0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month

Shure Microflex MX153 - Tan Reviews

4.5 stars based on 23 customer reviews
Questions about the Shure Microflex MX153 - Tan?

Questions about the Shure Microflex MX153 - Tan?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from April 7, 2017

    Great

    Got these for our worship team, cannot believe how clear and powerful these are!! So simple to operate,
    Lightweight and comfortable! Ordered 3 more of these!!! Excellent!!!

  • from Perry, FL December 23, 2016Music Background:
    Worship leader, Athena Baptist Church

    Sure Microflex MX153

    The pastor in our church likes to move around a lot when he preaches and this little ear set was perfect. The lapel mic made a lot of noise moving around. The sound is much better and is easier to use. You don't have to hunt for a place to hang it on your clothing. We are very pleased with our and the Sweetwater people. they are the greatest. They don't just sell you stuff and forget you! They all you to make sure everything was OK with your purchase!

  • from April 19, 2016

    Great Earworn Microphones

    We bought a BLX setup and I wanted to shift to earworn microphones. They are designed for speaking, but we found they are great for our singers as well. The loop over the ear is adjustable and they come with cases, so the wires don't get tangled when they are stored.

  • from Goldsboro, NC December 14, 2015Music Background:
    Worship Leader, guitarist

    Works GREAT for vocals

    I was hesitant to purchase this mic based on the fact that most reviews were for speaking. I almost spent double the money to purchase the Countryman E6i, but I was being cheap so got this one.....I am not sorry! It delivers amazingly clear vocals throughout the dynamic range, from our bass singer through our sopranos. It is light weight, so I barely notice it is there. Despite it being only a single over-ear mic, it holds its position well, even when the singer is extremely active.

    Negatives? The thickness (or lack thereof) of the wire is cause for concern. I keep this mic in the included case at all times when not in use as I am afraid of the wires breaking....it is not replaceable like the one on the Countryman. Also, I know this could be said about any microphone, but this one seems especially sensitive around active monitors. I have not seemed to have any issues around non-powered stage monitors.

    Overall, this mic provides amazing "bang-for-the-buck". GET ONE!

  • from North Kingstown, Rhode Island October 1, 2015Music Background:
    Electronics design engineer, part time audio engineer

    Great little mike

    Excellent mike. It has smooth frequency response so the audio sounds natural. It fits comfortably around the ear according to my performers, even to those who wear glasses. It's very light and stays in place. (If the performer is a dancer you might want to use some transparent medical tape as a guarantee against slippage.) It works without distortion even when used by a trained soprano singing forte. I am using several of these mikes with both my Shure PGX and my Shure PG4 body pack transmitters. Comes well protected in a hard case. At the end of the show, just put it in the case and throw it in with the rest of your small gear.

  • from Texas April 14, 2015Music Background:
    Professional

    Shure Microflex MX153 - Tan

    These mics are the best

  • from March 10, 2014Music Background:
    Pastor, Worship Leader.

    Shure Quality

    We purchased this mic to use with a Line 6 XD-V55 body pack as the supplied headset is a little hard to get adjusted and due to the wrap around design is not very friendly to use for those with longer hair.

    While there is a difference of a few decibels in sensitivity between the two this mic performs very well with the body pack. We actually favor this one slightly over the other due to it's fuller vocal mid-range reproduction.

    We use this live for services at our church as well as capturing a secondary audio feed for rebroadcast and have had are pleased with it's performance in both applications. Kudos to Shure on continuing to provide quality affordable mics at a price most can afford.

  • from Virginia November 27, 2013

    Arron & Sweetwater are The Best !

    This Item meets & exceeds our needs for use in our Church ! Thanks Again !!!

  • from Milwaukee, WI June 20, 2012Music Background:
    Musician, live/recording engineer

    A high quality winner!

    Bought two of these for speaking mics in our church. We had a similar older Shure mic that was about the same price ($200 or so). Everybody noticed an improvement in the sound over the previous mic. They've definitely upgraded the response to compliment speech. The ear piece is also much more stable for the wearer. A big plus there too. We chose tan color because the previous black mic we had kept chipping black paint off (revealing tan underneath), so we wanted to avoid painting the mic over time as well.

  • from IN - Indiana August 15, 2016

    Wireless Mic Equipment

    Our church recently purchased a new headphone style wireless mic, transmitter and receiver. The purchase was based on a recommendation from sales associate Alex Campos. Our pastor loves her new mic--the sound is so much more clear than our old equipment--we are very pleased. Thank you for the great service we received!

  • from North Kingstown, RI October 28, 2015Music Background:
    Electronics design engineer, part time audio engineer

    Very good audio.

    Using this with my 'old' Shure PGX bodypack. Excellent quality audio - clear intelligible sound. Much better than the lavaliers I was using. Doesn't overload or distort even when used by a classically trained soprano. My clients say it takes a minute to get used to the ear mount but once adjusted it fits comfortably even with glasses. Just take a minute to show how to bend the soft mount so it is a custom fit to their ear. After a few minutes they say they don't even know it's there. I've used it on stage performers and with a chorus director and it's fine. I don't know how it would work with a dancer... you might want to use some transparent medical tape to secure it.

  • from Iowa August 26, 2015

    Great value

    great value on this headset mic. Sounds as good as Countryman IMO. It's not as easy to get a good fit but a little adjusting is all it takes.
    For the money I don't think there is a better head worn mic on the market.

  • from March 19, 2015

    Shure MX153

    Very comfortable and easy adjustment to fit for the ear. Crystal clear sound.

  • from Louisiana July 22, 2014Music Background:
    Sound Tech @ a Church

    Excellent Mic

    This microphone is performing wonderfully. Sounds great, easy to mold to your ear, and just a great piece of equipment.

  • from April 28, 2014

    Shure Microflex MX153 - Tan

    Shure Microflex MX153 - Tan

    Our Pastor enjoys using the new microphone. Performs great!

  • from Farmington CT January 14, 2014Music Background:
    A/V coordinator, semi-Pro musician

    Excellent microphone at this price point

    Purchased this product to use for oration and it performed as desired producing clear, crisp voice reproduction through our sound system. I've also used this microphone in a music context and achieved very good results. The boom-ear mount is solid and holds position once set. Also, feedback rejection was excellent allowing good freedom of movement in front of the speaker line with a slight roll-off of high frequencies at the mixer.

    I would personally appreciate a slightly longer cable length. Otherwise, great product.

  • from Abilene, TX April 18, 2017

    Works well

    Overall a good mic. Forms well around the ear, and does the job nicely.

  • from Olivet, MI March 9, 2017

    Pastor's Earset Microphone

    Works great. Removed the hissing when pastor said words with "S". Always better to have both the Bodypack transmitter and the Earset Microphone the same brand.

  • from August 12, 2016

    Shure micro flex review

    Has a very clear and crisp sound very happy with it worth the money!

  • from St. Joe, KY September 15, 2015Music Background:
    None!

    Good mic, but fragile!

    I like the mic--it is comfortable enough, has great pickup, and easily adapts to either ear. My only dislike is that the wires tend to break right above the plug--it could use a more gradual transition from the stiffness of the plug to the rest of the wire, which (I think) would keep it from bending too much and breaking. This is my second try with this mic, and since others use it, and others don't always put it away like I do, breaking is a real issue.

  • from LaGrange, IN January 13, 2015Music Background:
    vocalist, instrumentalist, pastor

    perfect!

    Love the new earpiece - fit right into our existing Sure transmitter, it's light and flexible. Everything we need for comfort and performance. Thanks to Sweetwater for your confirmation to assure it was the right product, and your follow ups as well!

  • from September 26, 2016

    Doesn't stay in place

    The mic sounds fine but it does not stay in place while I am singing and playing guitar. The ear piece is flimsy, and does not stay adjusted. I am very disappointed and would not recommend this product.

  • from South Carolina December 27, 2016Music Background:
    45 years on the curcit

    Musician /Vocalist

    I am not pleased with the choice of this mic to be used with the shure wireless unit you choose to sell me. I am receiving a lot of feed back and as per our discussion does not work well in a small venue room. My sound man in Maryland stated there must be a better suited mic for my intended use.

Questions about the Shure Microflex MX153 - Tan?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway