0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
June 2017 Giveaway

Boss MT-2 Metal Zone Distortion Pedal Reviews

4.5 stars based on 30 customer reviews
Questions about the Boss MT-2 Metal Zone Distortion Pedal?

Questions about the Boss MT-2 Metal Zone Distortion Pedal?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

Sweetwater Advice

  • Ryan Murphy

    Purely METAL!

  • from May 10, 2017

    Can sound traditional

    Can sound almost identical to a md-2 (marshall-like) as thats how I use it. Trick is not using the high knob as much as possible...mine is pretty old but it works fine as what I like most about boss pedals.

  • from North Carolina March 13, 2017

    A great but often mis-used pedal

    It's become an almost robotic parroting on internet guitar forums of supposedly how "bad" the BOSS MT-2 Metal Zone is... usually by people who 1) never used/owned it, or 2) don't know how to use it properly. It's an unfairly maligned pedal also due to the prevalence of 14-year old kids with a 6" speaker-equipped combo amp and a youtube account, or a ride to your local Guitar Center. LOL

    The real KEY to properly using the MT-2 is the mid-frequency control. Again, it's almost become a cliche that "scooped mids sucks", when in fact there IS a way to get that scooped metal tone without disappearing in the mix... Start by placing all controls at the 12 o'clock position, which should be more or less neutral eq-wise, the inherent tone of the pedal not withstanding. Now turn the mid control all the way up(stay with me here) - now slowly sweep the mid-frequency control all around and find that awful, nasally annoying frequency... you'll know it when you hear it, and it will be different for your guitar than mine, so one setting does not fit all. Now that you have found that nasty tone, turn the mid control down to scoop it out. You are NOT scooping ALL the mids, just a certain frequency range that is unpleasant to the ears. Now adjust level, bass, treble & gain to taste.

    Be realistic - a small combo amp is NOT going to sound like a raging stack of multiple 4x12 cabs... but the BOSS MT-2 Metal Zone CAN give you some brutal metal tones, from Exodus to Death to Cannibal Corpse. AND, since it's a BOSS, it's built like a tank and will last for years! Stay true & stay heavy!

  • from Los Angeles February 22, 2017

    Unbeleivable

    This is a great pedal great metal tone easy to get it dialed in

  • from E.Stroudsburg P.A. February 17, 2017

    Boss MT-2 Metal Zone Distortion Pedal

    Great pedal.I was looking for that Heavy sound.I found it.sounds cool.awsome.

  • from Texas August 20, 2016Music Background:
    25 yrs of playing guitar

    Owned for years

    I have owned this pedal for many years, and I have heard it catch a lot of crap over the years, mostly from people who don't know how to use it. There is a wide range of distortion that can be achieved with this pedal. I have used it in many live applications playing heavy music and always was satisfied with my sound. There are probably better alternatives for the studio, but you will be able to find a tone that cuts through in a live setting. Take your time with this pedal fiddle diligently with the controls start with everything at 12 o'clock and first look to cut unwanted frequencies before you boost. Then adjust the distortion to desired level, I doubt there would ever be a situation where you max out the distortion knob. Have fun and be heavy!

  • from Miami Dade, FL June 3, 2016Music Background:
    I picked up my first guitar at 8 years old. I have played in real bands mostly punk metal. . Wrote music. Have over 30 years of experience

    1 pedal many styles!

    Arsenal of metal pedals, Metal zone MT2 it will give you that old Metallica sound that was on their first 4 albums.It can be set for Chuck Berry sounding Rock N Roll to Sex Pistols. Remember Metal pedals are different from Overdrive pedals but we are here to talk about this great pedal. I've owned and own many dirt pedals but this is the only on that is versatile without breaking the bank. I have played guitar since 8 years old. I am 50 and That is why I know about the best. I will give this more than 5 stars because I stil have one that close to 20 years and looks knew after abuse.

  • from June 28, 2015

    Great pedal

    Great pedal does everything I expected for the price.Way better than the metal core I also own.

  • from Wichita Falls TX June 8, 2015

    BEST PEDAL IVE PLAYED

    This by far the most range pedal I've played with cool heavy low end for the heavy players to the highest high end for modern rock players

  • from July 5, 2014Music Background:
    hobbyist

    Boss MT-2

    i have been really wanting this for some time now. but was unsure if it would sound good with my LTD M-50. But when i plugged it all in I was like holy crap. now i cant wait till i can get me a much better ESP guitar and really be able to feel its AWESOMENESS!!!!!!!

  • from January 2, 2014

    WOW

    With all the adjustments to the mids, highs, lows, it just don't get much better for rockin out hard. I have paid more for less so this is just an unreal product for the cost. If you can't get a rock sound you like out of this then you haven't played with it enough.

  • from Indianapolis, Indiana September 2, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist, Composer

    Metal Zone!!!

    Super cool distortion pedal!! Great for Metal, Rock etc. A must have pedal IMO. Easy to dial in a great tone! Add it to your board now!!

  • from Florida February 27, 2012Music Background:
    Play Piano and Guitar,

    Awsome Pedal

    I do not belong in a band, or perform for a living. Music is a hobby of mine, and I do have some nice toys. I bought this pedal because I purchased a 15 watt tube amp that created wonderful clean tones, but did not do distortion very well. I plugged this baby in, and wow! I was able to get some of my favorite tones out of it right away. I suppose this pedal will react different with other equipment, but dispite what some people have said, this pedal is very versatile. You can get a Led Zeppelin sound, AC/DC, Judas Priest, and many other tones. Now my little tube amp is able to give me the best of both worlds, clean and dirty, and sounds better than my 75 watt solid state amp.

  • from Albuquerque , New Mexico October 30, 2011Music Background:
    Student, thrasher!

    RULES!!!

    Metal Zone is my favorite distortion pedal. i own many and love them all, But the Metal zone has been used on countless Metal records, from Whitesnake to Cannibal Corpse. Entombed used a early one similar on Left Hand Path. Toxic holocaust uses it. So many to list. I swear by mine. It gives awesome sounds from Fuzz to flat out high gain death metal! There are new ones coming out all the time. But i try them and i miss the old school thrash metal attack sound i can get from the MT2. It can get high gain but sometimes i want to back off and play old metal records, And there's hundred's!!! MT2 can do this with it's great equalizer built in. It Is easy to dial in , simple and almosy every distortion pedal you hear is based off of the MT2. This is a Legendary Pedal.

  • from NYC October 1, 2010

    BEST DISTORTION PEDAL EVER...

    I've owned many different types of distortions over the years but this is the ONE. I've bought many over the years. It's like yr favorite album. The most intense distortion and the crunch is the best. The EQs built in are fantastic too. I can't even go back to any other distortions.

  • from Palmyra, PA September 22, 2008Music Background:
    Guitarist with a long history of live and pro studio experience.

    Great Sounds!

    I mostly use preamp distortion, but needed an actual distortion box sound for a few songs in a live set and chose this after trying a bunch of pedals. Most pedals sounded more like toys with one basic sound to me compared to this. I know that some people prefer other sounds, but this gives you a range of quality choices. Boss always seems to give you something that takes you farther and they did it again with this pedal. It's diverse. It's definitely a solid workhorse. The MT-2 gets some nice sounding distortions and the EQ gives you a great range of sounds and control. The EQ really put this over the top for me. The pedal can be adjusted for use as a booster pedal too. It's hard to choose a distortion pedal without hearing them all, but if you're trying a web only selection, I'll say that this is definitely among the best and it gets sounds from 70's rock and metal to some of the heavier stuff that's on the radio now. If you're playing mostly blues, there are better choices, but for hard rock, metal or some sweet lead sounds in anything from pop to a range of heavy styles, this is one of the best if not THE best, depending on your situation. Nice hard rock/ metal rythm sounds too. Even though it's called Metal Zone, it covers more ground than just metal. It sounds extra cool on lead guitars combined with a little delay and I've used it to add a small amount of EQ and distortion while recording a bass track too.

  • from New York, NY USA March 8, 2007Music Background:
    Musician, Recording Engineer

    Metal Heaven!

    This is a great pedal. My brother and I each use one regularly in our metal band. We love that we can get the full out metal sounds from a clean amp. We go into JC-120s and it allows us to set our sounds for songs at home and sound the same at rehearsal or anywhere else. We have loved these for quite some time. If you play metal, this is the way to go.

  • from Detroit, MI May 22, 2008Music Background:
    Musician, Recording Engineer

    Extreme EQ settings and versatile!

    For anyone looking for a solution to get a very wide range of extreme, or not so extreme tones out of a limiting amp rig, this pedal is may be it. I used it through a 120 watt peavy tube combo for some leads on a record resulting in some face melting. I also used it to overdrive vocals. Strong points are the obscene amount of gain you can get, but more importantly how far you can boost or cut frequencies with the EQ section. This pedal could be instrumental in developing very unique tones due to the extremes of the EQ for sonic sculpting. I also own a proCo Rat II, Ibanez FZ-7 fuzz, and EH big muff, and BBE freq boost. Between this and the big muff, I've found many applications throughout the studio. Oh, I believe I used it on bass as well with interesting effects.

  • from Atlanta, GA, USA September 16, 2006Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Metalheads Rejoice!

    Wow! I could practically sum up this review with that one word. I was actually given this pedal by a buddy of mine at church. When I got home and hooked it up, I was blown away! This little pedal gives some of the best distortion I have ever heard, it even makes my cheap guitar sound good through my cheap amp! It's quite versatile, featuring 6 tone knobs, allowing you to adjust from low gain, almost bluesy type stuff, to high gain heavy metal. This is great for the guitarist who wants to change their tone from day to day with a single pedal. It allows for smooth note clarity, even at super high gain. On top of the awesome tone it produces, it's built like a tank! The metal casing not only makes it look cool, but makes the durability awesome! I've owned and used many distortion pedals, and this is by far the best I have ever used. If you're seeking a pedal to give you that awesome metal tone, buy this today!

  • from Washington December 13, 2016Music Background:
    Novice

    Epic Dark Metal

    I wasn't sure what to expect with this pedal, I've always been a fan of the DS-1 the classic Boss Distortion I was raised on. But I have to say it was impressive, dark, full, articulate and heavy. Boss caters to the garage musician, sure you can go buy more expensive pedals and maybe you can get a little something extra and if you have the bucks to blow, go ahead load up on them. But if you just want to get a great heavy tone without the frills, you can't go wrong with MT-2. Like Slayer, Metallica or similar bands, this'll give it to ya for a fraction of the cost.

  • from Northeast February 12, 2015Music Background:
    Been in a few bands as rhythm and lead.

    versatile

    For my small studio it's perfect for the limited effects I need. It's a lot more subtle than just a distortion blast. For the last song I wrote I wanted an underwater sound and with a few simple adjustments I got the exact sound I was looking for.. No regrets. It's a great addition to anyone's gear!

  • from Northeast February 12, 2015Music Background:
    Been in a few bands as rhythm and lead.

    versatile

    For my small studio it's perfect for the limited effects I need. It's a lot more subtle than just a distortion blast. For the last song I wrote I wanted an underwater sound and with a few simple adjustments I got the exact sound I was looking for.. No regrets. It's a great addition to anyone's gear!

  • from Hingham, MA February 6, 2013Music Background:
    home studioist, serious hobbyist

    Beware: Great for metal, but little else

    CAVEAT:
    Don't expect to be able to use this for a wide range of styles. The pedal imparts such an insistent "metal" color to your basic tone that even backing off the distortion level to 7 or 8 o'clock won't be enough to hide it's molten DNA (OK, I couldn't resist that guitar mag review phrasing). But this won't be a drawback if you know this going in.

    BOTTOM LINE:
    The Metal Zone is a great pedal for getting metal tones, even making my SSS Strat breathe fire. The tone controls are the key to getting amazing, classic scooped sounds. If that's what you want, this is a terrific - and affordable - option.

  • from Middle TN USA August 4, 2012Music Background:
    40 yrs serious rock guitarist. 10 yrs crippled but serious rock guitarist.

    Boss Does Heavy Metal a Favor

    In the Mid 90s Boss came out with this amazingly successful pedal and it is still a big seller today. Why? Cause it adds a THUMP and/or a whomp to your notes and an amazing dual gain crunch to your otherwise earthly amp. It is played best in the clean channel of your amp. You will likely be overwhelmed with out of control feedback or bad noise if you connect this to your Overdrive or Power channel.

    The better the amp, the better the sound. If you plug it in to the clean channel of a 50 or 100 watt Marshall Super Lead, Dual Super Lead or other JCM tube amp, Soldano, Mesa, or a good HiWatt with Fane or WEM speakers, if you watch your levels, you will be happy with your sound, if, and I mean a BIG IF, if you have an understanding of parametric equalizers, and utilize them carefully,

    A parametric EQ is not like a graphic or tone type Equaliser. It allows you to set the parameters of your midrange, the LEVEL of your midrange, the RANGE of your midrange and the bandwidth or Q of your midrange. They are multiband variable equalizers. You can set your bass, and treble individually, like a tube amp, not like a tone control, with bass on one side and treble on the high side.

    Then you get to name the range of your midrange, and emphasize the upper, lower midrange or mid- midrange, and then the amplitude of your midrange you have chosen to emphasize (or de-emphasize)...Which is all important in getting your overall sound to get where you want it. Too little midrange in the wrong range and your tone is thin, tinny, and lifeless, and too much of the lower midrange and your powerful thump will turn into an annoying rumble that won't go away.

    I used to like the Metal Zone a lot, but now I have mellowed in my tones a bit. I like the MD-2 Mega Distortion Boss, because you can get Zep II and semi-clean Joe Bonamassa Marshall like lead tones with it and not get over the top or get too thumpy. I used to prefer the dual distortion, and I agree even it does have its uses, but for leads now I prefer the single distortion and power of the MD-2 just a tad better.

    Either way, adjusted correctly and used with the clean channel of appropriate amplifiers, both can make you a happy guitar player.

    Now, I have read about guys who have Mesa Boogie amps and hook up muff pi's and Metal Zones to add to the (already huge) amp distortion. For you guys, all I can say is lotsa luck. Vaya Con Dios. The MT-2 Metal Zone already Seethes with gain. Why on earth use it with a greatly distorted power amp? Search me.

    As I mentioned in my review of the MD-2 Mega Distortion Boss pedal, I had an argument with a Metal Zone owner back 10-15 years ago, who claimed his MT-2 was horrible piece of junk he said. Well I checked it out. Sure enough the way he had it set (virtually everything was middle, nothing was adjusted properly and I mean NOTHING), so yes, it WAS horrible. Until he set it right.

    Set properly you can get your 1x12 or 2x10 or 2x12 to sound like a 4x12 cabinet. If you already have a 4x12 Celestion cab, then carefully set your Metal Zone will get you tonal bliss, if carefully controlled. For a little less mayhem I suggest the Boss MD-2 Mega Distortion. Both units are built like tanks and last many years, and can easily and inexpensively repaired if you have a cable connector or battery connection go bad. I have a couple still going that I bought in 1996. One that had a 30$ repair in 2002.

    Boss has many answers for modern guitarists. In several flavors...Metal Zone is one of them.

  • from Los Angeles, CA April 17, 2008Music Background:
    Active Musician

    Great for clavinova...

    I wanted to give this pedal a 5, but on guitar it only deserves about a 2... On the other hand, it sounds fantastic with the clav sim on my Korg keyboard! Seriously, every keyboard player should check out distortion at some point if he/she has an amp.

  • from Buffalo, NY October 30, 2006Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Boss MT-2

    The BOSS MT-2 Metal Zone is one of the best selling compact effects pedals of all-time. It’s Dual-gain distortion circuit produces some of the most versatile distortion sounds ever made available. From low gain breakup to totally over-the-top insane. With huge mids and lows it can make a small combo amplifier sound like a dedicated head and closed back cabinet set-up

    Separate controls are included for level, distortion and three bands of EQ. The EQ section offers 15 db of cut or boost at each frequency center and includes both High and Low shelving EQ, plus mid-band Parametric EQ with a 200hz-5Khz sweep. All this in Boss’ smart, easy access, durable housing!

    The wide range of distortion and flexible EQ make for an extremely flexible unit. The manual lists several reference settings that sound great on their own, but also can be used as a starting point for creating your own sounds. These settings cover basic overdrive, 80’s Metal, Modern Metal, 70’s Classic Rock, Progressive Rock, early British rock, 50’s style Rock ‘n' Roll, and 60’s fuzz among others.

  • from Buffalo, NY October 29, 2006Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Boss MT-2

    The BOSS MT-2 Metal Zone is one of the best selling compact effects pedals of all-time. It’s Dual-gain distortion circuit produces some of the most versatile distortion sounds ever made available. From low gain breakup to totally over-the-top insane. With huge mids and lows it can make a small combo amplifier sound like a dedicated head and closed back cabinet set-up

    Separate controls are included for level, distortion and three bands of EQ. The EQ section offers 15 db of cut or boost at each frequency center and includes both High and Low shelving EQ, plus mid-band Parametric EQ with a 200hz-5Khz sweep. All this in Boss’ smart, easy access, durable housing!

    The wide range of distortion and flexible EQ make for an extremely flexible unit. The manual lists several reference settings that sound great on their own, but also can be used as a starting point for creating your own sounds. These settings cover basic overdrive, 80’s Metal, Modern Metal, 70’s Classic Rock, Progressive Rock, early British rock, 50’s style Rock ‘n' Roll, and 60’s fuzz among others.

  • from oakland December 4, 2009Music Background:
    punk, industrial, hip hop, blues, jazz, synth punk, no wave.

    On bass as well

    I used to use this on bass guitar a while ago. It was stolen by some metal band I was doing sound for.
    I think it i cheesy that there are two reviews in a row with ad copy pasted into them.
    pure cheese like that knocked a star off my review.

  • from NYC, NY May 7, 2010Music Background:
    Gigging Musician

    Practice Stombox.

    This stomp-box is mainly meant to get you that "scooped" metal sound at bedroom volumes, and it does it extremely well. When using it live however, it begins to sound harsh and shrill like a solid state amplifier. For live use I would suggest something more "tube-amp friendly" like an Ibanez TS-9 or the BOSS overdrive pedals. Overall, it's the best at what it does.

  • from Canada April 12, 2012Music Background:
    Guitar Teacher for 20+ years

    Cringe... sorry. :(

    I've always found the MT-2 very nasally and thin sounding... regardless of how you set the controls... actually WORSE than the HM-2. Several of my students have bought these over the years and brought them in for me to demonstrate. And while I am trying to adjust the tone controls to something useable in real life (cringing in disgust), I could always look up and see the look of pure joy on their faces as the feedback howled and hissed.

    OK for the basement rockstar, I guess, but no-one with experience playing live venues would ever use on on stage... not even metal bands. YOUR GUITAR WILL LOSE ALL NOTE DEFINITION AND DISAPPEAR IN THE MIX WHEN USING THIS PEDAL LIVE!!! (Try explaining that to a 12 year old with an ear-to-ear grin... he doesn't care.)

    Bottom line: Great for beginners chunking away on power chords... not much else.

    P.S. I'm not one of those stuffy guitar teachers who tries to teach note-reading to kids who just want to rock. I was learning Randy Rhoads back when he was still alive. :)

  • from Georgia June 9, 2009Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Excellent For Beginners

    I purchased this pedal about three yers ago and at first was truly blown away by it. But as my ears and taste matured it began to lose it's luster. I placed an EQ in the chain before than after and never could quite gain the sound I was trying to achieve. If you are wanting to sound like what is already out there than this is the pedal for you, if you would like to sound original this may also be the pedal for you, just be prepared to spend hours "knobbing" to achieve individuality. The intent of this pedal is very noble, but I found the extra controls to be very daunting.

Questions about the Boss MT-2 Metal Zone Distortion Pedal?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway