0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month

Korg microSAMPLER Reviews

4.0 stars based on 11 customer reviews
  • mrL
    from NY August 10, 2010Music Background:
    home

    judge for yourself

    Like all keys and gear hands on auditioning is best of course.
    The drawback is unless you bring a friend who already owns one and is can operate its features you are at the mercy of sales staff who never have even read the manual and can do no more than demo presets.
    Thanks to youtube now you can watch and hear someone who has mastered this deep powerfull baby show what you can do .
    Go subscribe to 3sleeves's youtube channell ..he has posted a nice set of vids playing great music and better still a whole bunch of tutorials ..Korg thelmselves on their channel also have a bunch of tutorial vids that explain all....then decide..btw 3sleeves shows how easily you can via midi plug the MS into your favorite daw/pc running your favorite vst instruments..to play them from the ms keys and simultaneously live sample them into the ms sample banks to save and play anytime from the ms itself..a killer feature.

  • Rick
    from August 8, 2012

    Serious fun.

    I fully enjoy this little instrument, noise maker!! Sampling is very easy with the included microphone or plugging an external sound device into the input jack. I've mostly just been messing around with all the features and perimeter settings to see what I can come up with. I've ran my Microstation and Monotron through it with wonderful results as well. Definitely a huge step up from the old Casio sampler from the 80's I used to own. I'm still going over the features and still learning my way around it. Definitely recommend it!!

  • Cucchiaro
    from Athens, GA September 24, 2012Music Background:
    Hornist/Surrealist

    Good little sampler keyboard

    Sounds wonderful...does its job well...wish it was a bit easier navigating around it's functions...not so intuitive.
    Otherwise it has served our band like a champ!:)

  • Bob Lepre
    from New York City April 25, 2012Music Background:
    Musician Sound Designer

    microSAMPLER

    Works great.
    Had to use it right out of the box on a gig.
    No problems.
    Easy Learning curve

  • Behnam Khoshkhoo
    from kenmore wa August 3, 2011Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Korg microSAMPLER

    it is good ,i do not know it yet ,i am working on it

  • Matthew DeSantis
    from Pittsburgh, PA USA May 10, 2011Music Background:
    recording engineer, performing bass and keyboards

    Excellent Workflow, great problem solver

    The Good: I've seen mixed reviews of this unit, but after using it for a few months it has grown on me. It solves a lot of problems for me in terms of triggering samples live from pedalboards, and it allows me to whip up some cool intros with the pattern sequencer. The ability to bounce via resampling (w/effects) is huge, considering how easy it is. The workflow for all of this is simple -- I don't want to be a mouse jockey when setting things up. A refreshing departure from anything out there. In the studio it allows me to fly things into the DAW with ease and no latency.

    The Bad: Unit is flimsy so you have to be gentle with it. You have to pay attention to gain staging a lot, and it does its own voodoo based on the gain of the samples already in the bank. Pitch bend and mod wheel would have been nice. It is by default "polite sounding" in terms of loudness, but you can work around that. Effects are above par. I've found they work best on resamples, and not in a main mix position (leave that to the DAW), YMMV.

    There is no Ugly (except for those who don't like the cosmetics, I think it's OK, but then I really don't care what it looks like)

    Overall excellent value for money, and I've found that is has long been a missing piece in my studio, even better live.

  • Jeff Rasco
    from Jeffersonville, IN 47130 March 15, 2011Music Background:
    EVERYTHING

    SO FAR SO GOOD THANKS TO SWEETWATER.

    Just got the unit. It sounds very pro in the sampling department. It comes with ROM presets to introduce one to the abilities of the machine. Korg also has 2 more sampled preset packs that can be downloaded from their web-site. Beware you can only load one at a time onto the machine.

    The mic is really, really good and has great isolation.

    There is some learning curve but there are many onboard features and actual physical writing on the panel that helps to assist in routing tasks. The lights across the board crucial to live performance.

    Read the manual.......

    This machine wears many hats in my mind. However it really shines as a sampler and sequencer. It can play instrument replicate sounds and they have a very realistic fidelity. The truncating is a little ruff at this point but it can be edited/ improved I am sure.

    My unit has something rattling around inside next to the power input, USB, and MIDI area. I will be EYE BALLING that issue for a while. Other than that so far so good! I gave it 4 stars for that concern alone.

    The build quality is delicate so be careful and buy a good protective case/bag.

    Later for more features and ideas.

    Also more later on the fantastic Sweetwater difference; for it is great on so many levels. I will devote an entire to review to those benefits alone. See everyone soon...

    God Bless...

    Jeff Rasco, AKA DJ RAZZ

  • Jeff Rasco
    from Jeffersonville, IN 47130 March 15, 2011Music Background:
    EVERYTHING

    SO FAR SO GOOD THANKS TO SWEETWATER.

    Just got the unit. It sounds very pro in the sampling department. It comes with ROM presets to introduce one to the abilities of the machine. Korg also has 2 more sampled preset packs that can be downloaded from their web-site. Beware you can only load one at a time onto the machine.

    The mic is really, really good and has great isolation.

    There is some learning curve but there are many onboard features and actual physical writing on the panel that helps to assist in routing tasks. The lights across the board crucial to live performance.

    Read the manual.......

    This machine wears many hats in my mind. However it really shines as a sampler and sequencer. It can play instrument replicate sounds and they have a very realistic fidelity. The truncating is a little ruff at this point but it can be edited/ improved I am sure.

    My unit has something rattling around inside next to the power input, USB, and MIDI area. I will be EYE BALLING that issue for a while. Other than that so far so good! I gave it 4 stars for that concern alone.

    The build quality is delicate so be careful and buy a good protective case/bag.

    Later for more features and ideas.

    Also more later on the fantastic Sweetwater difference; for it is great on so many levels. I will devote an entire to review to those benefits alone. See everyone soon...

    God Bless...

    Jeff Rasco, AKA DJ RAZZ

  • Andrew Van Es
    from Melbourne, Australia May 4, 2010Music Background:
    Musician

    hardware sampling is back

    I was hesitant to buy this as I saw very few reviews but decided to purchase as I already had the MicoKorg XL . One compliments the other.
    Can't wait to start loading up my own samples. Despite the washing machine retro look, it is a pretty cool unit. The beatbox sounds onboard are fine. Once again , I can never say enough about Sweetwater and my sales engineer Dennis Konicki. I order on a Friday night. The product is out the door over to Fedex on the plane and to its international destination by Tuesday. How good is that ?

  • Doug
    from Chicago, IL USA July 4, 2011Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Hobbyist Musician

    Fun sampling if not entirely professional

    Had up until now only done sampling with Reason (which isn't actual sampling anyway). And I wanted to do some stuff live without a laptop. Bought this thing on a whim. It's very fun. Certainly worth the price. That said it sure has it's drawbacks. It bypasses some very standard professional features. But it has plenty of interesting elements to make it worth while. Bottom line, if you are going to use this for sparking creativity it will be fine. If you're using it because you need a reliable sampler, I imagine spending a little bit more money will get you far more features.

  • Tyler
    from Florida July 29, 2010Music Background:
    Live sound

    Just a toy

    Right out of the box I herd a clicking noise, it felt cheep. Then I take home and turn it on and the sound it produces is so weak, you have turn the thing all the way up. The keys are so tiny and the dials are worthless, you'd most likely cry if you heard how much they spend on making the hunk of junk. Dont buy it. 500 down the tubes. Just a toy. You want a sampler that you will love just get a MPC. From Sweetwater naturaly

Questions about the Korg microSAMPLER?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway