0% Interest for 48 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Live Sound Month!

Akai Professional MPK Mini Compact 25-key Keyboard Controller Reviews

4.5 stars based on 23 customer reviews

Sweetwater Advice

  • Carson McClain

    Okay, now this is just crazy! An MPK for $99! There is not one person on this planet producing music with a laptop or desktop who should not buy the AKAI MPK Mini Controller! Pads, knobs, keys, USB... cough up the cash and just do it!! You will not regret it.

  • Mike Harris

    There are two items that are always in my laptop bag: My Apogee One and my AKAI MPK Mini Controller. No matter where I am, I'm able to lay down tracks with ease.

  • from new jersey May 19, 2014Music Background:
    dj, producer

    Akai MPK mini

    Great and portable for music production on the go!!! Make music anywhere. The car, train or plane. Akai pro has you covered.

  • from Phenix City, Alabama September 17, 2013Music Background:
    lifetime guitar player, new to electronic music

    MPK Mini

    This thing is awesome. Everything I was expecting. Links up easily to FL Studio. You cant beat the price as well as the 2 year warranty, and tech support. Excellent customer service at Sweetwater. I will be making any future purchases here.

  • from Columbus, OH USA September 2, 2013Music Background:
    Producer/ Engineer

    Small Powerful Weapon

    The Akai MPK Mini is great !!! MPK is good for producers on the go, plus it's easy to use and convenient for travel. I highly recommend this product to anyone from beginner to expert. Also, Sweetwater provided wonderful service as usually.

  • from March 12, 2013Music Background:
    student, beat maker

    MPK mini

    love it, already made some nice tracks.

  • from United States September 12, 2012

    Akai MPK mini

    This was exactly what I needed. the pads are great and 25 keys is more than enough for simple production. would highly recommend

  • from September 8, 2012

    Everything in a little package

    Bought this little guy for the Marco knobs. But every thing is perfect, great size, pretty much weightless. I dont see myself ever needing to buy another midi controller. I use this with my apc20 both make a great pair.

  • from Chicago, IL July 17, 2012Music Background:
    Musician, Educator

    Good Buy

    I got this little guy for a recent trip abroad and it was perfect! Its compact for travel, yet its built well enough to keep next to my laptop in my office. I recommend shelling out the $100 for this controller. Perfect with MAX/MSP.

  • from Miami, FLA. May 31, 2012Music Background:
    Pro DJ

    MPK Mini

    Small But Powerfull...

  • from Chicago, IL May 30, 2012Music Background:
    Sound designer

    Powerful little guy

    This thing is awesome, The only thing is the keys a a bit small and I wouldn't play on it but still solid. Great for sound design and compact enough to fit in my backpack.

  • from austin, TX March 19, 2011Music Background:
    dj, engineer, producer

    Wow

    i use this for all of my dj gigs with vdj and i dont know what i would do without it. My transitions are much better, my cuing is much better. WOW. you gota get you one of these. and its ultra cheap!!!

  • from February 28, 2011Music Background:
    Hip Hop/Rap Producer, Hobbyist

    Best pads & Keyboard for the money!

    I originally bought a Korg Nano-Key to use with my DAW's, needless to say it was terrible. The keys on it were falling off all over the place. Then I saw this at a local music store. It had drum pads and the keyboard for just 100 bucks? I was already sold. Been using it for months now and it is awesome, Have not had a single problem. Simple, feature packed and durable. Def recommend!

  • from austin tx January 15, 2011

    finally

    It is small, compact; sturdy. usb class compliant( no drivers needed). I want 3 more just so I can have one everywhere. It is genre busting, no matter what anyone says beyond this!

  • from Cheverly, MD April 8, 2013Music Background:
    Church Drummer/Voice-Over Artist

    The Gift

    I'm only giving this a 4.5 because I'm not the one using it. My son seems to be very happy with the MPK Mini and I haven't heard any complaints, so I'm assuming that he's quite pleased and is getting good usage out of it.

  • from East Tennessee June 14, 2012Music Background:
    Musician

    Just What I Needed

    Excellent product. The Akai mini is very compact and produces immediate feedback from the point of striking a key to sounding out through pro tools. The only thing that prevents this from being a perfect rating would be the slightly narrow keys but that's so it can be as compact as possible.

  • from lloydminste, sk, ca January 6, 2014Music Background:
    prod. dj. mastering

    mpk mini

    perfect size. nice pads. love the built in arpigater. not even the second day I let my friends kosta try it and they broke the mini usb connection making it a hunk a plastic or a model of a mpk mini. othere than u gotta watch that port. amazing product and great service from sweetwater. thinking of ordering another one kinda miss it.

  • from Spokane, WA August 12, 2013Music Background:
    Cable tangler

    Best I've found at this price point.

    Keyboards around $100 are hit-or-miss, but I've been very happy with this one. The MPK's keys aren't too narrow for my fingers, they're decently velocity-sensitive, and the springs have held up perfectly for the year or so I've been using mine. I use it while traveling, or to control bass/ambient synths in the studio while the big keyboard is doing leads. The pads are better than you'd expect, and can also be used to send midi CCs, which is great.

    The Arturia MiniLab is a comparable product (minus the pads) worth a look, but I found I like the MPK's keys better.

    A couple of small gripes: while the pads and keys can be assigned to different midi channels, the knob controllers are always on the keys' channel, which seems odd; there's no gate control for the arpeggiator, which is limiting; and the editor software is a little clunky (and you will need it to access all of the keyboard's functionality.)

    All in all, very handy if you need a very playable, 2-octave keyboard cheap enough to risk traveling with. Recommended.

  • from United States January 12, 2013Music Background:
    Live Sound Engineer, Hobbyist, Student, and Recording Engineer

    It Has It's Ups and Downs

    I really like it, and it I had to send my first one back because the usb port broke. This is a common proble that I have read about. As long as you keep it in you studio, or you unplu the cable before you put it in your bag, your good.

  • from United States November 27, 2012Music Background:
    25 years professional sound designer, midi programmer and song writer

    Akai MPK Mini is Solid!

    Great little board! I use it in Reason 6.5. Great way to kill time, tune vocals and just do simple editing and sound design on the go. I find myself wanting to sit outside with my laptop, or in any place that just inspires me to write when I know I have it with me. I was worried the toy like size would keep me from using it, but on the contrary, it fits in my laptop bag and is there, when the mood strikes!

    Grab one as your first controller or as a add on to any set up, very easy to program and use, and so far (1 month) seems to be very durable and able!!

  • from Sugarloaf, PA October 26, 2012Music Background:
    Live Sound Engineer, Pro musician

    Solid and Portable

    Easy to use, but a little tricky to program without a list of cc (continuous controller) commands. Once I tracked them down, I was impressed by the ease and flexibility of programming.

  • from Dayton OH July 2, 2012Music Background:
    Sound Designer, Composer

    Exactly what I needed

    I was looking for a controller that was small enough to fit in my laptop bag, and had enough features to still allow me to work in a way that was similar to my studio workflow, and the MPK Mini does it for me! It's lightweight, has illuminating pads and buttons, eight assignable rotary controllers, and big enough keys that I can still actually play. With this controller, I can stop and capture ideas as they come, and I can fill my in-between meetings time creatively and productively.

    I did have to send the first one I received back, as the USB jack was pushed into the keyboard, but Sweetwater took care of it very quickly, and with no fuss.

  • from United States April 10, 2012Music Background:
    Music Producer

    Almost Perfect...

    Very portable. Mapping works perfectly all the time.
    All this thing needs is a Pitch wheel and it would have been perfect.

  • from June 17, 2011

    Useful

    Good for the money, but the mini-USB port is quite flimsy and easily breaks from the circuit board.

  • from United States November 25, 2013Music Background:
    student

    good idea, but get Arturia's Minilab

    I had this keyboard for a little over a year, and it was great. I'd throw it in my backpack or just have it on my desk, and pump out the phattest of beats.

    Problem is, the build quality is pretty meh. Problem with this, the miniUSB port broke a little after the year's warrantee expired. Go figure. I knew it was flimsy, and wasn't something i should rely on audio gear for.

    Went with the Minilab when I learned it would cost more to fix it than to get a new one.

    TL;DR - miniUSB is flimsy, customer service is a joke

Questions about the Akai Professional MPK Mini Compact 25-key Keyboard Controller?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway