0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart

Lexicon MX200 Reviews

4.0 stars based on 27 customer reviews
Questions about the Lexicon MX200?

Questions about the Lexicon MX200?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • Denis Taaffe
    from Bloomington, in June 11, 2016Music Background:
    guitarist

    amazing

    I went through the lexicon mpx1,mpx550 and digitechs200 units and got this one for 1/2 the price of the ones i listed. the mpx1 and mpx550 sound well dated a bit.the mpx1 was giving midi sync errors and gave guitar sound glassy sound needs a true bypass.mpx550 was ok but you could tell it was inline. using line level stereo into amp. the mx200 is unreal. super clean and the midi sync is spot on!! even with distortion works great.delays are a blast.cant tell its inline. replaced a digitech s200 that incredibly doesn't sync to midi clock.using in stereo of course. just fantastic.I might add another to my guitar rack.the 24 bit ad makes a big difference.it really lets the full sound through which I was not used to (coming from 16 to 20 bit).try editing mpx1 or mpx550,what a pain in the rump,the mx is just so simple;lets you get what you want.I didn't want to spend 1k or more for a guitar rack processor.this did the trick for an unreal price.

  • Jon Remy
    from Dallas, TX February 5, 2016Music Background:
    Recordist/composer

    Legendary Lexicon purity

    It's a Lexicon with unmistakable Lexicon clarity. Great effects, too!

  • James Alfaro
    from East Moriches, NY January 21, 2015Music Background:
    Recordings, live sound, musician.

    Lexicon MX200 excellent device

    Very powerful rack mount effect processor. At the begining (and my fault) I had some difficults with it and was because I didn't read the operation manual. Now a new horizon is wide open to the capabilities uses if it. So good that I bought a second one. Gives the opportunity to use two different effects separately. I experiment wiring and got the expected results. Recommended!!!

  • James MacDonald
    from Barre, VT June 14, 2014Music Background:
    Pro Musicia, Recording and Live Sound Engineer

    Quite remarkable for a budget friendly Reverb component

    The effects are fantastic and the simple controls make is so easy to modify your sound on the fly. The clarity and precision of this device is outstanding. It has made a huge improvement in the amplified sound of the musicians I work with. Thank you Spencer Kennedy for recommending this to me.. and the fact that I got a demo unit for a discount made my day. The unit is in pristine condition. I will always buy demo when I can from now on. Thank you Sweetwater!

  • Paul
    from n Dallas, TX December 11, 2013Music Background:
    retired from live gigs building up my own studio

    A more line level unit...

    Lexicon is what it is a mythical status reverb plus other processing.
    I needed a good reverb for my extended guitar rig rackmount system. This unit turned out to be a real treat with 2 independent processors each having stereo capability, 4 routing options. Still getting used to the effects and settings but loving being able to isolate the right or left side cabinets on my rig with different processing, very cool indeed. Added plus was the units TRS balanced line structure which can take a huge db line level signal to even begin to light up the input LEDs. I cannot see how this unit can work anywhere near its potential put in a guitar amp loop. It screams for stereo use and line level signals.
    Mind boggling price, which of course just dropped after I got mine.

  • RICHARD SHARPLESS
    from YACHATS, OREGON June 5, 2013Music Background:
    PRO MUSICIAN AND GIZMO FREAK

    Welcome to a world of depth

    For the DJ who wants to fill the room, or a musician who wants to expand their voice, this is the tool for you. It fills in the spaces so that you can concentrate on your performance fully assured that all "toyness" is out of the mix. Ya want to sound cosmic? Again, the perfect tool. It will cut through all the white and pink noise without forcing you to crank-up the volume. God uses one of these in the movies. Perfect for small and large venues. Short learning curve, but lots to explore later.

  • Steve (Bandana Sound Production)
    from Maryland, USA April 27, 2013Music Background:
    Recording and Live Sound Engineer

    Good Value, Quality Product

    I have been wanting this processor for some time, finally got one. As expected a great product for the price, with the $50 rebate from Lexicon. It is very easy to use. Has many different reverbs and delay pre-sets to choose from. If you are looking for a quality processor at a good price point I recommend this as an addition to your effects rack.

  • john
    from davison mich June 5, 2012Music Background:
    started as a hobby but we took it to the next level

    awesome

    working great only had a couple weeks but learning something new it fit our needs and adds a great sound to our system..so far so good. thanks geoff

  • Customer
    from New Jersey, USA July 18, 2011Music Background:
    Hobbyist (for 30 years)

    Awesome - Great Controls

    I have used this with the e-guitar for about a year and the spacial effects produced by the MX200 are truly amazing. But the layout of controls and the overall interface is what makes this unit AWESOME. I despise menu driven controls on digital equipment. When you're getting into a good jam, it is a real drag to stop and scroll and click through menus. I will not try to describe how good the MX200 interface is other than to point out that unlike virtually every other piece of digital equipment notice that there is no LCD - there is just a list of effect names and separate indicators, selector controls and knobs for each channel. This is how a digital interface should be done. Note that I cannot say this for any of the other Lexicon units including their pro stuff. Meaning if I needed four channels I would buy two MX200's instead of one MX400. I just hope Lexicon realizes how much better the MX200 controls are over pretty much everything else and doesn't screw this up with "improvements" in a new revision. To hell with LCDs, I want knobs! The only thing that could make this better would be to backlight the effect names.

  • Brad
    from May 21, 2016Music Background:
    Musician, songwriter.

    Lexicon mx200

    Love love love this little unit. I'm a home studio musician who enjoys writing and creating original music. I have paired this lexicon mx 200 dual reverb effect unit with an ART compressor and all I can say is, Nice!! Very clean, nice natural sounding effects all the way around.. Gotta say, the folks at Sweetwater haven't ever let me down.
    You guys ROCK!! Thanks again Ryan..

  • Customer
    from March 30, 2016

    Lexicon MX200 rack unit for Guitar

    Has great reverb, delay, chorus, and for $200, I really think the people complaining need a reality check. I can't see ANY piece of gear giving anything NEAR this kind of Bang For The Buck.
    I currently have 2 Lex units: This one and a *very* old MPX100 (15+ Years, and still kickin!).
    I use both in my effects loop for a 5150 hi gain tube amp. It's the only effect I use, as I prefer the pre-amp distortion and don't use pedals, just my Lex units.
    As far as the features, you can read the literature, I only have 2 complaints about this unit:
    1) The layout is 'backwards', and by that I mean that looking from left-to-right, instead of Delay-> Reverb, as most people would route, the effects are listed 'Reverb-> Delay' in the selection columns. Take a close look at the front panel, you'll see what I mean.
    That's the only reason I didn't give it 5 stars. If it was only based on quality of sound, it would be 5 stars.
    (If it was for value, whoo-boy, 10 stars, lol.)
    2) There's no 'Triplet Delay' as far as I can tell, and I've tried all the settings.(That's why I still have/use my MPX100)
    My very old and worn in MPX 100 sounds a little 'warmer' (or dirtier, if you prefer), but this is an excellent unit for $200.
    The reverb on this blows away any amp reverb for sure, and is prolly the 'verb you can get short of spending over $1K, the chorus is gorgeous and a deep as you want, the delay is ducked and sounds outstanding, the flanger is lush but not 'metallic'.
    I can't speak for live sound use, but for what I use it for, I love it. Buy another in a heartbeat.

  • Jason
    from Florida March 16, 2016Music Background:
    DJ

    Lexicon MX200

    Love this new machine, makes my P.A alot better, trying to make a few beats with this mx200. So far so good. Will be back to buy at Sweetwater again

  • Ian Barclay
    from Maine January 18, 2016Music Background:
    Live sound

    Lexicon MX200

    This unit is more intuitive for programming on the fly. It can be used as two effects in series or parallel, so how you wire it up determines the best ways to write your patches.
    still getting used to it , but so far we love it. :)

  • Customer
    from December 31, 2015

    Lexicon MX200

    Excellent sound quality as promised ! Definitely best through your effects loop . Easy control out of the box !

  • Customer
    from Midwest September 22, 2014Music Background:
    Sound company owner

    It's in the name

    A great effects unit for the money, it does way more than many more expensive units. Great depth in the verbs, wide and expansive sound that makes any band or vocalist sound great. Factory presets are cool well titled and simple, dial the knob, push and your lead vocals go from mellow to WOW....I'll be buying a second unit...

  • Leo the Greek
    from Washington DC January 28, 2014Music Background:
    Live Sound & DJ Services

    A Perfect Effects Unit

    A must for every rack. Being a home studio or a small band. You should not even think of starting without it. Sweetwater is THE place to
    buy it at.

  • Dean
    from Charlestown, IN April 16, 2013Music Background:
    Live Sound Engineer, Recording Engineer, Bassist

    I love my Lex

    I had experience with a previous generation of this thing in the studio and liked it. The new model has exactly what I was wanting, dual independent engines. It took reading the manual to fully understand how it worked... glad the manual was only a few pages and easy to follow. I am using it live and have applied the effects to vocals and snare drums (two seperate reverbs) and to a sax (reverb -> delay). It is pretty easy to use and adjust on the fly. I wish I had another one to replace an old Alesis Midiverb II.

  • derrick
    from arlington VA April 5, 2013Music Background:
    live sound

    good piece of equipment

    Great bang for your buck type of gear. If your looking for a very versatile piece of gear this is it. Verbs, plates, delays are all adjustable to your liking. Very clean and natural sounding too. Plus its lexicon...

  • Pete McNeil (Madsci)
    from Leesburg, Va June 8, 2011Music Background:
    Engineer, Producer, & Pro Musician

    MX200 is a reliable problem solver

    I have used the MX200 in live sound situations for a while now and it has never failed me. It sounds great and it's easy to operate.

    That last bit is a real plus -- because when training new folks to run the big board complexity is the enemy. The MX200 is simple, rock solid and predictable so training is always a snap. I can walk away from the board confident that the new guy will have a great show.

    What I really love though is that the audio quality is great. So when I needed a unit to throw some delay and reverb effects into the tracking rig at my studio I reached again for the MX200 and wasn't disappointed.

    It took less than 5 minutes to patch the MX200 into my monitor system. Now, when the singer wants "a little reverb" during tracking I just point to the knob on their Furman and let them dial it in. It's an instant solution that gets out of the way so the session gets done with smiles all around.

    You just can't go wrong with the MX200!

  • Mark King
    from Spacecoast Florida March 27, 2017Music Background:
    pro musician and engineer

    Good Sound

    I've owned a dozen Lexicon reverbs since the early 80's, I still have seven.

    The sound quality of Lexicon reverb is something that sets it apart from others like Alesis and TC. We recently did a shootout among our reverbs by playing percussive notes and evaluating the reverb only sound. The Lexicon models regardless of price had a clarity and richness to the tone of the reverb that was not present in the others. The Lexicon sounded hi-fi and dripping with natural reverberation compared to others which sounded more like bursts of steam.

    I keep an MX200 connected to the direct output from my snare drum channel on my mixing console, this gives me dedicated reverb controls for tweaking the snare sound in the mix. The variable pre-delay on each processor is very handy. Typically I use mild chorus on effect one and reverb on effect-2, then tweak the pre delay and mix. Sounds as good as my PCM92 Lexicon for less than 1/8th the price.

    Do yourself a favor, buy a new one not a used one. This piece has been out a long time and there are multiple different versions, some use DC power supplies, some use AC power supplies and there are other differences too. Buy a new one here from Sweetwater, it won't cost a lot more than a used one and you'll be sure to get something that works. Harman can no longer provide AC power supplies for the older MX200 so buy a new DC one and make music.

    I just ordered a third one of these because I like a lot of discrete reverbs and I'm an old school mixer using an 80 input console and a wall of effect processors.

    Good music to all!

  • Jim Tavegia
    from United States March 14, 2013Music Background:
    piano player, singer, but mostly recording engineer.

    MX 200 sounding great

    Great little reverb unit for the money. Enjoyed it right out of the box with my Mackie 1604VLZ. Pretty intuitive and up and running in about 10 minutes.

    I have not found the rebate form anywhere, including off the Lexicon web site. I did register on line but the Lexicon pull down menu did not show the correct model numbers for any Lexicon product. It still seemed to take my registration fine. We'll see.

  • TR
    from Mx February 8, 2010Music Background:
    Producer/Engineer, Pro Musician

    great bang for the buck

    even though the price on this unit is deceivingly low, it does carries the family name proudly, I put it on a snare and toms on a mix at my studio and I instantly felt that studio reverb tone... I really like it!!!

  • Jeff
    from Hammond, IN August 29, 2013Music Background:
    30 years

    It's Ok

    The effects are average for the most part and a few of them are bad. If I had it to do over I would have bought something else. Not at all even slightly close to the hype.

  • Customer
    from March 13, 2012

    You get what you pay for........

    I bought the MX200 for live use with our gigging PA. I have a Mackie 808s and the effects on there are marginal at best. The MX200 goes slightly beyond this, say maybe a full notch. What's good about utilizing an outboard effects unit is, I can use RVB and DLY at the same time. Can't do that with the old Mackie 808S. Hence my meager purchase. One big issue is the unit is rather noisy with guitar amps, so if you want to use it in front of the amp, forget any high gain settings. Too hissy. Overall for 200 bucks, it's a decent bargain. The delays and reverbs are very usable for live vocals.

  • Dan Woods
    from Rockport, TX August 30, 2010Music Background:
    musician/production

    MX200 overboard!

    I've had this unit for 2 - 3 years and it has given me pretty good use for the money paid but, from day one, I was never impressed by it. The delays were off to one side. The reverbs are not very visual. The last three weekends, it has taken an electrical nose dive. It needs a technician to fix whatever the problem is. Our trio plays on the back deck at a marina and, I kid you not, I almost took the unit out of the rack and threw it in the bay. My last unit before this one was an Alesis microverb (10 - 12 years old) which only had one effect at a time but the stereo reverbs were spoiling and delays were perfect. I'm calling my SW sales dude for his recommendation. TC or Alesis?

  • Tom Helvey
    from San Diego, CA April 14, 2013Music Background:
    Musician, Engineer

    Junk

    I got my unit a couple years ago. It started having weird display problems (preset numbers flashing) so I took it out of my stage rack and threw it in my unused gear pile. I was reading about its ability to run as a hardware plugin so I thought I would integrate it into my DAW. I went to the Lexicon site and downloaded the editor and the firmware updater. The editor looked good and everything seemed to work fine, I was able to stop the flashing (I think it might be a PC board flex issue or a bad solder connection, banging on the chassis lightly stopped the flashing) so I mounted it in a rack. Since the unit was a couple years old, I decided to update the firmware to current. I ran the firmware updater and it found the unit and started updating it. The firmware updater failed with a corrupt data record at address 0x07 message. Now the unit is stuck in the UP mode and the updater can no longer find the unit to retry (USB is dead). I wish I hadn't mounted the thing in my rack, now I just have to unmount it to throw it in my dead gear pile. I own 3 Lexicon processors, only one of them still works.

  • Customer
    December 1, 2005

    outboard vst

    I've been a live mixer for the last six years and I have found that the MX200 has by far the best bang for the buck, with more and better fx's than the TC M300 (as well as cleaner controls of the parameters) this is a solid live unit, and with the USB/spdif VST remote processing it is also a brilliant studio accessory. I only wish it had RTAS for ProTools.

Questions about the Lexicon MX200?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway