0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month 4

On-Stage Stands MS7701B Tripod Microphone Stand - Black Reviews

4.0 stars based on 83 customer reviews
Questions about the On-Stage Stands MS7701B Tripod Microphone Stand - Black?

Questions about the On-Stage Stands MS7701B Tripod Microphone Stand - Black?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • Marcus
    from Washington, DC April 20, 2017Music Background:
    Audio Engineer

    Great Stands

    On-Stage has become synonymous with "mic stands." We consider no other brand when looking for an inexpensive, yet top quality and reliable mic stand.

    These stands are no different. We used them for a recording of a podcast and they worked perfectly!...

  • Customer
    from April 15, 2017

    Good stand

    Very good stand made very strong it's not plastic like others. It's metal and tightens securely.

  • Jay Schultz
    from NY April 14, 2017

    Great add on

    This stand was bundled with a mic purchase, so I wasn't expecting much. It has now become my main stand. I like the longer boom, since I sit when I play guitar. I'm no longer banging into stand with my knee or instrument. Thanks, Sweetwater!!

  • Karen
    from Pennsylvania April 3, 2017Music Background:
    Guitar player singer

    Really nice mic stand

    This is a very nice mic stand. The grips tighten well and don't slip. Lots of angle adjustments so you can get the mic exactly where you want it. Coated matte black and looks nice.

  • Shakey Lyman
    from Philadelphia March 10, 2017Music Background:
    Professional blues musician

    On stage tripod stand

    This stand is a good heavy duty one . I like it a lot !

  • M. Sanders
    from Murphy, NC March 9, 2017

    On-Stage MS7701B Mic Stand

    I'm impressed with the quality of this mic stand. It's versatile & heavy. I have a USB mic and I also placed an older, heavier Shure Pro Logic mic in it & extended the boom horizontally as far out as it will go and it didn't tip over. For an enthusiast like me that uses this product for home use, to help better my harp & banjo playing, i believe it will hold up & last me awhile. Best bang for the bucks.

    Thank you, Sweetwater, for your prompt, friendly service.

  • Richmond Aulisio
    from Laguna Beach January 27, 2016Music Background:
    Extensive

    Quality Stand

    It is what I consider heavy, which is a good thing. Seems well built. Articulates just fine.

  • carguy
    from October 7, 2015

    On-Stage Mic Stand

    Very nice stand. I was impressed with its sturdiness. I couldn't imagine a better stand with more features.

  • Jerrry Williams
    from September 14, 2015Music Background:
    9377074137

    Boom Stands

    Very pleased with the 3 boom stands I purchased from Sweetwater the sales rep. was great to work with and with the Ausix DP7 package I bought I got the best deal I could find by working with Sweetwater give them a call you will not be sorry. Thanks Sweetwater for everything.

  • Larry
    from Canandaigua, NY August 31, 2015Music Background:
    Gigging Musician

    Functional

    Lightweight, low cost, and functional. Can't go wrong with this stand.

  • Barbara
    from New Mexico July 21, 2015

    nice couldn't be a better deal and stand

    Best stand .ever .

  • David Wesley Kreger
    from Dallas, Texas June 28, 2015Music Background:
    Singer/Songwriter Classic Country Music Entertainer

    Giving good review....

    Everything I expected and more! Thank you Sweetwater for your promotions and low price's! The candy is good too! Thanks again!

  • Doug
    from Venice, Fl June 15, 2015Music Background:
    26 years playing live and recording

    Solid Build Locks down nicely and has clips for cable

    Great Boom, multi purpose for sure

  • Jazzy
    from NC June 3, 2015

    NIce stand

    For a free bundle stand I'll take it anytime. Onstage brand is always a dependable brand!

  • Crucibus
    from LOng Islang May 17, 2015Music Background:
    was gigging for nearly 20 years. Playing that many more

    Boom Stand Great

    I already own one of these. Fantastic. This other that I now have was part of a promo package in fishman acoustic artist package by sweetwater. So I knew I was getting a good deal. I use it for micing my acoustic at the 12th fret. [best location] for that type of thing. while playing through the fishman loud artist acoutic amp. which by the way is great unto itself. I would say YES a great buy.

  • Jim J
    from NJ April 15, 2015

    Excellent stand, excellent value

    Lightweight, sturdy, stable and versatile. Very reasonably priced.

  • Fred M
    from Quincy, Florida March 10, 2015Music Background:
    Sing at home and church sound man

    Great Microphone stands

    Great Microphone stands, purchased 3 about 3 months ago to work with 3 Behringer Microphones that I use at home.

  • Customer
    from September 25, 2014

    Better than the rest!

    One of the best purchases I've made in a good while. You don't need to keep the receipt.

  • Crystal Dennis
    from Chula Vista, CA July 22, 2014Music Background:
    Semi-professional singer, Amature voice over artist

    Awesome, affordable stand

    I bought this stand thinking it was a desktop boom stand (my brain read the measurements wrong, oops!). But after I got over the initial shock of ordering the wrong thing....I fell in love with this stand! Super easy to assemble, and I love the flexibility it gives you. I record in a home studio and used to have to have all of my desk space taken up by my stand, my computer etc. But now with the floor stand it's so nice to have the mic on it's own and space on my desk for all of the extras. The adjustibility is just fantastic - I'm pretty tall, and I use this thing both standing and sitting with major ease. I got the pop filter XLR cable bundle and both are of great quality as well. Just really can't say enough good things about this stand, and can't wait to take it to use on a gig in the future!

  • Paul
    from Missouri March 27, 2014Music Background:
    Playing 10 yr plus as a hobby

    Works for me

    Not much to say about a mic stand but its the right size and it works very well. Very steady and well built to last.

  • Dan
    from March 23, 2014Music Background:
    Beethoven's assistant.

    Great quality at a great price.

    Works great and has lots of quality adjustments. All mic stands like this are very similar if you ask me, but some can have really cheap adjustment areas that just feel cheap. This feels well built and does exactly what I need it for. Great price at under $25 with free shipping. Hard to beat that.

  • Mark
    from Kensington, CA January 16, 2014Music Background:
    30 Years Experience

    A super stand of the 99%!

    This mic stand is an exceptional value and has a build quality that is absolutely outstanding regardless of its low price. Unless you're REALLY hard on your gear and/or are on the road all the time (and if you are, you're probably playing places that already have PA's anyway) there really isn't any reason to buy anything else.   I can see why these stands are so popular.   Just perfect for rehearsals, recording and gigging around town.

  • Rashaunda Pugh
    from Chicago, IL November 8, 2013Music Background:
    Hip Hop and R&B

    Woo hoo

    Woo hoo it shipped the next day and I had it within 2 days and it is in great condition to be used professionally for that tiny price :) yay

  • Barry Love
    from Valley,Al. May 30, 2013Music Background:
    Over 50 years playing music

    mic stand

    In a special deal I usually expect a weak link but not here.The stand is more than enough for the mic and very substantial.Agreat package deal

  • Kalei Cleveland
    from Kihei, Hi. USA November 6, 2012Music Background:
    Pro Musician / Worship Leader

    MS7701B

    The MS7701B overwhelmingly superceeds my expectations, durability and cost. Awesome!!!

  • Greg Williams
    from Brighton,Ont. Canada March 1, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Tripod on-stge stand MS7701B

    Good quality. Have had mic stands before that I paid alot more money for and they were not as good. Sturdy. Serves my purpose well.

  • Hank
    from Pitt PA November 6, 2011Music Background:
    Vintage Guitarist

    On-Stage Stands MS7701B

    Sturdy stands, great look, light and easily moved. Exactly wehat I wanted and WOW what a price!!!! Of course the amazing Sweetwater service helps too!

  • Customer
    from Dallas October 26, 2011Music Background:
    musician (semi pro)

    LOVE IT!

    Awesome deal!!! Keep'em coming!!

  • George Izquierdo
    from New Orleans, La. (Metairie... the 'burbs) October 25, 2011Music Background:
    56 years of working in the biz, keyboards, vocals, B-3, solo piano, band member, recording studio engineer/producer, live sound engineer, buy & sell gear, anything/everything musical !

    Sweetwater... whatelse !

    Yep, it's a nice stand and works just fine... my point concerns Sweetwater... for several months now I've been talking to them about some mikes for my studio... I'm still working on getting the funds together but this place is PRO... all the way. Went to a Protools seminar... the cats there were PRO... all the way. The were real people, knew their **** forward and backward and were more than happy to talk about anything you might need or want to know about... or just swap war stories. A TOTAL JOY !

  • Customer
    from October 21, 2011

    MIC STANDS

    ECXELENT THANKS!!!!!!

  • Al
    from Staten Island,New York April 25, 2017Music Background:
    Teacher and musician

    Rating mic stands

    Good,sturdy boom stands. Was impressed that this quality came with the mic bundle.

  • David J
    from Houston Area February 3, 2017Music Background:
    40+ years of playing

    Very good Mic Stand

    These stands are great. The boom is solid and the stand is built to last. Sweetwater is great and will get it to you quickly.

  • AL+1
    from HAWAII November 25, 2016Music Background:
    Amature/ Hobbist

    Boom mic stand are the best.

    When recording having the ability to place the mic a the right angle and position is important.
    I'll be getting more in the future.
    Good quality and at a grate price ... On-Stage is a grate buy

  • Chris
    from Toledo, Ohio February 10, 2016

    Handy

    I received a microphone as a gift years ago and never came around to using it because I didn't much enjoy the stand it came with. It was a tabletop stand. I purchased this stand to have more options when it came to using my microphone. This stand is very adjustable and does the job quite well.

  • dgh
    from Woodstock, GA August 27, 2015

    Good, affordable stand

    I have several of these and have been pleased with them, they've done well for several years. Definitely recommend for regular use, and they're so affordable I don't mind if they take a beating.

  • Abby
    from NJ July 30, 2015Music Background:
    pro keyboard player

    On-Stage MS7701B

    Works as it should. Nicely designed.

  • Doug Rupe
    from Astoria, OR May 2, 2015Music Background:
    Professional guitarist and vocalist Solo and Duo gigs

    Excellent for the price

    Probably the best mic stand for the price. 24.95 and free shipping.

  • Joe Dog
    from Near the Hood January 28, 2015Music Background:
    Possessed Hobbyist.

    Easy to Use

    Comparable to other inexpensive mic stands. Adjusts easily. Seems solid.

  • Glenn Stone
    from GRAND MARSH, WI January 21, 2015Music Background:
    Drummer/Soundman

    Well worth it

    I bought 2 of these for overhead mics on my drum kit. I like the ease with which they go together, and they are very versatile. Well worth it for me.

  • Rick
    from Cincinnati, OH December 27, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    On-stage...good as usual

    Its a mike stand!!! Performs as expected and set up is a breeze!

  • Chuck
    from Kent, Ohio December 26, 2014Music Background:
    35 year Professional singer-songwriter- performer

    Jury's Out but . . .

    Just got a six bag set of these. Have only used them a few times but they are sturdy, well made, seem very reliable and were extremely affordable! If they hold up over time they may well be one of the best valuses out there.

  • Andrew
    from Louisville, KY September 7, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Exactly what I needed

    I needed a cheap, easy to use boom mic stand and this fit the bill perfectly.

  • Pastor Joe Tucker
    from Trinidad, Texas July 31, 2014Music Background:
    Guitar musician, sound and recording.

    Excellent product

    I was surprised by the quality of product for the price. It is excellent. In fact I am going to order another one for our church.

  • Customer
    from July 1, 2014

    Good stand

    Good quality. Sturdy, durable.

  • Customer
    from June 12, 2014

    Works Great

    Entirely functional, the base legs are a bit short for my taste, but works as well as it needs to.

  • River Burt
    from Colorado December 11, 2013Music Background:
    Live Performer

    Great Bang for the Buck

    All it's advertised to be, and a great buy. In weekly use, there's no doubt in my mind it will last my lifetime.

  • P lance
    from October 24, 2011

    great stand

    works great!

  • Customer
    from January 8, 2017

    Great Value

    Great value, great service during the busy holidays. Excellent followup with salesperson.

  • Customer
    from August 25, 2016

    Euro boom

    Good stand. This is number 2

  • C A
    from Alexandria, VA April 27, 2016Music Background:
    Recording Engineer

    Lasts just as long as the expensive stuff.

    I've worked at a lot of venues with a wide variety of stands. All stands seem to break eventually, and I'd prefer to spend the big bucks on other gear. The On-Stage stands are affordable, and last a long time if you treat them OK.

  • Customer
    from Denver, CO March 25, 2016

    Perfect For Light to Medium Use

    These stands do exactly what they need to so long as they don't have to be rigorously used. I work at a venue and I've had issues with the tightening mechanism on the boom arm before; the little plastic piece that holds the nut that the tightening screw goes into will sometimes crack. If that happens, the thing is irreparable and you have to junk it. Our stands go though a lot of nightly abuse, though. If you're planning on using it kindly and not every single night, it should be totally fine.

  • Customer
    from August 21, 2015

    mic stand

    works well for my set up

  • Pete
    from Central Florida July 3, 2015

    Great for the price

    Finding myself unexpectedly needing a couple more mic stands for recording, I order these and couldn't have been happier. Needed some stands for flute players and a regular mic stand wasn't working - the boom was just the thing.

  • Rick
    from Indiana March 15, 2015

    MS7701B Euro Boom Microphone Stand

    Nice lightweight stand. Will creep a little if you do not lock it down tight but overall very nice.

  • Jason
    from pittsburgh, pa October 11, 2014Music Background:
    recording engineer

    does it's job fer sure

    What you see is what you get. It's not a ninja. it can be wonky in tight spaces. But it's sturdy, reliable, and easy to custom fit for your space.

  • Troy Jensen
    from Provo, UT USA July 8, 2014Music Background:
    Guitarist and beging tech.

    A Stand and a Boom! Bo-Yah!

    Good stand, good quality. Very versatile. These can be used at various heights. We use some for vocals, toms, snares and even overhead condensers. The only thing I would say could be improved on, is metal wing nuts instead of plastic. They are still a good quality, but with all kinds of other people "helping" set up and take down equipment I'm always afraid someone will crank one of those plastic nuts to tightly and break it.

  • Cornerstone Baptist Church
    from Fontana, CA December 26, 2013Music Background:
    Live Sound Engineer, Pro Musician, and Old Man

    Lightweight, Versatile, Durable

    We have very little room on our stage (7x16 feet). But, surprisingly, was able to manage the base on these, and cram 8 mics on stage with a little overlap. They are stable. Easy to use and manipulate. Great value and durable.

  • Timothy
    from Fort Wayne, IN October 20, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    decent

    Boom arm itself is not the most secure out there, but it does its job. Everything else about this stand is very sturdy though.

  • Rod Chandler
    from United States January 1, 2013Music Background:
    hobbyist

    Works Well

    Works well for it's intended purpose. I have a small home studio and this has done everything I need for it to do.

  • Greg
    from NJ November 7, 2012Music Background:
    Serious hobbyist

    A good stand for a great price

    A well-built stand that is solid when in use and has nice adjustments to easily get the mic into any position.

  • Customer
    from October 31, 2011

    Good for medium duty

    The stands are very inexpensive, and are a good value for the money. A couple of caveats, though:

    The legs of the tripods do not lock in the deployed position. Every time a stand gets moved, the legs tend to flop down into the folded position. Then the stand needs to be reset. No big deal.

    The cinch collars are made of a plastic. As long as you are mindful of that and do not over-tighten them, it should serve well.

  • Customer
    from October 26, 2011

    Review The On-Stage Stands MS7701B

    Excellent value for what I am using it for

  • Tom
    from Spokane, WA USA October 26, 2011Music Background:
    musician

    Mic Stands

    Solid stands for the money. The true test will be how they stand up to street ministry!

  • Nick
    from Chicago, IL October 25, 2011

    Very nice for the price!

    I bought these stand on sale with a cable for a great price and they've held up nicely so far. I had some other cheap stands before and they just weren't cutting it anymore. These are a great step up from cheap ones and they feel solid enough to hold up on the road for a while.

  • Lotus Seven
    from Midwest USA October 21, 2011Music Background:
    Recording Engineer/Producer

    Decent Stand for the Price!

    The On-Stage MS7701B is a reasonably well made folding stand. The leg pivot tension is tight enough to keep the base from rocking and the boom pivot friction lock holds pretty well.

    This Chinese-made stand is fine for medium duty applications. It's not as well made as a K & M, but, of course, cots a lot less than a K & M.

    Pros:
    -Inexpensive!
    -Nice size - just tall enough for most studio applications.
    -Vertical shaft friction lock collar works well - easy to tighten.
    -Base is heavy enough to be stable even though it's plastic covered.

    Cons:
    -Boom pivot is die-cast and female threads are cut directly into the die-casting instead of a machined brass or steel thread insert. You have to be very careful not to cross thread the boom and damage the fragile die cast threads.

    -Rubber boom pivot friction washers and base leg rubber tips are cheap, really smelly Chinese rubber instead of higher quality neoprene found on better stands. It will be interesting to see how long they last.

  • jim keith
    from Florida December 9, 2016Music Background:
    Equipment manager

    Correction of previous review

    I had complained in a review here about customer service wanting photographs of an photograhable defect on the ball ends of the locking handle (peanut) but after my review i was contacted and talked to their customer service agent and replacement parts are in route. So IMO score one big for On-Stage customer service, hence a 2 point bump on my score. These aren't great stands but look at the competition at this price range and in the past their stands have stood the test of time for me i have a couple at least 10 years old and still working fine and a bunch of other brand stands good for nothing but parts in the same time frame.

  • Sebastian
    from Chico, California November 15, 2013Music Background:
    Musician, Hobbyist, Recording Production

    On -Stage Microphone Stands

    They set just right for my drum recording there going to work out great.

  • Rey Ybarra
    from Texas November 27, 2012Music Background:
    Professional

    Decent mic stand

    Pretty good mic stand, its not amazing but its not crap, it works and holds up well, it doesn't break down too small, its actually quite long when broken down that would be my only complaint, it was too long to fit in road case

  • SN Vue
    from TULSA, OK May 8, 2016

    It's Okay, Not Great

    Bought this to complement my Behringer C1 condenser mic and it is pretty light weight. Can't really support the weight of that particular mic. The tripod don't stay flat on my carpeted floor, it rocks.But it does the job for $25.

  • Jim N
    from Chicago May 28, 2015

    Good value

    The stand is a good value. It's lightweight and does the job sufficiently. Time will tell how long it will hold up.

  • Jeremy
    from Alabama January 7, 2013Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Pretty good for price, not especially durable

    I used this stand for 1-2 gigs per week for about 9 months before it gave out ( boom adjustment screw stripped, knob fell off, angle adjustment broken). But, for $25, I don't really have a complaint. Replaced with a DR Tripod stand (about $60) and have been much happier. If you're on a budget and it won't get a lot of hard use, it's great. If you gig a lot, spend a little more and get something more durable.

  • USAMindy
    from OH June 23, 2012Music Background:
    singer/musician hobbyist

    boom stand

    light weight, but received as part of a microphone package, so good for an extra

  • Christo
    from Boston October 27, 2011Music Background:
    Recording engineer and sound designer

    Pretty Ok

    Perfectly serviceable, but I neither require nor expect them to last as long as their Atlas or AKG counterparts. They work, they're good fill for when I'm short a stand or two, and (at this price) I won't feel too bad when one of them breaks or gets stolen - as they always do.

  • Caster Blaster
    from northern, NV November 22, 2014Music Background:
    variety

    Cheap Build. Great for a shoe string budget

    Cheap build. But great for a shoe string budget. The clutch tighteners don't give me confidence and have to be again tightened when using.' The tripod floor stand doesn't instill confidence and wouldn't leave home with it for public use. All the hand tightened areas just don't seem to tighten well for good solid mechanical set. But if your on a shoe string budget like I am at times-it's great

  • Jeff Siegel
    from December 28, 2015

    mic stgand with boom

    you get what you pay for. good stands for what they are we use them all the time

  • Marcus
    from United States March 11, 2012Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Producer, Artist

    Both Good and Bad

    This mic stand is ok for the hobby artist/producer/engineer. I bought this mic stand and it was fine at first but after about a month of 8 hr recording sessions each day and adjusting this mic to fit the artist I wanted to throw it out the window!!! The stand is very light so be careful if youre going to be using a heavy mic and the knobs are easy to strip and sometimes dont stay locked like they should. For a private studio/individual this stand is perfect but for a full fledged recording studio this stand is not the way to go.

  • Kevin
    from Michigan February 8, 2017Music Background:
    40 years experience

    MS7701B Tripod Mic Stand

    This stand is extremely light weight and tips easily. Not usable with my condenser mics.

  • Jack
    from USA December 29, 2016

    Cheap, light, and not suitable for on stage

    Borderline junk. I bought this knowing it was cheap, but didn't know it was this bad. This is easy to tip over and so flimsy I would say that if it got caught under a 12" combo it would get bent. Barely passable for an amateur studio, and most definitely would not stand up to any type of gigging. I would return if it would cost more to ship than it is worth.

  • Customer
    from April 19, 2016

    Get what you pay for

    I guess the saying rings true - you get what you pay for. I bought two stands for light use in my rehearsal space and am completely disappointed with even the basic functions. One of the threads where the boom screws onto the main stand has completely stripped out already. I'll admit, there was a heavy mic hanging on it for one session, but really?

    The main disappointment is the primary boom clutch. There are two rubber pads that you need to wrench the hell out of to get a mic to stay put out on the boom. Usually it ends up sagging and requires constant attention. I ended up putting regular short hex bolts / nuts / washers to remedy that issue.

    Nice try On Stage, but there may be a reason mic stands aren't supposed to be this cheap.

  • Neil Wright
    from Reading, PA October 28, 2011Music Background:
    Bandleader, full-time touring performer since 1985

    You Get What You Pay For - and you don't pay much for this...

    The titile says it pretty well. These are cheap and that's what you get. It has all the right parts and adjustments, and each part, joint, thread and fitting is VERY flimsy.

    I bought two of these to have for backups and for extra stands when my band has horn players, etc. and they will be just fine for that, but these won't survive a single month of road use, so don't ask it of them.

    My K&M is still solid after 12 years of 3-gigs-a-week use. If you want something you can depend on, you can't do any better than those. You can even tell just by the weight (or lack therof) that these stands are no pro-grade.

  • JohnR
    from North Charleston, SC January 20, 2016

    I wouldn't if I were you

    I cannot in good conscience recommend this stand. I bought this to use at the open mic I host. It was used once per week for 2 1/2 hours at a time. It only lasted 4 weeks before the height adjustment stopped working altogether.
    On the bright side, I might still be able to use it when sitting down if I use the angle of the boom to give me a little height.

  • Customer
    from June 25, 2015

    Serviceable

    Lightweight mic stand. Good for supplement if you need an extra but will not stand up to regular gigs. One tighten screw stripped firdtytime. Entry level stand.

  • Paul
    from May 21, 2012Music Background:
    Live Sound Engineer

    Fall Apart

    These stand fall apart very quickly. Low quality. For me, they only work on the drums since we never touch the stands.

Questions about the On-Stage Stands MS7701B Tripod Microphone Stand - Black?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway