rrrabuyvsvsveytfazersurdwarubawvev0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
June 2017 Giveaway

Orange Micro Terror 20-watt Head Reviews

4.5 stars based on 89 customer reviews
Questions about the Orange Micro Terror 20-watt Head?

Questions about the Orange Micro Terror 20-watt Head?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

Sweetwater Advice

  • Stuart Niven

    EVERY guitar player needs an Orange Micro Terror! Such a huge sound from a tiny package! Get it with the 1 x 8" speaker cab and you have an awesome practice amp and the headphone output enables you to jam late!! Perfect for the gigging musician as well as a perfect gift!

  • from Iowa March 23, 2017

    Great little head!

    This little guy does all it should. I've ran it through my Orange 2x12 and then got the 1x8 to play at home. Completely happy with the sounds I get out of it!

  • from Indiana March 14, 2017Music Background:
    Project Studio Owner/Tinkerer

    Micro Terror--MACRO Sound!

    All you need to know is this little guy boogies just as hard as his bigger siblings. Fantastic little amp head, and would be at three times the price. And you can just about stuff it into a coat pocket! Now I want the cabinet to go with it...

  • from March 13, 2017

    Great Little Orange Head

    What a powerful little head. Great sound and tremendous variation in clean and overdrive sounds. It has that warm tube sound in an affordable, portable, lightweight package!

  • from NY March 6, 2017

    orange micro terror 20 watt head

    It's an great amp.And it's quite affordable.It delivers an big sound in an small package.I would recommend it to other guitarists.

  • from Iowa February 18, 2017Music Background:
    Been playing for many many years

    You Won't Believe It

    You just won't believe what it can do until you play it in person! This is a totally amazing amp for it's size! I have a Marshall 800 and 900 head and stack and it is heavy hauling around but plug this into a 4x12 and you will be blown away that it will drive all those speakers from such a small head!
    I think my jaw hit the floor when I played it originally, I mean that too!
    Best money you will ever spend if you're a guitarist, promise! It delivers!

  • from January 12, 2017

    Killer Sound!

    Great little amp! It sounds awesome!

  • from IN December 14, 2016Music Background:
    Semi-pro, 45 years experience

    Exceeded Expectations

    This little thing just oozes tone. I've tried three different guitars with it. LP, Strat, and Hagstrom VikingIIP.
    I got the 8" cab and it sounds fantastic.This amp has incredible gain. I also ran this through an early 70's Park (Marshall) 4x12 cab. Just wow! I'll use this at my next gig. We usually mic cabs anyway(not that you would need to in a small venue), so can't wait to gig out with it. LP sounded like Page, Strat was just fat! The Hagstrom with the P90s was the best. Clean and chimy when I wanted it and plenty of growl with the gain up. Sustain? Yes! Plenty of it. Just get it.

  • from TX - Texas November 11, 2016

    Awesome Amp! A jem.

    Awesome! Good investment and GREAT value. Don't think, buy this amp.

  • from Kasson, MN October 11, 2016

    Literally blown away!

    Thanks Sweetwater! Loving this setup, that little Orange Tiny Terror thumps the 4 Celestion's in my Marshall cabinet (also purchased here) like a champ! The candy was a perfect bonus after carrying that box up the stairs too.

    Excellent service, and overall experience - completely happy customer here.

  • from Murfreesboro, TN August 31, 2016Music Background:
    extensive, I'm almost 55

    Love it

    I bought this a few months ago and really liked it. I play it though the Celestion speaker that I bought here also and installed in a Bugera V22 combo. I loved the sound of this amp, kinda loud for how small it is but 3 knobs are all you need. The tone is great right out the box, classic rock with bells on. I use 2 Les Pauls, a Tele and a few Strats and everything sounds good. I bought some JJ 12Ax7 tubes and decided to try one in this amp, relacing the ECC83. Blown away is all I can say. This thing, with that tube/valve through an open backed Celestion speaker is the business. I play for hours at a time by myself and I'm never bored. PLaying with others is a different dimension. This little, pocket sized amp, just screams class overdrive sound. It is awesome, been playing since 1978 and this is one of my favorite amps ever. For the price, it's a no-brainer

  • from August 3, 2016

    I use it for acoustic

    I'm not sure if this is what it's designed for, but I use this as a head for a Music Man cab for acoustic. The head has great dynamics that work really well for electric/acoustic. Last two amps I've owned are Roland Jazz Chorus and Music Man from early 80's.... This little amp is great for the money.

  • from Michigan July 22, 2016Music Background:
    Songwriter/Musician/Recording Enthusiast

    Micro Terror + Les Paul = Happy Guitarist

    I purchased this primarily to record my Les Paul through and I am so happy that I did. I run it through a cabinet sim/load box and directly into my computer and it really gives me some amazing classic British tones (it was trivial to dial up Jethro Tull and a Queenesque sound). Actually, I was surprised at how easy it was to adjust the 3 simple controls to be able to dial in a usable tone from all the different amp sims (don't remember being able to do that with my other amp). Just one caveat though, I wasn't crazy about P-90 pickups through this, but this isn't the fault of the Micro Terror. I have tried P-90's though Orange gear before and it is just not the sound I'm after. With the Les Paul though, dynamite.

  • from July 19, 2016

    Tiny head, big sound

    I'm new to Orange amps and I was completely blown away by the sound that comes out of this. It's a great little practice amp and you can plug headphones in and play quietly if you need to. 10/10 would recommend

  • from Sioux city, IA July 12, 2016Music Background:
    multi-genre gigging musician

    NOT a Novelty Item

    I have a TH100 and this is NOW going to be my rig for when we play smaller gigs. This thing has pure tube tone thanks to the pre-amp. It's loaded with enough gain but if you NEED compressed HI GAIN action then I would suggest the Micro Dark. People laugh when they see it, then eyes explode, blood everywhere, pretty gross really. I can't believe this thing is this cheap, this can seriously be used with gigging rig so long as it's a small venue or if you mic it, though rocking a 4x12 you can pretty much squeeze enough air to roll without a mic.

    Rolling the gain off does give you clean tones, but they are still saturated. The only way to get true clean tones is to CRANK the volume and roll off the gain to barely audible. But hey, that's where your guitar's volume knob becomes your friend.

    The Tone knob is pretty much only usable from 10 o'clock to 2 o'clock. Anything else it gets pretty harsh.

    I can't imagine what NOT to like about this amp, unless you need some true clean tones.
    This thing lives up to Orange's expectations.

  • from July 11, 2016

    Perfect.

    This little head is amazing. Being of my backgroud, I never thought I'd own an orange amp. However with this little sucker it gives me gorgeous Orange tone in such a little package. Im in love with it paired with my '79 Marshall 4x12 cab.

  • from Hoopeston,Il. April 5, 2016

    Orange Micro Terror

    Great Little head. I was blown away with it. I use it mostly when the wife is home with earphones. It is loud. Thank you Bart Good.

  • from March 17, 2016Music Background:
    Old school

    ORANGE MICRO TERRER - TIGER IN A BOX

    Just got this little guy today (ordered it two days ago and in my hands already) and it screams! Not a lot to say other than VERY CLEAN and quiet on the clean setting (rich and full), and screaming with distortion.. it has a ton of bit without being piercing. If you really crank the distortion up, you do get a bit of noise, but that is to be expected.. I ran it through a one 12" speaker cab and it is plenty loud and powerful yet having great tone.. I highly recommend this to anyone with a bad back! It's the real deal, and everything that is advertised plus more.. I have to thank my SWEETWATER tech ANDY MILLER for working with me on this purchase.. But after all, he's the best there is! Thanks Andy!!

  • from Tennessee January 15, 2016Music Background:
    15 years as professional (60's/70's) - retired and having fun in my home studio.

    Orange Micro Terror with Leslie

    Little different application for me. I'm using this to power a 1950's Leslie 120 (no amp in these, just the lower rotor). Combined with a Type 6W controller from Dr. Fishsticks, I have an incredible little rig for my home studio. Works great with my Hammond XK-1c. More than enough volume and no issues with frequency response. Haven't used it for guitar yet, but I suspect I'd be just as pleased with that application. Great amp for the money....

  • from December 3, 2015

    micro terror

    love this little beast. great customer service from sweetwater too.

  • from Keene NH. November 22, 2015

    Just wow!

    I have had this little beast for well over a year now and really did not use it except for at home practicing as I have a 100 watt all tube amp for band practice and gigs but boy have I been selling myself short. I've recently been using it at rehearsal and jam sessions and I cannot get over how amazing this thing sounds through my avatar 2x12 loaded with vintage 30's.
    On its own it just absolutely sings. It has an exceptional dynamic range when using the guitars volume pot, and has plenty of punch and volume to cut through the mix. and when I add my pedals (Keely mod ts 808, carbon copy delay, and boss super chorus) the range of tones I am getting out of this little box is really quite amazing.
    It's the best $150 I have ever spent on gear. Kudos to Orange amps.

  • from Morgantown, WV October 7, 2015Music Background:
    Pedal builder, music teacher

    ¡Excellenté!

    I got this for the music program I teach at and it's perfect. It can get plenty loud, and the overdrive with the gain cranked sounds amazing! I'm looking forward to trying it out for some recordings soon.

  • from Minnesota August 18, 2015Music Background:
    30-some years playing. Lots of gear because it's all so pretty and I have no self control.

    Just get one!

    Stupidly fun! Loud, raunchy, little. Fits in the back of a 2x8" Weber loaded cab along with a little Zoom multi fx rig, cords and adapters. I can cover most any thing. Even gets decent country clean at pretty good volume.

    It won't replace your Deluxe or AC30 or whatever boutique job you have. But, it's built well, sounds great, operates easily and effectively and costs less than your pedals!

    Speaking of pedals...a preamp out would be cool. Just saying.

    Typical top of the line Sweetwater service, too.

  • from New England August 14, 2015Music Background:
    Making cabs, Making guitars, Hobby and band jamming guitar player. Gear addict

    Small BIG sound!

    I played this tiny little amp through a Marshall 4x12 1960B with V30's in it...I couldn't believe how incredibly good that little amp sounds!!!! Just amazing!!! I've tried other small amps and most don't cut it. they sound tinny and weak, but this little bad boy sounds incredible! It's not super loud like a full sized head but it's only 20 watts but it's loud enough to keep up with a band in a small club! Also this is really great practice, recording amp and a great back up amp for a small gig! I think this is one of THE best sounding little amps on the market!! Not to mention it's affordable and it's build very well!! Almost a collectors piece. Just might be a collectors piece years from now!

  • from Irvine, CA July 8, 2015

    Goodbye JCM800's

    Words won't do this beauty justice.
    She's a dream come true.
    Bravo Orange!

  • from May 23, 2015Music Background:
    Guitar player

    Exactly what I needed

    Picked this little lunch box up so I dont have to haul my tube head to jam with anyone. It pushes my 2x12 enough to hear over drums in a small room. The controls are simple, but I could see a 40 or 60 watt version of this being killer... If they existed

  • from Maryland May 13, 2015

    Incredible!

    Exactly what i was looking for! Perfect for practicing at home, and still loud enough for jamming with friends! Small enough that i can fit it in my hardshell les paul case without any problems. Hook it up to a 1x12 for a little extra power if you need to as well.

    Also the tone is great, you still get that warm tube tone that everyone loves even though theres only one 12AX7. Great job orange

  • from April 26, 2015

    Most Affordable Gigging Solution Ever

    I ran the Micro Terror(149$) Through a Celestion loaded Marshall MG 4X12(259$)
    And for just under 400$ i have a gigging settup that has been perfect for beefy rythm guitar parts
    This amp also takes pedals very well.
    I will recommend an eq pedal however because when.the tone knob is anywhere other then 12-6 posistions it sounds to boxy and a bit to tinny

    Overall the best amp head in this range cant even tell the difference between a tube amp and the micro terror
    Beyond loud enough
    And finally a great backup just incase your beloved tube amp blows up

  • from Paragould, Ar April 7, 2015

    Great little amp head

    This little head sounds fantastic. I mainly use it to practice with headphones plugged in. The headphone feature is what sold me on the head. All the sales guys at Sweetwater are are great to work with and make the sales process easy.

  • from Ct March 11, 2015Music Background:
    Active musician

    Pretty amazing for something so tiny.

    I agree with everyone's else's reviews of this amp.
    It really does sound good, especially for crunchy sounds.
    Great, great tiny amp for practice.
    Haven't tried it with the band yet but I think this would be a great backup amp to carry along to gigs.
    You can fit it in your pocket it's so small! The power supply is heavier than the amp.

  • from Nashville,Tn. January 29, 2015Music Background:
    Been playing over 40 years.

    So great I bought TWO!

    I bought one last year and loved it so much I just got another one!
    I use a stereo amp set up anyway and now I can use these without killing my back.
    It does not get the clean Fender sounds love but I can live with it.

  • from January 25, 2015Music Background:
    Guitarist, Recording Engineer

    Wow

    I ordered this just on a whim. Had recently traded my dark terror for a peavey but I still wanted something that could deliver that signature orange sound. I wasn't expecting a whole lot but man this little guy can scream! Plenty of tone control to fit most needs, not going to get a good scoop sound out of it, but that's to be expected. I put a overdrive in front of this and is just enough distortion at max gain to get a great metal tone. Definitely surprised by this little guy, and for the price everyone should have one!

  • from September 21, 2014

    Orange Micro Terror

    I have an AD30 which is too crazy for my house. I have smaller practice amps to use in a small space but can never get that Orange sound. This Micro Terror gives me exactly that. This amp powers my cabinets with ease. This is a must have amp if you have a buck fifty burning a hole in your pocket.

  • from Austin, Texas July 14, 2014Music Background:
    Started playing in 1959, ex-Nashville Studio Musician, Guitarist/Singer

    Micro GODZILLA!

    Even through the 8" Orange Cab -- this little monster smokes! Use a 12" cabinet with correct ohms and be stunned. For leads it is fantastic, for good clean chords, just back off, tweak the tone, and perhaps mic it for larger Gigs. And NO back strain ;-)

  • from Gloucester Ma. 01930 July 13, 2014Music Background:
    Professional guitar Player/Aspiring Recording Engineer, Producer

    Jaw Dropping Meaty Tone

    I don't usually write reviews but this one was a must. I'm a pro guitar player in two cover bands, one classic rock & the other top 40. I play a top of the line 50 watt tube 2x12 combo for smaller venues & a 2x12 cab underneath for bigger ones.(a name all players know) always getting tone compliments so i think i know what makes good guitar tone.Tubes are the only way to go in my opinion. I love my rig but the problem was it's so heavy to lug everywhere. I wanted a smaller set up for practice & jams. I looked at lots of small amps I read great reviews & saw some awesome youtube vids on the Micro Terror, loved the price too. So I got one from my man Tom Maxwell @ Sweetwater. I expected to get a little toy with toy type tone but when i plugged this in & ran it through my 2x12 cab. I was floored by how loud it is and the jaw dropping meaty tone that comes from this little head. Has to be heard to believe it. So fun to play with. I couldn't put it down. I use it a rehearsal all the time it really cuts through at 10 o'clock(1/3rd of the way up with gain cranked) I bought a lot of gear in my day & have to say this is the best $ I ever spent on gear. Takes pedals in the front well too. It's so useful its crazy, just what i was looking for. I bought the 8 inch cab also because I liked the way it looked,but the real magic happens when you drive a real 2x12 or 4x12 cab. WOW!!! Great tone from a 20 watt hybrid amp (12AX7 in the preamp). Check out the Rob Chapman vid on youtube,that's what made me pull the trigger. Bottom line is this thing is a steal @ 150$, Great tone, very loud & well built. Has to be heard to be believed. Buy it, You will not be sorry. Prepare to be shocked @ this little tone monster

  • from Atlanta,Ga June 24, 2014Music Background:
    Musician with a day job.

    Orange Micro Terror

    "The mouse that roared!" What a cool little rig! I was absolutely floored by the sound from this minuscule amp. I have two of the speaker cabs attached and would get a kick out if using this at a small gig. It just looks so cool!

  • from Lawrenceville, GA May 5, 2014Music Background:
    Player for 35 years - still learning

    Huge tone

    Huge tone in a tiny little box that can fit in the pocket of my gig bag (without the speaker box). I have this going to a single 12" (G12H) speaker cab. It delivers everything from clean Brit highs to screaming distortion in a very easy to use and easy to carry package. I love it and have already recommended it to several people.
    I have an AC15 and this complements it well. The highs are less chimey and sometimes that's what you need. With less clean headroom there is a much wider range of distortion built in to the head.
    It plays well with pedals. There is no FX loop but it isn't needed. I booted up the other day and forgot to turn off the pedals that come on automatically when I boot the pedal board. I had Fuzz, Compression/sustain, a Super Overdrive and a DS-1 cranked at the same time. It actually sounded good as long as I kept my back to the speaker cab.
    My only complaint is the external computer type power supply. I'm going to guess that for noise reduction they needed to keep the windings of the power supply away from the circuitry, but the external supply seems like a potential weakness. I built a speaker cab with a pocket in the back to tuck the power supply and extra cable. If I didn't have that option I may have used Velcro to stick it to the cab. I just don't trust lose wires. Maybe Orange will build a version 2 with the cables tucked away.
    Either way, this is great amp. It is proof that hybrids can deliver great tube tone if you keep it simple. At this price, everyone should have one.

  • from Nashville April 10, 2014Music Background:
    Guitar player mainly but play several other instruments also.

    Wow!!

    I have been playing for a long time and have used a lot of
    different gear. I still own amps that I bought almost 40 years ago!
    I am just blown away by this tiny amp!
    It sounds fantastic!!
    I love it!

  • from Eau Claire, WI USA February 19, 2014Music Background:
    A lifetime of practice and song writing, home

    Micro Master!

    You could spend weeks, maybe longer, finding all
    the tone jewels of this amp! Great tube sounds!
    I have been impressed with every guitar I plug into
    this thing, from a Gibson Les Paul standard to a Fender
    american standard Stratocaster to a Jackson with no tone
    knob that has a very high output pickup!
    Great sounds with a nice straightforward control set going
    direct, while it also seems to really do well with a pedal or
    two into the front input. All this and you get a headphone
    output for silent practice, I would feel my money was well
    spent if I spent twice what this amp costs.
    If you are on the fence get one!

  • from February 2, 2014

    Awesome amp

    Way worth the money

  • from Nashville, TN January 28, 2014Music Background:
    Pro

    Cute Yet Dangerous (Like My Girlfriend)

    Inevitably, when someone sees this little puppy, their sarcastic first comment is "Awww! How cute!" but when they try to pet it, it bites their face off & they back away with mouth agape.

    I'll let other reviews attempt the impossible & "describe" the sound, but the truth is that this little beast is fierce & for $250, there is no way you can lose.

    I'll be using this onstage (with in-ears, it's obviously not quite loud enough for the traditional setup) from now on & be totally secure in the size of my equipment because I know what it can do!

  • from November 23, 2013

    Great first tube amp

    When i bought this i wanted something small with a tube sound and that's what i got. Love the amp on every setting, the 12ax7 really does its job, best tube amp head for the money.

  • from NewJersey September 17, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Fooled by the Micro Terror

    I bought this little guy as an emergency backup. Plus I don't like lifting heavy amps anymore. I was fooled. I mean it looks like a toy, but it's well made. Played it through a 12" Basson guitar cab. It's a loud amp if you wanted it to be @ 20 watts RMS. Not interested in the headphone output or the 1/8" Aux input but it's there if you like to use it.
    Tone control is ok however better when tweaked with an eq. I'm using the Zoom MS-70CDRs eq, reverb etc for clean sounds.
    Hybrid amp using the 12ax7 tube. Plays well with OD/Dist pedals. Confident that I can used it in a live situation. Need a mic for bigger venues. For 149 it's really hard to beat. When overdriven without the reverb of course, sounds really good. You have to hear it. Obviosly not a Fender clean but can be tweaked with an EQ.Very curious of it's transformer. I mean the whole thing is so tiny. This maybe the smallest amp head on earth @ 20 watts RMS. Love technology.

  • from Nebraska July 17, 2013Music Background:
    Weekend warrior

    Wow this thing is the real deal

    I bought this amp as a back up to my main 100 watt all tube head. I am blown away by the tone, the level of gain, the volume (way louder than I ever imagined). It takes pedals well in the front, you can push it with a tube screamer. It's unbelievable that all that is packed in such a small package. If you change tubes it's really neat to try different preamp tubes because you can really get a clear picture of their sound character. I have not found a negative with this amp and would highly recommend it especially for the price.

  • from United States June 22, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Amazing!

    Just received this about an hour ago and the sound is amazing. Drives my 2x12 with no problems. Tone is excellent and I can't wait to try out my TC HOF reverb with this tiny thing.
    Orange Amplification has just gained a new customer for future needs.
    Couldn't be happier. Everyone has to have one of these.

  • from Cincinnati April 23, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Orange Micro Terror You can't go wrong!

    This little thing rocks! Coupled with Orange's 8" cabinet I'm amazed at the volume available and the quality of the sound. The amp breaks up nicely at low volumes when you want to, the clean is excellent and it takes the few pedals I have very well too.

    Just today added a second 8" Orange cabinet to make a pint sized full stack. Sounds even more amazing. So far I couldn't be happier with this setup.

  • from United States April 7, 2013Music Background:
    Guitar teacher Recording Engineer, Pro Musician.

    Micro uary Terror

    I ordered this little amp having played through one at a local store in my area. But got such a good deal on a demo model I got from Sweetwater.
    I was not prepared how this thing could kick butt! I went to church and ran it through a 2 X "12" Orange Cabinet. Holy Wa! it was amazing how it filled the sanctuary with loud crunch and the tone was superb. CLeaned up it is just as sweet. If I had to take points away it is because there is quite a bit of noise coming from it. However once you are playing you can't tell. The thing weighs nothing so time will tell.
    Kudos to Luke Herian and the folk @ Sweetwater. Unbelievably fast service. I like dealing with this store and the people there.I may update this review after time has passed.
    One gain knob. One tone, and one volume one and of tons of tone clean or not. Get one of these. These are not toys they are the real deal.

  • from Walnutport, PA USA March 15, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    An Honest To Goodness No Brainer

    If you're a guitarist, there's really no reason not to have one of these (heck, get two). The amp gives you great detailed cleans and can easily drive up to searing lead tones. I love the simplicity of the controls and kind of makes you feel silly when you fiddle around with a multiband EQ on other amps. I have this little guy plugged into the Orange PPC112 and it drives it just fine. The micro terror can easily keep up with a full band in a practice or smaller venue setting. All this and I haven't even mentioned the extraordinary cool factor. When I first played it I had to laugh at just how amazing it was to have such a great sounding piece of gear in such a small package.

    Also, huge props to Sweetwater for the top notch customers service and fast shipping.

  • from jamestown, NC March 12, 2013Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Pro musician

    Micro Kicks Fists!!

    I cant believe how loud this thing is!!! clean sounds sweet & just crank the gain for rock heaven! hooked it up to a vintage Orange 4x12 & couldn't stop laughing at how rediculous this little thing is!!! seriously recording tracks with it! put a sm57 in the sweet spot of the little cab 7 it blows my mind! BUY IT!!! YOU WONT BELIEVE YOUR EARS: )

  • from New haven In January 8, 2013

    Micro Terror Rules

    All I can say is wow. Don't let the 20 watt fool u. Had it playing threw 2 12 and it was great . Can't wait till the pc108 are back in stock going to get two and have a mini stack.

  • from Birmingham, AL January 7, 2013Music Background:
    Long time Tone Hound...

    The Micro Terror is a HUGE MONSTER!!!

    This little dude is a MONSTER amp... I have used it with a couple of different 2X12 cabs and a 4X12 and it truly captures that nice crunchy British sound. Definitely not a novelty piece. Plenty of power and can get loud. Wide range of tones and would be great to use for recording, jamming and with the right cab and mic, might just be a viable gigging choice. For the money, you really can't go wrong with this masterpiece from the good folks at ORANGE...

  • from santa cruz, CA January 6, 2013Music Background:
    hobbyist

    smaller than a lunchbox; bigger than you

    I laughed when I unpacked it...so tiny...so harmless looking. I cried when I turned it up; so did my neighbors. Great tone at any volume, but *man* is this thing loud for its size!

  • from San Diego, CA, USA January 6, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist with 30 years of playing experience.

    Don't be fooled!

    Don't be fooled! This little package will blow you away! Really good tones available, particullarly the distortion. This thing has a really good classic rock/early metal tone with the gain control maxed out (think AC/DC). The clean tone is nice but clearly this amp was designed to crank out the higher gain. And, for just 20 watts of power this little baby is loud. Sounds great through a 12" Celestian Vintage 30 speaker. All this for a buck and a half, man, you can go wrong.

  • from Surprise, AZ USA December 17, 2012Music Background:
    Lifelong Musician

    Little Big Man

    The Orange Micro Terror head is absolutely amazing. I use it to power an old Randall 1x12 Celestion cabinet. The sound is so BIG. I love it!

  • from Gurnee, IL November 2, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist/student

    Fantastic Practice Amp

    Completely blown away by the tone and power of this little amp. Perfect practice amp with the ability to listen through headphones and plug an MP3 player in to play along with another song or backing tracks. Highly recommended for anybody who wants to practice and has neighbors around or babies in the house.

  • from AL. near muscle shoals October 31, 2012Music Background:
    old school harp player,guitars,keys recording ,blues grunge

    4/12 or 2/12 great unbeleivable

    recorded a grunge track so -so grungy that had to back down gain and NO pedals also very quiet clean also was dropped pretty hard off top of stack and didnt even bother it TUFF TUFF is the word.for the money its impossible to beat ROAD WORTHY NOW I WANT A TINY T- JUST ONE MORE SOUND IN MY COLOR TO MY STUDIO ALSO TRIED ON NORD MONO SOUND WORKS GREAT.

  • from Caldwell, ID September 27, 2012Music Background:
    Music teacher, worship leader, touring musician

    Absolutely Amazing!

    Like most other reviews, I expected this to be a novelty type sound when I pulled it out of the box. Decent, but nothing near the experience I had once plugging it in. This thing sings! Amazing tone and extremely touch sensitive. Perfect for church services and small venue settings.

  • from Shreveport, LA. September 17, 2012Music Background:
    Pro Musician Full-Time 40+ Years, Sound Tech

    Best Deal Ever!!!

    Don't underestimate this little amp. Not only does it sound great as an amp, it also does a very respectable job as a tube Preamp/Direct Box. I use mine twice a week on small gigs where I go direct to the board (Strat, pedalboard, Micro Terror, Mackie 1202VLZ, Crown power amp, and JBL MRX515's, almost all bought here at Sweetwater Sound). This rig is small, light weight, sets up fast, and works 100 days a year just on Tuesdays and Thursdays. I depend on the Micro Terror so much that I'm buying another just for a spare. This is the best deal for the money I've seen in years!

  • from Albuquerque n.m. September 13, 2012Music Background:
    playing guitar for 38 years now. pro musician part time

    great little amp

    The micro terror is so small I laughed when I got it. Boy was I blown away when I plugged it in. It had great tone and was plenty loud had nice orange sound. For 150 bucks I'm very happy with it.

  • from Colorado August 8, 2012Music Background:
    semi pro musician

    Little box BIG tone

    Given the price and size of this amp I wasnt expected to be blown away but WOW! Really solid build quality like all other orange products. The biggest surprise was the warm tone that this little head has and the distortion with pre amp tube break up is even better. Running it through a 212 cab for reference. Has a top of the line jj tube in the preamp. Oh almost forgot VERY LOUD through my cab.

  • from Pickens SC USA August 7, 2012Music Background:
    Country Western, Southern Rock

    Killer Little Amp

    I bought this amp just to have a small portable amp that was easy to carry around. Well when i first got it and plugged it into my orange ppc112 cab I was completely blown away for how great it sounded. It has Killer Awesome Tone. It can have real clear cleans and it can also have some really great distortion. It is also Alot louder than anything that i had expected. I wouldnt be afraid to play out with it. Over all its just a Killer Little Amp. Great price for the Money.

  • from July 21, 2012Music Background:
    =

    Great Great head

    this head has the Orange crunch tone people have been enjoying for years, great for classic rock, and now you have to spend huge money for great tone. BOTTOM LINE this amp is a VERY affordable amp if you are looking to switch from solid state to tube but want to keep it cheap and simple, great for your bed room, recording and small gigs

  • from Milford CT October 9, 2016Music Background:
    Hobby

    Micro Madness

    At first you say way too small to sound any good. Once you try it your attitude changes and you appreciate the ease of moving this unit around and storing it.

  • from Kingwood, TX July 26, 2016

    Everyone Should Have One As A Backup Amp

    I bought the Orange Micro Terror when I had a show coming up and my Soldano 50 watt head began to act up and I had to put it in the shop suddenly. I needed a good backup amp for emergencies and I didn't know what to expect with this tiny Orange head.

    I feared that it would not be powerful enough to put out the volume I needed. I feared that the tone was going to be weak and I would have to return the amp and buy something a bit more expensive.

    I plugged it into my 4x12 cabinet not knowing what to expect. I remember laughing out loud when I strummed the first few chords because I couldn't believe that such a tiny lunchbox amp could put out that much volume and thick tone. I did several shows using nothing but the Tiny Terror with my effects in the front, and no one really missed my main amp at all.

    I used the Tiny Terror as a pedal platform instead of cranking the gain on the amp itself. I generally keep the gain at half way, or lower, and run overdrive pedals, delays, chorus, reverbs, etc into it so get a few different tones out of this machine.

    Granted, this will in no way truly compete with full size tube heads, but in a pinch it makes a tremendous backup amp. I'd also recommend it to new players, or anyone looking for a very affordable rig. At $150 there is nothing on the market that I know of that come close to this little head.

  • from October 2, 2015

    Micro Terror

    Very impressed with this little amp.

    I demoed this unit at few music stores before buying so I knew what I was getting.

    Very happy with the tone and volume.

  • from tecumseh, MI January 30, 2015Music Background:
    Hobo Engineer

    Impressive little amp

    This a very impressive little amp, and I do mean little. The tone is quite amazing. It is a nice crunchy sound and is surprisingly versatile. I did replace the stock tube with a 5751 which seemed to smooth out the gain and make it a little predictable. I am very impressed with it and it makes for a great practice/bedroom amp. I could not recommend this little guy enough!

  • from Westbrook, Connecticut, USA May 9, 2014Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Don't let size fool you, this rig will gig.

    Tone, tone, tone.....It will drive just about any cab, but I built a 2x8 for it. I play in a 6 piece and it holds its own, just fine, in small clubs, with no mic. I also spent a few days in the recording studio with it and the engineers were blown away.

  • from December 27, 2013Music Background:
    Recording Engineer and Musician

    FAR better than expected!

    For $150 you will NOT find a better sounding amp. Loud as hell and gritty enough for some serious hard rock/metal playing!

  • from many la December 24, 2013Music Background:
    hobbyist/weekend warrior that gets paid ocasionally

    bad ***

    Killer sound, and volume. ONLY reason not 5 is because no line out. All and worth having for sure.

  • from apache junction usa December 18, 2013Music Background:
    random noodler. always learning im disable so this helps take my mind off my chronic pain/ so o i guess ill be a hobbyist,student for life. and maybe one day take a lessons or two would be good for me but time will tell; till them just keep learning and

    so cute yet so loud@

    this is the perfect apartment/studio amp. you can lower the distortion by changing v1. i put a lower out put tube and shelf-ed the JJ 12x. my logic behind this was rather simple. i wanted the amp to stay clean for as long as possible at any volume. then i hooked up my ipad to the head. some monitors. and i had a kick but little recording studio. i did buy the head/speaker. if i had to do it again, id ditch the the speaker, its just to small to get the full head room this amp has to offer. granted apartment dewelers will be perfectly happy with the small setup. i use peavey virtual software. virtual pedals and amps. even tho i hate the apple eco system, after buying a ipod i was sold into it so no going back. it can nickle and dime you to death if you are not careful. but back to the amp. with the clean i get from the NOS 12u7 in v1. it turns every virtual amp/effect into the real sounding deal. great fun. i would recommend this but just ditch the orange cab they sell along with it and get the can and the money saved on the speaker you did not buy, buy a couple of NOS tubes to test to find the right amount of clean/crunch whatever your needs are. i have a 4x12 with celestions i plan on splitting into 2x12's they are vintage from the 80s. no longer made but great sounding speakers. at any rate, i say buy the amp get a NOS tube. and a larger speaker cab for it so it can breath.. great service as always from sweet water.

  • from United States November 9, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    pure rock on a budget

    This thing rocks. For the price it can't be beat, especially when hooked to a larger speaker.

  • from PA April 29, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Sweet sounding little amp

    Great nice classic sound. Very loud for its size. I am playing it through the little Orange single speaker cab. Guitar is a Fender USA Standard Strat.

  • from Lafayette, GA October 12, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Wow

    Micro is right. This thing is way loud and has a good rock overdrive tone.

  • from La USA July 24, 2012Music Background:
    Gigging Musician

    Micro Terror

    This amp rocks! The youtube vids don't do this thing justice. I have run it through a 4x12, a 1x10, and used the headphone out through a pa and it sounds great through all. Its a hybrid, but you can get good tube sounds easily. Does cleans, dirty cleans, and classic rock sounds excellently. My only gripes are that the power cord is a little feeble looking and the head is super light so it is easy to accidentally fling it off of something (though it could sure take the abuse...it is built tough). This amp may look like a toy, but I assure you it is not! Now I'm just waiting to see if Orange will manufacture a Micro Dark Terror!

  • from San Pedro CA April 18, 2016Music Background:
    20 plus years of playing

    micro terrorized

    great PRACTICE AMP or emergency small stage amp if a quiet room or PA reinforced. For a solid state with a tube preamp it sounds great. Lack of foot switch makes it a one trick pony. Good punchy clean and great overdrive. Very little volume for extra clean clear amp. .

  • from December 26, 2015

    Great, but limited EQ

    It's loud, raunchy, solidly built, noise-free, and undeniably cool. But the limited EQ sticks you with a mid-heavy tone that you may or may not like. To me, it really needs an external device to manage the mids. (I'm using the Joyo American Sound pedal.)

    But then, since you're now into outboard gear, you have to justify going with the MT instead of, say, the EHX Magnum 44, which is smaller, more powerful, and generally bigger sounding, but prone to hum. Either path will get you to a good practice/rehearsal rig; a lot of it comes down to the schlep factor and the undeniable fact that a micro lunchbox amp just seems cooler than a pedal-format amp. I have both right now and keep going back and forth on which to keep.

    Also, I definitely recommend a 12" speaker to get a bigger sound. I have a 1-12 Eminence Governor cab and a 1-10 Eminence Ragin Cajun cab, and the 12 is much better.

    For what it is and what it costs, the MT is a killer amp. But unless you like thick mids, be prepared to add some external EQ controls into the front of the amp.

  • from South East Texas December 10, 2015Music Background:
    25 years guitar and sound.

    Giggable? Absolutely! (with the right speakers)

    I've had a couple of these for a while now that I use for a cheap stereo practice rig at home and have been pretty pleased overall.
    Well, we were doing sound for a benefit concert this weekend and I was asked to bring a cabinet and head for one of the guitar players who couldn't bring his own.
    I did not want to bring out my big tube head for someone else to use so I brought one of these and an old B-52 4X12 cab.
    The concert was in a big high school gym and I was seriously concerned with whether or not this would be enough amp for the venue, especially considering the group played gospel music and would need a clean sound and these amps lack much of any clean headroom.
    Wow! With the gain turned as low as it would go and still pass signal, and with the volume at a little over 60%, this thing did it's job just fine.
    It filled the gym with sound and kept up with everyone else on stage including drums, much bigger guitar amps,1000 watt JBL PA speakers, and a fairly big bass amp. Keep in mind though that it was a gospel concert, so the volume was not that loud to begin with.
    The guitar player who used it was completely blown away by my $300 budget half-stack. (so was I, but I didn't let on) And of course there were several comments about such a "cute little amp" sitting on a big 4x12 cab. "Is that little thing really powering all those speakers?!!?"
    Personally, I find the character of the gain stage downright obnoxious but that is 100% subjective and I knew that going in, it has a decent clean sound and takes pedals like a champ. Other than that, I have nothing but good things to say about it.
    Now I just have to come up with an excuse to buy the new Micro Dark.

  • from September 23, 2015Music Background:
    Session, studio and gigging guitarist

    An awful lot in a tiny package

    Orange flavor, plenty of power all in a box lightly larger than a pedal! loud enough for home practice, band practice, even gigs with a mic'd cabinet. Classic "British" tone, reasonable pedal friendly and best of all its small enough to carry in your cable bag as an emergency back up. Should your main head go down this can be quickly dropped on top of your existing cabinet and have you up and running in seconds! For a single pre-amp tube solid state power section amp, the distortion is remarkably convincing. Now the downsides to this would be that to get it loud enough for a gig or band practice you really can't get this sparkling clean. As a single channel amp with volume, tone and gain, you have to add gain to get it up loud enough for these applications, and as such there will always be a touch of grit in there - this can be problematic for some pedals like delay, reverb, chorus, phaser and the like. Of course if you're gigging and the alternative is no amp... well, I'm sure you can make due to finish the night. I can also say that to my ears this micro doesn't quite have as much midrange as its larger brothers - this is neither good nor bad, it just is. An EQ pedal could add more or less if you really wanted to get picky about it. If you're buying this just for home use you can still get good cleans for all your pedals as you won't need to crank it... unless of course you really want to! In Short, this is a great amp for bedroom players, and a handy emergency back up for gigging guitarists too.

  • from Lima OH July 15, 2015Music Background:
    Active Musician

    If you're a lazy musician; buy this!

    I own this head. I love the fact it is light weight. It is loud enough to get over a rockandroll drummer at rehearsal. I'm in a gigging band. When we do shows, I bring out one of my boutique heads because they're awesome. For practice, I carry this in and plug in to my 4x12 and we're off. It sounds good enough for rockandroll.
    There are two reasons NOT to give it 5stars.
    -it does not sound as good as the iconic tube amps. But let's be honest, you're not paying for that!
    -it does NOT run well at 4ohms. If you're playing at high volumes this amp will cut out at 4ohms. There is conflicting information from Orange about this.
    I switched my cab over to 8ohm and: "problem solved, problem stayin solved,"
    If you don't want to drag your boat anchor to a weekly rehearsal, this buds for you. If you want to have a decent medium to high gain sound at a low volume for home rehearsal, again, it'll do the job.

  • from NH January 16, 2015Music Background:
    punk

    COOL!

    Cool little amp.great for cranking all the way up and jamming without killing your eardrums

  • from Out in the sticks, SD February 22, 2013Music Background:
    Live sound engineer/hobbyist

    Sweet lil unit

    The is a sweet little head. It was actually smaller than I originally envisioned. Was a little caught off guard by the external PSU. The fit and finish is excellent for the price. I have it matched with PPC108. As expected, it's missing some of the bottom end. It starts tapering off at about 200hz. Sound wise I put in between an AC30 and any of the many cheap entry level solid state amps. Portability is definately a plus.

  • from Marysville, CA November 26, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist musician and recording engineer

    Creates teh break up sound I want

    The Orange Micro Terror was purchased for recording, I run the headphone output to the recording interface and it gives me the ability to dial in the gain and achieve those great sounds we all look for. I played a recording for my brother and he said the guitar track sounded awesome. Also works well as a practice head, I have played it live into the mixer board, an option for a back up amp through the borad if your gigging. I palyed it from start=> effects chain => Micro Terror and it works fine, an effects loop would be better but what do you want for the price? It's a nice add to your amp collection.

  • from Weatherford, OK September 30, 2012Music Background:
    Guitarist

    Orange Micro Terror

    TONS of Tone! Runs one of my Hughes & Kettner 4X12's without even breathing hard, and sounds Great full-on Cranked.A little noisy with my pedal board in front of it and using the headphone out to my rack of QSC power amps, but my producer/engineer thinks we can quiet it down with a noise gate or supressor without losing the Amazing tone. As soon as I get it back from my girlfriend. She stole it for awhile. I have a feeling I'll be buying a couple more. For the money, you just can't beat the Micro. Well Done, Orange!

  • from August 24, 2012

    The Crush Crusher

    If you go in expecting the world, you're going to be displeased. If you take it for what it is - a super cheap, super cool-looking hybrid - you will not be disappointed. Great sounds come from this amp. I'm playing through a closed back 112 with a vintage 30 and it is insanely loud and has nice warm, round tone. Buy one. Do it.

    Only complaint is the headphone output sounds completely garbage, but I have no use for it anyhow. This amp is a winner.

  • from Gautier, MS June 15, 2012Music Background:
    25+ years guitar/bass playing

    Orange Micro Terror 20W Guitar Amplifier Head

    Very impressed. Wanted big sound without the price tag, and Orange delivered. Setup: Jackson Custom Shop w EMG X, Marshall 412A slant cab, ART SGX LT effects processor, Orange Micro Terror Head. Opening the box I thought it was a joke, the size is absurdly small. Plugged it in, and fears were put to rest. Bright cleans with good depth, and super "dirty Ernie" crunch when you crank up the gain. Could easily be used to gig with. Would recommend to anybody who is tired of lugging around that huge, heavy, tolex covered head!

  • from February 28, 2017

    Bang 4 your buck

    Not bad at all for the price..miss my 6l6 tubes but that amp was $900 lol

  • from Athens, GA September 2, 2014Music Background:
    Former professional player, current praise band member

    Great little amp for backup

    Pretty cool and affordable with lots of kick and power. Able to get suitable tube tone out of this little hybrid. Great for practice or small gigs.

  • from Orlando,FL January 6, 2016

    Micro Terror !!!

    This little Amp is very load and not bad sounding after you replace the J&J Tube ! I put in a vintage amperex 12ax7a it smoothed out pretty good but the clean isnt as well as I would like but the overdrive is there so this little guy is more suited for the dirty sound as any thing else but all and all it is well worth the money ,just don't expect it to be a Fender tube amp !!!

  • from Texas April 19, 2015Music Background:
    25 years playing guitar and recrding

    Not bad

    I think these things are a bit overhyped but definitely not bad for the price.

    I went with a 3 star rating although my first instinct was to go right down the middle with a 2.5, because I think I may be overly critical just because I don't care for the overdriven sound.

    The overdriven sound is way too wooly and middy for my taste, bordering on obnoxious in my opinion.

    But, the clean sound is not too bad for what it is. Turn the gain down as low as it will play and the volume all the way up then adjust tone to taste and the room, and it really sounds as good as some of the low wattage all tube amps that hit early this century like the valve jr and the blackheart.

    I have two of these, hooked up to a 4x12 each running stereo at the house and it IS nice and a whole lot cheaper than buying a match to my actual tube head just to play around in stereo.

    Take the claim that is so "incredibly loud" with a grain of salt because it is only very loud with the gain turned up. Just last night I had both of these suckers with the volume pegged and the gain knob at about 8 o'clock, one on a 300 watt Marshal 1960 and the other on a 400 watt B-52, both set to 4ohms, and a buddy and I were able to sit there right in front of them and have a conversation while playing so....not exactly what I would call incredibly loud.

    If you are looking for a gigging amp do not be too quick to listen to those who claim it is adequate. Personally for a gigging head I would go with at least a 15-20 watt all tube head like a Jet City or Egnater or higher and if you are going solid-state or digital go with a full 100 watt head.

    For playing around at the house it's pretty cool and looks funny sitting on 4x12 cabs. "is that little thing really powering all those speakers?!!?"

    Not bad, no regrets and I even bought a second one, but I think for the price they could have added another feature or two. An effects loop between the pre and power sections would have been nice to tame the overdrive character.

  • from VA October 4, 2013Music Background:
    30 years playing guitar.

    Micro Terror

    Of course, like everyone else, I couldn't believe how small this thing is. When I got it out of the box, I hooked it up to one of my mid-80's Marshall 2x12's (Celestion G12T-75's). I could not resist the temptation to immediately crank the volume and gain to about 3 o'clock, and the tone was outrageous! Really authentic tube overdrive, louder than you could possibly imagine for an amp head this size, it just sounded amazing. Here's where it goes from "WOW", to "oh, now I see why". I turned the volume down to about 9 o'clock, and it sounded like it was in a tin can. No matter what I did, and there isn't much you can do with 3 knobs, if the gain and volume were below half way, it sounded terrible. But, at half way, it is much louder than what most would consider practice volume. The sound the amp produces from headphone jack leaves quite a bit to be desired as well. I had purchased it to be a practice amp, so I didn't annoy the neighbors after 8 p.m. with my 100 watt head. At low volume levels, it just didn't get the job done for me, and I returned it.

Questions about the Orange Micro Terror 20-watt Head?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway