0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month

Gator Frameworks GFW-MIC-0821 Compact Base Bass Drum and Amp Mic Stand Reviews

4.0 stars based on 17 customer reviews
Questions about the Gator Frameworks GFW-MIC-0821 Compact Base Bass Drum and Amp Mic Stand?

Questions about the Gator Frameworks GFW-MIC-0821 Compact Base Bass Drum and Amp Mic Stand?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • Brett Stewart
    from May 19, 2016Music Background:
    Musician / Podcaster

    Superb Stand

    I bought this stand for desktop use, not to mic a bass drum or amp. I'm sure it would suit those purposes very well, as it does suit mine perfectly. This is arguably the finest construction I've seen on a mic stand of any size - it's durable, heavy, and exudes quality. I have a heavy condenser with a shock mount attached and it handles the weight just fine. (But - you *must* have the higher, heavy portion of the stand facing away from the mic to balance the weight. If you have the stand sideways, it'll fall.)

    Highly recommended. Thanks, Sweetwater!

  • Rick
    from Cincinnati February 29, 2016Music Background:
    Worship Ministry

    Just What I Needed!

    Very impressive, heavy duty construction. You wouldn't think it would be so difficult to find a good, low profile mic stand to hold a kick drum mic (AKG D112). We were tired of larger boom type stands and the small ones couldn't properly hold the mic. You will not find a stronger, more secure stand than this.

  • Anthony
    from NY April 2, 2015

    Amazing Kick Drum Mic Stand

    This thing is awesome. I did not expect it to be as solid as it is. The base plate is weighty so lugging a few of these could get heavy. For kick drums it's amazing. There are much lighter options for getting a mic on an amp cabinet though.

  • Bill
    from Lawrenceville, GA May 26, 2014Music Background:
    Player for 35 years - still learning

    Best stand for the price

    This is an excellent stand for the money and the perfect solution for my needs. Well thought out in every way.
    My DAW desktop is crowded and I cannot keep a mic mounted permanently there. This short boom has a heavy base that makes it stable enough to use on the desktop. When I'm not recording it's easy to move out of the way. The base is padded for isolation and the arm is long enough to give me room for my guitar. The large friction plates on the hinge allow me to set the tension so that it doesn't have to be locked down completely to support the mic. That way, when I need to move it up and out of the way, I don't have to unlock it. Very convenient.
    It feels solid and well built in every way.
    My favorite feature is the inclusion of cable clips.
    Gator has made my life easier.

  • Daniel Knapp
    from Illinois February 15, 2017

    hard on equipment

    I'm pretty hard on mic stands I guess, I've been through many so I spend a little extra in hope I end one that doesn't wind up held together with duct-tape, or drilling out holes and bolting together.

    The base is nice and solid, I like a heavy base and this one is over-kill which is just what I wanted. The base gasket is a nice feature and seems well made. The hand clutch is good, although I have to suspect if you adjust it often will eventually wear out. It makes me wonder if you are able to replace the shim gasket at reasonable cost ?

    threads and locking mechanism is fine, as with any mic stand you should consider loc-tite and tightening this good right away so your mic clip is secured for life.

    The tilt adjustment on the boom is nice, comfortable easy to grap adjuster which locks down tight.

    I would prefer a weighted counter-balance to the plastic end which does not unthread on the boom, and the weak link is without a doubt the set screw !

    I'm not too disappointed as it is basically a bonus that it even comes with a boom, it would be nice if there was an upgrade available for boom with removable counterweight and perhaps a clutch or some better option for the set screw.

    If you are able to set it once lock down and forget it, this set screw may be just fine for you, the base is heavy enough it will probably be secure without a decent counterweight. So these are not deal-breakers. For someone who plans to adjust the boom often, plan on upgrading or modifying this boom in short order.

  • Customer
    from February 8, 2017

    solid!

    very nice construction and design.

  • Customer
    from June 29, 2015

    Gator Frameworks compact bass drum stand

    Superb. The compact base takes up so much less space on our small playing area. It's well weighted to
    be steady and doesn't move around. Also presents such a clean and streamlined appearance. Love it.

  • Bill Hawkins
    from May 9, 2014

    Perfect for the desktop

    I needed a short boom for normal to heavy mics on the desktop. The heavy base with rubber pad makes this the perfect tool to get the job done. Very well thought out components and extras like cable clamps make this an excellent choice for me.

  • Dave Pittman
    from Lexington, SC May 2, 2014Music Background:
    Recording and Live Sound Engineer

    Solid low stand

    This is a great little low mic stand! I have used both round base and tripod mic stands for many years - round base are all to often too large to get in tight on guitar amps and snares, and tripod booms have many of the same problems - just hard to get where I want. The Gator Frameworks stand fixes a lot of those problems. It is small, but the base is heavy enough that I can "boom out" a mic pretty far without worrying that it is going to topple, and the squared-off form of the base makes it a lot easier to slide in among cymbal stands, up on the front of a drum riser, or in tight on a guitar cab. I got 2 to try out, now I am buying a bunch more!

  • Carroll
    from Raleigh NC August 29, 2016

    Great stand

    I got this stand for a Audix D6 mic which I was using to record a bass amp. It works well! I have no complaints. I would give it a higher grade but I don't have anything to compare it to.

  • Duke Morgan
    from February 2, 2016

    It s a good Stand

    This is really for holding a mic next to drums- but I use it as a table top mic stand that mobile
    for doing radio shows- Its nice and heavy- does not move around causing noise and this is very important since I use it to help mic voice instead of drums.

  • Customer
    from October 2, 2015

    heavy as you hoped

    this is a wonderful stand and versatile. I have removed the boom and have a large, heavy mic with vocal isolation shield and pop filter standing on this thing on my recording desk. it is as heavy as you hoped it would be. go ahead and buy one. thanks sweetwater.

  • Marty Robinson
    from Grover Beach, CA USA June 21, 2014Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Nice compact stand

    First off this stands base is very sturdy and the nice part is the rubber gasket on the bottom that stops creeping and vibration on hard surfaces.The height adjustment is easy to use , just a partial turn to unlock and then back to lock, the boom is plenty long enough for most bass drum depths, if you want to get the mic in close to batter head. It also comes with cable clips to secure mic cable.

  • Randy
    from Texas January 17, 2017Music Background:
    Music Entertainment

    Surdy But It Stripped on Me

    I brought this Mic stand and it worked well, however I can not tightened it any longer as it stripped on me..I no longer serves a purpose for me..BUMMER **

  • Rich
    from Florida November 3, 2016

    Okay

    Good enough - but can't see where it's worth more than the On-Stage equivalent.

  • Lenny
    from Los Angeles June 13, 2016

    Stand is fine.Clutch is no good.

    So overall these aren't bad stands but the clutch on these things is the worst. It will barely hold my Blue Woodpecker, which is not a really heavy mic. The adjustment knobs are too small. It's painful trying to tighten them down. I bought two. Won't buy these again.

  • Taylor
    from waco TX July 14, 2015Music Background:
    Live sound and production

    Does not hold up well over time

    I own two of these stands and they are not built well. The twisting mechanism to adjust the height of the stand will eventually lose the gasket that holds it together. After that happens the bottom half of the stand falls off and is very disappointing when you invest your money into something that falls apart in less than a year. I recommend investing your money into another stand for your kick and guitar cabs.

Questions about the Gator Frameworks GFW-MIC-0821 Compact Base Bass Drum and Amp Mic Stand?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway