0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
NAMM Sneak Peek

Akai Professional MPX8 SD Sample Pad Controller Reviews

3.5 stars based on 11 customer reviews
Questions about the Akai Professional MPX8 SD Sample Pad Controller?

Questions about the Akai Professional MPX8 SD Sample Pad Controller?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • shannon
    from Jasper, Texas January 21, 2014Music Background:
    sound renforcement

    Really good sampler for the money

    Our church uses this for samples that are in our songs during live programs works seamlessly with a drum pad over midi

  • tommie steindl
    from wisconsin / chicago September 27, 2013Music Background:
    dj / remixer

    my new sampler

    i was beyond pleased with the service & attention to detail that you guys offered ... shipping was super fast ... product is great ... thanks so much .. i will be doing more business with sweetwater without a doubt

  • Kenny Zail
    from Atlanta January 15, 2014Music Background:
    DJ

    Nice unit

    This is just what I needed to add sound effects to my DJing. I just wish it had a cowbell sound. You can always use more cowbell. :)

  • John St. Jean
    from Greenwood, DE June 22, 2015

    Small but does the job!

    This unit is compact and very portable. The pads are very responsive and the 32GB flash card that I bought to add my own sounds really allows me to do a lot of different things with it. I can save many different kits (8 sounds on the pads per kit). It does not do what the more expensive and larger units do but for the price and space it is a keeper and definitely worth having as part of your setup.

  • Ken
    from Brooklyn, NY November 17, 2013Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    It is what it is!

    If you are looking for a cheap, extremely portable sample-playback unit, then the MPX8 is for you. That's how they advertise it, and that's what it does.

    The sound quality is excellent and the unit itself is very sturdy and heavier than I expected. Loading samples into it can be tedious - they need to have all metadata stripped or they won't load, even if they are 16/44.1 WAVs - and editing kits is a PITA. Hopefully they will improve the interface or at least open it up to 3rd-party developers who could no doubt turn this little beast into a monster.

    My only real complaint is that, as of this writing, there is no way to disable velocity sensitivity on a per-sample basis. Otherwise it works as advertised and is a great value.

  • Mads Hennelund
    from August 23, 2013Music Background:
    Musician

    A very fine product indeed

    This is a very fine product!
    Spend an hour or two on getting to know how to transfer your own samples to the thing, make kits, reformatting the unit so it is able to playback stereo wavs, and so on...
    It plays back wavs perfectly I think. You can assign a pad to play a sample in 'loop' ("LP"), which is actually extremely usefull if you play electronically oriented music or anything where you need a drone sample playing over and over - or having a rytmical pattern playing back. Our drummer plays in sync with the backtrack, and in this environment the loop function on the mpx8 is awsome!

    It is a bummer though, that whenever you scroll to the next kit (next song) it takes 20-30 seconds loading the net wavs. This has to be worked around in live situations...

    all-in-all it is a fine plug-in product once you learn how to transfer your own wavs to the mpx8 (which isn't that hard). FINE FOR THE PRICE!

  • R Marks
    from silicon valley March 21, 2014Music Background:
    amateur musician/composer/sound guy

    Good Value in an entry level sample pad

    Lightweight build and feel but very nice response from sample pads. Impressive free sample downloads. Unimpressive kit editing software. WILL utilize user's stereo .wav samples (manual says mono only) but they must be pre-trimmed before you load them. 1/4" outputs may be impedance balanced, but do NOT provide inverted signal on ring of TRS connector (package says balanced output, manual says use TS connector). Noise floor (hum) using provided usb power supply is not terrific. Overall very useful for adding percussion to home recordings or samples to live performance. Might be troublesome adding quiet nature sounds to a film score due to S/N.

  • Mike
    from December 9, 2013Music Background:
    Producer

    Cheap, No Computer

    It seems like everything I would want in theory, but quickly I realized how many limitations there are. This product seems like some kind of way for akai to re purpose old sampler parts or something. Samples take a long time to load, files are very limited, and most importantly it will not sync loops or run batteries. BUT, for one shot samples or loops that do not need to be really synchronized it's great. The pads are very tactile and crisp and I can see how this would be useful for some basic drum jams or as a sound board for DJing or live PA. Stuff like effects, vocal one shots, ambient drones. It's nice to get away from the computer.

  • Rowlandiv
    from Atl ga January 29, 2014Music Background:
    Gearhead

    Boo

    Was a great idea but the load time is Slooooooow. Shame cuz I was super spiked when I got it

  • Customer
    from United States July 30, 2014

    Disappointment

    Had a lot of potential. But unfortunately the internal memory is extremely low and takes way to long to load your own samples. Not at all conducive to live shows when switching from song to song. Upwards to 2 mins to load user samples every time you switch banks. Hopefully they fix this with MPX16. Could be really awesome...

  • T
    from NYC September 20, 2013Music Background:
    Circus

    No no. Thing is MONO.

    (NOTE: The MPX8 can now use stereo samples with the free Firmware v1.1.01 update.)

    Where does it say that in the specs or the description?
    The frakin thing only takes mono samples.
    Could have been a game changer for me and the 20 other people touring around with octatracks just cause the mpc can't handle or than 12 minutes of audio. Mono. Who makes something mono. Not to mention this is their only stand alone sampler being made. And it's mono. And the midi implementation is terrible. Won't change kits with a program change message. Gods. Frakin thing. Was so close to answering a ton of my problems.

Questions about the Akai Professional MPX8 SD Sample Pad Controller?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close