0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month

Lexicon MX400 Reviews

4.5 stars based on 9 customer reviews
Questions about the Lexicon MX400?

Questions about the Lexicon MX400?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Sacramento, Ca September 20, 2016

    The Lexi MX400 - love and struggle w/OSX El Capitan

    I've always loved the sound of Lexicon products, from me very early days listening to those ECM recordings and my time in the local studios that owned them. This is my first Lexicon investment, with a parallel upgrade to MOTU DP9 on a 2010 Mac Pro, 3.33ghz Westmere, 64 gig ram.
    The unit itself works and sounds wonderful, and the menus easy to navigate. Dual stereo reverbs are just awesome. Really looking forward to adding the lush sounds to some vocal tracks, printing drum verb and guitar work.
    We are struggling with the Lexi software that allows us to control it within the latest El Capitan and DP9 however. Multiple visits and downloads from the Lexicon web site have given us some success, but we're not quite there yet!
    Tonight we try another trouble shooting session.

    I'm a working professional musician and instructor, Berklee College alum, local music store owner of 20 years and a professional guitar tech with over 40 years experience.

  • from Ohio January 25, 2016

    Great sound not great compatibility

    I've used this unit for a number of years. The sound quality is excellent, what you'd expect to hear from Lexicon. The reverbs & delays blow away my Line 6 processor. Unfortunately Lexicon does not keep up with the Mac software. The MX Edit and plug-ins are not compatible with OSX 10.9 & higher. Without the programming interface for my studio I had to abandon the unit.

  • from Ohio December 14, 2015

    Up there with the best!

    I've had other effects units like this one in the past. All were good but this thing is pretty darn amazing especially considering the price I paid for it. (Thanks Sweetwater!) I bought it because primarily it was a Lexicon and because I really like the sound of the Lexicon reverb. Every studio I've ever been in had several Lexicon units and I was always impressed with the way they sounded. I finally bought one of my own and I must say this unit has to be one of the best values out there right now.

    You get premium quality effects, surround capability, remote control from your DAW (which is great for taking some load off of your system) S/PDIF I/O (a really cool feature by the way,) what I'll consider world class sound, and a fully featured dynamics section that is surprisingly musical! Twenty years ago you couldn't touch this level of quality and functionality without selling a limb! Today we have it made with gear like this. Could I compare this to the really high end reverb like the Lexicon PCM96 or Bricasti Design Model 7? Of course not but I'd have to say this unit is at least 80% of what those high end units are and for a fraction of the cost.

    I especially like the Plate Reverb on this unit. It's as smooth or as sharp as you want to make it. If you have enough spare I/O on our interface or enough AUX's on your mixer, you can really take full advantage of all the I/O on this unit and do some really neat sounding things. While I don't consider myself a professional in the audio field (yet) I've been into this for many years and can tell the difference between average ho-hum sounding gear and something that's unique.


    This unit is truly unique because of the quality of it's sound at it's price point. I I highly recommend it to anyone that's looking for a good outboard multi effects unit at a good price. Not everything that's affordable is ho-hum and this unit is proof of that for sure! You really get a lot for your money in both functionality and quality of the sound. Not to mention this thing is built far better than what I thought it would be. I was leery about how much I was going to like this unit due to past experiences with purchasing other effects in this price range. While the other brands I've heard, used, and purchased were okay, they were just "Okay."


    (The only thing to be aware of with this unit is make sure you leave a vent space in your rack since this unit runs a little on the warm side.)


    I was pleasantly surprised and delighted with this one. It's not only a winner but a keeper! Needless to say it's going to be a permanent part of my rack! Buy with confidence!

  • from tx March 26, 2014Music Background:
    failure

    1980's in a box

    This thing is dead silent. You can get every sound from the 80's, perfect spot on. In fact after getting this unit I'm convinced this*(*1980slexiconmodels) was strapped across the buss on a few albums. Menu diving is never fun but great control other than when your really deep tweaking settings. If you are out of the box this unit will not disappoint. I believe the unit is identical to the pcm series in algorithms and sound.

  • from Wilson, NC September 13, 2013Music Background:
    Educator, Recording Engineer, Pro Musician

    Replaced my old, dead LXP-15

    I was really surprised at how great this unit sounded especially in comparison. Hotter output, no noise and easy to use. It is like having two units instead of just the one with the ability to use two unique processors at once.

  • from Seattle wa. June 3, 2013Music Background:
    75 years combined full time professsional musicians songwriters performers session players

    Yummy Lexy

    The Lexicon is fab. easy to use on stage when flying by the seat of your pants. Friendly. Great patches from the factory and plenty of them. the sounds are YUMMY !

  • from Tecumseh Nebraska May 23, 2013Music Background:
    54 years of Rock and Roll baby

    Magically delicious

    Really enhances your vocals. The presets are great and you can taylor each one if you like. Really makes the vocalist stand out and sometimes that can be tricky if you know what I mean.....No Im not too loud....Its the Bass player ...........

  • from Pineville November 2, 2012Music Background:
    Live Sound

    Best In Class

    This unit has superb delay. The reverb is the best at this price range. It is still not the PCM 92 but it is a great value at the price. I do prefer this unit as opposed to the TC units and of course all others.

  • from Ocala, FL August 23, 2011Music Background:
    Musician/Audio engineer for both Studio and pro level live sound.

    It's Lexicon - the name alone should say everything!!

    Now Lexicon has come up with a QUAD independent engine design in a single rack space without sacrificing any of the amazing verbs and other specialty sounds that made Lexicon famous.

    The labelling of the input and output section can be a bit confusing, but if you just look at the input/output 1 &2 as simply 1 &2, then the "rear" inputs/outputs as 3&4, you're all good to go. The if you need four independent signal paths, - no problem dial up one of the many four independent signal path settings and then just insert whatever effects you want into those chains, and you're good to go.

Questions about the Lexicon MX400?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway