0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
NAMM Happening Now

Multi Platinum Mixing Reviews

5.0 stars based on 9 customer reviews

Sweetwater Advice

  • Robby Resnick

    Ever spend hours and hours on a mix that you thought was amazing just to sit back, listen to a favorite record, and realize IT DOESN'T EVEN COME CLOSE?!? It happens to us all unfortunately. Luckily, this DVD steps in to help explain how we can better use our time to make a stronger, more competitive mix. Follow along in the actual Pro Tools session to complete the project (I was tired of instructional material that skips around and never brings the concepts together)! It's an outstanding way to increase the quality of your productions without breaking the bank. You have no idea what you've been missing until now. Multi Platinum will show you a better, cleaner way to work and get outstanding results! So take the eight hours with John (who would cost you a lot more in the real world to sit down with), grab a mouse and a note pad, and get ready to get even better!

  • from Murfreesboro, TN January 24, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist, Student, Project Studio Owner/Operator

    As good as it gets

    Let me prime this review by saying I am an audio production student at Middle Tennessee State University. We have one of the largest product/technology programs in the nation. I bought this DVD set last year and loved it. When I walked in to my class on Popular Mixing Techniques this semester, I was amazed to find John Merchant standing at the front of the classroom. According to him, if you could capture his class on video, it would play out like an extended-cut version of these DVD's. This is as close as you can get to sitting in an actual classroom (unless of course, you're sitting in an actual classroom). In fact, the tests in the course involve some of the very same sessions used on this DVD. Speaking of, the included sessions are bloated and may seem intimidating, but Merchant walks you through them, beginning with organizing the session, all the way through EQ, compression, and he even demonstrates vocal rides, which is something I've never been too good at - until I got this DVD. If you've tried reading books or forum posts but found it hard to translate words on a page into real-world action, this DVD is for you. It's helped me immensely. Five stars, and thanks to my Sweetwater Rep, Robby Resnick (who also took Merchant while at MTSU), for recommending this and getting it to me in such timely fashion. I still keep it around as a reference. Great product.

  • from October 16, 2012Music Background:
    Musician and Engineer

    Excellent DVD

    This DVD is one of the best I've found. John Merchant is a great engineer and this DVD teaches a lot of stuff. I would definitely recommend it.

  • from Pearblossom, CA December 5, 2011Music Background:
    Musician

    Excellent

    This is a great DVD. It is exactly what I was looking. Sitting in on a real project and seeing how a pro works is great for learning and provides insight into how to organize mix and create a professional sounding track.

    I highly recommend this DVD

  • from Austin, TX July 27, 2010Music Background:
    Professional Recording/Mix Engineer

    None Better

    I own just about every book and video on mixing and music production, and have a degree from Full Sail and been in and out of commercial studios for the past 15 years, and nothing has helped my mixes as much as Multi Platinum Mixing. All of their videos are great! John Merchant is clear about every step he takes to getting a great mix. No cut-away to hide his great technique, all in the box. I don't recommend this to anyone, cause I want all the knowledge to myself. But it is a great buy for anyone wanting to having a full, big, clear mix that can be applied to any style of music.

  • from Saint Louis, MO March 1, 2010Music Background:
    Engineer, Musician

    The Best Instructional video I have seen

    This is the dvd I have always wanted to see. Tons of good ideas, and perfect for those that do not have the opportunity to sit in on professional mix sessions. Highly recommended to everyone, it is great.

  • from FL October 20, 2007Music Background:
    Comptuer Engineer and Electronic Musician

    If You Are Considering It, Buy It

    This is the best "studio upgrade" I've made in a long time. Not only is John Merchant excellent at what he does, but he's good at teaching as well. As a computer engineering Ph. D. student I can tell you that I've met a lot of brilliant teachers, and John Merchant is just as good as any of them. Plus, he just comes off like a nice guy.

    Here's the kicker: I don't even use Pro Tools! I use a completely different DAW, but it was still worth the money. There are plenty of excellent Pro Tools tips on this DVD, but I bought it just for the great mixing demonstration. The fact is that the similar products I've bought for my DAW software simply aren't as good as this one.

  • from tennessee September 27, 2007Music Background:
    recording engineer

    Why has no one done a mixing tutorial like this before?

    I've seen all of the pro tools tutorials, and why has no one ever done one like this before? There's some great "tips" in the sotp dvd's & groovebox tutorials, but i'm more of a hands on learner. Things don't really stick as well when I just watch someone else work... but to actually get to watch And mix the pro tools session along with Merchant really opened my eyes to all the big *and* little things that it takes to make a truly professional mix. Plugins, reverbs & delay effects, different types of compression & eqing, automation, the hour and a half working with the producer to make final tweaks to the mix...man, it was like actually sitting in on a real, pro mix session. All tutorials should be done like this.

  • from California September 13, 2007Music Background:
    Grammy Award Winning Engineer (Prince, Herbie Hancock, Marcus Miller)

    Simply Outstanding!

    I finally got the DVD and I have to say, I think it's OUTSTANDING. I've been engineering for over 25 years working with some of the world's top recording artists like you have, but...watching others is the best way to grow, even if you already know some of the information.

    You gave me many "AHA" moments that made me look at things with new eyes. This is a great product and I will highly recommend it to others.

  • from Bangkok Thailand October 3, 2009Music Background:
    Audio engineering student/musician/song writer

    Simply Brilliant

    I order this vedio for i need it in my study and it really huge help and makes me understand about mixing. John is true to his word that he will not only teach you "how" but olso "why".I just finished my song and i applied what i've learn from this vedio. all i can say is "simply brilliant" I can't wait to see him making more vedio in mixing.

Questions about the Multi Platinum Mixing?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close