0% Interest for 48 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Live Sound Month!

JBL MSC1 Reviews

3.0 stars based on 15 customer reviews
  • Bryan Wayne Perry
    from Nashville Music City USA May 1, 2014Music Background:
    www.perrymusicgroup.com

    Not just for Studio

    Bought this for the wife for her birthday, to control her Studio Monitors. This product is so smooth in its operation and navigation she has no trouble utilizing all the features. The JBL MSC1 is well built feels solid and not cheap. I like the product so much that I am ordering myself on for the home studio! Ordering from Sweetwater is always a pleasure. fast friendly and competitive with knowledge of product which is the best in the business. If you have never ordered from Sweetwater you should right now!

  • C Anthony
    from December 20, 2013Music Background:
    25 years Recording Engineer, Producer, Musician

    Amazing

    All of us cant afford professional acoustic treatment. We spent around 1500 which is still out of most project and home studios budgets and I know some studios that have spent well over 5k.

    For $300 and a bass trap here and there you can get a great balance using the MSC1. I recommend this unit for anyone with a project studio. This little unit is amazing.

    I also have used the ARC system but didnt like putting a plug in on the Master Fader. All of the settings are stored within the hardware and software of this unit.

    First off - in order to use this unit your room must be quiet! No TVs in the back ground or cars rumbling ... the mic is EXTREMELY sensitive. I had to do the calibration around 2am in the morning.

    After in ran through the test I noticed a BIG change in sound. Everything was nice and flat. The sub was nice and balanced. I was blown away because there was no more bass build up in the corner of the room. I was BLOWN AWAY. So I purchased 3 more! Gave one away as a gift and use the other two for my home studio and the other with my laptop when Im on the road.

    Get this unit! You will not be disappointed.

  • Anthony Carpenter
    from Tomball, TX June 19, 2013Music Background:
    Professional Musician, Producer.

    Not plug and play, BUT!

    As the title says, definitely NOT plug and play, the software even at latest off JBL website is out of date. It didn't like my Windows 7 64bit, and the firmware updater is beyond useless at this point.

    Ok, that's the bad stuff out of the way. The setup was somewhat challenging, placement of mic on stand, levels on my Mackie 1640i Onyx using the instructions weren't the best way. All I can say is, rely more on what you know about levels and just look at the meter on the calibration window. It needs to be LOUD so you'll want to be out of the room when the final calibration is done.

    Once it was done, I knew what to check of my material and some of my favourite songs. The result is definitely a major improvement in my studio which is only partially treated on the wall behind the nearfield Mackie HR824s. Between this and the stands I bought recently I have improved my listening environment beyond what I ever dreamed of.

  • Jimmy Fassler
    from Norman OK March 8, 2013Music Background:
    Writer, Producer, SVP of radio for the BN4IA.

    The Perfect Room EQ Fix

    I have been using the MSC1 for two years now. It is the single most important piece of equipment in my monitor set up. With the MSC1's room analyzation and and EQ correction, I have been mixing & mastering projects with total transparency and confidence. The mixes have proven to translate perfectly on any system for clients out side of my studio's environment. My monitor set up without the MSC1 is like mixing with cotton in your ears. Great bang for the buck here!

  • LEIGHTON
    from LAUDERDALE LAKES FL USA November 1, 2010Music Background:
    PRODUCER,PRO MUSICAN,ENGINEER

    THE REAL DEAL

    THE MSC1 IS THE BEST THING THAT HAPPEN TO MY HOME STUDIO, WITHOUT USING THE RMC SYSTEM THE MSC1 MAXIMIZE THE STEREO IMAGE AND CLARITY OF MY SPEAKERS , THE RMC SYSTEM TOOK SOME TIME TO SET UP BUT THAT WAS EXPECTED SUCH CALCULATIONS SHOULD BE DONE WITH CARE. I REALLY LIKED THE FACT THAT IT DID A CALCULATION OF THE SOUND CARD TO SEE WHAT IT WAS WORKING WITH(ALL SOUND CARDS AREN'T EQUAL) , THE MSC1 REALLY WORKS IT IDENTIFIED AND TOOK PROPER ACTION ON A COUPLE OF FREQUENCIES IVE BEEN HAVING PROBLEMS WITH AND CLEAR MY MIXES UP, WORTH EVERY CENT I PAID FOR IT , THANKS RYAN AND SWEETWATER,

  • Tom S
    from NYC, NY USA June 25, 2013Music Background:
    Recording Engineer

    Nice!

    This box does exactly what it says it does! The RMC helped my room out, and the speaker/input selection is very nice. My only slight complaint is that I wish RMC could be enabled on both sets of speakers, as opposed to just the "A" set.

  • Rick
    from CT, USA December 8, 2011Music Background:
    Musician, Writer, Producer

    Could solve a big problem in the studio room

    Fantastic way to centralizing speaker setup, a great addition to my studio. Room Mode seems to work, though the step by step procedure can be overwhelming the first time around. On Sweetwater rep Andrew's recommendation, added JBL speakers, and that's when it worked best.

  • Troy Wasinger
    from Coon Rapids, MN November 11, 2014Music Background:
    Independent Recording/Live Sound Engineer, Musician, Technician

    Night and day difference

    I received my MSC1 from Sweetwater a little over a week ago. Setup was a breeze with my Windows 7 64 PC, but when it came time to calibrating the Room Correction Mode, that was a different story.

    My setup is a pair of LSR2328P active monitors and the MSC1. My first few attempts kept giving me error code 3 messages, and being as I am familiar with home theater audio calibrations, I thought that maybe I should check the actual levels of the speakers with a dB meter to start off with. Low and behold with both LSRs set to full open on the input gain, one of the speakers was outputting more volume than the other.

    Once I adjusted the output of the speakers to match, I proceeded with attempting a couple more calibrations and they failed. Since like I mentioned before that I am familiar with home theater calibration, and I have previously calibrated a few JBL Synthesis systems and remember them being much louder during the calibration tests. Remembering this made me decide to raise the input trim on the MSC1 so more test tone signal was going through the unit, and walla... the calibration succeeded!

    The difference between RMC being engaged and disengaged is night and day. With the RMC engaged the low end spectrum of the LSR2328Ps are much more defined, and the separation is unbelievable!

    Hopefully some of the information I am sharing helps others in their setup and calibration. I wish JBL would update the instructions (maybe make a video if their is not one already), as I wouldn't have not figured it out without my experiences with their Synthesis systems.

    I am only giving it 4 stars because of the lack of online JBL support pertaining to the calibration process and such, but as far as the quality of the unit I received it would deserve 5 stars.

  • Customer
    from Eugene, OR October 28, 2010Music Background:
    Bass Player, Producer, Recording Engineer

    No Mac software after almost a year

    The webpage says "MSC1 Control Center Software for Macintosh OS available Spring 2010". I'm still waiting after I bought it in March. I contact JBL every 2 months to see when it will be ready. They keep telling me soon. I should of went with the KRK. I had to borrow 3 different Windows machines before I could get the extremely buggy software to work. I sounds good once I got it up and running, but I spent 4 days doing that.

  • Tom Helvey
    from San Diego June 14, 2014Music Background:
    Pro musician, producer, all of the above.

    $300 Brick

    I think this unit would have been a great addition to my studio and I don't mind a complicated setup procedure, been there done that, no problem. But...

    The software does not work at all on Windows 7 64 bit. It doesn't even load without unhandled exceptions (sloppy programming). The control center software has all the hallmarks of being outsourced and thrown together for the lowest possible cost instead of the highest possible quality. Maybe they can't afford a programmer to update it.

    I've been using JBL for over 30 years and they've always had a good reputation for studio gear but I probably won't consider them in the future. What a shame.

    I'm returning this as soon as I get the RMA from Sweetwater (those guys are great).

  • Customer
    from United States November 18, 2013

    AWFUL

    First thing I did was plug it into my monitors and got some very startling static crackling. Turned the monitor off immediately and turned the unit off. When I powered the monitor back on, even without the unit being on, my noise floor on the monitor had been raised at LEAST 25 or 30dB. WITH THE UNIT OFF.

    The 'calibration mic' is a plastic children's toy with a molded permanently attached 1/8" TRS cable. I hooked it up to my RTA and compared to my normal ref mic, doesn't deserve the word 'calibration' in the title AT ALL.

    I decided maybe I should install the software to see if the noise issues would remove themselves once drivers had been installed. The CD is an unorganized cluster of files that immediately opens a completely unprofessional looking NOTEPAD file to walk you through the non-user friendly setup (first step says "insert CD-R" genius, how else did I get here if I hadn't already done that??). Setup was awful, did NOT like Windows 7 64 bit. Once I got the software open it would not recognize my internal sound card or interface. At this point I packed the unit up...

    45 minutes of my life wasted.

    After reading the other reviews I can see now I should have done my homework, bad form JBL...

  • Robert
    from Barbados June 21, 2011Music Background:
    Singer, Composer, Keyboardist, Recording Engineer

    Noisy, Jittery and Hot

    Pros:
    This unit caught my eye at first glance. I found it to be more aesthetic in appearance than the Mackie Big Knob and also a supposedly seemless addition to my JBL 2328's.

    Cons:
    MANY, but I'll just name a few.
    For starters, I did not expect to get a constant annoying humming. No matter what I did, I couldn't eliminate that hum.
    Secondly, the volume knob has a tendency to be unresponsive. Then at times when left alone, it would jump decibels from very low to startlingly high dB levels.
    Thirdly this unit gets too hot too fast. Somehow I believe this contributes to it's jittery volume behaviour after just a little time into a session.
    I would not get into software issues since previous reviews have dealt quite thoroughly with those.
    I must admit that I wished these other reviews were done prior to my purchasing this item.

    Preference:
    On another note, it would also have been nice to see an integrated talkback mic with this unit. I am still very confident of JBL's speaker reputation and achievements and would still continue to purchase from them in the future, but I am extremely disappointed in this particular product and I hope they would seek to address these and other issues associated with this product and get things right the next time around.

  • Mike Moran
    from North Port, FL June 16, 2011Music Background:
    Recording engineer, Pro Musician, record producer.

    buggy software and hardware made this unusable

    I tried installing the MSC1 software on my thinkpad first and when that failed I tried my Macbook. In both cases, I got messages about too much ambient noise in my studio (I think not) and then a serious deficit in the left / right balance of my monitors. I used a test CD and a sound level meter to determine that the two monitors were within 1/2 dB of each other. I was unable to accomplish anything useful with the MSC1. I have the greatest respect for JBL and Harmon, but this item is not one of their best.

  • Paul Dry
    from Milwaukee , WI April 30, 2011Music Background:
    Recording/Live sound engineer 37 yrs/ bass player

    Still trying

    So far, just an expensive volume control RMC keeps indentifying non-existant external I/O even though I have designated my internal sound card, reloaded the software deleted any other softwares that could possibly conflict. Regret that i didnt buy from Sweetwater and had the benefit of their extremely good customer service. JBL pros customer service is at the other end of that spectrum. Hopefully someday they will return an email

  • Gerald Robert Gassert
    from Spokane wa September 6, 2010Music Background:
    Recording ,,,,,Computer Building ,,,,Guitar,,,,Vocals ,,,songwriter

    I wish I found a reveiw on this somwhere

    Installation of software was a Bitch lots of error exceptions on Windows 7 ,,The RMC Calibration and alignment feature is a series of loop this over here then unplug this and rout it this way . The Motu 24 i/o don't have a heaphone out and they require you to run the test signals through that Then the the test tone just makes the mic feedback Then their little meter in the software don't even register the level ,,,,then it won't let you finish because the loopback test says not enouph signal ......This product is an expensive big knob . Shame on you JBL . Not a functional unit for other brands of gear ,,,,Just their Lexicon USB 2 channel

Questions about the JBL MSC1?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway