0% Interest for 48 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Live Sound Month!

Electro-Harmonix Metal Muff Distortion Pedal with Mid Boost Reviews

4.5 stars based on 16 customer reviews
Questions about the Electro-Harmonix Metal Muff Distortion Pedal with Mid Boost?

Questions about the Electro-Harmonix Metal Muff Distortion Pedal with Mid Boost?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from centralia,wa September 7, 2016

    Awesome pedal

    I just got this pedal and its fantastic.Really has a great sound to it and very adjustable.I would definitely recommend this to someone looking for a high gain pedal.the tones are really just great i don't know what else to say .

  • from North Carolina July 8, 2016

    Brooootal

    Absolutely my fav Dist pedal ever. It has tha brootz. All day brootz. Like all da brootz
    It's brootz~

  • from Indiana June 18, 2015Music Background:
    Long time

    Very cold dry sound

    Just starting to play again after 12 years, looked good but not the warm overdrive sound I'm looking for. Could be cuz I play through a vox tube head on a Gibson sg. Idk I'll stick to the soul food an full tone. I'm sure it sounds great through a more metal set up.

  • from New Albany, IN February 27, 2015Music Background:
    Home recording enthusiast, hobby guitarist.

    Impressed!

    Needed a go to distortion pedal for a wide range of projects and the electro-harmonix Metal Muff has it covered. The EQ controls are excellent and allow you to easily dial up whatever metal or rock mayhem you want. The Top Boost is a bit shrill at higher levels but i think it can still be effective at A lower settings. Overall a great buy at A great price and as always, A++ service from Ryan Murphy and Sweetwater. Thanks!

  • from Central NY January 29, 2015Music Background:
    guitarist

    Great Pedal!

    I already had the Nano Metal Muff, which is an amazing bargain and great piece of gear, so I was pretty sure the MM w/ TB would be killer. I was not
    disappointed. I wanted more EQ which isn't an option on the Nano, and
    the Metal Muff delivers big time. Lots of range on all 3 EQ controls. Although they market this as a metal pedal, the Muff covers a lot of sonic ground. I'm more of a Classic Rock guy than a Metalhead, but I do like lots of gain on my lead parts. But most of the time, I've got the gain around 9 o'clock. And man, it just gets crazier from there. I can't imagine anyone needing more. My only gripe, and reason for deducting a half star is the Top Boost function. It's got a peculiar EQ curve built in, and I find it hard to hit the 'sweet spot' on it. If it was just a straightforward volume boost or even a more traditional gain boost, I would call this a perfect pedal. But don't let that stop you, by all means buy this pedal! Oh yeah, and 4 little words on the bottom of the pedal make it even greater: "Made in NYC USA." Great, great pedal, and thanks to Derek at Sweetwater for takin' care of business!
    distortion than this pedal delivers.

  • from El Segundo, CA August 27, 2014Music Background:
    Band-leader, songwriter, engineer

    Great distortion box

    Great tones on this box. Nice Eq options and boost options.

  • from August 4, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Awesome Pedal

    Pros:
    -Very wide range of EQ settings, with distortion that performs evenly across all of them.
    -Top Boost that cuts through the mix just enough to stand out, but not enough to drown out the rest of the instruments.
    -Very sturdy construction: If I dropped this off my third floor apartment, I wouldn't even be worried about it being broken.
    -Surprisingly modest price tag, considering the quality of it.

    Cons: No modular battery replacement. A real downer that constitutes a fairly major flaw with an otherwise amazing pedal. If you're using a 9V power supply, then it's not an issue, but if you don't have one, or are often in a situation where you can't use it, it's a real pain to have to find a screw driver, take out the screws on the back and replace the battery. Which you'll be doing often: and that takes me to my only other problem with this pedal.
    -Atrocious battery life. I've had this pedal for maybe 2 and a half weeks, and have gone through 4, 9V batteries, with a modest amount of playing, which ties into the other Con about how much of a pain it is to change the batteries. But again, not an issue if you're using a 9V supply.
    Summary:
    I would recommend this pedal to anyone in the market for a new pedal. Definitely worth the money. The only reason it's not a perfect 5 stars is the battery issue. Other than that, excellent product. Just another note, excellent hustle getting this pedal to me, I'm all the way in Japan, and this pedal was here in about 8 days. +1 for customer service.

  • from Chiefland FL July 7, 2014Music Background:
    Giging Guitarist with no money.

    Can't be beat

    Best pedal for the money, I own 3 electro-harmonix pedals.

  • from October 25, 2013Music Background:
    Semi pro guitarist in a cover band

    Good metal sound

    I found this a very good pedal. Much like the Metalzone from Boss, but with a little bit more warmth to it. The top boost is not working for me at all, just too much highs. The pedal sounds better with my Ibanez RG than my Gibson Les Paul, but overall a good pedal with enough versatility.

  • from Baltimore Maryland October 18, 2013Music Background:
    Semi Pro Guitar,Bass,Harmoncas & Super Music-Electronics Tech

    Full Range of Midranged x 4 knobs via Highs & Lows

    Not an overall but what it does can't be beat! Super distortion via 4 distinct chapters of heavy Overdriven distortion in 4 ways to add and subtract while changing character from one to another with distinctions.
    Add to that a boost in treble harder and louder as you go, comparable to loud 4 x EL-34 equipped amp tone supercharged and may I state very controlled just by backing off to an achieved position at no time was it too bassy, it's potentials are aimed the high midranged registers. Preferred to using tube amps mainly because of the tube amp's ability to compress and this pedal will automatically
    compress. It would be great if there was an amp with 4 x EL34s,6550s,6L6s,5881s,KT88s with 5AR4s,5U4s,rectifier...other than Boogie's triple or Dual Rectifier amps as a norm just to get beefier and incredible sustain from this pedal in tow, I've had mine since it's inception awhile back and this my 3rd one,,ENJOY!

  • from Prescott Az June 6, 2013Music Background:
    Live shows

    My rig will never be the same with out it

    I never was a big fan of distortion pedal until my bass player introduced me to the Metal Muff . This pedal gives me all the distrotion I will ever need the top boost will blow your head off.

  • from United States July 29, 2012Music Background:
    superjerk

    BOW DOWN!

    ok this thing is awesome,but don't let the name fool you.capable of LOTS of different tones.the best part of this pedal is the EQ section,versatile.you can get lots of gain but makes wonderful sounds w/gain rolled back.the top boost is crazy,use it when you want to cut 'em.can get pretty fuzzy(sizzlin') with top boost engaged.built like a brick, quiet switching too.ehx has another winner.i have used this for years and it rules.period....

  • from cleveland, oh, usa December 27, 2011Music Background:
    pro musician

    awesome

    this pedal is amazing...if you know what you are doing you can make this pedal sound like true tube amp...ehx made a great pedal the guys at ehx really know what they are doing i've owed probally 5 or 6 of these pedals and have never been disapointed...even though i dont use this pedal anymore cause i switched to the mesa mark 5 head its still a great pedal it can turn any bead amp into a metal monster.

  • from Burnsville N.C. December 18, 2011Music Background:
    25 years of metal

    the best

    this pedal will blow you away!!! I use mine to push the front of my amp to get that over the top high gain sound. the top boost works good for lead work.

  • from California March 2, 2009Music Background:
    Almost Everything

    Fantastic Distortion Pedal

    I was searching for a pure-analog distortion pedal and came across this gem right after it was released. I've never had any experiences with EHX products until this point. I originally didn't want to try it or like it, since it wasn't true bypass, but sometimes you need buffered pedals in your chain to bring the signal back up. It's buffering is actually very clean and slightly fattens single coils after passing. I run this through a Mesa Express 5:50 with a strat mostly, and wanted something to give me an "urgent, hairy-on-the-brink-of-metal-distortion." Imagine a great metal band that does the rare classic rock cover (Opeth's Bridge of Sighs as an example). This fits the bill for anything Judas Priest, Maiden, up to Slayer and Entombed.

    I glanced at the circuit and it looks like 3 Big Muff Pi's cascaded with a linked EQ. I do build pedals as a hobby and have of course tackled the muff clones in variations, and am VERY surprised that these 3 create such a believable 80's/90's metal sound.

    The features in brief. There is a Top Boost footswitch for kicking in a mid-high EQ boost. You're control over it is just one knob for volume increase. It's usable but there are better things for that. The EQ will however blow you away. The 3 available pots control a WIDE decibel range, up as well as down. If you roll the mids all the way down and keep the rest at noon, you have that overly-abused Slipknot/Disturbed kind of nu-metal thing. If you put mids at half and roll bass down and treble at 10-o'clock with distortion at 2, you get that 80's hair metal thing. Very, very versatile. For analog, the price is damn good!

  • from Auckland, New Zealand January 20, 2009Music Background:
    Weekend Warrior

    High Gain Heaven, and Flexible like a Gymnast.

    First off, this pedal has the best EQ section of ANY distortion pedal. It gives you a lot of flexibility in tone which makes it great for tracking guitars without becoming muddy.
    There is a lot of gain, even on low settings but it isn't overpowering. You can get some great medium gain rock tones with this pedal (not classic rock, more modern rock)as well as a monstrous amount of ear piercing gain.
    The top boost is great for solos. It allows your solos to really cut through.
    I really love this pedal for lead guitar (without top boost on). It's got a lot more balls than most distortion pedals and the EQ can make it cut through without losing its' fullness.
    It's built tough and feels like it'd take a lot of stage abuse. A great pedal.

Questions about the Electro-Harmonix Metal Muff Distortion Pedal with Mid Boost?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway