0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
June 2017 Giveaway

Mackie MR5mk3 5.25" Powered Studio Monitor Reviews

4.0 stars based on 6 customer reviews
Questions about the Mackie MR5mk3 5.25" Powered Studio Monitor?

Questions about the Mackie MR5mk3 5.25" Powered Studio Monitor?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • Kevin rockwell
    from Holbrook, Massachusetts October 28, 2014Music Background:
    Music production - sound engineer

    Great monitors !!

    They really do deserve the respect, i bought these gorgeous monitors about a month ago and fell in love with them the lows are nice and warm highs crisp and sharp and still have the wonderful mid no doubt for the price these monitors will be your best choice !

  • Kevin
    from August 9, 2014

    Crystal Clear

    For a $300 a pair you can't beat these. The JBLs are just as good, but these look cooler. Amazing sound, you can really hear it in the high end (cymbals etc)

  • Robert Cornell Jr
    from Milwaukee, WI December 6, 2013Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Musician

    Amazing Imaging, Nice Look

    After checking the KRK Rokit 5 Gen 3s, which I actually expected to buy, I ended up settling on these instead. Both are good sounding speakers for the money, but I found the KRKs to be a little bit boxy and directional in comparison. Both feel like they accurately represent the source within a dB or so, but when you move around the stereo field, the Mackie’s clearly win on imaging. Also, while bass is about what you’d expect it to be with monitors of this size, the midrange and HF clarity of the MRmk3s edges out the competition just enough, and the combination of their imaging and clarity results in a monitor that is simply more pleasing to work with, in addition to being accurate.

    The look is clean, simple and “industrial,” and a clear step up from the previous generations of MRs, especially with the nice backlit Mackie logo. So in the end I guess I’m also happy to have a little less yellow in my studio… and to own a monitor that sounds as good as it looks.

  • Blake H.
    from TN December 10, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist Producer and Pianist

    Respectable Monitor

    Considering the price, these mini beasts have impressive sound. Originally I intended to get the Yamaha HS5's, but they sounded so fizzy at the top end that it really turned me off. These Mackie's in contrast are very smooth and have a nice warm, bass response. I actually feel like I'm missing a little high end and have the 5K boost enabled but I'm not sure it's helping--these things need like a 10K boost (again insanely smooth response). Overall I've made many good mix decisions based on these monitors and will continue to for as long as they hold out.

    Oh and for maximum performance get these things on Auralex MoPads. It easily doubles their performance.

  • Jmax
    from seattle, wa December 6, 2013Music Background:
    guitar player/ project studio owner

    Get 5s not 4s!!

    I bought some 4" monitors for my home studio for their size and price and was really disappointed with how they sounded for mixing drums in particular.. So I stepped up and got these 5's and it made all the difference in the world. The low end reference was so much better. Worth every penny!!

  • Jacob
    from Minneapolis February 28, 2015Music Background:
    Musician

    OK

    I thought these were good at first. And they are if you just want something to listen to music on, but I would not suggest mixing on these. The main reason being that the low end is so muddy, it will get you nowhere.

    If you want monitors to mix with, I would suggest either getting something better, or getting something like Avantone mixcubes (or any Auratone copy) for the midrange and using good headphones for the low bass.

Questions about the Mackie MR5mk3 5.25" Powered Studio Monitor?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway