0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart

Steinberg MR816 CSX Reviews

4.5 stars based on 9 customer reviews
  • from Maine USA September 14, 2012Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Musician

    Love It!

    I have had my MR816 CSX for 2 years now. I have never had an issue. Love the quality of the mic pres. I have used this everyday (just about) for two years. Will be buying another to daisy chain when I am ready to move to 16 tracks.

  • from Nashville, TN August 20, 2012Music Background:
    Recording Engineer

    Incredible sound, performance and flexibility!

    I was worried that the MR816 CSX would fall short of the reviews and user comments. I couldn't have been more wrong! Great sounding pre's, and routing for days! A perfect match for Cubase and with the MR Editor software I can use them as a stand alone front end for my old pro tools system and use the channel strip function for eq and compression if I choose. Unparalleled price to performance. I know I'll be adding another to my setup in the near future.

  • from Vancouver, Canada September 13, 2010Music Background:
    Professional Composer/Engineer

    A New Classic is Born!

    This is by far the best interface in this price range, and blows away more expensive units.(I ditched my Fireface for this!) Clean, detailed sound, amazing pre's and flawless performance make this a must-have for and DAW users, and of course Cubase users get the extra features. I don't care too much about the Rev-X and channel strip, but they are pro-quality too.

    Run, kill, do what you have to do to get this.

  • from Sacramento, CA December 25, 2009Music Background:
    recording / live sound engineer

    Excellent box

    No contest, annihilated my apogee ensemble and m-audio profire 2626 interfaces. Sold 'em, got this, end of story. Buying two more to daisy chain soon.

    The integration with Cubase/nuendo is such an added feature too.

  • from Washington, DC (chocolate city) November 1, 2008Music Background:
    Engineer, Producer, Musician...

    Viscious

    This is AWESOME!!! If your looking for for an interface that has the Best and Top Of the Line Mic-Pres and Top of The Line Converters than this is your Interface... Now if You have Cubase 4 and or Nuendo than This will OUTPERFORM PROTOOLS LE and I even think It'll OUTPERFORM PROTOOLS HD also.. This will also work with Logic, Sonor 8, Digital Performer, etc.. But what it can do with CUBASE because of the integration you just can't do no better.... This integrates very good with Cubase's VST's and the Reverb and Compressor that comes with the hardware is unbelievable!!... I say GET not just ONE but TWO!!!!

  • from July 7, 2011

    Great interface for Cubase

    Great sounding interface and works flaw easy with Cubase. Was up and running in about 15 minutes. The revx verbs are amazing as well as the morp compression. Connoted to my Motif via spdif and records ultra clean. Plan to chain two together once I need additional tracks.

  • from CA May 30, 2010Music Background:
    Sound designer

    Great product,still providing updates

    This piece is great,excellent mic pres,awesome software integration,it is very professional how it is laid out. They just released a update this week... Get knowledge of what you buy before you buy it and you should be fine.I was able to install and get everything up flawlessly first try.

  • from NY,NY February 16, 2010Music Background:
    Theatrical Technician

    Great once it gets going

    Let me start off by saying this box sounds great. The detail and soundstage is stunning and revealing. All the features work as advertised. Plugs seamlessly with Cubase 5. Really packed with features and built well.

    The one caveat is you must use a IEEE 1394 card with a TI (Texas Instruments) chipset. The box would not playback audio untill I installed a firewire PCI card with TI chips. Once that was done it has worked flawlessly. Check out cubase.net for details of this one rather significant issue.

  • from Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada December 4, 2008Music Background:
    Producer, engineer, touring musician

    Cubase Holy Grail - Multiple MR816 CSX Solution

    As a long time Cubase user and Pro Tools hold out, the MR 816 CSX and the CC121 are my Holy Grail! I received my 2 - 816 CRX and the CC121 controller last week and
    I am very impressed. I would strongly encourage Steinberg to provide better integration of multiple units as I have to use ADAT interface to get both 816 i/os integrated in Cubase control room with direct monitoring. Regardless, with some eagerly anticipated fixes, this system should prove to be as good as is promoted.

Questions about the Steinberg MR816 CSX?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway