0% Interest for 36 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Presidents' Day Sale! Ends Tomorrow

Akai Professional MPK25 25-key MIDI Controller Reviews

4.5 stars based on 10 customer reviews
  • from Miami FL February 4, 2013Music Background:
    DJ

    Akai MPK25

    Its a great Keyboard and midi controller, perfect for Ableton Live...

  • from Indianapolis, Indiana July 26, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist, Composer

    Best 25 Key Controller period

    This controller is so great! Great keyboard action and built like a tank. Very Portable. Everything is so solid on the keyboard, knobs, buttons, etc. The mod wheel and pitch wheel are so smooth. I use this with my Macbook Pro and Logic 9 . Display is also easy to read. Great Controller. Get yours now!

  • from Colorado Springs April 26, 2012Music Background:
    Home studio recording

    Worth every penny and then some.

    Small,built like a tank and plenty of room to customize to your needs.Love the feel of the keys and the pitch bend wheel.Knobs feel sturdy with little play.All around feels well built.Like it so much I'd like to get the larger model as well.

  • from iowa December 21, 2011Music Background:
    a lot

    the best

    this has been the most used device in my studio. all of the controls are easy to use and the keyboard has a great feel to it. for the price i would say this is easily one of the best controllers ive used.

  • from Portsmouth, VA, USA September 18, 2010Music Background:
    Musician

    Get This!

    Don't waste your money on less expensive controllers! This is the best for the money hands down. Even if you had a keyboard controller and a pad controller it still would compare to having both on one unit. It is pre-programmed to the most popular software instruments and even a setting for the MPC 500. It easily learns all other Virtual Instruments manually thru their built in midi learn functions.

  • from Central Point, OR August 17, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Great little controller

    First and foremost, this is my first MIDI controller. Take everything I say with a grain of inexperienced salt.
    All things considered, I didn't have too tough of a time setting everything up when I got it. I had more trouble fiddling with my DAW than I did with the controller's settings.
    The pads aren't the best. I personally don't care too much, because I don't care for pads to begin with. The keys feel pretty fantastic to me. A little harder to press than other keyboards I've tinkered with, but the overall feel is really nice.
    My one real nitpick about the AKAI controller is that when you are using the USB cable for power, the default OUT is the USB. You have to do a little bit of a runaround through your DAW if you are trying to get a signal to a different piece of hardware (in my case, a MOOG Minitaur). Having to run Akai > Daw > Audio Interface or Akai MIDI Out > Minitaur > Audio Interface or USB seems a bit complicated to me. When using a power supply (sold separately) for the controller, you can run straight to a different device.
    Long story short: the power supply (sold separately) may be worth it for most people. Overall, a nice controller.

  • from shelley, id January 8, 2014Music Background:
    the next new thing

    awesome

    worked great easy to use still messing around with the setting and adjusting things to my liking but over all a great controller

  • from Tallahassee, Fla, USA April 8, 2012Music Background:
    Producer/Recording Engineer,

    The best fit for any small studio

    had oher controllers but this one i feel gives me the most control...
    4.5 is for the the pads cause they are a little stiff, but i ordered the fatty padz from MPC Stuff.com and it fixed that problem right up...over all im a fan for life........

  • from March 21, 2015Music Background:
    Producer, guitarist

    It's good ... but not the greatest

    It may seem a little harsh giving a controller 3 stars given everyone is raving about it, but I've owned one for a couple of years now and it's not my first controller, so bear with me ...

    THE GOOD:
    This is a sturdy little controller suitable for the Ableton Live home studio. I like being able to easily control parameters with the free-turning control knobs, which snap to new parameter values when a new instrument is chosen. Other controllers I've used have fixed values which cause parameters to jump when a new bank is selected and a knob is turned.

    THE BAD:
    No on/off switch. I say again. No on/off switch. To turn this off you have to yank the cord out. What a ridiculously basic design flaw. Also the pads are typical Akai pads - you'll need a small mallet to trigger your samples as they're extremely tough. Unless you are brutally violent with your gear, to me this makes it unsuitable for live use.

    The controller market is exploding with good products. For a brand-name high end controller this is good but not great, and while some may like it honestly I regret making this purchase.

  • from Fort Lauderdale, FL USA September 19, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Good Midi Controller

    Good controller. But i had to fix it multiple times. I had the 49 then went to the 25 because the 49 bugged out on me. The MPK25 worked beautifully for about a month, but now its doing the same thing as most of my Akai equipment. "Ghost midi", "False recognition" and basic hardware problems such as pads not responding and transport buttons not working. Maybe its just me and akai but my akai products seem to fall apart on me; (Besides my LPD8) which i still use to this day. Its a nice controller but maybe it could have been made better for the price tag it comes with.

Questions about the Akai Professional MPK25 25-key MIDI Controller?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway