0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
#WinYourWestones

Akai Professional MPD32 Reviews

4.0 stars based on 11 customer reviews
  • Customer
    from August 5, 2013

    Great product

    I love this thing. I have the MPD18 but I'd played on this. To the review talking about the velocity issue, these pads are THICK. I'm a big guy, so maybe it's just me but I like a thicker pad. I have the Maschine too, those pads might be more of what you need. The MPD pads are more like an MPC, the Maschine pads are more like a Beat Thang. If you can't press hard enough, you can hit full velocity and get CC127 notes every time, and if you know anything about your DAW you can set the velocity and even set it to vary. I'm either getting this or the APC40 next.

  • Harry Eubanks
    from United States November 2, 2011Music Background:
    Live Sound Engineer

    Akai Professional MPD32

    This gear is very user friendly, very easy install, and extremely fun to use! Don't be fooled though, this gear is capable of executing some complex operations in music production. It's a perfect example of being easy where it needs to be yet, it has the ability to be as complicated as you want to be. The Akai MPD32 is an awesome piece of gear, I highly recommend it.

  • Alfredo
    from April 18, 2008Music Background:
    Home Beat Maker

    this is a dream to use

    i was one of the first to get this and man it was worth the wait this is a dream to use with reason 4 its well worth it if you got the money .

  • Cj
    from San Francisco, CA May 9, 2013Music Background:
    Dj, Hotel Management, Clergyman

    MPD32 Nice Controller

    Awesome piece of equipment, it adapted to all my different musical software programs, I am still blown away with how easy it is to create with it.

  • DecipheredAudio
    from Jamaica June 30, 2011Music Background:
    Mixing Engineer/Mastering Engineer/Composer

    Great Flexible an worth every penny

    Great controller to have in your arsenal of gear light weight an compact very rugged an built well mine took a great deal of punishment an still going only reason it hasn't gotten 5 is the pads the sensitivity isn't the best but they surely get the job done plenty of hands on knobs sturdy an feels great but that my opinion

  • Da Host
    from Savannah, GA February 25, 2009Music Background:
    I have over 30 yrs of musical experience

    Well worth the purchase

    I just hooked this up today and was up and running in no time. I have yet to look at the manual which speaks volumes of the ease of use. Every forum will tell you to take 30 minutes to customize the mapping features which is true. After that, it's pretty straight forward. I use it along with a Project Mix and keyboard with no problems. You can play the sounds on either or which is good. It's a controller so it does what it's supposed to do. I use it to control Reason 4 so for anyone deciding between this and the 24 I would say the few extra dollars are worth it. Think in terms of future use and you won't be buying something twice. Overall it's a good product with a solid feel. I would recommend anyone to do their homework and be sure it fits your needs now and in the future.

  • william Mcknight aka Dat Fatdude aka Da Beasts
    from Nashville, TN January 15, 2009Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Live Sound Engineer, Producer, Musician

    The Perfect Team

    Akai and Propellerhead wow the perfect team. If you are a hip hop and RnB producer today then you know the history of Akai and what the company has done for hip hop producers with there line of beat production machines. Well they took that and made a line of midi controllers for use with software like Propellerhead's Reason.

    Reason and the MPD 32 make a great combination, it's like having a MPC that can rewire itself into almost any DAW with out the need for cables pre's or any of that other out board gear. All you need is a usb cable and bam your ready to go and all for less than that big boy MPC. I have over 55 GB's of refills and sample (try fitting that into your MPC) all of which can be triggered by the great responsive pads of the MPD32. Having this unit combined with a software like Reason is like having a MPC on steroids lol.

  • Sheisse Permanente
    from Santa Paula, CA December 13, 2013Music Background:
    Drummer, Singer, Home recording, Drum tech, Endoplasmic ridiculous

    Great controller once you get past the set up

    This thing makes eggs benedict and sausage out of a quarter note triplet! Not really...
    I mainly use Studio One in which Impact is used for this controller. After mapping everything and saving the preset I was good. I also use FL Studio which is really better for this product but my main DAW is in Studio One. I did take the MDP32 apart and installed inserts on the pads to get better sensitivity. I really do not understand why Akai does not make this with better sensitivity to begin with. yes you can adjust this in the settings but you end up with crappy dynamics. I know I voided the warranty installing aftermarket inserts but this is truly Akai's fault for not addressing this issue. This product has only been on the market since 2008 and the only problem that most people have with it is the sensitivity. Other than that it is great! Most parameters in Studio One can be routed to the MPD knobs or faders just by right clicking it, selecting "route to midi controller", and then moving the selected knob of fader on the MPD. There are plenty of instructionals on youtube to help you with set up. My only cavet in buying this is that I chose this model when a much lower model (MPD18) would have sufficed for my needs. Oh well. Live and (don't) learn. haha!

  • MD5
    from Washington DC August 11, 2009Music Background:
    hobbyist

    A Solid Purchase

    I got my MPD32 about a month ago and I've been loving it! My original one had hardware problems, so I got SweetCare on the phone and they had another one sent out that same day! While I was without my MPD, I honestly couldn't even play any music. It totally changed the way I play electronic music!

    The reason I rated it 4 instead of 5 is for lack of 2 specific features. I would have liked a pitch wheel and an X/Y parameter setting, be it a touchpad or a stick.

    But overall, I am very impressed with the quality of the product. It is a very versatile piece of hardware and allows for much more expression in my music than I could achieve previously!

  • W. Henderson
    from Orlando, FL April 23, 2008Music Background:
    Hobbyist, Musician, aspiring producer.

    A MUST HAVE

    I started using the Akai mpd16 with FLSTUDIO6 and it provide ease to the creative process. Now with the MPD32. I have 4 banks of 16 pages and 3 banks of 24 controllers. It's easily programmable. Has 30 banks for presets and the note repeat function with drums and and one shot samples and loops allows for some very interesting sounds. Almost like a granualizer. This is a great piece of hardware. I actually wish I would have bought the MPK keyboard instead for the same functionality and appegiator as demonstrated on the akaipro website. Either or, they are both worth the wait at a good price.

  • Beau Sundberg
    from Maui, Hawaii, USA July 17, 2010Music Background:
    Emcee, Produce all around

    No Thanks

    Sorry Akai, the pads are terrible. They feel dead. I had to mod it to get any type of velocity change. Way to hard!

Questions about the Akai Professional MPD32?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway