0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month 2

Apogee MiC 96k for iPad, iPhone and Mac Reviews

4.5 stars based on 19 customer reviews
Questions about the Apogee MiC 96k for iPad, iPhone and Mac?

Questions about the Apogee MiC 96k for iPad, iPhone and Mac?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from New Delhi January 31, 2017Music Background:
    Singer Songwriter

    Good Enough For Starters like Me.

    It's been a mind blowing experience with this cute little piece of awesomeness. I am a singer songwriter. Most of the time it's me and my Guitar. With Mic recording sounds almost like studio session in comparison to my iPhone built-in microphone. Best thing is it's size. Its to small and cute. Simply plug in to your iPhone and start strumming. With Garageband + Mic, I can record my version of any song and share with my friends. Only drawback is Headphone monitoring. I expect, as usual, Apogee will listen to the customer and provide zero-latence monitoring feature like competition in next release.

  • from Springfield, Illinois area October 6, 2016Music Background:
    broadcasting, songwriting

    The search is over...

    I needed an easy USB mic for quick voice overs to my Mac on video projects. I had expected to buy a different mic, but research lead me to pull the trigger on the Apogree MiC 96K... and I'm very happy with that decision. It's extremely easy to use. The thing that really set this mic apart for me was the Apogee electronics and the extraordinary quality they provided. I was also impressed by the number of voice-over people who recommend this. In fact, the lightning connector that is included along with the USB connector has opened up the possibility of doing quality voice work through my iPhone. The sound is extremely clean with very little coloration. This mic can't be "played" like some (for example, no proximity effect), but if you're looking for a pristine voice track, you'll get it. It's small and rugged for portability. I use a windscreen on mine, along with an SE reflexion filter with excellent results. I couldn't be happier with this purchase. I'm also thankful for the expert advice from Sweetwater, lightning fast shipping, and helpful follow-up.

  • from Md August 22, 2016

    The little "KingKong" of travel Mics

    The MiC 96 is more than I could have hoped for.
    It's so simple...It's scary. Easily attached to a travel mic stand. Throw on a pop filter, and bingo.....The laundry closet instantly transformed into a solid recording studio.

    The sound is so good...you'll never have to worry about traveling from the comfort of your home studio.


    I was truly delighted with the size, ease price and performance.

  • from Miami August 4, 2016Music Background:
    Classical guitar degree

    Awesome

    This Mic is great, I have studio mics that are way more expensive and I can get almost the same quality with this mic. I play classical guitar and used to do videos with my studio mics and canon 60d, It would take me forever to set up and record. Now i pretty much get the same quality with an iphone 6s plus and this mic. No hiss on the background and captures sound and dynamic amazingly. I place it right infront of the 12 fret...

  • from Raleigh, Nc July 26, 2016

    Not what I expected

    First I must say that I would have given this mic 2 stars but I realized I didn't use it for all the applications that the mic is advertised to preform like recording acoustic guitar....
    Anyway for me this mic only sounds a little better than my iPhone 6. I had to get very close to it to get a good strong sound. If I dialed the gain all the way up I can then set the mic on my desk and it will pick up my voice but it just doesn't sound right to me..... So to sum it up....
    It's a little better than the iPhone mic but for $225??? I guess it depends on what you're using it for......
    by the looks of all the other reviews I've read before I brought it My guess is that most people are using it in a different way than myself. It will be returned.

  • from February 15, 2016

    Astonishing Simplicity, Phenomenal Quality

    I have a great home recording setup with very nice pres, converters, mics, etc. And the Apogee MiC is never going to match the quality of my full rig. But for years I have been frustrated at not having a simple-to-use, decent-sound-quality setup for creative purposes (laying down scratch tracks, song writing ideas, etc.) Enter the MiC. A good creative tool, at the very least, needs to get out of the way of the process, if not enhance it. It needs to be invisible or elevate without adding complication. It needs to be immediately accessible in any circumstance. The MiC is just this very thing, and I am extraordinarily pleased with the results. This is a beautiful product, and it yields beautiful results with astonishing ease. It simplifies my workflow and enhances the outcome. Everyone who uses their phone as a part of their songwriting kit should own one of these. It's that good.

  • from Washington, DC November 2, 2015Music Background:
    Voice talent

    So simple

    After years of attaching the mic to the mic power box to the pre amp to the computer, it feels like cheating that this mic setup is so simple. Plug and play! Great sensitivity, great price. I'm really happy with this mic.

  • from Florida October 24, 2015

    Latency

    This usb mic offers great portability and ease of use. It's literally plug and play and the sound quality is decent. It's main drawback is latency--the delay between the vocal/instrument sound and the time when that sound reaches the headphones. If you are using Garageband with the suggested RAM, processor speed, and OS, the sound through headphones plugged into the computer resembles a tin can effect. It's not horrible, but it is distracting. You can still record and even multitrack, but be prepared. The "pristine" sound of the Mic 96K only appears on the recorded track, not the headphone monitor. There are two main consequences to this issue. First, it's a little hard to mic an acoustic guitar while trying to find the "sweet spot" where the Mic 96k works best. You can place the mic in several different locations, but the tin can sound makes mic placement difficult. Second, because there is a delay between playing the sound and hearing it, there is some worry that multiple overdubs won't sync perfectly. The delay is only milliseconds and perhaps I'm a little paranoid, but it may be detectable to a trained ear.

    Of course, there are some solutions to this basic problem, including more RAM, more processor speed, and software that allows the user to adjust the buffer size. When I talked to tech support at Apogee, they suggested an upgrade to Logic Pro X. Logic allows the user to adjust buffer size and reduce latency. This feature does not exist in Garageband, although it did on previous versions of Gargeband. Thanks, Apple!

    On the other hand, who wants to spend an additional $200 (on top of the $200 plus for the mic itself) just to cure a deficit in sound quality? Who wants to upgrade there Mac OS just to buy Logic, which only works with OS 10.9? Who wants to add RAM or even upgrade to a new desktop or laptop with a faster processor? Not me. Apogee should be more up front with this issue. The truth of the matter is that Mic 96k may work well with some set ups, but it has issues. Apogee oversells the pristine quality of the mic and it's workability with Grageband. So, as always, buyer beware.

  • from Louisville, KY September 8, 2015

    PHENOMENAL

    I love this mic. I have used it to record several songs now. I am a worship singer and wanted something to practice with at home that would still allow me to sound very professional. This mic is so easy to use with my macbook or iPhone. I use Garageband most of the time. I just wish the longer cord and case were included for this price but other than that, I love this mic. You cannot beat the sound for this price.

  • from New York August 4, 2015Music Background:
    Songwriter, Guitarist, Engineer

    Way above expectations!

    It's sort of hard to get your head around how Apogee got compact size, amazing sound quality, simplicity, and rugged/solid build all in one product. The price looks a little high until you get it and start using it. I don't have obscenely expensive mics, but some of my go-to $400 mics are now taking a back seat to MiC just because of the simplicity and work flow it brings. I am using MiC along with my Focusrite 6i6 in an Aggregate setup. What I appreciate about the MiC most is the gain control right on the unit, and the level "meter" right there on the unit as well. No more leaning over to my desk while self-recording to tweak the gain knob on my interface, which is quite a stretch sometimes with an acoustic guitar in your lap, headphones on, and cable dangling everywhere. It sounds great. Any sonic difference between this mic and a $300-$400 condenser mic is arguably negligible. I'm having terrific results on vocals and acoustic guitar. The portability is phenomenal. Also works amazingly well with my iPad and Auria, or my iPhone with any number of apps. This thing is a keeper.

  • from May 27, 2015

    My new travel buddy

    Love my new mic. I use it to record voice over auditions. Sounds great. Travels so compactly.

  • from Ky March 17, 2015

    Super Mic

    great mic for vocals and guitar

  • from North Pole, AK August 14, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbiest

    Quality and durable but

    Easy set up on my MAC but the stock MiC stand is so short the bottom connection is a bit cramped. Over all nice MiC but a bit pricey

  • from August 7, 2014Music Background:
    Hobby

    Great mic

    This is an amazing tool! Does its job and in a great way too. To be perfect it just had to come with a little longer cord and a "scaled" gain selector...for eg a 1-2-3-4-5 levels selector would have been very helpful.
    Though it is an incredible mic. Very happy with it!

  • from Beavercreek, OH June 11, 2014Music Background:
    Musician / Producer / Engineer

    Worth every cent

    I purchased this product at GearFest. (side note -- awesome deal from Apogee for this event) Plugged the Apogee MiC 96k into my iPhone 4 fired up Garage Band and recorded my acoustic guitar. Now, it took a couple of takes to find the sweet spot placement of the mic and setting the gain on the Mic 96k just right, when I did the results were fabulous. I played the recording back through studio reference monitors and it sounded like someone was in the room playing acoustic guitar. I recommend this product to anyone novice or expert. Also, I would like to thank my Sales Engineer, Mark Thompson, for all his helpful advice on products over the years.

  • from United States June 11, 2014Music Background:
    want to be, song writer an singer

    Apogee mic 96k

    This mic is just what i needed, i can work on my song writing,going down the road, just turn on my mac pro and sing about things i see going down the highway,when i get home,i listen to what i've laid down take out lines i can use in a song

  • from Dallas, TX USA June 4, 2014Music Background:
    Artist

    Amazed

    I have to admit you guys, the Apogee MiC 96k is amazing! Let me get the con out the way now. If you want to use this product for PC, I've heard that you have to download a driver that support it. Now the MiC 96k is for the MAC, iPad, iPhone. Using Gradgeband software works seamlessly with MiC 96k. Compare to other USB mic I've used, MiC 96k is second to none. If you want to avoid spending about $200 for condenser mic, $100 preamp, etc... MiC 96k is the best option to take. You Won't be disappointed

  • from United States April 14, 2014Music Background:
    Musician, Engineer - Not pro but I've spent a lot of time around HD systems and currently work in Logic X.

    Much more than the size intuits.

    This mic is much better than the size or price would let you believe. It definitely has a musicality to it, and it makes my voice sound better (to me) than it actually is. I've never used high end mics (over $1500), but this little guy sounds better to me than the Bluebird that I've been using for awhile; again, because it isn't as flat as the Bluebird so it adds color. Some people absolutely do not want that, I, on the other hand, love it on vocals. I still have yet to mic up my acoustic or my amp, but so far I have zero regrets from purchasing this little powerhouse.

  • from Raleigh NC February 17, 2014Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Live Sound, DJ, Audio Instructor

    A real winner!

    I used this mic to record some VO and also a musical composition. This mic has great transparency and is now a vital tool! USB mics have come along way! This is well worth the money!

Questions about the Apogee MiC 96k for iPad, iPhone and Mac?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway