0% Interest for 36 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
July 4 Financing

Martin MSP7200 SP Lifespan 92/8 Phosphor Bronze Medium Acoustic Strings Reviews

3.5 stars based on 9 customer reviews
Questions about the Martin MSP7200 SP Lifespan 92/8 Phosphor Bronze Medium Acoustic Strings?

Questions about the Martin MSP7200 SP Lifespan 92/8 Phosphor Bronze Medium Acoustic Strings?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • Terry Volk
    from Aiken SC January 23, 2017Music Background:
    Old Time Picker

    Great String

    Its The Old Time Picker again, I've tried about every string there is, I have 32 Guitars that I string myself, I bought 50 sets of Elixir strings and had to throw 42 sets away they were bad from the factory bad sounding coating missing on some no ball on the end of some, Before this I had pretty good luck with them so I don't know what happened with this bunch, But anyway, I purchased 2 Martin guitars this year a HD35 and a D18 both had the SP7200 on them, That was June and August 2016 I still have them on the guitars and this January 23, 2017, And don't think I don't play either, I'm Blind and set home every day just playing guitar, I play each Martin every other day, I play on them about 4 hours a day, And yes the strings are still sounding great, That's 5 and 6 months on a set of strings, I love working on guitars and want to change the strings just to be working on the guitars but I just can't take off a set of strings that sound so great. well back to Pickin and Grinin,,,,,The Old Time Picker

  • Martin
    from August 20, 2016Music Background:
    Past family history grand ole opry

    Needs a tune up

    Not good form me now. I have always used MSP7200SP. These stings might be awesome on guitars that require brass strings though. But guitars requiring phosphor bronze these strings are not so good with. I got a set of these MSP7200SP just after the new processing method. I lost 75% volume. Just to make it fair, i made sure nothing was wrong with my Martn guitar. Had a refret done on my Martin guitar as well. In the past i had already purchased brass strings from about every reliable maker i could find and found brass strings were not the idea for my Martin by far. This time i had to do the same with phosphor bronze strings. (again) This review is not about other products and i found one set closely resembling the older processed MSP7200SP sound with a nice tone and volume. The string price was heavy but what can you do. My Martin top has particular blimish streaks and was what i was looking for before i got it. Mixed with the older processed 7200 strings made the sound quality i was looking for and was a fine studio instrument, just totally phenomenal. I found with many players that the new Martin processed strings are awesome with non-blimished or brass string required instruments. I wouldn't hesitate to try them if your guitar accepts both types strings somewhat equally. The Bronze Age began in Britain nearly 5000 years ago with the discovery of techniques in Anatolia or the Caucasus in 1300 BC. For over 3300 years man has known if you change the process of a metal without changing the ingredients you change the quality of the material/product. Simple as that. I sure hope Martin & Co. brings back the older processed way for the MSP7200SP to add in the sales list. Or at least makes the older processed strings a special order to accomodate certin guitars.

  • Tom Schauman Jr.
    from Springfield, Tennessee September 25, 2015Music Background:
    Hobbyist, Church Trio

    Martin Lifespan MSP7200

    The MSP7200's came installed on my new DRSGT Martin from the factory,(purchased at Sweetwater, I play in a church trio, and for leisure). After a couple of months, I tried a set of the,"light" gauge just to see any differences, really seemed to have the same play ability as the mediums, not quite the depth or volume however. Again, after a couple of months, I ordered a set of the mediums, and found the medium's to have the depth of sound and volume I first remembered when I received my new guitar. These (MSP7200) will be my strings of choice from now on. Rest assured, you will not be disappointed with the sound or the ease of play of these strings, and they have a long life!!

  • Patrick Leonard
    from Chicago, IL August 18, 2015

    Good, But Not Good Enough

    Thought I'd give these strings a shot since the reviews were pretty good. I was using Elixir Strings when I came across these. After about two days the coating was waring away and my fingers started turning green. I'm definitely going to make the switch back to Elixirs

  • Josh
    from Kentucky July 7, 2015Music Background:
    Bluegrass

    Rusted after first play

    I bought a brand new Recording King RD-310 and got a set of these strings free. After I put them on I played them for maybe 20 minutes, wiped them off and the next day I left for the weekend. When I got back I played them again, they sounded dead and was rusted all the way down the neck, even where I didn't play. I'll stick to Elixir strings for sure.

  • Pierre
    from Cary, NC September 28, 2014Music Background:
    Experience Musicians

    Update to previous review

    I found that the Light version (.012) have the same gentle touch and action as the Stock Elixir on Taylor guitars, however they still have a clearer and better defined sound then the Elixir. No need to modify the action after all to accommodate these..

    I strongly recommend Taylor to put Martin MSP7100 SP Lifespan (.012/.045) on some models such as Dreadnought.

  • Pierre
    from Cary, NC September 25, 2014Music Background:
    Experienced Musician

    Better definition then Elixir Nanoweb

    My luthier recently put s set of these on my Taylor DN-3 (same as 310). He convinced me that the coating lasted longer than the string itself and so give them a shot. He failed to tell me how good they sound though. One fine evening I started jamming on my DN-3 and I fell in lover with it for the second time. The sound is amazing. However they are a bit more stiff then the Nanoweb 80/20. I just switched back to the Nanoweb and the difference is remarkable. The sound of Nanoweb 80/20 is dull compared to the Lifespan. In the past I tried the Nanoweb Phosphore Bronze. They are good for blues but they are even stiffer then the Lifespan. I'm ordering a few sets of Lifespan right now, and will stick to them from now on. I will adjust the action of accordingly, to make it easier to play, but I cannot live another day without that sound, period. Martin strings use to be a joke to me because they lasted only a few hours due to my acid hands, but Martin really hit the spot with these. They last as long as the Elixir Polyweb, but sound clearer then the Nanoweb. After a month, they look and sound like new. I'm going try the 12 strings set as well on my Taylor 456.

  • Diane Wizelman
    from sugar run Pa. January 8, 2014Music Background:
    guitar player

    nice strings

    Not bad strings all depends on you

  • Paul Nye
    from Walker, MN USA October 28, 2012Music Background:
    Pro Musician, Recording Engineer.

    Martin Lifespan SP strings

    I've been looking for a string like this. I liked the sound of Elixirs, but the long-lasting clarity was always short-lived because I'd break a string after 3 or 4 shows. Elixirs were expensive and unstable for me. I was a little skeptical of a "coated" string because of that. The Martin Lifespan SPs proved to be stable and the clarity and punch was just as long-lasting as the Elixirs. Highly recommend them for players who are unhappy with Elixirs.

Questions about the Martin MSP7200 SP Lifespan 92/8 Phosphor Bronze Medium Acoustic Strings?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway