0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
February Giveaway

Celemony Melodyne Essential Reviews

4.5 stars based on 18 customer reviews
  • from Sterling Heights, MI October 12, 2015Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    No Competition

    There is no equal in pitch correction, period.

    I tried Waves Tune and was thoroughly disappointed in the artifacts that appear in the audio, and the amount of latency that program introduces makes it practically unusable. I wish I could get my $200.00 back for that software suite but alas software is non-returnable.

    For less than half the price, this blows Waves Tune straight out of the water. At the proper settings there is no noticeable latency, and the program is so simple that you can dive right in and start making those vocal takes shine right after the download is done. (Or other monophonic instruments like bass guitar, horns, woodwinds, or synths!)

    I have used Melodyne in other studios for over 10 years and I trust Melodyne in my home studio to give any vocalist I record the production value they expect from an engineer. Should I decide to upgrade, I simply have to pay the difference (no price gouging, thanks Sweetwater + Melodyne!).

    I'd give this program more stars if I could. Before you jump at the more expensive options, try this first.

  • from New York, NY March 12, 2015Music Background:
    Some background in music performance, and DJing. New to production and engineering

    Edit WAVs just like in a MIDI editor.

    It's mind-blowingly simple to use (just watch the intro video for a few minutes and your off!). Essentials is the most basic version but it's the absolute core of what Melodyne does. And it is extremely effective. Absolutely recommend this for working with amateur vocalists and, lets face it, pros alike.

  • from Colorado, USA January 22, 2015Music Background:
    Recording Engineer

    Most natural-sounding tuning there is!

    I don't use a lot of tuning software, and when I do, I prefer the effect to be subtle and unnoticeable. Melodyne does the trick! Even the essential version is incredibly powerful. Sure, it doesn't have all the polyphony, some other bells and whistles are missing, but it does what it does better than anyone else. At this price point, there's no reason not to get it, either. It was a great Christmas present that will pay off in spades.

  • from December 1, 2014Music Background:
    Musician, Engineer

    Should have bought this years ago

    It is as good as people say. Entry-level is a great first step- however, I upgraded within a couple weeks. The 'Essential' is wonderful, the full-blown version even better.

  • from August 6, 2014Music Background:
    musician

    melodyne essential

    Wow. What a piece of software. It truly is amazing the way you can correct your notes and it sounds flawless. Creating a harmony is ready as well but essential it is a little limiting.... But you have to take into a account that this is the entry level. I have bought editor version but have not had a chance to use it. ..... You can't beat the price and for what our does, it does well.

  • from Winchester, VA USA March 3, 2014Music Background:
    Recording Engineer College Student, Musician

    Awesome!

    This is great! It's the very basic version but it works very well for what it is. Basically you can correct pitches and pitch drift. You can also click on a single note and drag it to whichever pitch you want. I would recommend this of someone looking for easy pitch correction that they can do themselves instead of Autotune, and for someone not looking to spend a bunch of money on it. It does have the Auto-tune-like option to correct all of the pitches to a scale.

  • from January 18, 2014Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Well Done!

    I was not familiar with Celemony products until I started looking for midi editing programs. Melodyne seemed to offer some good features that surpassed Cubase's latest offering and so I thought I'd try out the reasonably priced Essential version. It's nicely done as well as intuitive, and I'm very impressed with all of the help videos on their website which greatly reduced the learning curve. After I registered the product I received an offer from Celemony for 50% off of their Editor 2.0 version and so didn't hesitate to buy the upgrade. Very satisfied customer.

  • from Maryville Tn. USA November 10, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist,wanna be

    Awesome!!!

    I'm very impressed. I'm not a singer by any means. But with this software I can tune my mistakes. I can fix every note. Worth the money. Saves time because I can do one take, polish it up , done and done!

  • from Hopewell, PA September 5, 2013Music Background:
    semi-pro

    melodyne

    It does what it says it will do. Sweetwater had it on my PC in less than 10minutes! Can't beat that.

  • from TN, USA August 9, 2013Music Background:
    Pianist, Songwriter, Hobbyist

    Melodyne Essential

    When I first saw the price tag, I immediately thought, "Okay, so what's the catch?!" The algorithms are actually very impressive (beat MPEX and DIRAC, IMO) and I can't seem to find any artifacts with the reasonably sparingly processed audio. The pitch and time macro's are very convenient tools, and pitch and timing are both pretty much infinitely editable!

    The main features that you are going to miss that are in the other versions are formant editing, transitions, pitch drift, more timing tools (like within notes) and polyphonic audio, which are features way beyond occasional users usually working with vocals or monophonic instrumental parts.

    The only negative I have other than lack of customizable Key Commands is that I'm gonna have a hard time trying not to upgrade!

  • from Annapolis, MD USA January 4, 2015Music Background:
    Hobbyist/Student

    It does what it says, and does it well.

    Melodyne Essential is good for home studio producers who want basic monophonic pitch correction and quantization. Things like modulation adjustment and polyphonic pitch correction are only available in the higher level versions.
    Essential does just the essentials, but does its job very well. It sounds very natural if the singer is anywhere near the correct pitch. I highly recommend it for those who need a budget pitch correction software.
    Be warned, however, that when used in full length songs in Pro Tools 11 (I have not tried it in DAWs) the tracks that use Melodyne must be recorded to another track or it'll really mess up your bounce. I get weird slowed down versions of the voices. Other than that, it's fantastic.

  • from Dallas,Texas August 19, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Best Pitch Correction Software

    This is an amazing piece of software. It can be used for simple correction of notes but it really shines in creating lush harmonies. Select all, drag them up a third and manipulate the notes to lay in the scale .... instant harmony. But I would recommend upgrading to Assistant for the Formant and Time Stretch tools.

  • from India May 14, 2015Music Background:
    Guitarist, hobby home recording.

    Great budget plugin.

    I was looking out for a vocal correction plug in that fits my budget and i am happy that I settled for Melodyne. It really gives me the necessary correction of vocal pitch that seems to go a few cents up or down. Thanks Sweetwater.

  • from March 19, 2014Music Background:
    Music composer

    Finally started singing my own compositions!

    Sweetwater's promo of going to Editor after going Essential after going assistant was a no-brainer. I finally started to use my own voice in my own productions and compositions (I am trained as music composer but not a singer) and this little gem allows me to keep the quality while going experimental. Also, adjusting a collection of my exotic flutes which are very often anywhere but equally tempered. Fantastic functionality but UI could benefit from few touchups. Workflow is amazing and for this price is a must-have.

  • from Stow, Ohio August 19, 2013Music Background:
    Serious Hobbyist

    Good for bad singers!

    I like the fact that I am able to correct the pitch of vocals for a single track, since the price is right. The user interface is OK. By complaint would be that it crashes occasionally. Although my system (MacBook from 2009) is older, I have maxed out RAM and hard drive and do exceed the minimums recommended for the product. When I upgrade my MacBook to a newer model, maybe this problem goes away, but none of my other VST plug-ins make CuBase 7 Elements crash. I have Roland Legacy, EZDrummer, and a variety of Amplitube products. For the price, this is great. This single track edition is worth the price, but I would, however, just go with a full edition of CuBase with the pitch correction built in, rather than buy the full version of this product.

    Bottom line... If this product never crashed, it gets 4.5 stars. Save often.

  • from July 14, 2013

    Much Simplified Version of Melodyne

    As the title, it's really just a compressed version of Melodyne. You only have few pretty general control over the sound. I have tried the complete version from our school's studio so this made me pretty sad. But think about the price, it might worth it, right?

  • from United States February 19, 2014Music Background:
    recording student/musician

    melodyne essential review

    This is a great product for an entry level pitch corrector. I have been pleased with it so far. I wish i would have spent a little more money though and got the editor 2.0.. I like what you can do with essential but by the time you get familiar with it you will want more tools to work with. But all in all it is a great product. I really like the fact that you can use it as a direct plug in for pro tools.

  • from December 22, 2013

    Melodyne Essential

    Basically no play in this program. Completely worthless. Don't waste your money on this version. Buy one of the upgraded versions instead.

Questions about the Celemony Melodyne Essential?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway