0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month 2

Antares Mic Mod EFX Classic Microphone Modeling Plug-in Reviews

4.0 stars based on 15 customer reviews
Questions about the Antares Mic Mod EFX Classic Microphone Modeling Plug-in?

Questions about the Antares Mic Mod EFX Classic Microphone Modeling Plug-in?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • Rony
    from Philadelphia May 19, 2017

    Amazing

    I'm using this plug-in with a Manley ref cad, I have no clie what the actual version of most of these mics are really suppose to sound like. All I know is they sound great!!

  • Anthony Lowery
    from Manteca, ca February 24, 2014Music Background:
    home recorder, professional

    Favorite.

    I'm astounded at the lack of credit MIc Mod has gotten. This software is really easy to use and also sounds extremely convincing to my ear. By no means does it sound like my own mic being EQ'ed. What I hear is dynamic frequency response change and saturation as well. This Mic Mod is now so so so, so very essential to my home recording studio as it turns my incredible Encore 100 into any mic. (note ENcore 100 has not yet been added to MIc Mod for subtraction or addition of mic sound, but rather culminates). Yet still the sound is incredible.

    There are instrument mics, vocal mic's, supercardiods, cardiods, condensers and all. I highly recommend using a responsive Mic to begin with for original input. My Encore 100 is responsive but is not currently included in the program. Yet still for my sound I had already liked my encore 100 for my personal sound, so it culminates well. Enjoy. And I-lock is plug and play once you get it onto the I-lock.

  • Thyra Rin
    from March 18, 2013Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Lots Microphone.

    Easy use and perfect of mic.

  • Bill Carpenter
    from Texas January 2, 2016Music Background:
    guitar and bass player also recording engineer

    Antares Mic mod

    Does a good job for what it does. Needs more mics to model and to be modeled.

  • Gonzalo
    from Madrid, SPAIN September 3, 2014Music Background:
    Musician, Producer, Mixing Ingineer

    Good plugin

    It is a good plugin, it adds some color to the voice track, adding clarity, harmonics, very subtlety but noticeable. It is a good addition to those who can not afford an expensive mic yet, I mean, it is not going to replace a good mic by no means, but it helps a lot to improve the sound of a vocal track.

    I am not giving a 5 starts due to some issues with the set up of the plugin that I fixed on my own, even though the support service was very responsive. But I don't expect for a $100 plugin this kind of problems.

    I am using ProTools 11 native on a PC.

  • Henry
    from United States March 1, 2013Music Background:
    Minister of music

    Very Nice

    I have only used this a few times and I must say it is a very good plugin. If I knew how all the different real mics sounded, I would be more blown away with this plugin. People like me cannot afford to pay big bucks for the top mics, but we don't need to with items like this. So this comes close to what I can have. Thank you Sweetwater for carrying this product. And thank you Antares.

  • Customer
    from December 27, 2011Music Background:
    Audio Drama / Music Producer

    Got a poopy mic?

    Give it a face lift with this product!
    Had VO tracks that were recorded on a less flattering mic.
    Now we have a really usable tube sound. Love it

  • Mike
    from December 14, 2011

    cool!!

    this is a really neat plugin. You can play around with allot of different sounding Microphones without the expense of having the physical microphone's.
    The draw back is it only works in 32 bit mode with Logic 9, it works in a 64 bit session but you need to use the bridge software to convert it to 32 bit from 64 bit. works fine by using the bridge but, it would be nice to be in 64 bit !!!! I am sure it will be some day!

  • Eric Broviak
    from NE Ohio November 30, 2011Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Sound Consultant

    Mic Modeler fills a niche

    The Mic Modeler does exactly what it says it does which can be a rare thing. When used on medium and lower quality mics, it can give the illusion of a much better frequency response. Certainly, it can't add detail that was not originally captured. With high quality mics, it allows the user to change the tonal characteristics (say for example from an Equitek 1000 to an RCA 44). That's pretty cool. It really shines with instruments taken direct where you can experiment with different settings to get the desired sound. My favorite is the Royer ribbon on a bass guitar. The model warms it up without being boomy and seems to do a better job than EQ at making a sound I like. The proximity controls may be a bit overstated but allow real control of the low end. It is important to set the input control correctly so the modeler can do its thing. Overall, a great tool in the arsenal that adds subtlety when correctly applied or really changes the sound if you recorded something with a U87 and model it down to an SM57.

  • Robert Costales
    from Atlanta, Ga. USA November 19, 2011Music Background:
    VoiceOver by choice / Sound Engineer by neccessity

    Great addition to the toolbox

    As a voice over artist the more tools you have in your toolbox the better. Usually, that term refers to your vocal abilities. The ability to perform different genres...such as character voices, narration, e-learning, impressions, etc. And also applies to your equipment...mics, recording software, music library, sfx, and plugins.
    I first tried Antares Mic Modeler EFX as a trial, and soon realized it was a "Very Cool" tool to have. You literally have access to dozens of mics at your fingertips. Just lay down your track, and start mixing and matching until you find the perfect mic, sound, and/or effect your looking for. I've spent 6x the cost of this product on mics that just didn't fit me when I got them home. Now I have dozens of mics to choose from.

  • Dan Bailey
    from Beckley, WV, USA November 3, 2011Music Background:
    Professional touring musician, Pro Tools HD user

    Budget Microphone Locker

    The modeling options available on the Antares Mic Modeler are quite useful if you are operating with few mics from which to choose. I especially like the tube warmth available on many simulated models.

  • JD Soundz Good Productionz
    from United States October 27, 2013Music Background:
    Studio engineer

    Sound shaping tool

    I like this plug alot. It adds to the vocals i process. Soundz great.

  • Paul Mitch
    from Madison, WI December 28, 2011Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Pro Musician

    Decent enhancement

    I can't say that I think it really makes a Shure SM58 sound like a U87, but it does add some color. I've recently used it on a TLM103 and it gives it some nice depth.

  • Adam Turner
    from Lemoyne, PA October 1, 2014Music Background:
    Singer/Songwriter/Producer Amateur recording engineer

    Fun but not worth it

    It exactly as you would expect it to be. An electronic reproduction of other mics based on your mic. The concept is good but the reality is, you're not going to get a $5,000 sound out of a $200 mic...but it's fun to toy with if you can get a clean sound to work with.

  • Joe Campbell
    from California December 20, 2013Music Background:
    Working Pro Musician

    Dont Waste Your Money !

    First of all if you don't own an ILOCK be prepared to shell out the money for one as an extra expense as this product will not work without one.That alone to me makes this product not such a great bargain after all.It was a big hassle getting it to fire up in Sonar X2.Even after I was able to get the plugin authorized I still was getting error messages that it wasn't authorized.There may be some error here on my part but I own a lot of plugins and have never had so much trouble getting one to work.as with this one.I contacted the Antares tech support by email (they don't offer over the phone support) and after a week still haven't heard back from them.All in all I feel i wasted my money.Registering a plugin shouldn't be that difficult in my opinion.I will never purchase any of their products again.

Questions about the Antares Mic Mod EFX Classic Microphone Modeling Plug-in?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway