0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month 2

On-Stage Stands MS7920B Bass Drum / Boom Combo Mic Stand Reviews

4.0 stars based on 27 customer reviews
Questions about the On-Stage Stands MS7920B Bass Drum / Boom Combo Mic Stand?

Questions about the On-Stage Stands MS7920B Bass Drum / Boom Combo Mic Stand?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • Bob G
    from Lafayette IN April 27, 2017

    Solid Stand

    Solid and works great!

  • Christopher Propper
    from Farmingville, NY March 19, 2017Music Background:
    Gigging/session

    Heavy duty

    Surprisingly heavy duty for the price, only thing keeping it from being perfect is the threads for putting the mic on could be a little longer/provide a litter more secure of a hold.

  • Jeffrey Van Elzen
    from Wisconsin March 17, 2017

    Works great!!

    Awesome product

  • Tom
    from St. Marys, Ga. February 15, 2017

    Better than expected

    I have 2 other stands I got from Amazon paid 70% more but only half as good. mechanicals are excellent and base is heavy so now I don't have a tipping problem.

  • Alex K
    from Austin TX November 17, 2016

    Good 'nuff

    I found the various clamps a little less effective than I'd like, and I'm concerned about rust due to rain or humidity. That said, it held my mic stable for each use - kick drum and amps alike.

  • Christopher Wyles
    from Monroe, GA November 1, 2016Music Background:
    Music Minister/Audio Engineer

    Good Stand

    Using it to mic kick drum. Works very well.

  • John
    from TX - Texas September 28, 2016

    Weak Pipe Will Break At Base Threads

    The threaded pipe is weak at the base. It will break off leaving the stand useless. I have owned three of these and all three broke off at the bases with little road wear. The thin walls of the pipe cannot support the cut threads. It takes very little stress to break off.

    The boom assembly is good quality. The threaded pipe wall thickness creates poor quality.

  • Customer
    from August 16, 2016Music Background:
    Live Sound

    Looks Can Be Deceiving

    Do not buy, unless your mic weighs 1lb. I purchased this for a Shure 52A and it easily tips the stand over. Luckily I have a heavier base on hand.

  • Michael McCoy
    from Pesotum, IL July 13, 2016

    Nice Stand

    This is a nice stand. Good price and good quality. I really like the way the base is designed. It makes a small footprint but is heavy enough to support a mic at full extension. Great for kick drum, guitar amp or any other low / tight application. I bought mine for desktop use while DJ gigging.

  • William
    from Brandon,Florida June 11, 2016

    Willrepair

    Great for my uses.

  • Matt
    from Ohio June 8, 2016Music Background:
    Drums

    Good but hard to balance

    For the money, this stand is pretty good. I place a Shure Beta 52A bass drum mic on it, which is a very heavy microphone, and it seems slightly wobbly. You can't have the boom out too far, or it will fall down. The stand would probably be a little better if there was a heavier counterweight on it.

  • L Sp8
    from Southeast Missouri November 23, 2015

    A stand is usually just a stand!

    Great stand. Great price. It does the job (holding a bass drum mike) with no issues!

  • Jerry Williams
    from September 14, 2015Music Background:
    Play drums for 55 yrs

    16" boom stand

    This boom stand is a very solid stand to mic my kick drum. It easy to adjust sets up quick. Very pleased with this stand. The sales reps at Sweetwater are fantastic. Would recommend them to all of my friends.

  • LDY
    from Southerncalifornia June 9, 2015Music Background:
    Player

    works fine

    Perfect answer for what it is made for. If you need it, get cause it works!

  • Dr. G.
    from Ithaca, NY. May 6, 2015Music Background:
    40 year Guitar Player, some engineering and soundtrack production experience

    Just Right

    This works just fine for me for Mic'ing my Fender amp with an SM57, base is nice and heavy and the boom is reasonably adjustable. If you had to stick this thing into a Bass drum with a heavy Mic, that might be a bit trickier. Was able to get rid of the full size Mic stand that was always getting in my way.

  • Mike
    from Atlanta, GA USA December 17, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Too tipsy

    Nice stand but the base is too unstable. I knocked mine over a couple of times just barely touching it. $1000 microphone banging into and scratching a $2000 guitar, ouch -- so a $50 mic stand is a bad investment.

  • MIKE
    from April 29, 2014

    GREAT PRODUCT!!

    IT CAME AS IT LOOKS IN THE PICTURE. I LOVE SWEETWATER SERVICE AND I LIKE HOW THEY CONTACTED ME AFTER MY PURCHASED AND IT CAME VERY QUICK(2 DAYS) IN THE MAIL. I WILL BE ORDERING FROM THEM AGAIN!!!

  • Dan
    from March 23, 2014Music Background:
    Beethoven's assistant.

    Too cute, is that bad?

    I was shocked at how much the base weighed. Incredible and very heavy compared to what I imagined it would be. I didn't get this for a bass drum. My two purposes for this are for a mic stand on my desk for doing tutorials and as my phone holder to shoot video (I have a note 3 with 4k recording as well as 1080P at 60fps). The camera holder clamp I bought separately of course with a quick google search. This is a very well built piece of equipment. At first I thought, haha, this thing's cute. I still do, but it's proved itself to me in every other way. Gives my make shift studio a very cool look and makes me look like I almost know what I'm doing. I have expensive taste and my desks are solid glass. I was a tad nervous at first when this arrived because of the weight, but it's weight is spread out along it's 5 rubber feet. They hold it right above the glass at about an 1/8th of an inch and can't even notice them. An added bonus. Adjustments are top notch all the way and I've yet to see how people could say this thing tips. Love it and know what to get a few people next Christmas that will blow them away!

  • Mark Markosky
    from White Oak, PA September 6, 2013Music Background:
    I'm Old. Ran the soundboard at the Last Supper

    Bas Drum/Boom Comboi Mike Stand

    Too "Tipsy"" for a heavy Kick Drum Mike.

  • Customer
    from August 14, 2013Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Great help.

    Necessarily heavy, but a great help.

  • tabletopdrummer
    from Indiana, USA! January 2, 2013Music Background:
    semi-pro musician, sound engineer, bus driver, ect....

    Great little stand!

    Works great, folds up nice and tight in my hardware box, I use a beta 52 on it and have NO Problems! A Big thumbs up!

  • Jon Cline
    from Union, OH December 27, 2012Music Background:
    Guitarist, Recording Enthusiast

    Cheap plastic parts

    There are several cheap plastic components to this stand that break very easily. One of the plastic clips was even broken when the stand arrived at my door. I'm sure that Sweetwater will take care of replacing it, but this shouldn't have happened in the first place. The item was well packed, but the cheap plastic parts are bound to break easily.

  • Debbie
    from United States November 1, 2012Music Background:
    N/A - I do voice over.

    Weighted base isn't heavy enough

    I wanted this to record audio for online courseware. My current desk has a lip and I can no longer clamp the mic on. Well, if I put this where I want it, the Blue Snowball and windscreen is too heavy and pulls the whole thing over. So, I have to have it in my way in order to use it. I'm almost better off just using the original tiny stand the microphone came with, even though it's too short. :-(

  • Customer
    from August 7, 2012Music Background:
    Sound Engineer

    put this on a tripod

    great stand for the price, though not a big fan of these weighted bases, they tend to be tipsy even with the weight directed in the right direction. Really only bought this for the 16" boom, would like to see Sweetwater offer a tripod stand with a 16" boom in this price range.

  • Trevor Smith
    from Charleston Wv February 22, 2012Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Live Sound, Pro Musician

    Its a stand

    The only actual complaint I have about this product is that when fully extended at certain angles it tends to fall over. Honestly if you need it for some crazy mic-ing position buy something heavier or add weight. For the price you cant beat it.

  • Thom Riley
    from Raymond Wa. January 6, 2012Music Background:
    drummer vocalist for 30 yrs

    this mic is done right

    nice heavy base , extends to put the mic close to the beater pad, fits nice even with a kick port.

  • Sean Millspaugh
    from Norman, OK October 10, 2011Music Background:
    Hobbyist/Recording Musician

    Short, Simple, Perfect.

    It's a mic stand. The joints hold well, the base is nicely weighted, and adjustments are a breeze. It's made of fairly sturdy material, so it's probably not going to break. I use it on a desk, and the added flexibility of a full mic-stand in the compact space is absolutely perfect. I can keep it in one place and put the mic wherever I need it without moving the stand at all. I suppose that's the goal of a mic-stand, keeping the mic where you need it. If that's the case, then this stand meets that standard quite well. Great buy.

Questions about the On-Stage Stands MS7920B Bass Drum / Boom Combo Mic Stand?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway