0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Spring Clearance

Electro-Harmonix Micro POG Polyphonic Octave Generator Pedal Reviews

4.5 stars based on 19 customer reviews
Questions about the Electro-Harmonix Micro POG Polyphonic Octave Generator Pedal?

Questions about the Electro-Harmonix Micro POG Polyphonic Octave Generator Pedal?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

Sweetwater Advice

  • Matt McGowen

    I'm always on the hunt for ways to make my guitar tone stand out, and the Electro-Harmonix Micro POG is one of my go-to pedals. Whether it's adding extra shimmer to a huge pad, simulating a 12-string guitar, morphing my guitar into a powerful bass, or some other transformation, this pedal never lets me down.

  • from Destin,FL January 3, 2017

    Love this pedal!!!!

    I got this pedal for my husband for Christmas and he absolutely loves it! It was at the top of his list so I knew I had to get it for him. He was thrilled when he opened it and immediately went to his music room to add it to his pedalboard. It is everything that he hoped that it would be and is the perfect addition to his other pedals. It has put him one step closer to his dream pedalboard and his overall sound. He plays everyday now. Thanks again Sweetwater!!!

  • from Baton Rouge, LA December 12, 2016Music Background:
    Studio and church musician

    Works great!

    I bought this for my new electric Yamaha YEV-104 violin. The main purpose is to drop an octave so my violin can sound like a cello.

  • from New York March 26, 2016

    Blown out

    This is one of the best pedals I have ever seen. Buy it dont think about it, Im blown out.

  • from February 25, 2015

    Great great great!

    This is one of the best pedals I have ever seen. I have tried a few sub octave pedals what cannot keep up with low notes. Not this one. This one is Perfect. Great, and even better at the price. Buy it, dont think... buy it.

  • from Sacramento October 20, 2014

    Yes!!!

    I am blown away... just get it.

  • from United States April 24, 2014Music Background:
    Semi-Pro Musician

    Buy it!! Just do it!!

    Just buy it. You'll love it.

  • from meadville, PA March 9, 2014

    Really Good

    My favorite pedal. Love using it subtly as a situational tone boost/filler. Not everything in the micro is useful or practical but what pedal is. Just a handful of sweet spots is all i ask. With this pedal you get that

  • from san antonio, Texas February 22, 2013Music Background:
    Masters degree in music performance. Teaching fiddle in South Texas

    thoughts on my POG Polyphonic Octave Gernerator

    The POG is easy to use and WOW! what a sound. My fiddle sounds like a whole string section. Other guys in the band couldn/t believe the sound. Thanks to Robert Williams

  • from Austin July 27, 2012Music Background:
    Active Musician

    Amazing Tone

    I've been building a pedalboard for some time and was dead set on getting a Whammy to add flavor to my existing palette. After playing through the latest one for an hour, the pedal just felt like it was fighting me the entire time. I saw the POG and plugged it up to a SVT classic with an 8x10 and a MM Stingray Classic. Seriously this is the first octave pedal that didn't add any color to the original signal. All the tone remained whether the effect was engaged or not.

    Now, the POG2 has more functionality but I'm a set it and forget kind of player, so the simplicity of the Micro POG was perfect. Cranking the dry with the sub at noon and the octave up around 11, gave a beautiful full, shimmering tone. The POG added just the right amount of thick and color to fill out a bass line. I instantly purchased it from SW because of the 3 payments (the pedal is a bit pricey but completely worth it) and it will round out my board.

  • from United States May 3, 2012Music Background:
    Worship Arts Instructor, Guitarist, Recording Engineer

    You People are Crazy! This is a great pedal.

    I don't know why everybody is giving this thing low reviews. This thing does its job well. Its not made to be as bizarre as the full featured POG. Its just supposed to be a octave up and a octave down. It does that very well. Its great for adding some beef or adding something to cut through well. Its a great pedal. If your think about it just do it! Its awesome.

  • from Boston April 12, 2017Music Background:
    Professional Musician

    Great sounding unit

    Love the sound and everything about it. The only adjustment I would want in it is the switch. It's too heavy in my opinion. It requires significantly heavier stomp then most pedals. In a gig situation when operating several pedals, and most of them having a particular touch, the POG switch, sometimes does not switch on or off, if the stomping is not hard enough. In my opinion the switch should respond to a tap, comparable to most pedal switches.

  • from New York, NY September 22, 2015Music Background:
    Audio Engineer, Musician

    Great Tone & Tracks Perfectly

    I wanted an Octave pedal that gave me a great sounding Octave up. I have the EBS Octabass.
    I love the lows on it, but doesn't have a great Octave up. I so want the Mutron Octave Divider from the $70s, but it is too rich for my blood. The reissue is less, but doesn't track well.
    I kept seeing the EHX MicroPog in many reviews and also on a lot of pedal boards.
    So I figured I'd give it a shot. I LOVE IT! It has no tracking issue, which is a PLUS.
    The only thing it lacks is the really low growl. So I have this and the EBS on my board, for the extra FAT low kick tone.
    This is definitely a must. So I highly recommend it :)

  • from Pineville, LA March 8, 2013

    GREAT FOR SWELLS

    This is a great pedal if you are looking for the sub octave thing. Like any pedal this one can be overused very easily. We mainly use this pedal for our big airy swells that you find in alot of christian rock music. It also does well in lead rides at a lower level. This is not a big bang pedal but if you are looking improve your tone and fatten up some stuff than this one is for you.

  • from monterey, ca February 20, 2014Music Background:
    www.michaelglines.com

    awesome pedal!

    i like this pedal a lot. it's my first octave pedal but i've used a lot of others. namely, boss oc-2 and oc-3, and the ehx pog 2.

    i've never used traditional octave pedals that have fuzz and only the sub octave. i guess if you're trying to sound like jimi hendrix, those are useful, but i feel like the micro pog does that and more. it doesn't have fuzz onboard, but you can always turn the "ocatave up" knob all the way down and flip on your distortion pedal or channel.

    what i love about the micropog is that i can use it to make organ or synth sounds. i just turn the dry knob all the way down and find some blend of the other two and it sounds a lot like an organ. it still has the attack of a guitar, so i put it after the byoc lazy sprocket to smooth out the attack. you could also do this with a volume pedal in real time. i also just play it with my fingers instead of a pick to get a mellower attack.

    it is a synth, so palm-muted parts don't translate well in my experience.

    you do have to be careful about the voicings you choose. don't expect to get really nice organ sounds if you play primarily in first position. that's not because of the tone of the pedal, it's because it adds notes to your voicings. when you pile too many notes on top of each other, you get muddy tone, especially if the voicing is dense on the low end. if you know the neck really well and are accustomed to higher voicings of your chords you can get some really incredible tone and expression out of this. i use a lot of seventh chords and they come out great with this. i'm still working on finding voicings of major nines that come out well, but i just got the pedal last week.

    the high octave doesn't necessarily sound amazing with distortion. you have to mess with it and again be selective about what you play. but when you have a part that works, it's amazing.

    the tracking is fast. i never really notice the latency.

    i power this pedal and a few others with a 1-spot and i have no noise issues with it.

    of course if i had the money and the space on my pedal board i'd go with the pog 2. it has a lot more features and sounds just as good. but then again, fewer moving parts means fewer broken pieces. i'm stoked on this pedal.

  • from New Orleans December 13, 2013Music Background:
    Part-time musician

    Bass Tweakin'

    I play bass in a small band, and bought the Micro to expand my sound a bit; fill in the mids and generally expand my range. While the POG2 has a lot of octave features, the sound can easily muddy without a good amp set-up when using it with a bass, and the Micro offers a simpler, more economical, option. I don't recommend using either POG version with anything but a high-end bass rig, as the super lows and highs can really lose clarity and even crunch and chirp in a low-quality system.
    I'm currently using the Micro with a Markbass head with plenty-o-power, and the POG gives me everything from clear sub-bass sounds, to crisp jazzy and even organ-like tones. It's good stuff and lot's of fun!

  • from NY April 9, 2012Music Background:
    Pro Musician/Recording Engineer

    Great Sound for Bass

    I have been looking for a good sounding octave pedal for bass for a while. I read about this and it seemed it would be a good choice for bass because of the ability to select an octave up. I bought it, and It is the best I have tried, especially for the price. Anything from sub harmonic stuff to sounding like a guitar or organ. The Pog has really brought my sound out front. Highly recommended for Bass players!

  • from Northern Virginia May 15, 2014Music Background:
    Gigging musician, hobby

    Good but not great

    I was looking for a pedal to give my 6 string a 12 string sound. This pedal will not give you a believable immitation. That said the pedal does have some good tones. I find less is more and resist the urge to overuse this pedal. Having to use the supplied power adapter is an annoying extra step to set up live, no biggie. Overall though its a very good octave pedal and a nice tool to have. No regrets on the purchase!

  • from SC March 14, 2016Music Background:
    Gigging Musician

    Great polyphony, So-so tracking, terrible tone

    I've spent a good bit of time with one of these, and it has a few good things: the polyphony is great, it really does track multiple notes very well without the muddiness or glitches of a mono octaver. That being said, the tracking is only decent, and the tone (sadly) is just downright terrible. No octave pedal will give you a warm, fuzzy analog sound, but this thing is just shrill, harsh and grating. I didn't find either octave usable. Wound up going with the Boss OC-3, which is an absolutely fantastic mono octaver. The tone is 10 times better than the Micro POG, it has flawless tracking and it's almost half the price.

    Lesson? There's no such thing as a perfect polyphonic octaver yet, that I've found, but there are several great mono options available, like the Boss OC-3. I had the opportunity to try both before I made my purchase, which helped tremendously.

  • from Davenport, FL October 12, 2008Music Background:
    Hard-Working guitarist

    In Big Brother's Shadow

    I was dissapointed. I had tried the POG, and loved the sound of it. The micro-POG seemed liked it just had fewer features, at a lower price point, but I ended up being dissapointed wiht the sound quality of it. While the big POG made my guitar sound fat, singing, and organ-like, the micro pog just made it muddy and screechy. While I would recomend the HOG or the POG, I don't think they did a good job with the micro.

Questions about the Electro-Harmonix Micro POG Polyphonic Octave Generator Pedal?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway