0% Interest for 36 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
July 4 Financing

MOTU MIDI Express 128 Reviews

4.5 stars based on 19 customer reviews
Questions about the MOTU MIDI Express 128?

Questions about the MOTU MIDI Express 128?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

Sweetwater Advice

  • Austin Moss

    If you like MIDI modules and need the software routing functionality of a MTP, but don't need SMPTE, then the MIDIExp128 is what you need! Don't worry about yet another power conditioner, it's USB powered.

  • Nick Schenkel

    This rock-solid unit is the perfect central hub for your MIDI composition studio. Route MIDI messages from any one piece of gear to any other. Easy programming. Amazing dependability. Bargain pricing. A truly exceptional value!

  • from February 9, 2017

    Reliable midi interface

    Easy to use no latency very reliable.

  • from Las Vegas January 9, 2017

    MOTU MIDI Express 128

    Greetings Sweetwater Sound,

    Dan Van has been my Sweetwater Engineer for the past 26 years and Yes, Time Flies when you are having Fun!

    The MOTU MIDI Express 128 is a great interface that has replaced my MOTU MIDI Timepiece MTPAV, because I have converted to a PC based system to allow more room for Memory, Cost of Hardware. It seamlessly fit into my home based post studio to allow my legacy gear to be integrated with my new keyboard, a Native Instruments 61.

    My current DAW is FL Studio 12.3 and I love it because it fulfills Audio, Midi, Samples and allows all of the sounds from the Native Instruments KOMPLETE package to be utilized via VST.

    Simply put, All of my sounds are now routed because of the MOTU Midi Express 128! This piece of gear is well worth the price point and amazing as I now have plenty of sounds with the Native Instruments 61, Korg M1, Roland XP-10, Roland Fantom XR with sampling option, Alesis DM5, and EMU Mo Phatt!!!

  • from Earth November 9, 2015Music Background:
    lots o' stuff

    Wonderful MIDI Interface

    well i have to say first off, its only an inexpensive MIDI Interface. But trust me after living off my cheap little cigarette box size MIDI controller, this is a relief. I now have 8 i/o. Its pretty much that simple. No bells, no whistles. Just a great MIDI interface. Get this if you plan on using MIDI.

  • from December 31, 2013Music Background:
    Dj and Producer

    Great solution!

    Im using it to send midi to some analog synths and drum machines, works perfect!
    Everything is synced, and thats the reason why I got it... :)

  • from California May 5, 2013Music Background:
    Music Production

    Works great with MacBook Pro

    Keeps all 4 sound modules, a triton keyboard and an Mpc all playing nice together. 16 channels per piece lovely

  • from Arlington, TX. August 2, 2012Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    I can connect all my musical equipment to my computer

    The MOTU MIDI Express Interface is a great product.

  • from United States January 4, 2012Music Background:
    Audio Software Engineer

    Awesome!!!

    Complete functionality with all my midi gear in one rackmount design, definitely makes my life a whole lot easier!!! No problems at all and really does it's job well. BTW latency is minimal, and I use an AXON AX100 MK2, so latency has been an issue in the past, but not with this thing!

  • from klamath falls or usa September 28, 2011Music Background:
    strudio musician

    Excellant Midi Interface

    Express 128 was so easy to set up and works like a champ. It works well very dependable and it is expandable. The engineers at Motu nailed it on this one.

  • from Ft Lauderdale Fl July 6, 2011Music Background:
    Guitar Player & Midi Composer

    Motu Midi Express 128

    Works fantastic.. Wish I knew about this years ago......Had 5 midi modules and was always having to turn certain ones on and off when I did not want them to trigger. This solves that problem by easily assigning 8 separate midi ports within Cakewalk Sonar

  • from San Francisco, CA USA October 3, 2013Music Background:
    Mastering Engineeer

    More Motu Love

    If you want ur midi then this is the one! Motu does it right like their interfaces

  • from Moscow, IDaho August 29, 2012Music Background:
    Professional musician and composer

    MOTU midi express 128

    MOTU makes good stuff, and the 128 is good for what it sets out to do. The unit is a lot simpler than the midi express XT, and lacks the SMTP striping signalling and the routing. It comes with the Digital Timepiece software, but the written documentation says it doens't apply to the 128. You can't do any routing of your MIDI port assignments through the software. Of course, the 128 is tad cheaper than the XT, so if you need a basic unit to control a hefty bunch of MIDI devices at lower cost, and you don't need fancy capabilities, the 128 will do the job ok. The rack mount unit looks nice, with lights to show MIDI IN/OUT activity. No buttons to mess with, even for on/off, since it is powered by the USB from the computer.

  • from Schaumburg IL June 2, 2011Music Background:
    26 yr MIDI arranger and composer

    good piece of gear

    the only thing i'd like better is the 128 had it's OWN power and could act as a stand alone processor i.e the Unitor 8 that it replaced. I don;t always like to fire up my computer just to sit down and "noodle" at the beginning of a song idea. I DO wish they'd invent a midi interface that had both midi and usb capabilities where you could see the signal path
    both input and output where you might see a midi signal loss more or lessimmediately

  • from comox, bc, can September 16, 2006Music Background:
    musician

    Great no hassle product.

    the midi express 128 works just as expected out of the box. Usb makes installation a snap, with no ugly wall warts. I like the (simple but convenient) activity lights on the front, as well as the computer connection light. All inputs showed up in my sequencer hassle free. not to mention - easy to expand! i'll probably add a few more.

  • from Birmingham, AL February 20, 2017

    Makes life easier

    I have several pieces of outboard gear that were connected via USB, and frequently had problems with Windows 'losing' them, and renaming them to something else. I would end up with my DAW essentially saying "I can't find Synth XYZ", and when I'd look, I'd discover it was now called "2 - Synth XYZ". That sort of thing gets annoying fast.
    Since all of my gear has standard MIDI ports, I switched everything over to connect via the MOTU MIDI Express 128. I was able to give each port a custom name in my DAW, and now it all Just Works. Every time I start my system, all me gear is connected exactly as I want, without any fuss or bother. Things aren't being renamed or lost any more.
    So yeah, I'm very happy with the MOTU.

  • from Surf City USA September 10, 2013Music Background:
    Sound Designer, Composer and Performer

    Few 8 Port Midi I/O units

    I've had two M-Audio 8X8 Midi Sports for almost 10 years and one started going south and wouldn't start up. M-Audio doesn't make the 8X8 any longer so I chose theMOTU. Installed and has worked flawlessly. I only gave it 4 stars as I haven't done anything with making a patch so I'll update my review then.

  • from dallas, TX January 9, 2013Music Background:
    musician, hobbyist

    Set It, Forget it, Love It

    Sure, this is worth 5 stars but due to its simplicity just doesn't deserve a wow! I mean, it's not changing the world (even if it is making it a whole helluva lot easier).

    It does what it does, and it does it well. I do give it 5 stars for its ease of connectivity and installation - either put it in your rack or on your desktop, install the drivers, connect your gear.

    After, that never look back.

    It even offers the added bonus of being well-constructed and looking great.

    Awesome, economical midi hub. Wouldn't think twice about getting another if I needed to.

  • from Cincinnati, OH October 19, 2006Music Background:
    Musician, Home Studio

    Utterly Simple

    I read the reviews and bought it after consulting my sales associate. Not being a "midiot" I had hoped for an extremely easy to use solution for plugging in all my midi modules in my rack. Thank God for USB !!! No wall wart, easy installation and it worked flawlessly the first time. It shows me what channels are sending and receiving from across the room. I am impressed with it's ease of use and it was easily recognizable by my software....no hassles. This is a great buy !!!

  • from Lancaster,CA January 31, 2011Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Stage Hand ,Writer,Producer

    Driver stability issues

    The unit does not stay connected to the computer. I always have to unplug and replug the USB. After all, I should not have to write about a faulty product from a company with such a long history of making good software. One would think that their hardware would be top notch gear.

  • from January 22, 2016

    Does Not Work with OS 10 el capitan

    If you use a mac look elsewhere. This thing is nothing more than an expensive paper weight.

Questions about the MOTU MIDI Express 128?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway