the Mini 3 is such a wonderful little amp, figured....how could i go wrong? I didnt exactly go wrong, this is a nice amp but does not compare to the Mini 3 in several ways. I wanted this amp to be louder, i dont think it is, but how do you compare a 2 watt difference? The first thing i noticed was how inferior the reverb sounded and how cheap the delay was, but ill stop there because crappy verb is better than no verb. I was really disapointed that the compressor wasnt the same either, by this time i was wondering if this unit was even made by the same company. My rational for this disapointment will be "no one will know the difference but me".

Questions about the Vox Mini5 Rhythm 5-watt 1x6.5" Portable Amp with On-board Rhythm?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway