0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month 4

Martin Retro Acoustic Guitar Strings - .013-.056 Tony Rice Bluegrass Reviews

5.0 stars based on 11 customer reviews
Questions about the Martin Retro Acoustic Guitar Strings - .013-.056 Tony Rice Bluegrass?

Questions about the Martin Retro Acoustic Guitar Strings - .013-.056 Tony Rice Bluegrass?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Arkansas February 7, 2017

    Excellent tone!

    Great, great strings...strung these on my Bourgeois Vintage D & my 12 fret Martin 00-17 & they've never sounded better.
    Easy to play for 13's, very balanced and hold tuning well-I'm sold!

  • from NC November 11, 2016

    New favorite for D-18

    These made me love my D-18 more than I already do. All around great strings. Balanced tone that is really bringing out the best in my guitar. Great for finger style or strumming -- these will be tough to beat.

  • from Sacramento CA August 8, 2016Music Background:
    Working musician

    Fantastic Strings

    This will be the third set I've placed on my D-45. I have tried all of Martin strings, it might be my ear but they just didn't have the sparkle on the E, B, G strings. I placed my Tony Rice set on Saturday night, now I have to figure out how to sell the other 200 sets of strings that I have locked up in ammo cases.

    This strings are just wonderful. I am going to try them on my Taylor T-5 as well.

  • from Canada April 20, 2016Music Background:
    Bluegrass/Jazz/Americana

    First time trying Monel's

    I had heard about these string from a friend and decided I would give em a try. I didn't hate them within 50 seconds of playing them (Collings d-1).

    Each note is clear and separated (great for flat picking) and they are loud, punchy and seem to wear in nicely. There don't sound brashy like a brand new phosporus strings, yet they still have lots of life to them. The low end is much more even to me, not nearly as much woof.

    If your using a real T-shell pick, they wont wear your pick as much as normal 80/20 or phosphorus bronzes will. I was using the Elixir Nanoweb (for volume and less pick wear) but these seem to be the better option for me.

    Also, they sound so good for recording! Try em out for a few weeks before you make your decision.

  • from Tracy, CA January 4, 2016Music Background:
    pro drummer / worship pastor

    Strings of Choice

    I'm a worship pastor, 48 years old, on stage every week for three services and we also have a mid-week rehearsal and other assorted special events. I've played guitar since I was in elementary school. These are the best strings I've ever used and they last a very long time too. I press hard and play hard and they withstand a lot of abuse... highly recommended. God bless you all.

  • from Glen Allen, VA December 3, 2015Music Background:
    Guitarist, recording engineer, live sound engineer

    Like having a whole new instrument

    Like CV, I also have D-35 (1973). I love this guitar dearly, but it's always been a mellow beast, fairly boomy. I've been using Martin Marquis for years, they sound pretty good when they're new.

    Then I saw these new Monel strings and decided to give them a shot (.013-.056, I like 'em heavy)... put them on, tuned up, strummed a G, Holy Moley!!! My old friend lit up like a Roman candle! Like CV says, "rings like a bell". This guitar was BORN for these strings, it's like having a whole new instrument. My search for the right strings is over.

    If these strings can make a D-35 cut like this, a D-28 could shave the top off a soft-boiled egg at 50 paces. :) You've GOT to try these. I don't know, maybe on some guitars they'd be TOO bright, but at least give them a try!

  • from waynesville NC 28786 May 11, 2015Music Background:
    want to be

    mtr13 strings--med

    best string I`ve ever put on

  • from Harvard, MA February 9, 2015Music Background:
    Amateur, playing folk and Americana since the 60s.

    Monel on a Mahogany Guitar is a Game Changer

    If you have a mahogany guitar like a Martin D-18, putting Monel strings on it is a total game changer. If you have a 1 & 11/16 in nut, then you may prefer the lighter Retro Lights. The Tony Rice Monel strings are a medium gauge, so they may go better on 1 & 3/4 in nuts. While Monel strings sound great on any guitar (i.e. Rosewood), the sound is fabulous on a mahogany guitar. One added benefit: Monel is a nickel alloy, so they won't rust or tarnish easily, thus they do not need to be coated.

  • from Indianapolis, IN February 24, 2014Music Background:
    Have played for 36 years and currently play in a Church Band.

    Tony Rice Strings

    Like most guitar players I've tried them all. For my D-35 they are by far the best sounding strings I've ever put on. They really ring like a bell!

  • from Near Nashville Tn October 3, 2014Music Background:
    Pick with friends for fun mostly

    Tony Rice Strings

    My son plays in a progressive bluegrass band (simi pro) he uses Tony Rice Strings although he WAS endorsed by another string company and got strings for nearly nothing from them.He told me about these and I don't think I'll ever use anything else

  • from June 17, 2015Music Background:
    Working Bluegrass Musician

    used Them

    Good strings. Made in Mexico; Shame on Martin....….

Questions about the Martin Retro Acoustic Guitar Strings - .013-.056 Tony Rice Bluegrass?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway