0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
NAMM Sneak Peek

Steinberg MR816 X Reviews

4.0 stars based on 12 customer reviews
  • Peter.L
    from Trinidad October 14, 2012Music Background:
    dj/producer

    Sounds amazing!!!

    got this unit about week now i was really blow away with the clarity and wide stereo imaging must have i say.

  • Grant Taylor
    from Los Angeles, CA, USA July 14, 2011Music Background:
    Producer/Songwriter

    Absolutely Amazing Using Cubase/Nuendo!

    I went through three different interfaces before landing here. Being a user of Cubase and Nuendo, I wanted simple connections, great sound and adaptability. I received the unit a few weeks ago and it has been heaven in the studio since then. Clean, clear sound, ultra-fast automatic connections and simplicity in action. I can't recommend this enough.

  • mike
    from new york , new york May 13, 2011Music Background:
    house music producer

    Great Sounding Interface

    Got this a week ago and im amazed the da is so clear and the ad is great installed with no problems, fast delivery by sweetwater

  • Customer
    from Somewhere on the East Coast February 22, 2010

    This thing is SICK!

    For the money (and now, at the new price!) this thing is just a tremendous interface. Yes, it is SICK! I have tried and owned many interfaces, but this one is the best sounding interface in its price range that I have ever tested. I'm truly blown away for the money. It works great with Cubase, with which it integrates beautifully. But it also works just fine with Sonar, Reaper, Sound Forge, Vegas, Live, etc. I have not tried it with Macs, however. I've tried it on Windows 7, no problem, and is treated like a standard, solid ASIO device by everything I've thrown at it. With Cubase it goes to the next level. But don't let Cubase limit you in your decision. This is not a Cubase-only device by any stretch of the imagination.

    They have released new driver updates that have continued to improve performance as well. It won't beat a PCI/PCIe interface for ultra-low latency, but it holds its own against other firewire interfaces for low-latency performance, and really shines when it comes to sound quality. One of the best buys I've made in years. Highly recommended.

  • J.P
    from Chicago,Los Angeles June 18, 2013Music Background:
    Composer, sound designer.

    MR 816x

    Great sound. easy to install and the preamps are very clear. The only problem with it is the sound drops . Steinberg recomends few settings but they have not address the problem in a right way. If you have a commercial studio I would recomend get anothet interface, just to prevent that problem.

  • Gregg T.
    from Elko, NV January 7, 2012Music Background:
    Recording Engineer

    Clean and Intigrated!

    I have owned the MR816CSX for 4 years now. It is an excellent sounding preamp for the home studio or on the run. I like that I can plug any high dollar pre amp into it and it will not color it. I have battled many interfaces in the past to work seamless with Cubase, and this is the one to use for sessions! I use the Rev-X a lot for tracking and the compressor for monitor mixes. I even tried out a Focusrite Safire 56, and it was not as clean as this. If you like the Focusrite sound, go for that interface.

    I bought the MR816 X to have 16 channels available. Do yourself a favor and search the forums before you daisy chain these together. You can not daisy chain 3 of these together to get 24 channels, only 20 channels. I am using 14 in my situation with 1 SPDIF in/out. This works well on my situation. I would give Steinburg a lower rating with this false advertisement, but I give this product a good rating because for the cost you are getting with a solid interface with perfect integration with Cubase, and high quality preamps.

  • Demetri
    from Washington, DC December 8, 2011Music Background:
    Audio Engineer

    Wonderful

    I have read nothing but good reviews about this product, and I must concur. My recordings now have much more accuracy, realism, depth, clarity, and presence. At less than $90 per analog input, I firmly believe that there isn't another interface in this price range that comes close to it. I gave this unit 4.5 out of 5.0 because although this unit records with wonderful clarity, it is not particularly warm. I do not see this as a huge issue though... the built in pres and D/A are so accurate that if one were to put a tube pre in the signal chain before the MR816X, the added warmth would surely be represented in the recording.

    The bottom line... it's wonderful.

  • Ray j
    from philly October 23, 2013Music Background:
    dj/producer/mixing engineer

    great sounding interface

    This thing sounds awesome,i'm using a universal audio twin infinity preamp and i hv the interface clocked to a rosetta 200, vocals sounds heavenly. definitely would recommend this unit for the price.but only one problem why i wouldn't give it a 5star it has some issues with its clock in pro tools.

  • Frank Toich
    from Woodstock, NY July 31, 2012Music Background:
    Recording Artist - Shining Path

    Step Up - Steinberg MR816 X

    We have upgraded without a doubt. We were using a Focusrite Audio Interface that was not giving us the results we wanted. A very well thought out piece of hardware.

  • Prep Boy
    from Monroe, NC February 3, 2012Music Background:
    Recording engineer, Producer, Artist, and Gear junkie

    If you want Pro sound, You gotta have this!!

    So I got my interface in 2 weeks from SW, I must say OMG!!! I've been a cubase fan and using since LE when I was going to school for audio engineering learning Pro-tools. For the longest I had researched and researched audio interfaces which I almost ended up getting the RME, but came across this and I haen't looked or thought about the other one since. I'm still figuring it out though which is the reason I gave it 4 stars. Maybe it's my firewire card because it wasn't one of the recommended ones on cubase site, whenever I have a different sample rate it goes crazy and I have to restart my computer. So i'm ordering a new firewire, but other than that. The sound of this box is amazing! The pre's are crystal clear and the converters give u this wide stereo sound. I actually gotta learn how to mix again lol, major upgrade from a EMU 0202. I have a sterling audio ST66 mic, running threw a Presonus studio channel to add warmth because the D'pre's are very clear. It is a must have for all cubase users. Pro-tools has Digi, Cubase has the MR816x. It was worth the wait and the money, trust me u will fall in love with it

  • T.W.Zimmerman
    from Kalamazoo, MI April 16, 2010Music Background:
    Recording Engineer

    It sounds very, very good.

    I bought this unit to replace two Mackie Onyx 400F interfaces.
    My computer did not always like using an aggregate device.
    I loved the build quality of the Mackie units, and this unit feels
    solid but not as solid as the 400F(s). Plastic knobs feel cheap,
    an external power supply, etc. However the sound is excellent.
    The preamps are open and natural sounding. The stereo image
    seems to have more depth. I like the Onyx preamps, but I think
    these "D-Pre"s sound better. The software isn't great, but it has
    worked well with all my other DAW apps, so that isn't a major issue.
    Expect some headaches learning the unit as the PDF manual is not very helpful, but after two days i am comfortable enough with it.
    The bottom line, I bought it for the sound, it is worth some effort to
    bring it into the studio.

  • Customer
    from April 20, 2013Music Background:
    Engineer

    MR816 - Not living up to the Hype

    I've had a wealth of problems with this unit.

    First: The inputs at the back are NOT line level inputs. You will not be able to run any shiny external preamps into this unit without fighting with gain and some colouring from the preamps.

    While the preamps on the unit are surprisingly good, they are still definitely mid-level gear.

    Secondly: The headphone amp is appalling. On one set of headphones, it'll sound okay, on another, nicer set of headphones, the kick will disappear, the top end gets really harsh and the whole thing sounds like something is wrong. I've never cared about headphone amps until I tried a whole bunch of different headphones with it. If you have a nice set of headphones, this will make you hate yourself.

    Thirdly: I get an absolute multitude of drop-outs. It's impossible for me to edit Midi with any of my sequencers because the dropouts with midi is especially appalling. I have checked all latency issues and according to the DPS Latency checker, there is nothing that should cause stuttering audio, but that's exactly what I get.

    Finally: The technical support from Steinberg has been atrocious. As in: None. Not a word. Not even an automated email. If you buy one of these and it doesn't work perfectly on your system, you are left completely on your own to try to fix it. Hell, even an acknowledgement would have been nice, but as I said: Not one word.

    Also: I bought a new computer to use this unit. It's running into an absolute beast of a machine.

    In those moments where it's not stuttering, I"m not listening to anything with the headphones or trying to use any of my external mic pres, the unit DOES sound good. However, the problems I've had with it make it impossible for me to recommend it.

Questions about the Steinberg MR816 X?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close