0% Interest for 48 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Live Sound Month!

Apogee MiC Reviews

4.5 stars based on 27 customer reviews
  • from April 23, 2014Music Background:
    Guitarist, composer

    Great little mic

    Much better than I expected, I bought it because I wanted a portable mic to record acoustic guitars with, and this little mic sounds great with them, after figuring out the sweet spot for the position and setting the right input level (only took me about 1o minutes), I was ready to record on Garageband on my iPad, and it cuts a lot of background noise, which is perfect while on the go. It feels sturdy and a bit heavier than I imagined, but nothing hard to handle, it has a nice finish and the tripod is very handy. Would recommend to anyone looking for a great portable mic.

  • from Raleigh NC October 4, 2013Music Background:
    Voice Over, Radio, Music Recording

    Everything the others say is true!

    I am an Apogee fan but wasn't sure about a USB mic. I ordered one with some hesitation. Well all I can say is WOW! This mic sounds great! I used it with the app, Twisted Wave, on my iPad and was just amazed. It sounds almost as good as my TLM 103 and UA Mic Pre. Technology sure has come a real long way! You will not be disappointed with this purchase!

  • from Toronto On Canada July 22, 2013

    Ok I was wrong but this mic is it!

    I made a review when i first bought this thing and I did not realize there was a sweet spot on the mic. I have made a few recordings and I must say that you have to turn the volume knob to the right level and give a few mic checks and you got it the sound you want. It is a bit thin compared to a Neumann but the consumer might never know your using a Apogee mic. I have to say for a $200.00 mic this thing sounds good!

  • from Seattle, WA July 2, 2013Music Background:
    Voiceover performer

    I LOVE this Mic!

    I cannot stop doing show-and-tell to everyone about this mic! It truly is incredible. I did two voiceover auditions with it and my agent could not discern a noticeable difference between them or the ones I do from my regular studio. One was performed in my wife's corner closet and the other from the drivers seat of my SUV! (I positioned the tripod in the visor)
    I edited using an app from Twisted Wave and sent the mp3's via email. So slick...and the quality is just amazing.

  • from Alexandria, VA, USA June 19, 2013Music Background:
    Voice over artist

    Apogee Mic delivers studio quality recording

    The Apogee Mic is amazing. It gives me the ability to produce studio
    quality recordings at home.
    I am very pleased with this product.

  • from Wildwood, MO March 15, 2013Music Background:
    Professional

    Look Out Tube Mics

    The first thing is the size. I thought it was a regular sized mic, but when I got it I literally laughed. I thought, "Is this a joke"?
    I have been struggling for years over listening to my own voice on my recordings. I'd always get this stupid tinny sound from the mic.
    This thing is a snub nose MAGNUM! Don't let the size fool you. Very powerful, clean and best of all its warm like the expensive tube mics. No tinny sound, and with just a little effects and EQ, this thing blew me away. Apple is starting to scare me!!!! It's well built, and it plugs right into your Mac. A gain adjustment on the side makes it easy to avoid peaking. This is a keeper!!!! I don't think you'll be unhappy with this bad little boy.

  • from Oregon February 6, 2013Music Background:
    Record artist

    Great professional sound!!

    Great Product!!! Clear Crisp sounds!! Love how high quality this mic is! Definatly a five star product! Delivery was fast and, I always love a little candy:)!!

  • from Winston-Salem January 12, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Great USB microphone

    This is the best microphone I have ever used, USB or not. The quality is so good you almost can't tell that you are listening to a recording. The computer recognized it immediately and I did not have to install a driver. I might even get a second one to record in stereo. I do not have an iPad or iPhone, but it works great on my desktop and laptop computers. I am using it with Linux, which is not officially supported by Apogee (Apogee only officially supports Macintosh and iPad / iPhone). It will work with Windows as well, but it requires a lot of setup and a special driver.

  • from Austin November 9, 2012Music Background:
    Violinist/Composer

    Super Easy! Great Quality!

    Super portable and incredibly simple to set up. I used this on my very first garageband project and it couldn't have been easier. Recording live instruments can be tricky sometimes, but the adjustments required were made in seconds with this mic. Sound quality is VERY good and I'm very impressed. Would highly recommend this mic to anyone on a budget or looking for a compact quality mic.

  • from Northern MI October 26, 2012Music Background:
    30 years playing (20 professionally), Acoustic/vocals, Jazz, Fingerstyle

    DeBo

    I've been searching and searching for something to make my acoustic ipad recording sound clear and warm .... I"VE FINALLY FOUND IT!!! All I need to do is find a quiet space (away from the kids:), get my guitar, ipad, and MiC (adjust the gain) - that's it! I've used the tascam mic, and IO Dock, but they didn't really do it for my. This is an incredible mic (I perform with a SHURE KSM9).


    10 stars (period)

  • from Rancho Santa Margarita, CA USA October 22, 2012Music Background:
    Voiceover Artist and Singer

    The Apogee MiC

    The Apogee MiC is an excellent mic with good quality and clarity. It makes for a good travel mic and the stand is really sturdy. What I noticed right away was how very little mouth noise was picked up in the recordings. Don't be fooled by how small it is, it really is a good studio quality mic.

  • from Chapel Hill, NC September 7, 2012Music Background:
    Pro musician, hobby sound engineer

    Best mic for iPad, hands down

    If you are looking for an easy to use, great sounding microphone for the iPad, you cannot do better than this. Plug and play, no camera connection kit needed, made specially for GarageBand but works with everything I throw at it. Great sound (no noise!) and the latency is so low you don't really need an on board headphone jack. The direct digital signal makes a HUGE difference in quality (iOS sound card kinda sucks, sorry Apple). Worth it at twice the price.

  • from Brea CA August 28, 2012Music Background:
    Pro solo acoustic guitarist

    Apogee Mic

    Plug it in to your iPad and GarageBand and start recording. Great product and great sound quality.

  • from July 24, 2012Music Background:
    Musician

    Great mic

    I didn't have any problems with this mic. Don't let the size throw you, because it sounds perfect!

  • from Camp Arifjan, Kuwait June 21, 2012

    Personal Recording for Voiceover

    I was extremely happy with the ease of installation. Garageband was able to detect it and use its internal drivers for the Apogee MiC input. (input to Garageband, not my Macbook). No configuration issues with any part of my setup. I have been using this mic as a starter for voice-over and performing some vocals, as well as some narrative projects too. No complaints.. it delivers!

  • from San Francisco, CA USA February 18, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Amazing

    $200? are you kidding? This Mic turns iPad/Garageband one step closer to a serious studio quality 8 track. It's teeny tiny but noise levels are so low they're off the charts and it's a rich condenser sound comparable to my Neumann TLM103. My old Martin sounded so rich recorded into the iPad! Very very pleased. This is a can't miss at the price.

  • from NC USA February 3, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Apogee MiC is a must have

    This thing is really amazing. I've tried them all: Samson Meteor Mic, Tascam iM2, Alesis IO Dock, USB DualPre with a LDC mic, and so on. They are all great. But the Apogee MiC is in a new class. First its really easy to use. No Camera Connection kit is required, so it works on iPhone and iPad as well as Mac OS X. Second, and this is where Meteor falls down, it has an external gain control. So its easy to set the gain to avoid clipping or levels that are too low without having to adjust using sliders in iOS or Mac OS X (with finger picks and a guitar in your hands). Input gain for Meteor works properly in iOS GarageBand, but its wide open for all other apps, and easily clips no matter how you set the input volume. No problem with MiC. The noise levels are exceptional, as is the frequency range. And there's no odd colorization. Plosives aren't too bad for vocals either, but you'll need a pop filter of some sort. The only issues are 1) the included cables are a bit short and stiff, and 2) the gain before clipping in the mic seems a bit low. That's probably because of the power limitations for iPhone. Its no problem at all. By all means get this mic. You won't be sorry.

  • from Princeton January 31, 2012Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Mic is Amazing

    I have been waiting for this to be released for over a year. Im am very glad that I did wait. I was able to see the pro-to type at this years AES and hear it. Well it arrived today and it was just easy to plug into the iPhone, iPad and Mac and get great results. Mark Magdichx 1265 thanks for getting the MIC to me. This mic is just a necessary tool if you have a iPhone or iPad or Touch or Mac. All you need is your device, cable plug in and run your app and you will get excellent results to record your music or voice. I used it to record my Flamenco guitar and it sounded great. If you have two pockets and a apple product and Mic you have a small mobile studio to capture sound. Amazingly small excellent set up. Go get one you will not be disappointed. I do hope they come out with a small case for this as well as the mic stand adapter. Great to capture ideas on the go. I can see this also being great for pod casts. Thanks Sweetwater and Apogee.

  • from Chapel Hill NC March 7, 2014Music Background:
    Senior Editor, The FJH Music Co (composer/pianist)

    Well worth the money

    In addition to making high-quality (mono) recordings, you can plug this mike directly into your iPhone or iPad and make videos with great sound and no additional equipment.

    The MiC gets its power from your phone or computer (no plugs or batteries). I love that.

    There is a bit of guesswork finding the right level for your recording. Ballpark levels are indicated by a colored light on the mike (green = good, etc.). But that's not a problem if you are inputting into recording software.

  • from Chicago, IL June 25, 2013Music Background:
    Amateur Musician

    Great Mic

    Great Microphone for the price -- sounds as good as microphones twice the price. Plugs in easily to my iPad, and the sound is great. It should come with a longer cord -- that is definitely a disappointment -- but I ordered the cord extender to solve that problem. Overall a great product.

  • from Coos Bay, Or January 3, 2014Music Background:
    pro musician

    Apogee MiC

    does a good job

  • from Rehoboth Beach, Delaware January 30, 2013Music Background:
    Songwriter

    Apogee MIC a Winner

    Easy, plug and play MIC comes with cool tripod stand; takes iPad recording quality to the next level. Great value, great little mic that performs exactly as it should.

  • from Solvang, CA January 28, 2013Music Background:
    Writer / Producer for TV & radio spots

    Gee! This is a great mic!

    I've been very impressed with the sound and recording quality I'm getting with the Apogee Digital Microphone for Mac. It's compact size and plug & play technology is perfect for my home office where I record demos and scratch tracks for TV and radio spots.

  • from OC, CA November 7, 2012Music Background:
    Marketer; for Use for voice over video

    Fab small Mic

    Small, portable, USB, works well. Sounds great after editing.
    I have not had the opportunity to compare it to others.

  • from New York, NY March 13, 2013Music Background:
    A guy that can play and knows a thing or two about recording.

    Small size and portability FTW!

    I bought this alongside the Blue Spark Digital, and while I have to say I liked the Blue a little better, the Apogee wins major points for size and portability.

    It's not as transparent, and with no shock mount you have to be really careful not to bump the table or even tap your toe on the floor the table is sitting on, but it DOES sound really good. Has a bit more of its own character, but it's a good character. I'm guessing it would even sound good on an guitar amp, though I haven't tried yet. Also isn't nearly as sensitive to positioning as the Blue, which is an advantage in my book more often than it isn't.

    Other drawbacks include very short cord lengths and lack of a latency-free monitoring port.

  • from May 6, 2013Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Live Sound Engineer, Pro Musician

    Will Get You By

    This mic will get you by. I would not recommend using this mic as a professional studio mic but only if you can tweak it. Of course yes its good to get the best signal from the start of the signal, but you can do a little tweaking with the right software. I gave this only 3 stars because Really Good was under 3 stars. I think this is really good for a usb microphone. Apogee should make 2 Mics one usb and one with1/4 inch connection. Having just a usb mic is not professional unless they make the converters better. For me the converters are to average but overall this mic is very versatile. I would end with this this mic is the most versatile condenser mic out there right now!

  • from New York November 19, 2013Music Background:
    Engineer, musician 10+ years

    Great sound bad latency

    The mic offers amazing sound quality. Much more than a simple demo mic. However there is an increadable amount of latency, almost unusable if trying to record anything even half serious.

    Sound quality I give 5+ stars!! Overall usage and practicality 2 for pore over all experience.

Questions about the Apogee MiC?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway