rrrabuyvsvsveytfazersurdwarubawvev
0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
June 2017 Giveaway

Daking Mic Pre/EQ Reviews

4.5 stars based on 7 customer reviews
Questions about the Daking Mic Pre/EQ?

Questions about the Daking Mic Pre/EQ?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Indiana May 10, 2016Music Background:
    Audio Engineer, Live Sound, Guitarist, Composer

    Sounds Great! Clear and Forward

    The rating is for sheer sound quality (especially for the price).
    The tone is very clear and forward. Things sit better in the mix than when I use my other pres. The Eq sounds great, and there is no second guessing its effectiveness. The separate line and mic inputs are extremely convenient since I only have to hit the line button when switching between my kemper and live room mic.

    These pres are not meant to be pushed to the very edge. They break up really badly when it is pushed too hard. There is no mistaking the sound. I do wish that the there was an insert option so that I could eq after compression.

    These guys are definitely quality and everything has sounds great through them.

  • from Simi Valley, CA October 14, 2015Music Background:
    Professional Touring and Session Musician, Producer, Composer, Engineer.

    Daking Mic Pre/EQ

    Amazing, I replaced a preamp costing almost twice the price. To me, the sound is all in the transformer and this thing has the mojo. The EQ is also extremely powerful, a little goes a long way. This preamp also has plenty of gain for mics and instruments that are low gain. For basses you will need a good direct box, I have found the Radial JDI pairs really well with this preamp. Sweetwater also gave me a great deal. I'm looking forward to buying more Daking products.

  • from San Francisco Bay Area, CA September 5, 2014Music Background:
    Engineer, Songwriter, Artist, Producer

    An Absolutely Magnificent Performer

    There is a point in most musician's/engineer's careers where we realize that our best recording option is right at home. At that point, I think we all perform an inventory inspection of sorts to see what areas of our home-studios absolutely need improvement. In my case, it was certainly on the front end. That's what lead me to acquiring the Daking Mic Pre/EQ.

    Upon the pre's arrival, I did an immediate a/b to see what the difference was between the preamps on my Sapphire Pro and on this joint. What I can tell you is that after the test, I felt like my studio had just developed a sort of magic... Alas, the most comfortable studio a musician can work in (his/her own) finally had in it's walls a piece of gear with commercial moxy. All of that to say that the solid-state harshness of the Sapphire Pro gave way to the brilliantly apparent solid-state warmth of the Daking Mic Pre/EQ. It was an amazing experience for an audiophile like myself.

    Besides the preamp, there are several other nuanced things that are highly functional about this item. The first of them being the output/gain section. What I particularly like about the output/gain section is that you can set the default level of output via the stepped gain knob before having to adjust the output knob. In function, the section acts as sort of a manual recall. That is, I can set my vocal mic level via the output and gain knobs and then immediate plug my cab mic into the unit or patch and only have to adjust the stepped gain knob to find the right level. After that, I can immediately switch back to my vocal mic and only have to adjust the stepped gain knob back to exactly the same level as it was in the first place.

    What I also find highly functional about this unit is both the EQ section, which sounds brilliant, and the EQ bypass switch. The EQ itself is very transparent; the curves seem to have been set at the most optimal 'Q'. But in addition to that, I can set the EQ to handle a vocal mic and then bypass it when I want to patch in a cab mic. Again, this allows for instant recall.

    Last, but not least, is the mute function. It's just nice to have... Especially when overdubbing. Sometimes you just want to quickly mute the recording channel without having to do it inside the DAW... It's nice to just be able to hit a button and the same thing be accomplished without having to go through the process of re-arming. Slight benefit but a benefit nonetheless.

    All in all... I'm totally head over heals about both the magical and musical sound quality of this pre AND the functionality of it's features. This gets a total 'buy' rating from me.

  • from Austin, TX February 17, 2014Music Background:
    Singer, Songwriter, Producer, Studio Musician

    I keep running back to my Daking

    I record a ton of overdub work for artists all over the world, mainly backing vocals. I use various mics ranging from my $5k U47 all the way to a $300 Shure SM7 and I'm able to dial in the exact tone I'm looking for with the integrated EQ on this thing. Really good piece for guys like me who know just enough about engineering to be dangerous!! Killer sounds!

  • from Athens, TN July 13, 2011Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Pro Musician

    Great Preamp with an Awesome EQ!

    The Daking Pre/Eq, in my opinion, is a wonderful addition to any studio. The build/sound quality is top notch and the price is great! I've yet to record a bad track through it. Preamps are a matter of taste but for me the Daking sounds great on anything. I have 2 of these and they see a lot of use in my studio. You will not regret buying this pre/eq.

  • from Atlanta, GA November 10, 2009Music Background:
    Music business anomaly

    Most versatile mic pre and personal favorite

    Geoff says he designs gear with a "get home early" philosophy, and this box has made my life easier for sure. I have two. Besides tracking, I use them across the 2-bus when mixing down. It's modeled after the preamps in the Trident A-range and sounds fantastic on everything. I have other preamps, very good ones, but I always plug into one of the Dakings first. Nine times out of 10 that's where I'll stay. The EQ section is a total no-brainer, a perfect choice of musical frequencies for tracking, and the fixed "Q" for each band always feels just right. But the best part is the inclusion of high- and low-pass buttons that emulate the natural roll-off characteristics of magnetic tape. They are a godsend. I keep them in all the time. I'm totally spoiled for other mic pres because it's so ridiculously easy to get terrific sound out of this box. There's nothing not to like.

  • from texas June 12, 2017

    Burned!

    i really needed help having just bought a mojave ma-200. i trusted in my sales tech to make that happen. at this current time i was running a presonus eurkea thru it and getting awesome feedback!! Excellent! but then my sales guy calls me and says in order to get a better sound i would need this uniit. DOPE! So i bought it!!! well 3 years later this thing has decreased in value to the fullest while the preamp that i really wanted increased in value Boooooo......! It was in his best interest to make a buck off of me!!! Good thing I didnt fall for the adam monitor sales pitch too! Buyers Beware!!!!! Word of advice=== do your own research before u buy and your marriage w sweetwater will be excellent! Now im stuck w a preamp EQ when I only needed a Preamp! smh

Questions about the Daking Mic Pre/EQ?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway