0% Interest for 48 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Live Sound Month!

Fishman Matrix Infinity Acoustic Pickup - Narrow Reviews

4.5 stars based on 16 customer reviews
Questions about the Fishman Matrix Infinity Acoustic Pickup - Narrow?

Questions about the Fishman Matrix Infinity Acoustic Pickup - Narrow?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Pensacola, FL July 17, 2016Music Background:
    Singer Songwriter, Guitarist

    Fisherman Matrix Infinity Just Incredible

    Simply put, I was searching for the very best way to amplify my new Ibanez Atwood 400 Series Grand Acoustic Guitar. It features a size, shape and playability that provides an amazing tone for a value-priced, stunning instrument. With its violin, vintage gloss brown burst finish, this guitar is jus unplugged. I wanted that same tone when playing it plugged and was seeking to a proven performer to best amplify it. I've owned Matrix Infinity pickups before and had one that sounded just great in a previous Martin 000-15M that I once owned. Man, am I ever glad that I went with this Fishman pickup again. It just pairs up so beautifully in reproducing the tone of this guitar s incredibly well when amplified. I also like the way it sounds running it though my BodyRes pedal. Very warm, crisp sound and easily adjustable with built-in volume and tone controls.

  • from Rumsey, KY December 9, 2015Music Background:
    Pro

    Great for Baritone Acoustic

    Ryan Murphy suggested this for my baritone acoustic and he was on point. I installed myself. A little tricky but not too tough if you have the right tools and follow instructions. Works flawlessly and perfect match for the baritone. great pickup - a workhorse and it delivers.

  • from June 4, 2015Music Background:
    Been a musician for 40 years

    Acoustic pickups

    Put this unit in $200.00 lotus copy of a D18 and it sounds as good and plays as good as my hd28 Martin

  • from May 5, 2015Music Background:
    Musician, Recording

    Great Pickup!!

    I spent months searching for a pickup to my hand crafted made in Puerto Rico acoustic guitar (nylon strings). I mostly use the guitar to play folk music and i needed a pickup that emphasize bass notes without sounding too boomy. I considered lr baggs element and other models, but at starting point, the Matrix Infinity has all features i need, bass boost and a Mid Contour knob. So, i decided to buy it. Installation was easy. The undersaddle will high aprox 2mm the strings so you have to trim the bone if you don't want to loose the action you had before. The trick is to trim the bone saddle perfectly, so the strings are all equal volume. This part took a little time, because i need to sand very accurate with a lot of patience to get it perfect. I setup the preamp to bass boost and installed it. Solderless install was a good part.

    When i test the sound i was very impressed! It get exactly the sound i'm looking for. If you don't want that bass boost, simply leave it flat. But for me, is a must. Also i was very impressed with the contour knob. I hate the LR baggs Element Tone Knob that i have in other guitar. Is useless for me. The contour knob do a lot more to shape the sound you want. Is excellent for me. I highly recommend this pickup!!

  • from March 16, 2015

    INCREDIBLE!

    I installed the Matrix Infinity in my Martin 00-DB and was super impressed with this pickup. It was very easy to install and the tone and quality of it are incredible. Highly recommend!

  • from Galena, OH July 2, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    clear and distinct sound

    very pleased with sound from the fishman matrix pick-up. I'm 58, its nice to be inspiried with new sound! PLUS, we're going to model some of your business practices in our business! So we can afford new equipment, Thanks for your business!

  • from Kamuela Hi August 24, 2011Music Background:
    palying 40 year

    Great pick up

    Awesome sound, could not believe the way it brought the acoustic sound up to brilliant

  • from NW Missouri May 22, 2011Music Background:
    Serious Hobbyist, FOH Engineer, Singer-Songwriter

    This is a great one

    In the past 35 years, I've owned a dozen different guitars and in all but one I installed a pickup (it came from the factory with one). So I've used under-saddle and bridge-plated mounted piezo pickups from just about everyone from a first generation deArmond piezo to Barcus-Berry, Mighty Mite, Dean Markley.
    Of course those were in the days before you could easily install an internal pre-amp with the pickup so they were all passive and the results always left something to be desired in terms of sound.
    That is not the case with this one. Having a bass boost switch and a tone control (which acts more as a contour EQ with the minimum setting being a flat response while turning it up reduces the mid-range while boosting lows and highs).
    This is installed in a Breedlove AD20SR Plus and I think it's a match made in heaven.

  • from March 1, 2016

    Great Sounding Saddle Pickup

    I had not installed a Fishman pickup before, so I was relying on internet recommendations and reviews for guidance when I chose the Matrix Infinity system. I was not disappointed - the Matrix worked great.

    I installed the Matrix system on a '70's Martin, and the process was relatively straightforward - but you should probably have some experience in guitar repair and setup, as there is some saddle work to be done and some holes to drill (on this guitar I replaced the saddle using a Tusq unit, primarily because synthetic is recommended but also because I did not want to alter the original bone saddle). I also like the fact that the preamp is mounted to the endpin assembly, as it seems to be a rugged arrangement.

    I would recommend the model with the volume and tone controls, as there is a wide range of adjustment available to both. The tone is very good, with well balanced output between high and low strings. I strung the guitar with phosphor bronze strings to avoid a harsh top end from the pickup, and I think it sounds great - the top end has a nice smoothness but is still well defined. Good system!

  • from Ramsey, Kentucky November 17, 2015Music Background:
    Pro

    Perfect for Baritone Acoustic

    Put one in my Alvarez Baritone Acoustic and finally able to use the guitar to its potential. Ryan Murphy suggested it and he nailed it. Great pickup. Have it installed professionally if not familiar with installation and handy with guitar 'stuff.'

  • from Los Angeles, CA February 9, 2015Music Background:
    Recording Engineer

    Works great

    Works great, have compared to other pickups and this is the best.

  • from Billerica, MA April 20, 2014Music Background:
    Pro Musician, Live sound Engineer, Audio Technician.

    Great sound for what you need.

    I was using the Fishman singlecoil passive soundhole pick up before this and it is a huge difference. Very good response and sound with the mid scoop option and plenty of head room for gain.

    Make sure the body of your guitar is ready for an easy install. If there are some difficulties like a drastic change in pin hole size or the frame not allowing any room for the volume and tone nobs then i would have a professional install it.

    I was also a little hesitant about the battery case, i placed mine on the base of the neck very close to the sound hole inside the body. hopefully i will be able to loosen strings to replace battery without changing strings completely. But so far i might be replacing the strings well before the battery runs out.

  • from Hawai'i November 29, 2013Music Background:
    Pro

    Fantabulous!

    Please Note: The only reason it wasn't a 5 star, is because I wasn't exactly blown away, but I still think this is amazing.

    I saw so many reviews on this pickup, listened to it over and over, and compared it to many other types and brands of pickups, and this was the best for me. The LR Baggs Five-O Pickup is just a volume control, but this has volume & tone, plus a voicing switch, so this offers great control for the user. Just waiting, now, to install it on my 50 year old Kamaka 6 String 'Ukulele!

  • from Arkansas October 30, 2012Music Background:
    Praise & Worship Music

    Good Acoustic Pickup/Preamp

    The Fishman Matrix Infinity system provides a good degree of sound shaping capabilities with the bass-boost switch and tone control knob. Replaced an existing passive undersaddle pickup, so installation was uneventful. Surprised to find no installation instructions included in the box (they are available online at the Fishman website). Sweetwater provided great service with delivery to my door in 2 days.

  • from Highland Village, Texas, USA December 5, 2011Music Background:
    Pro, performing musician for over 50 years!

    SweeT!!!

    Nice sounding and simple to use! I did have mine professionally installed as was recommended by Fishman in the instructions. That took a little longer.
    By the way, Sweetwater has amazing service, delivery and follow up!
    Thanks to Mark for all the good communication.

  • from Sewanee Tennessee April 9, 2013Music Background:
    Songwriter/teacher

    so far so good

    Since I had it installed when I bought the guitar, I don't know how to change the battery yet and the documentation is very light. The pickup works great with my Fishman Loudbox Performer amp that I also run through my PA. All that works fine, if I were to make a recommendation, it would be to not use round dials for the tone and volume but something straight that goes nutward for increase.

Questions about the Fishman Matrix Infinity Acoustic Pickup - Narrow?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway