0% Interest for 48 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Live Sound Month!

Yamaha MSR100 100W 8" Powered Speaker Reviews

4.5 stars based on 8 customer reviews
Questions about the Yamaha MSR100 100W 8" Powered Speaker?

Questions about the Yamaha MSR100 100W 8" Powered Speaker?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

Sweetwater Advice

  • Carson McClain

    I own a pair of the Yamaha MSR400s, the MSR800 sub, and I just bought the MSR100 for monitoring at a local club. There is an outside patio area which is 25 feet away from the stage and there was no sound in that area, so I needed a solution that could be removed at the end of each night. The MSR100 was the right choice. It's lightweight , versatile for other purposes, and easy to set up. This is a very compact unit that could also be used at a coffee shop. It has four inputs and an EQ.

  • from FL USA January 3, 2014Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Yamaha at it's Best

    I now have a twin pair of the MSR100's connected to my Yamaha Tyros 4 Arranger Workstation Keyboard in my recording studio.
    Amasing powered speakers and oustanding sound results.
    Sweetwater is the best for on time dedication and a great sales rep Adam Briggs. Thanks Adam.

  • from United States March 25, 2013Music Background:
    Jazz and musical theatre musician

    Perfect keyboard monitors

    I bought these because I have used them for years in the pit of our musical theatre company. They are perfect as monitors and you can even use them as mains in a small to medium room. Very clean sound and has that legendary Yamaha reliability.

  • from Austin, TX May 21, 2011Music Background:
    Drummer, Recording Engineer

    Big sound for a small, lightweight monitor

    I use this mostly as a personal monitor for local gigs.

    It is so much lighter than any other monitor I have owned. I can easily grab it with one hand and carry something else in the other. it also fits very easily in my vehicle and as long as the PA has a monitor line-out, I don't have to worry about monitor amps, or speaker impedance matching - and I have local EQ control if I need it.

    It gets loud enough that I have not had any problems hearing it. When testing it out I just connected an iPOD and was stunned at the low-frequency output this little guy was capable of - a lot better than I was expecting for an 8" speaker.

    I've also used it as a PA system (for a small gathering) where we needed to just connect one mic so we could be heard above a crowd- worked perfectly.

  • from Penna. December 22, 2011Music Background:
    Musician

    Yamaha MSR100

    No surprises on this purchase.
    Sales Rep. described this great active speaker to a tee.

  • from Equality, IL August 7, 2011Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Yamaha MSR 100

    This is a GREAT speaker and produces beautiful sound. Followup was very good.

  • from San Diego, Ca. April 25, 2014Music Background:
    Self taught on sound equip.

    Yamaha MSR100

    I have owned an MSR100 for several years, and I found it to be a great piece of equipment. Big enough to fill a large room with music. Because of my new venture in being a DJ I needed a second one and it has worked out great. I can play off my laptop to a small mixer for both speakers and a couple of mic's and I don't have to strain the sound levels on any of the components. My only lament is it does not have a built-in pocket for placing on a stage stand. There is an add on which would make it awkward to store. I intend to get the add on's soon and create a short stand for storing and use without tall stands.

  • from Chicago, IL August 3, 2011Music Background:
    professional keyboard player

    yamaha MSR100

    Excellent light weight clear sound using a pair of these monitors in stereo.
    Good for low to moderate volume monitoring.

  • from Charlottesville, VA May 14, 2014Music Background:
    weekend warrior, bass player and sound man

    bad EQ

    Bought these for stage monitors for the rock band, and they're OK for that, with a 15-band EQ in front of them. Lately we've been using them for vocals and sometimes acoustic guitar in the jazz band (no drums, not a lot of volume). The only way to get (barely) passable sound quality is to cut the low almost all the way and boost the high a bit. They are light and loud, but they sound crummy. Good for monitors, bad for mains, even for a coffee house gig.

Questions about the Yamaha MSR100 100W 8" Powered Speaker?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway